BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1991

Heritage Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (812) 253-6928Fax: (812) 853-17495388 Old SR 66, NewburghIN 47630 Send email to Heritage Federal Credit UnionView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1991

BBB has determined that Heritage Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Heritage Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Heritage Federal Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we called the credit union to get a loan. I have been speaking with the same person the entire time. He took all my information over the phone, collected $150 fee to do an appraisal . He never once asked me if it was a manufactured home. When he received the appraisal from the appraiser, he called to say that they do not do manufactured homes and said my appraisal is in the mail. I received it the next day. Upon reviewing it, there was multiple things incorrect. I emailed the guy from heritage regarding this. He replied back to say he would forward on the request to correct. When I received the corrected one, everything still was not corrected. For starters, the representative should have asked what kind of home was it before any money was collected. I feel like I should be reimbursed for the appraisal fee since they can't seem to get it right
Product_Or_Service: loan

Desired Settlement
refund of $150 appraisal fee

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to research this complaint. In the fact-finding process, it was determined that the member stated the home was modular, however, the tax assessor's office states the property is a double-wide mobile home. The credit union does not make mobile home loans. Additionally, the appraiser must use the tax assessor's information and is unable to change information pertaining to the type of property. If the tax assessor's information is inaccurate, the course of action would be to report this to the tax assessor for correction. Neither the credit union nor the appraiser has the authority to make a determination on the property. While the credit union did follow appropriate procedures in this request, in the interest of goodwill, we will be refunding the $150 appraisal fee to the members.

07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is a local credit union in *********** Indiana. They have taken money out of my account and stating that they legally can do so without my knowledge and/or authorization. I have requested legal documentation allowing this, but they have refused to provide such documentation. I have explained to them how to settle this issue, but they continue to refuse to hear me out. They just continue to repeat themselves and refuse to solve my problem.

Desired Settlement
I want my money returned in the amount of $269.95.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to provide additional information on this complaint. Attempts to contact our member were made by mail on May 23rd, May 31st, June 10th, and June 29th 2014. Additional attempts were made by phone. There were 10 phone calls placed between June 2, 2014 and July 2, 2014 in reference to her account. With each call, we were able to leave a message for her to contact us. The mailed notices and phone calls were responded to on July 7th, 2014. It was during the conversation on July 7th that our member requested to have a copy of the document that allows HFCU to withdraw funds from her account. On July 8th, the documentation she requested was sent by a secured online message and was also sent to her by mail. This was the Account Agreements and Disclosure provided to her at the time the referenced account was opened. In this disclosure, provisions are included that describe under what circumstances account balances may be withdrawn by HFCU, and without notice. In this case, notice was attempted on numerous occasions. HFCU performed its responsibility in this case and will not be refunding the $269.95 requested.

05/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues
03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Financial Investment Advisors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/17/1990Business started: 01/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynette McClusky (Director of Marketing)Customer Contact: Ms. Ruth Jenkins (President and CEO)Mr. Rick Richmond (Marketing Communications Administrator)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Financial Investment Advisors

Products & Services

This company offers financial services.

Alternate Business Names
Heritage Federal Credit Union Financial Services, LLC
BBB Program Participation
Heritage Federal Credit Union participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Financial Institutions
Stockbrokers/Securities Dealers
Loan Brokers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Heritage Federal Credit Union

5388 Old SR 66

Newburgh, IN 47630

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Heritage Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.