BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2006

B & H Construction

(812) 476-91024320 Fickas Rd, EvansvilleIN 47714-6425

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2006

BBB has determined that B & H Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered B & H Construction's rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised B & H Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on B & H Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
08/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed contract on April 8, 2015 to do the whole roof on house and garage. Gave 2000.00 deposit. Still not complete. Most work being done by one man.
I have talked to them a number of times asking how long its going to take to get it done. I have a very big house. Most of the time there is only one man working on it. There has been two a couple of times. I am having a metal roof put on .It has gotten to the point that the one man **** has asked us to find people to help him. I have been very nice about it but, its got to end I need a roof .

Desired Settlement
I gave ***** * ****** 2000.00 April 8 2015 to put a metal roof on my house and garage. I still do not have a roof just bits of a roof. Most of the work is being done by one man named ****. At times there have been two. I have been very nice about it . It needs to be done. **** has asked ***** to send help. The other day **** asked me if I could find him some help. This has got to be done and soon.

Business Response
I am responding to ****** ****** complaint. Case#XXXXXXXX. I have read the,complaint and due to all the rain we've had **** has not been able to finish the metal roof. **** also generally prefers to work alone and does an excellent job. We also would like for the job to be completed. I have spoke with **** and the job is within a couple of days to being finoshed.

05/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had storm damage in 2013, **** ********* sent his team out to fix it December 2013. They patched it and never came back to replace decking on roof.
We filed an insurance claim at the end of 2013. Insurance stated that we needed the decking replaced and the shingles redone where water was leaking. It was determined that the leak was due to poor sealing around a pipe for our dryer that came out of the roof.
We asked **** ********* to come out to quote the work we needed done. We determined that the dryer would be moved, the hole closed up and decking replaced, shingles replaced, wiring done for the dryer. He also said he would have one of his guys come out and fix our guttering. He said the money for it would be due when the job is completed.
His team came out and moved the dryer and patched the hole. I just got home from having surgery so my husband handled it. He wrote them a check and they left. He thought the money was due then. It wasn't because they never replaced the decking, it was just covered up. I called **** and he said they would come out when it was warm, there was ice and snow on the roof and said he would be out in the spring.
A guy came over a few weeks after to look at the guttering. He asked what needed to be done, he never got on the roof at all and he said he needed to call **** and that he would be back. He never came back again and we never heard back from ****.
We still have to get the interior repaired, so I had ****** ************ come out last Friday. They said the decking is not fixed and that the hole in the roof was covered with aluminum. I had called **** about it not being fixed several times and the last time which was about a week ago, he said it was his understanding that it was completed and that he would come out. He never did. My insurance paid for the roof to be fixed and the shingles where they patched it is bunching up now and it looks like water is getting underneath.

Desired Settlement
I just want the job to be completed the way it is supposed to be done. I am happy with the dryer being moved and wiring done for it to be where it is. I am not happy with the roof as it is. We paid in full and expected it to be done correctly. If it cannot be completed correctly, I want reimbursed for the roof so I can have someone else do it right.

Business Response
We have contacted ****** ******* and have agreed to do her repairs.

07/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/12/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/04/2001Business started: 01/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Billy R. Harper (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers window installation, siding, & roofing.

Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contractors/Builders
Roofing Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B & H Construction

4320 Fickas Rd

Evansville, IN 47714-6425

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4320 Fickas Rd 

    Evansville, IN 47714-6425(812) 476-9102

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B & H Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Home Improvement Contractors/Builders
Roofing Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.