BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Medieval Collectibles

Phone: (812) 386-7047Fax: (239) 236-0965View Additional Phone Numbers401 North Richland Creek Drive, PrincetonIN 47670http://www.medievalcollectibles.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Medieval Collectibles is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Medieval Collectibles' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues13
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 25

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of complaints alleging difficulty in receiving the promised refunds, delays in receiving products and difficulty in obtaining resolutions for defective items.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Medieval Collectibles

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)BBB Closure Definitions
02/02/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered products.got recite but no tracking number.products out of stock but card still charged.no response in 2 weeks for a full refund
I ordered products and products never came.i called to ask about them and they said they were out of stock.i asked why was my card charged then.its been 2 weeks and no products or a response for my refund.

Desired Settlement
I want my full refund of $61.71

Business Response
*********,
We apologize for any inconvenience. As per your request, the order has been cancelled and the full amount of $61.71 was refunded to the card you originally used to make the purchase. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have made no progress with Medieval Collectibles customer service in making good on a defective wooden bow. It was used 15 days before breaking.
I ordered a Legolas Longbow for a Christmas gift for my Son on 11-20-2013 for 253.33 from Medieval Collectibles. order # XXXXXX acct# XXXXXXX payed using paypal. I received order in great shape on time. I gave bow to my Son on Dec.25 2013, He loved it. He shot the bow almost daily when on Jan. 12 2014 it broke into pieces. I contacted customer service, was advised to send pictures which I did. The next time I contacted C.S. they promised to send a new bow within 3-5 Days. That has not happened, Now every e-mail is answered the same. We have contacted our supplier and will get back to you, have a nice day. The decription of the longbow said it was intended to be used for shooting arrows, with no restrictions. My son always un-strung the bow when not in use. Since it was his Christmas present and its been broken 3 months I had to replace with something else, so at this point I want a full refund. This company doesn't seem to care about Customer's

Desired Settlement
Full refund of 253.33

Business Response
Mr. ******,
I am very sorry to hear about this situation! Our bow maker informed us that he would send you a replacement directly, but that clearly was not delivered. I will see to it that you are refunded in full by the close of our business day today, 4/11/14. Please let me know if there is anything further I can do for you.

03/21/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered shield on 11/2/13. Credit card billed. Never received the item.
Placed order on 11/2/13. Dark Knight charged my credit card immediately. Inquired 3 times as to when it would be delivered. Delivery promised February, 2014. Never received. Requested refund.

Desired Settlement
Requested refund on 2/28/14. Researched this company on the Internet. They have bad reputation of taking your money and not delivering the products they advertise. I feel they indulge in fraudulent business practice of advertising products they never intend to deliver but use your money until you request refund. Other people have said they had difficult time getting refund. They also do business as Dark Knight Armoury. These businesses are con artist schemes.

Business Response
Mr. ******,
I am very sorry for any frustration this order has caused you. I do see that on 3/3/14 you communicated with us via email to request a cancellation of your order. As a result, we offered you free shipping as an insensitive to keep your order open with us due to the back order delay. As we have not yet received a response from you, your order was left open. It is now cancelled, and your refund was fully processed on our end today. Unfortunately, our only source for back ordered information is our supplier; we only pass along the information that they provide to us. However, I can understand that it is frustrating for you as a customer as it is for us. I did note that there were two prior orders that you had placed with our company which you adjusted and requested a refund. I found that they were both processed the same or next business day. We are sorry for any miscommunication that occurred here. Please let us know if there is anything further that we can assist you with.

03/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Medieval Collectibles has not sent my order, even 2 and a half months later.
On December 2, 2013, I ordered 2 items from Medieval Collectibles, a pair of boots and a hat. My total, with tax, was $81.34. My order wasn't sent. On January 7, more than a month later, I contacted Medieval Collectibles about my order. They said that they were waiting on back ordered boots and that they would ship my order as soon as they had the boots in stock. It is not A month and 10 days past that day and I have yet to receive my order in the mail or any confirmation that they are still working on getting my boots.

Desired Settlement
I simply would like my money back, all $81.34. Medieval Collectibles has failed me.

Business Response
Mr. *******,
I have refunded you the full amount of $81.34 as requested. The process is final on our end, but it may take your bank a few business days to post the funds back to your account. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that this order has caused you. Typically, when that item is out of stock it takes a few business days to arrive from our supplier; however as it was on backorder we had to rely on the manufacturer to actually produce more for us. This is unfortunately a lengthy process that we have no control over. I can certainly understand your frustration. Please note that if you would like to order with us in the future, we would be happy to verify the status of merchandise before funds are ever exchanged, and all orders can be adjusted at your request by any of our customer service representatives before they leave our facility. Do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions.

02/24/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a Dress from the company before christmas. Was notified it was backordered 3-5 weeks. 9 weeks later the dress has not arrived.
I ordered 2 dresses from this company on Dec 7th, knowing that one would not arrive in time for christmas. I was told it was backordered 3-5 weeks. at 5 weeks I attempted to contact the company multiple times through email and phone and they did not respond. The next day, I finally came in contact with a rep and they notified me that the item was back ordered another 3 weeks. At 9 weeks, i contacted them again, and they would not give me a direct answer on when the item would be delivered. The item that was delivered by christmas did not slightly resemble the item pictured on the website. The invoice number was XXXXXX. The item was payed for using a credit card. I would like to be refunded for the item that has not been delivered as well as for the one that was misrepresented. They told me they would only refund my money for the misrepresented item if I shipped it back to them, which I would not agree to do because of the poor customer service up to this point.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for the order in its entirety, without having to immediatly send back the misrepresented item, because I fear they will not refund my money and still take the item back due to the awful experiences I have had with them up to this point.

Business Response
Ms. ********,
I apologize for any inconvenience or frustration this order has caused you. We spoke on 2/3/14 and I let you know that our supplier was unable to provide us with what I felt was a solid arrival date. The conversation ended abruptly, and I did not have confirmation of how you would like to proceed. We cannot make any adjustment to an order without customer approval. I tried to contact you back via phone and email to give you a few different options; I am sorry that you were unable to reach us on that platform. As a result of this claim, the remainder of your order was cancelled and refunded today; ******* Black Maiden Hooded Dress in the amount of $137.00. As aforementioned, I cannot refund you for merchandise that was shipped to you and is still in your possession, but I would be happy to issue that as soon as it arrives. We do receive returns regularly and they are always processed in accordance to the customer's wishes. Our standard policy does state that a 15% restocking fee is removed for all items sent back as a return for a refund; however, due to the nature of your order, we can certainly waive that for you. Please contact us if you have any further questions or concerns and we can certainly address those for you.

Page 1 of 5
06/05/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made an order on Dec 2013. Still have not received product on April 2014, Contacted them and told more waiting. estimated delivery was 6-8 weeks
I made an order, that was processed on December 31, 2013. After 4 weeks i contacted them to see the status. i was told that it would be another 6 - 8 weeks with no explanation why. I waited another 4 weeks and contacted them again, this time I was told 3 weeks per there being a supplier issue. I waited another 3 weeks and contacted them again. Was told I would have to wait another 2 - 3 weeks, I asked to speak with a supervisor, which one never answered. Continuing to speak with a customer service rep they offered to reimburse shipping, I accepted. I waited another 3 weeks, now totaling 14 weeks, and contacted them again. I spoke with a rep, ***, who seemed helpful. Being a IT help desk engineer its helpful to have a nice rep. *** said he would contact the supplier and see what they say. I mentioned to *** that I am starting to get frustrated and will consider litigation if needed. I received an email the next day from *** saying there supplier told him it would be another 6 - 8 weeks. I contacted *** later that same day and was still told it would be a full 6 - 8 weeks. I would like the product. I am not asking for my money back as they have offered that But would like the product I have ordered, thats why I ordered it. The money was deducted from my bank account on the 31st right after my initial order. I read some reviews online about this company and they dont look good so I compiled this complaint. If I can get the supplier and order direct from them I will try that but I have been unable to get the information on the supplier they use.

Desired Settlement
The product I ordered.

Business Response
Mr. ******,
While we can certainly understand your frustration, unfortunately we do not have any control over the production of this product. All employees of our company sign a legally binding contract which includes, but is not limited to, the inability to share our supplier information. They have had productions issues with this particular piece, and due to that and the high demand, the projected arrival date has been pushed back. We are only able to provide you with the updates that they give us. We have offered, and reimbursed you for the shipping of said product. You are welcome to adjust your order at any time you'd like, and we would be happy to contact you once we have shipping information on the item you ordered. However, please be advised that until we have that information, we can only give you our supplier's estimate. We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I dont feel this helps me. I would like a confirmation number from the supplier stating that they have received my order. Also I would like the place in queue so I can get a better estimate on where in production this is at.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******,
The confirmation number is XXXXXXX; this was sent at the time your order was placed, but if you need a copy of the receipt, please contact our customer service team. You are 5th in queue for this particular piece. We will certainly contact you once we have any additional information. Do keep in mind that you may adjust your order at any time before it leaves our facility.

Consumer Response
Please reopen the Issue. I still have not received my item and would like to request a 50% discount for having to wait the amount of time I have already waited

Business Response
Mr. ******
Again we do apologize for the inconvenience this may be causing you, but at this time the estimated time of arrival for your item is mid/late June. Please be aware that we can only give you information that the supplier is giving to us, and we have no control over their production rate. I can offer to replace your item with one that we do have in stock, or you may cancel your order with a full refund, as long as you adjust it before the order leaves our facility. We have already honored free shipping since your item is on an extended delay. If you wish to keep your order as is, then as soon as we get updated information from the supplier we will relay that information to you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like some further compensation for having already paid for an item I have not yet received. The amount of time after paying for this item is unacceptable and I believe I should get a further discount.
Thanks,
****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collectible Stores, Masquerade Theater Costume Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/30/2007Business started: 04/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Licia Begle (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Chad Begle (Owner)
Business Category

Collectible Stores, Masquerade Theater Costume Stores

Alternate Business Names
Dark Knight Armoury, Midnight Thunder Services, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Medieval Collectibles

401 North Richland Creek Drive

Princeton, IN 47670

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 401 North Richland Creek Drive 

    Princeton, IN 47670

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Medieval Collectibles is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 637-9673
  • (239) 540-9516

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (239) 540-9521
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.darkknightarmoury.com
  • http://www.facebook.com/MedievalCollectibles?sk=app_2309869772
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Collectible Stores

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.