BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1996

Town & Country Ford, Inc./Evansville

Phone: (812) 471-3673Fax: (812) 485-3268

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car dealership sold us a car, they got it financed and now say the finance company isnt going finance it but we spoke with them and thy say they would
On February 10th 2014 we put $3000.00 cash down on a 2009 Dodge Journey, but did not receive the vehicle into our posesion until Friday February 14th and they had us there for approximately 3.5 hours on valentines day! At that time all paperwork had been finalized! We took our vehicle home for the weekend from February 14th to February 18th, took it back,the vehicles engine had a miss in it, plus there were already other repairs the vehicle needed. We where scheduled an appointment on a Tuesday morning on the date of February 18th 2014 at 10am! We drop off the vehicle for the repairs and gave us a loaner car to use until our vehicle was repaired! Now keeping in mind, that the rest of the week and through the
weekend they Tri-State Auto center had our vehicle! We go back to Evansville to Tri-State Auto Center on February 24th they tell us our vehicle is ready for us to pick up! When we go to
get our vehicle none of the repairs are done! Engine light was still on,a big burn hole still in back seat, front passenger door lock still wasnt fixed! All the repairs the dealership promised was not fixed, so they apologize and send us back home
for the second time without or vehicle! The Manager tells us that the salesman that sold us the vehicle was no longer with them, this was on February 24th,its been almost two weeks, we still
had not received our vehicle back to our posession! Finally on Friday February 28th 2014,we
pick our vehicle around 2pm and they are all apologetic and even giving us a free trip to make up for all of our time and hassle with this! We are happy with our vehicle and on Monday March 10th I called to speak with the manager in which I thought was **** and they told me that **** was not there and that **** was in charge! They put me on hold, nobody picked up the phone! I called back to leave a message for ****, He then returns my call at approximately 7:30 pm saying we need to return the vehicle! We had trouble with this dealership returning our calls! We even received a
phone call from the finance company that says they will finance the vehicle the right documents where not submitted to them,that the dealership knew what was going on!

Desired Settlement
For the company to resolve the problem on their end with the Finance company and me and my wife that the dealership made the deal with so we can resolve this issue and we can enjoy the vehicle that was promised to us!

Business Response
We are very sorry for this situation but it has spun out of our control. We submit applications to lenders on behalf of the customer. We follow-up with the lenders as the lenders allow. In this particular case the lender required a direct phone interview with the customer. The lender told us they would not cash the contract which represents the method of payment for the vehicle due to inconsistencies in the information provided by the customer concerning the customer's employment status as stated on the credit application and what was determined by the lender to be the factual information. We are unaware of why it took so long for the lender to finanlize the customer interview. With the lender refusing to cash the contract there is nothing further our company can do. We request the customer return the vehicle as soon as possible. We will refund the customer's downpayment immediately upon the return of the vehicle.

09/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No title after nearly two months. Not the manager's fault or his problem. Manager was abrasive and used foul language. Disputed return timeframe.
July XX XXXX purchased a 2012 Toyota Corolla VIN# XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.
Verbal and handwritten proposal granted $4000 tradein value for 1998 Dodge Ram pickup. Actual contract shows value of $1000. Salesman ***** ********
Agreement for $500 cash down. Verbally told that we could write two checks at $250 each and they would be submitted on the 15th and 30th. Both checks were presented within a few days, and paid.
Manager **** **** reimbursed the $500. When questioned about the tradein value, he verbally said that the truck was surely worth at least $2000, and generated an agreement to refund us the difference of $1000 after 90 days, as we made payments.
We contacted the dealership on August 25, because the temp tag expired on the 26th, and we had not received any title paperwork. We were told that title work would be in "any day".
We were also advised that it would be okay to drive the car with the tag expired. Fortunately, we checked with the BMV before we made that mistake. The dealership also told us that they COULD NOT issue a second temp tag. According to a BMV clerk, (sorry didn't get the name) a dealership CAN INDEED issue a second temp tag.
On September 9, I invoked Indiana Code Section 9-32-4-1, and made in writing a demand for title within ten days. On September 20, I returned the vehicle to the dealership and got an argument about ten days vs. ten business days, and they still had one day left.
However, they did not expect the title by then either.
They were unable to return our tradein due to having already sold it. ( it was our understanding that it COULD NOT be sold until we had the title papers for the car )
Manager **** **** was abrasive with my wife and I and essentially told us that none of this was his fault or his problem. Also that our truck had been sold at auction for $700 and that would be all we were likely to get.
My wife had to decline the job she had planned to start because the car could not be used. Mr. **** snidely suggested she could have carpooled.
He said we should expect to hear from him Monday with actual numbers regarding reimbursement. When I attempted to hand him the key, he directed me to place it on the desk, which I did.
We feel that we have been lied to and taken advantage of from the start.

Desired Settlement
The approximate bluebook value of the tradein plus the expense of insuring the car for two months.

$2800.00....

Business' Initial Response
We apologize for any action we have taken that did not demonstrate our concern for this customer and our desire to treat every customer with absolute professionalism. This entire situation was caused by FedEx who lost several of our titles to vehicles. We have a letter of apology from FedEx but that certainly does not allow for us to comply with the State of Indiana's requirement to timely provide title to the customer.

Our "Vehicle Agreement" addresses this type of occurances, legally. The customer agreed to an amount for the trade-in on this documnet. The exact wording on the document is: "OVER ALLOWANCE ON TRADE-IN: Seller may have allowed Buyer a trade-in credit in excess of the actual cash value (ACV) of the vehicle traded in on this trasaction. This is a method of discounting the purchase price. IF THIS TRANSACTION IS RECINDED, and the trade-in vehicle cannot be returned to the Buyer, Seller shall refund to the Buyer the amount equal to the ACV of the vehicle as determined by the Seller at the time of the sale."

Obviously, we have an agreement with this customer in place in writing for this situation.

It is our desire to be very concerned for our customers and to be more than fair in all situations.

We will pay this customer $1200 for the trade-in that could not be returned. The trade-allowance on the "Vehicle Agreement" was $1000. We are agreeing to pay another $200 as a good-will gesture.

The customer can let us know whether they want us to mail a check or pick-up at check at our home office at 7720 E. Division Street, Evansville, Indiana 47715.

08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a 2005 nissan maxima from this dealership and after two weeks of ownership the transmission went out. Called and received no type of call back.
We bought a 2005 nissan maxima from this dealership and within two weeks the transmission went out and had to put 3,500 into it to get it fixed, AFTER paying around $16,000 for it! We called the dealership and was told that, "it was our problem now." By the manager at the dealership in henderson. Then we called the head office of town and country in Evansville, In and left a message several times with the head person and he never responded or called us back. Weve had this car for going on two years now and its been in the shop more than we have drove it. It is currently in the shop AGAIN getting a SECOND transmission put in it. It has been in the shop for MONTHS at atime with the service technicians trying to fix it. I will NEVER buy from town and country ford EVER again. This was the worst buying experience of my life and the most horrible customer service ever. We also put down around $2000.00 when we bought this car from them thinking we was getting a great car. Turned out to be a great deception instead of a deal.

Desired Settlement
I would really like them to take some sort of monetary responsibility for this car. It has been NOTHING but trouble from the start and we have spent more money on getting it fixed than we ever have on any vehicle we have ever owned! Especially with transmission problems starting so soon after buying it and STILL dealing with them now. As of right now it has been in the shop THIS TIME for over a month. Selling cars that have such terrible issues is not right.

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry to hear that Ms. ***** has had mechanical issues with this vehicle. As a matter of record, the vehicle was purchased in May of 2011. The selling price was $12,750 not the $16,000 she states. Our records indicate the vehicle was sold as-is with the customer taking responsibilty for any mechanical issues at the time of sale or in the future. Ms. ***** declined an extended service agreement. As an offer of good-will our company will be happy to assist Ms. ***** even though it has been 27 months since delivery by refunding all of the profit we made on this vehicle which was $228 plus an additional $250.00. Therefore, Ms. ***** will be mailed a check for $478 once she provides our company with her current address. She may provide her address by phone to our switchboard operator at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
07/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
02/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships, Auto Part Suppliers, Used Car Dealerships

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.