BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2002

Old National Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 731-2265Fax: (812) 464-1551View Additional Phone NumbersOne Main St., EvansvilleIN 47708 Send email to Old National Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2002

BBB has determined that Old National Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Old National Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 37 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues17
Problems with Product / Service19
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Old National Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (37)BBB Closure Definitions
02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our Old National Bank debit card issued in ****** MI was hacked, we believe at a Chick Fil A. Two small charges were made 400 miles from our FL home
We have 2 homes, one in MI and our winter home in FL. Our Old National Bank debit card was issued in ****** MI, where we have 3 accounts with them. They have only been i. Our area a few months, buying out my previous bank. We left 12/31/14 for Fl. and believe our card was hacked at a Chick Fil A. Two charges were made, one for $10 and another for $6.88 in *** ******* ****, 400 miles from where we live.We called our bank immediately to close down that debit card and told it was hacked, including the PIN number used. A new card was to be issued and those charges removed, which never happened. After many calls to the bank and getting the same answer, I felt like I have to report their practice to the
BBB. There response today, after telling us a new debit card would be sent and also a letter to dispute was they decided we weren't going to be allowed to dispute it. We were told during our many calls, that the charges were made in FL, we live part time is FL., so we made them. We use our debit card for everything, so why dispute two tiny charges? And we all know when cards are hacked, they try small charges to see if they work before they purchase larger amount items. We check our accout almost daily, why it was caught early. We are not sure when the charges were made, as the bank kept changing the posting date. Approximate date would be December 31st thru January 7, when we first called Old National Bank.

Desired Settlement
It is not the small amount of $16.88 that is in question as much as our treatment of not believing us and their constant comment that we are in FL so the charges were legitimate, even though we were 400 miles away and never have been to the *** ********** area.

Business Response
Our dispute department was contacted and the decision was made to issue a permanent credit to the client in the amount of $16.88. The client has been made aware of the decision. If you need additional information, please advise. Thank you.

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal of a Branch Manager to assist in VISA Fraud inquiry, lack of assistance in the midst of a crisis, then lying about it later. Incompetence.
Aug 6, 2014: Before traveling to England, my wife and I paid for our stay with our VISA credit/debit card (ending in *****) This aroused VISA fraud. So, my wife visited our local branch (************ IN) on Aug 8 where we've been banking for several years. We already had experienced numerous customer service gaffs and problems prior to this, but this would top them all. We wanted to insure that our business credit card would be working and available. My wife asked the bank manager (********* *******) to contact VISA fraud about this matter with her (as requested by Visa Fraud) in the banka conference call. Ms. ******* assured my wife that this was unnecessary and all would be well. So in England, we learned that our card had indeed already been shut down over the very matter my wife went to the bank about. In fact, on Aug 10, while in ****** and trying to pay for a meal, we learned that it had been shut down even before she had gone to the bank on the 8th. (The manager told us on the 8th that it was not blocked.) So, we tried calling the long distance number on the back of the card which promised we could "call the bank collect." It did not work. Even the Said Business College of ****** tried calling the number and could not get it to work. So, after messing with this for a day, I tried contacting the Bank via the online email system inside of our password protected online banking system. However, this was only answered very slowly. The emails I sent were urgent and stated extremely clearly as to the urgency. And when it was answered, it was with robot like sound-bites from a basic primer on "how to reply to customer questions." There was no urgency on the part of the bank, no effort to help us resolve the problem, not one show of concern about our situation. All they did was send the number again despite our telling them it did not work. The result? A cascade of denied charges to our business card for automatic services for our business which shut down portions of our business (e.g., web hosting, our web cart system, our email system, and other similar services). We had to scramble, spending hours finding other means to pay these denied charges. Upon returning to the states, several phone calls revealed a cavalcade of indifferent "supervisors" who were very adept at denying any concern or responsibility for anything at all. The branch manager denied that she had advised us in a particular direction. Not only did this branch manager deny doing exactly what she did, she started blaming my wife of not being responsible and taking care of the matter in a proper way. This treatment by a so-called "branch manager" is outrageous, unprofessional, and unbefitting of the station of this office, it is personally insulting. She is unfit for this station.

Desired Settlement
When I announced that I was charging a fee of $35 per denied automatic charges to our card (a total of $315)simply as fees--the very same fee that this bank would charge if we were to write nine $1 checks over limit: $315--the fee was dismissed as frivolous. We demand satisfaction. ONB deserves a very low customer service rating. It also owes us the same amount they would charge us for far less injury to them personally. We demand appropriate satisfaction for ruining our stay in England.

Business Response
Mrs. ******* visited our banking center prior to their trip and stated that Visa had called to verify transactions on her husband's card but that Visa would not discuss the matter with her. The banking center manager explained to her that since this was a card owned solely by her husband, he was the only one authorized to verify his transactions with Visa and that he would need to verify the transactions before he left the Country if he needed to use the card. Mrs. ******* stated that he was too busy to do that. The branch manager reiterated that Mr. ******* would need to call Visa before their trip if he wanted to use his card.

When they returned from their trip Mrs. ******* visited the banking center again and was very upset that the card did not work during their vacation. When asked if Mr. ******* had called Visa to verify his transactions before he left as we had instructed, Mrs. ******* stated he had not. Mrs. ******* became upset and stated that we were putting the blame on her when it was the bank's fault that the card didn't work. The banking center manager apologized for the misunderstanding and again reiterated that she had informed Mrs. ******* that her husband was the only one authorized to verify his transactions and that she had instructed him to do that before leaving the Country.

We did receive messages from Mr. ******* through online banking regarding his card not working while he was out of the Country. His message was responded to promptly explaining that he would need to call in and speak with Visa to resolve the card issue. Once a card is blocked by Visa for suspicious activity, only Visa is authorized to unblock it.

If we can provide additional information, please advise. Thank you.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not only an incomplete and inaccurate response by the bank, it comes close to a fraudulent reply on several levels. The manager of the bank (********* *******) absolutely did not do as described in the response. In fact, she looked at the account right in front of Mrs ******* and said there should be no problem, the account was fine. Here is the main issue: Mrs ******* explained that she had been instructed by Visa fraud to come to the bank in person and to have the bank call Visa fraud to verify Mrs *******'s identity. Although the card is only in Mr *******'s name, the account itself is in both names. Mrs ******* expressly asked Ms ******* to call Visa Fraud as instructed by Visa Fraud, and Ms ******* stated something to the effect of "We never do that." She refused to call Visa Fraud when she was specifically asked to do so. She then commented that Mr ******* should just call himself and that it only takes a couple of minutes. Ms ******* was dismissive in demeanor and unhelpful as the "branch manager."

After the return from the trip, Mrs ******* went into the bank again to voice her disapproval. Ms ******* was again dismissive and began passing blame in a very unprofessional manner. At no time did she apologize for the problem or take any responsibility for her refusal to call Visa Fraud. She specifically told Mrs. ******* that it was "your fault for not doing what I told you to do." Again she was dismissive and derisive, beneath the dignity of her station as a manager.

In addition to the incidents at the branch (above), the banking center replies were not at all timely, despite the fact that the messages were marked "urgent." They were answered in the normal time (I don't know exactly, 12-24 hours or so apart I'm guessingwe were very busy and were not on the computer but once or twice a day) and with nothing helpful as replies, only "call us." Even though we explained in writing that we had tried to call and could not get through on several occasions (even having Said Business College of ****** ********** attempt the call to no avail), the banking center showed no urgency, offered no assistance, and eventually did nothing.

We don't know who has written the above "official response" from the bank, but this is not a response worthy of any consideration for a professional organization. It is a clear attempt to whitewash and dismiss the problem. The bank has not one time taken any responsibility for its failure to aid a customer. They have not contacted us in any manner to see how amends can be made. They have not reached out to us in any manner of any kind.

The reply also completely ignores the fees now assessed by us towards the bank of $315 (9x$35, a fee equal to the amount the bank itself would assess in the event of bounced checks). There were 9 "bounced" (rejected) items on our card directly as a result of the bank's refusal to help.) This effectively shut down our business.

This is a total and complete failure of ONB customer service, not only in the two visits to the branch, but also the banking center itself, and finally in the above official reply.

Finally, in the last several weeks, we have heard from numerous parties within the banking industry in the *********** area that this is not the first report they have heard that Ms. ******* has treated customers in such a manner, and that ONB has become a very "customer unfriendly" place to bank. We have every confidence that ONB is aware of this and that such unprofessional behavior is systemic from within the organization. The BBB grade on this organization should be immediately downgraded to reflect its reprehensible behavior, its failure to discipline one of its branch managers, and its general lack of customer concern. And it has an outstanding debt of $315 to us.

Although we are moving our accounts, it is not a simple overnight matter, and we have a fear that ONB will intentionally reach out to damage our accounts in the process as a retaliation for this justifiable complaint.

Final Business Response
Rebuttal given via phone by: ****** ********
rebuttal taken via phone by: *** ******

We had tried to contact Mr. ******* several times to no avail. We have credited his business account $315 for for the fees.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Transfer of Health Savings Funds to a new service provider with the level of the feel versus the poor executive of services.
My name is *** ***** ** ***** with a residence at **** ****** **** ************* IN XXXXX. My Health Savings Account was recently closed on July 16, 2014 as I intended to transfer these funds to a new custodial account because my employer changed service providers. I faxed my transfer form to your HAS Authority on July 14, 2014. My account was debited for $25.00 on July 15, and the transfer in the amount of $2,631.25 was sent in care of ********** Bank on July 16th. My new account as of July 24, 2014 has not been credited with the transfer.

While I understand you are not in control of the mail system or the custodial operations of the new provider, I do have some issues with your organization. First, for a fee of $25.00 I would have thought Old National would be capable of transferring electronic transactions though Automated Clearing House. But no, your organization sent a Cashier's Check through the mail that was sent out on July 21, 2014. I am sure through an abundance of caution you need to make sure that all transactions have cleared before the mailing, I think you have an excellent idea of pending transactions as soon as they are executed. I am perplexed by it would take five more days from the date of debit to mail out this check.

When I called into your customer service operation and after answering the six questions including my driver's license number to verify my identity, I had to be transferred to your HSA Authority because she could not help me. This is after asking for the proper department to seek answers to my questions. Accordingly, Old National Bank is long on fees and quite short on actual customer service. Other than this account, I have never had financial accounts with Old National and will never have a banking relationship with your company.

By way of this letter, I am also informing you that for what it is worth I will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Office of Comptroller of Currency on the efficacy of your services. I cannot tolerate how it can take days and weeks to post transfers between and among banks in this day and age especially for the level of fees that you charge to have even the most minimum transaction completed.

Desired Settlement
At a minimum an apology for the inadequate service and the lost interest on my account because of the length of time this transfer application will take.

Business Response
The HSA Authority responded directly to ***** ***** via a letter dated 7/29/14. A copy of that letter will be emailed to the attention of *** ******** Thank you.

06/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trying to close account. Bank continues charging fees.
We've had issues for years with Old National. Been charged well over $3000 in fees over the past few years. I'm on disability and have 3 special needs children. We decided to close the account. We went negative and my wife deposited zero out the account. The next day we showed a zero balance. Over the weekend we went negative due to another company charging our account early. I went in and deposited the account back to zero. My card was taken and I was told our account was closed. Today our account went negative .50 cents. My wife tried calling and was told the manager was not in but he would call her back. A little later I checked and we were charged 4 NSF fees of $38 each. Making our account -$152.50. My wife has continued to call and receive no call back due to him being out. The lady there said she'd have him call her but the time was 4:30pm and the office closed at 5. I called and got upset that we continually get the run around because we were lied to. No fees were supposed to be taken out because we made our account current. Still haven't received a call and it's 5:20pm. The bank runs on the next business day so we will be told we didn't make our account current and we were supposed to receive those charges. We tried to get help but none was provided by the person we called and no calls were returned before the business day ended. Like I said I am a disabled father trying to take care of 3 special needs kids and my wife works from home and we aren't sure from week to week what she will be able to make. But when a billion dollar company can line their pockets with money that should be used to help take care of my children, who cares right? I have a feeling that this will be ignored just like the countless others that do as well. We aren't the first, and we won't be the last. I just want this bank out of my life. Is that too hard to ask?

Desired Settlement
I'd love all of the money that they've stole over the course of our time with them. We never agreed to use Old National but were forced because they bought the bank we used. (Charter One) So I would like the $152 plus any additional fees that will be taken from our account since we can't close it till it's a zero balance. I'm sorry for the hard reading of this complaint. My chest hurts from the stress of dealing with it.

Business Response
We have researched this matter and found the $152 in NSF fees assessed on 6/3 were due to debit card authorizations on hold while other transactions were posting. Those authorizations expired and never posted to the account; therefore, we are refunding those fees. The customer should see the credit in his account tomorrow. The account is currently positive, so as long as there is a positive balance, the customer should be able to close the account after receiving the credit tomorrow, if that is his desire. Please let me know if you need further information. Thank you.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I CONTACTED OLD NATIONAL BANK ABOUT A %O CLOSEING COST REFINANCE/AND MRS ***** ******* WAS MY AGENT/HER PHONE IS XXX-XXXXXXX OR XXX-XXXXXXX- EVERYONE AT THE BANK IN ***** **** IND. IS VERY NICE BUT IN MY CASE ***** ASKED ME WHAT MY HOME WAS WORTH I AM NO EXPERT SO I SAIS MY INSURANCE REPLACEMENT COST IS 9O-142THOUSAND ACORDING TO MY HOME INSURANCE STATEMENT/OUR CREDIT WAS CHECKED AND WE WERE TOLD BY ***** OUR NEW LOW INTEREST LOAN HAD BEEN APPROVED/AND THEN ABOUT A WEEK LATTER WHEN SHE RETURNED FROM VACATION ***** ******* CALLED MY HOME AND SAID YOUR HOME APPRAISAL CAME BACK AND YOU ARE REGECTED WE WERE DEVISTATED .SHE SAID YOUR APPRAISAL CAME BACK $58;OOO AND YOUR PAYOFF IS $59000/ MY WIFE WAS HURT NOW WE ARE STILL STUCK IN %8.6 ADJ.RATE COMPARED TO THE %4.25 FIXED RATE WE WERE SO HAPPY TO BE GETTING. SHE THEN WENT TO ZILLO WEB SITE AND SAID O I SEE WHAT HOMES IN YOUR AREA ARE SELLING FOR I SAID WHY DIDNT YOU DO YOUR RESEARCH AT FIRST WERE YOU THINKING ABOUT YOUR UPCOMEINGING VACATION OR WHAT??,I THEN SAID I AM CALLIND THE APPRASER TO CHECK FOR MISTAKES/ SHE SAID WHEN YOU DO TELL THEM YOUR LOAN SITUATION AND HOW CLOSE THE NUMBERS ARE TELL THEM EVERYTHING WHICH I DID I LEFT APPRASER A RECORDED MESSAGE THAT APPRASER WAS ******* **** XXX-XXXX WHEN SHE RETURNED MY CALL SHE SAID SHE HAD SENT AN E-MAIL TO OLD NATIONAL BANK/I LATER RECIEVED A PHONE CALL SAYING I WAS NOT TO CONTACT APPRASER I SAID OK I DIDNT NO THAT/ I LIKE OLD NATIONAL BANK THAY ALWAYS TREAT ME VERY NICE WHEN I DO MY BANKING/ I AM DISABLED NOW BUT I HAVE BENN WORKING SINCE I WAS 14 UNTIL A FEW YEARS AGO WHEN I WAS ALMOST KILLED AT WORK/WE WERE SO EXCITED AT THE THOUGHT OF A NEW FIXED RATE MORTGAGE CREDIT WAS APROVED AND ALL OUR PAPERWORK WAS SUBMITTED /THEN AT THE END TO BE TOLD BY ***** WHEN SHE RETURNED FROM VACATION I AM SORRY I AM REJECTING YOUR LOAN IT WAS DEVASTATING ESP.IN TODAYS ECONOMY AND NOW I HAVE BAD NEWS AND A $270.00 APRARSEL BILL THI COULD HAVE ALL BEEN AVOIDED IF ***** HAD DONE HER HOMEWORK FROM START/

Desired Settlement
MY 270.00 APPRAISAL FEE AND $1O.OO PAYOFF FEE THAT WAS REQUESTED FROM MY LENDER// ALSO PERHAPS A REFRESHER COURCE FOR ***** ******* TO TAKE BETTER CARE OF HER MORTGAGE CUSTOMERS MY WIFE CRIED FOR TWO NITES BECAUSE OF ***** ******** LACK OF EXPERIANCE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE/ BUT I STILL LIKE OLD NATIONAL BANK CAUSE ALL THE PEOPLE AT MY DOWNTOWN BRANCH ARE VERY NICE AND PROFESIONAL / THANKS FOR ANY HELP THAT YOU MAY GIVE/ FOR GOD IS WATCHING US// ALL THANK YOU **** ** ******

Business Response
Credit approval is contingent upon getting a satisfactory appraisal back. Unfortunately, the appraisal came back much lower than the client had estimated. Old National did not collect an appraisal fee from the client. He may have received an invoice from the appraisal company, but we have contacted the client to let him know he is not responsible for payment of the appraisal fee. If we can provide additional information, please advise. Thank you.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
WE DID GET A PHONE CALL REGARDING APPRAISAL FEE;FROM BANK REP.WHILE WE WERE EATING DINNER;WHEN I SAID CAN YOU CALL BACK IN ABOUT 5 MIN SHE SAID WE WILL PAY THE FEE WE NEVER GOT A CALL BACK ' AND SO THE ISSUE OF THE CASE DESCRIPTION IN OUR ORIGINAL LETTER WAS NEVER TALKED ABOUT???HOWEVER THE REST OF THE GIRLS IN THE DOWNTOWN BRANCH ARE VERY NICE AND PROFESIONAL AS WELL AS CUSTOMER FRIENDLY THANK YOU

Final Business Response
A Regional Sales Manager contacted Mr. ****** today, May 1, to discuss our policies and procedures related to loan approvals.

Page 1 of 6
02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusing to accept appraisal bank ordered
I request to eliminate PMI in October. I was told Bank must order appraisal, they would not allow me to order appraisal. Bank ordered appraisal from state licensed appraiser. Appraisal was returned at $310K. Bank would not accept the appraisal they ordered from the company they ordered from. In December I was told they wanted a new appraisal. 2nd appraisal came in in January 2015 at $287K. Bank notified me they would use the $287K appraisal because they did not agree to the $310K appraisal. It is not clear to me why the bank can just keep ordering appraisals until they get one that will not allow me to eliminate my PMI and say we will go with that one too bad. Had I ordered original appraisal I could understand but I cannot understand how the bank can just reject the appraisal from a state licensed appraiser they hired.

Desired Settlement
I would like bank to agree to use original appraisal or the average of two appraisals and eliminate my mortgage insurance.

Business Response
Mr. ******** contacted Old National to request that PMI be cancelled. His loan is serviced by Old National and owned by Fannie Mae. Mr. ******** was informed that an updated appraisal had to be ordered to verify the collateral value of the home before a determination could be made on his PMI cancellation request. An appraisal was completed, but the value was rejected due to inapplicable home comparisons used by the appraiser to determine the value of the home. The rejection of the appraisal was explained to the customer and a second appraisal was completed, which provided a value insufficient to support cancellation of PMI. If you desire additional information, please advise. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They chose the original appraiser. What is the point of them choosing if they will just reject when they do not like the appraisal.

Final Business Response
As clarification, the previous response should have said that the paydown allowed PMI removal. The PMI has been removed. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did pay down but did not want to . if bank would have used first appraisal then no need for pay down.

12/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the bank has put force place insurance on my truck for no reason. I have had insurance on this vehicle for duration of the loan
I bought a 2008 dodge ram pick up back in September of 2008. The truck was purchased by me for my Daughter and her then Husband. I called sometime towards the end of 2013 to find out what the pay off was, the payoff amount then was really close to $10,000. (Which I believed to be accurate.) When I called in September of 2014 to figure out what the pay off was they told me $7,376.67. I knew that didn't sound right because I only have 9 or 10 payments left...meaning my pay off amount should be around $4800 not $7376.67. So come to find out they are saying we didn't have insurance on the truck, and they are attempting to bill me $2,576.67. They sent me to their insurance department to talk about dates of insurance policies they have on file, I found several deficiencies in their record keeping process. Including an old paper they sent me (That I found in a stack of old papers unopened.)showing that I didn't have insurance on 5/20/2011. When I told them I did have insurance at that time (Found an old insurance card from safe auto proving it.) they simply changed the dates on me again and again, going back further and further, and bouncing me between customer service and the Insurance department neither able to tell me exactly why the charges were added and why, and sometimes not showing them at all, giving me the runaround until I eventually ran out of old papers proving otherwise. This seems like a scam to me and very unprofessional. The addition to my pay off amount was not added in earlier in the life of the loan because if it had I would have been able to disprove it much better, they wait until it's all several years old and harder to come up with proof. I have always had insurance on my truck and have disproved several of their charges that I didn't. But unfortunately without help from my daughters ex-husband (for possible additional records) I simply can't prove each and every single day from the last several years, especially when each time I do they just change the dates on me as though they are just shooting from the hip and digging until they find something hard to disprove. Again, I have disproved several of their allegations of a lack of insurance, but unfortunately I have ran out of resources and have to turn to you for help. I would like these fraudulent charges of $2,576.67 challenged and dropped from my loan so I can pay off my truck and not have a "final payment" of $3,000 or more and be asked to refinance it with a company like Old National bank that would do something like this to a loyal customer. Please help.

Desired Settlement
I would like these fraudulent charges of $2,576.67 challenged and dropped from my loan so I can pay off my truck and not have a "final payment" of $3,000 or more and be asked to refinance it with a company like Old National bank that would do something like this to a loyal customer. Please help.

Business Response
Our records show several payoff quotes have been provided throughout the life of the loan. We do not, however, have record of a payoff quote at the end of 2013 for $10,000. An insurance cancelation notice was received in 2010 so notifications were sent to the client requesting insurance verification on June 22, July 20 and July 30, 2010. The original lapse of coverage was from 6/4/10 to 6/4/11. Notification was sent to the client that a premium of $2,692 was added to the loan on 8/31/10. A refund of $224.24 was provided once we received proof of coverage for a portion of the lapsed period. The currrent outstanding lapse of coverage on the loan is from 6/4/10 to 4/28/11 for a remaining balance of $2,467.76. The remainder can still be refunded with proof of coverage for the stated time. I will email copies of the notifications that were provided to the client. If you need additional information, please advise. Thank you.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
we do not accept the response, we already knew that information. I have called them several times checking on the payoff amount on this loan and I did call towards the end of the 2013 and they did tell me an amount that was really close to $10,000 I don't remember the exact amount. I spent several hours talking to different departments at the bank about this, they had several different things wrong and I was able to tell them differently like them having wrong dates for insurance policies. the bank never mentioned to me about sending requests asking for insurance information. I told them that I had received a paper back on may 22,2011 requesting insurance information but we had insurance so we really didn't think anything of it. if they really did mail out requests to me on june 22,july 20 and july 30 2010 then how come we never received them, but for some reason we received one in may of 2011 a whole year later...that seems odd. we have proved the bank wrong with so many other issues like dates on insurance policies that it hard to believe anything they say. we are not able to back track any further due to the fact that it has been so long ago, the fact that my daughters ex-husband isn't here to assist in this matter, and the fact that my daughter was a victim of a house fire in jan. 2010 and lost everything. the bank did send me an itemized paper showing all payments and/or changes made to this loan over the last 7 years..I noticed that in Feb. 2014 when I paid Feb., march,april,may,june and july all on Feb.18,2014 that for some reason they charged me a late fee of $24.00 for the july payment. that's odd. its always something with this bank. pls help me figure all this out. there are too many inconsistencies here and im not understanding why.

Final Business Response
The $24 late fee referenced was for the February payment. Payment is due on the 3rd of each month with a grace period of 10 days. Payment was made on 2/18/14 and a late fee was assessed accordingly.

As far as the payoff quote, all calls coming in to Client Care are recorded and there is no record of a call with a payoff amount of $10,000 around the end of 2013. If we have additional information from the customer we can research this further.

Notices/Force Placed Insurance: The notices of which we have provided copies were mailed as previously stated. The letters do not come from Old National and would not have Old National on the outside so perhaps the client never opened them. The insurance is serviced by a 3rd party vendor. Old National information is within the documents inside the envelope. The dates for non-coverage are showing within the loan information in our system and the information within the documents mailed. The service provider of the Force Placed Insurance is able to work directly with the insurance company if the client does not have the specific information available to send to Old National. The service provider of the insurance can contact the insurance company that covered the vehicle if the client is able remember what insurance company the coverage was through and the office where the policy was started.

Please advise if you need additional information.

08/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am the designated payee for ****** ********** Her account was charged $8.00 a day for a "daily overdraft fee" INCLUDING the day of direct deposit.
Her account became overdrawn when she withdrew $20.00 on the 18th of July by -$6.19. The bank allowed this withdrawl from their ATM and charged a $38.00 NSF OD charge. Then, on the 24th, began charging her account $8.00 per day because she didn't come in and cover the $44.19. ****** ********* can not work and only receives an SSI check from the Government. Also, I was not aware that an $8.00 PER DAY fee would be charged if the account obtained a negative balance. This $8.00 per day fee was charged all the way up to and INCLUDING the day her SSI Direct Deposit posted to her account, meaning that the Bank, on the 1st of August AFTER her direct deposit was posted CHARGED ANOTHER $8.00 fee.

The Bank did not tell us that there would be an $8.00 a day fee charged to the account in the event of an overdraft until AFTER they started charging the fee.

Desired Settlement
I feel that they should refund the entire amount for failing to notify us BEFORE taking the fees out. It was only overdrawn $6.19, yet they took over $116.00 from her direct deposit for that small overdraft. Ms. Granville was told by Social Security not to use a "pre-paid" debit card because of the fees associated with such a card, but NO pre-paid card would ever be able to steal someone's money like Old National did to her. And when we went in to close the account, the person who handled the closure was arrogant, condescending and belittling towards us.

Business Response
The ATM withdrawal that overdrafted the account was allowed as the account was opted in for overdraft courtesy. All fees to the account post for the previous day's activity and were assessed in accordance with our Deposit Account Agreement and Disclosure. The branch manager discussed the overdraft situation with them at the time they closed the account. No refunds are warranted. If you need additional information or account activity reports, please advise. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Even though you charged these fees ON THE SAME DAY as the direct deposit posted, you still feel entitled to keep the funds, and even though you wait until AFTER the deadline to respond to this complaint you still believe that you can legal STEAL a disabled persons money....I hope you people can sleep well...I'm going to the media...

Final Business Response
Any complaint received is investigated internally with the parties involved. Our fee schedule was provided at the time of account opening. The overdraft situation was discussed with the client in the branch. The customer decided to close the account. Refunds are not typically provided unless there is a bank error. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was not even brought up when I closed the account as the person who closed it was rude, condescending and arrogant towards me and Ms. ********** Whoever is writing the responses obviously wasn't there and is only giving pat answers. And as I previously stated, we were NOT given ANY notice about the fees BEFORE being charged them as evidenced by the copy of the letter that was sent to me on the 29th of July. Nowhere in that letter does it state anything about the fees being charged to the account and has the air of just a "friendly reminder" to come in and take care of the overdraft.

06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The bank offers a no application fee, no appraisal and no closing costs on their Quick Home Re-fi. I went to my local branch and filled out an application where days after the application I was told that I would have to pay for title insurance. Old National stated that this is due to a title change back in 2005. The issue with this is that my wife and I had just refianced our home with their company in the year 2010. When I called to find out the issue the Manager (****** ******* at my local branch could not explain this to me. Then when I called the 1-800 customer service number I was told that this is due to the "arms length" from the last time that we refianced our home. I looked up in the fiancial dictionary and there is no definition of the term "arms length." Today I was called by the branch manager (****** ******* to inform me that our home is now only valued at $65,000. This just doesn't seem right when the same company valued my home at $85,000. We financed $67,500 at 80% loan to value and now the company is stating that our home is devalued by $20,000. There seems to be some problems with the consistentcy that this company is providing in the community of ********* Indiana. I believe that this problem occured becaused I challenged the company on the original costs of the title insurance without proper disclosure at application. Then because I followed up I now have a home that has been devalued due to the comapny not wanting to make the loan to my wife and I. This seems to almost be disparate lending practices on behalf of both the lender ****** ****** and Old National Bank.
Product_Or_Service: Quick Home Re-Fi

Desired Settlement
I want the loan that I ask for. This is a refiance of my current mortgage at $67,200 for the rate of 3.875% Annual Percentage Rate without the four hundred and some dollars for the amount of the title insurance that no one in this financial institution can explain. I would also like to know how a financial institution can come back in less than 5 years and devalue a home that they appraised at $85,000 compared to the $65,000.

Business Response
We regret that we were unable to refinance this customer's current mortgage due to the appraisal coming back with insufficient equity. In 2010 we used a Freddie Mac Home Value Estimator and an exterior (or drive-by) appraisal for the most recent request. In addition, market conditions could have impacted the value. Under our current guidelines, title insurance is required if the most recent transfer of ownership was not an arm's length transaction. An arm's length transaction is one where the grantor (i.e. seller) and grantee (i.e. buyer) of property act independently, and are not related to each other. A quit claim deed from a divorce, a deed from a parent to child, or from an individual into a trust or vice versa, are all examples that are not arm's length. While we were not able to refinance their current mortgage, we were able to provide the customer with an unsecured loan to meet their needs. If we can provide additional information, please advise. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company did in interior appraisal at the time of last application. The loan that this loan was also held by Old National Bank. The comps against my property were in the nearby town of ******** and nothing was used in the City of ********* The title and the amount should not be a problem for Old National accomadate. I believe that I was lied to at application from the branch manager and that the company is REDLINING. Old National was happy to provide me with a unsecured loan at a higher rate that cost me both application cost and loan origination fees. If my home loan would have me granted I would have been able to get the same out come and save my family and I the $284 payment of the unsecured loan. This is once again the sign of big banking taking advantage of the consumer.

Final Business Response
Old National purchased Charter One branches but did not purchase the Charter One loans. In 2010, Mr. **** refinanced his mortgage with Old National, and Old National paid off his Charter One loan. As stated earlier, we were unable to refinance the loan in 2014 due to insufficient equity.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information that you have is incorrect as you bought Charter One Bank. This loan was done by ***** ****** out of your Broadway branch as she is listed as my loan officer. Once again you have got your information incorrect and refuse to resolve the issue. This is a sign of the new "Redlining" of "Your bank for life" philosophy at Old National Bank. I will be an advocate in the community to expound what type of bank you truly are. This is nothing short of a small bank that has forgotten just where they came from. My question is what do you intend to do because without clear resolution I will be forced to retain a lawyer.

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I do not bank with this institution. I utilized their ATM which did not withdraw the funds and they refuse to get my money to me.
I do not bank with this institution. I went through, out of convenience, to use their ATM machine the 15th. The machine did not give me the funds and I just got a small receipt that it faulted. I gone into the institution to speak to the manager. I spoke with Mrs. *** ******* She made a few phone calls, explained their ATM must be down, and that it would drop off my bank account transactions that evening. I gone to my bank and filed a discrepancy that same day. The next day, the ATM transaction was still on my bank transactions. I filed a complaint with Old National, which they said it would take up to 3 days for anyone to get back with me. It is now Friday. The $363.50 (that is with their ATM charges) has cleared my account. I gone to the branch again to see how they can help me as it had cleared and I desperately need the money. They refused to do anything further for me at this point saying it is now between Visa and their ATM Company which is a separate entity. This is causing many things in my account to bounce; I am at my limit with going into the negative due to this. I have no funds for food or gas this weekend, and no one there was willing to assist me in resolving this ASAP since Tuesday. This IS their problem, and THEY need to take ownership and give me my money that I did not receive. Their management provided me with inaccurate information on the 15th stating that the transaction would "fall off" my pending transactions that evening (Mrs. *** ******** then stating that it should be refunded up to 3 business days on the 16th. It is going on the 4th business day and it has cleared my account. It is going to take my institution up to 10 days after filing a dispute on the 15th. Management at Old National obviously do not relay accurate information, are not helpful, and uneducated. I would never bank with this bank or utilize any of their services due to their horrible customer service and rude management team.

Desired Settlement
This is causing many financial issues with me right now as I am unable to make any purchases. I am in limbo if I need to take out a payday advance to get me through the weekend and this gets resolved. I would like my money back ASAP, $363.50, I would like reimbursed for money that I do not have due to this which is causing immediate hardships on me.

Business Response
We apologize for the inconvenience Ms. ******* experienced. In accordance with industry and ATM network standards, Ms. ******* needed to contact her bank to initiate the dispute resolution process. Transactions through the ATM network are governed by the agreement she has with her bank. We are reaching out to her bank to ensure the matter has been resolved to her satisfaction. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Management is ill informed. Mrs. *** ****** called management and told me the finds posted to my account as "given" and it would drop off like it never happened. She called upper management to check, and that's what I was told would happen. 3 hours to run an errand and to be completely misinformed on 3 different occasions is absurd. I am a single mom working 2 jobs, I don't have time or the extra funds to receive over $300 at your banks convenience. Took over 10 days for this to be resolved. My sister recently moved here for college, she wanted to open an account with you guys since your ATMs are plastered all over usi campus. I made sure to it that she bank elsewhere.

Business Response
We believe Ms. *******'s complaint may be better directed to the bank she does business with. As stated previously, transactions through the ATM network are governed by the account agreement the individual has with their bank. We regret that Ms. ******* encouraged her sister not to open an account with Old National. Had Ms. ******* been a customer of ours, we would have been able to assit her more readily. A banking center representative has contacted Ms. ******* to offer our apologies for her inconvenience.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Stock Bond Brokers, Insurance Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1981Business started: 01/01/1834
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1982, IN

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Kortney Blaylock (Marketing Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Bob Jones (President & CEO)Mr. Jim Sandgren (Southern Region CEO)Mr. Chad Smith (Contract Manager/AVP)
Business Category

Banks, Stock Bond Brokers, Insurance Companies

Products & Services

This company offers full service banking, 2nd brokerage, trust, and insurance services.

Alternate Business Names
Old National Service Corporation, Old National Bank (headquarters), Old National Bancorp
Industry Tips
Financial Institutions
Insurance Policies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Old National Bank

One Main St.

Evansville, IN 47708

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Old National Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (270) 333-1165
  • (812) 547-6475
  • (812) 547-2355
  • (812) 548-5500
  • (270) 831-8900
  • (812) 749-4778
  • (270) 831-6800
  • (812) 257-3040
  • (618) 966-2155
  • (618) 382-5911

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (812) 464-1557
  • (812) 425-9664
  • (812) 421-4059
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.