BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/1999

Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 827-7455Fax: (812) 634-1820View Additional Phone Numbers815 Wernsing Rd., JasperIN 47546 Send email to Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Remanufacturer of automotive, truck and marine drivetrain products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/1999

BBB has determined that Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Complaints generally concern product quality and warranty issues.

The Jasper, Indiana location is the national headquarters for the company which services consumers nationwide. This report is based on compiled complaint activity from the company's nationwide service area. All complaints filed with the BBBs across the US are processed by the Jasper area headquarters.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues12
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
07/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delivery of unordered products

Complaint: Jasper Engines failed to deliver the product ordered in timeframe stated, and then when the product did arrive three days later, it was wrong.
We placed an order for a transmission for a 1999 Ford F450 2 wheel drive on Thur.June 12th. The salesperson, **** ******* asked if the transmission was with or without PTO. We told him without and he said that the transmission would arrive the following day, Friday the 13th. We even joked about the implication of the date. We took the transmission out of the truck and the transmission did not arrive as stated. We called **** and he said that it would not arrive till Monday. Now our bay was tied up, we were unable to use the rack for the rest of the appointments we had scheduled for after the transmission work, and the customer who does Fiber Optic work was unable to complete their jobs. Monday at noon there was still no transmission. We called Jasper, and they said it would be there by one. At 3:00 PM it arrived, and was for a 4 wheel drive truck, not a two wheel drive. At this point in time we as a business and the customer are 4 days behind. We called Jasper again and they stated that there was a tag number for identification that was needed which is why the wrong transmission was sent. We told them that's not our mistake, you guys should have asked for that. They agreed. They said they could not get the correct transmission to us until the 18th. The customer could not wait that long so we ordered one overnight from Ford which was $500.00 more. We could not relay that to the customer who had mailed us a check from corporate office for the exact amount of the Jasper transmission, especially after the hassle they were already going through and the money that was lost. We asked Jasper to at least give us the $500.00 difference in the two transmissions that we were going to have to pay out of pocket and they refused, and were rather rude asking "so you want us to pay you to put a Ford transmission in". We told them no, we want you to pay us what your mistakes are costing us, keeping in mind that not only are we having to pay the difference in the transmissions but your mistakes cost us thousands of dollars of work that we couldn't do because of the appointments we had to cancel due to the rack being tied up and the customer who hasn't been able to work in four days. The customer is from out of town, Georgia and is installing lines here in Virginia. They offered no way to get the transmission the following day (like Ford did) No discount to offset the issues we had, and no apology for their mistakes.

Initial Business Response
Based on the information we have, the engine was ordered incorrectly. When the product was originally quoted, the correct expect date was 6/13. However, when the shop called back to order, the delivery truck had already left and the correct date at that time was 6/16. When the shop called to advise the product was wrong, Jasper offered to give a $100 discount and direct freight the product to save time. The customer refused this and instead demanded Jasper pay the difference for the Ford unit. We were told, at that time, that the difference was around $200, not $500.
Based on this, Jasper feels we have made a good faith attempt to resolve this and our offer was declined. Jasper is not in a position to pay out money for a product that we ended up not even being allowed to make the sale on.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is exactly my point. You cant possibly have any idea what you are talking about because WE DID NOT ORDER AN ENGINE. WE ORDERED A TRANSMISSION!!!!!. So according to the information you have (as stated in line one of your response) you are already off track. AGAIN!!!. The TRANSMISSION was not ordered incorrectly. It was ordered by VIN with out PTO for a 2 wheel drive truck. The employee on Jaspers end made the mistake. Nor did any Jasper employee offer us anything but an attitude. Considering the amount of time and money we had lost we would have taken the 100 dollars. And we would have at least felt like somebody cared. The difference was never 200 it was always 500 and we have six employees and the three customers that were attached to that specific truck listening to and recording the speaker phone conversation. We are taking you to court and they will all be there to testify about what was really said. Your business is a joke, your employees are a joke. And from your highly inaccurate statement I have to come to the conclusion that you are liars. Good job on telling me we ordered an engine though. Really shows how well put together and what good track of things you keep.

Final Business Response
My apologies. The fact that this was a transmission, not an engine was my mistake. That said, I beleive the rest of the items to be accurate. We also record phone calls, so what was said should not be an issue.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/15/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2
03/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: A new Jasper engine to my Ford Explorer 2002 massively failed after a couple of months of usage.
Jasper Case No: XXXXXX
This is a copy of a letter I sent to the company's president **** ***** on Dec 16, 2013.

**** ***** - JASPER President/COO
815 Wernsing Rd., Jasper, IN 47546

Dear Mr. *****,

Back on September 28th my car came to an unanticipated halt following a loud shattering metallic sound coming from the engine compartment and dropping engine oil throughout the road. I had the car towed to my trusted mechanics at *** garage in ******* VA. Their diagnosis was a blown engine the result of a piston rod driving through the pan and shattering the recently replaced starter.

The diagnosis came as a shock since only a few months ago I had replaced my Ford Exploder's engine with a new Jasper engine. When it came time to replace the engine I had several alternatives but at the insistence of expert car mechanics and other satisfied customers I settled on Jasper. The recommendations certainly played a large part but the iron clad guarantee that Jasper offers tipped the scale.
I had the mechanic who originally installed the replacement engine do the work necessary to replace yet again the defective engine. As if the initial shock of a failed engine was not enough I got a second shock when the mechanic informed that Jasper was not going to live up to its bargain and compensate the outfit for the labor and parts incurred. The reason that Jasper gave in declining warranty compensation were, according to car mechanics with a lifetime of practical experience, unfounded.

I sincerely hope that this is just a misunderstanding and that the situation can be rectified as soon as possible. There are a number of folks that would hate to see the trust they have placed in Jasper disintegrate after years of Jasper building a solid reputation.
Please make it right.

Sincerely,


***** **********

Initial Business Response
Jasper replaced the engine at no cost to the shop or vehicle owner. The engine was disassembled and inspected when it was returned to our facility. The failure was determined to be a connecting rod bent from a hydrolock condition. Jasper thouroghly tested and inspected the engine and determined the hydrolock issue was caused by excessive fuel in the combustion chamber. Since Jasper does not supply or install the fuel system, this is not a covered failure. At this time, due to the fact that the issue was not caused by a defect with Jasper's parts or workmanship, this is not a covered claim under the Warranty and labor is not payable.

Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The merchant's assignment of fault on the hudrolock effect is an insincere deflection of responsibility.

Hydrolock is typically associated with water or in extremely rare cases other fluids (oil, gas) entering the combustion chamber and filling it up. With the presence of the fluids and nowhere to go the pistons cease to move and the engine stalls. The laws of physics and the experience of dozens of seasoned car mechanics are in agreement that if the car was in a hydrolock the engine would have manifested signs of stress (running very rough) and the car would have frozen up ceasing to work since the pistons would have stopped revolving.

I was the one who drove the car on the day that the engine gave up and I did not feel absolutely any of the signs that accompany a stressed engine whose cylinder chambers are filled with liquid.

It is my continued belief that the engine was a dud and malfunctioned. That is why the merchant decided to replace the engine at no cost to the mechanic. The merchant however opted against meeting the full breadth of its stated warranty and did not compensate the mechanic for costs associated with the replacement of the defective engine.

I do not wish for this complaint to be closed as having been satisfied on my part. As I stated on the Desired Resolution section I will be satisfied only when the merchant has lived up to its stated guarantees unequivocally and reimbursed the mechanic for all of the labor and parts associated with this defective engine.

Final Business Response
The engine that was returned to Jasper exibited signs of hydrolock to the extent that the connecting rod was broken. As previously stated, Jasper has supplied an engine at no charge, even though this is not a Jasper issue. Nothing further is available from Jasper at this time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the last communication from my side on this claim.

I want lay out all of the facts one last time:

The engine was installed from an experienced car mechanic who has replaced numerous engines.

The motor had a few hundred miles and was still being gently broken in when it failed.

The engine showed no sign of being stressed prior to its complete failure. Signs that would have been consistent with an engine in hydrolock mode.

Jasper has a great track record and I am personally aware of a dozen happy customer having Jasper engines and transmissions. However once in a while a defect will surface. It is just a way of life with mechanized systems. This was one of those cases.

The replacement engine was certainly a good gesture from Jasper's but other parts were broken because of the motor failure and parts and labor were also incurred to get the car back to working condition.

I am appealing to Jasper to live up to its good name and satisfy its obligations. We on our part will continue to promote the Jasper name for its quality products and willingness to live up to its expectations.

Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: We had the motor in a commercial truck replaced (3) times within the last four years. The last motor lasted only 39,000 miles. Jaspers wont replace it
Purchased a replacement diesel engine in 2009 for a commercial truck. The jasper engine failed almost immediately and has since been replaced a total of three times. Each time the "Jasper authorized" repair facility charged us for the replacement labor. The last failure, came at only 39,000 miles.
Three motors and $20,000 later...

Business' Initial Response
Jasper would need a Warranty Case # or Engine Production # to be able to look into this further.
However, based on the information provided, if the product was purchased 4 years ago, the warranty would have already elapsed by at least 2 years.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The production number was XXXXXX. It was installed by a Jasper authorized dealer "Hydra-lift" for my company, Sign and Lighting Services, Inc..
Although it's fair to say that the written warranty on the motor had indeed expired, the vehicle that the motor was installed was not used that often and has less than 40,000 miles on it's Jasper motor. Any diesel motor that cost that much money to purchase and have installed should last considerably longer that the 40,000 mile diesel motors Jasper's is shipping out!! We had even installed an exterior oil cooler, at Jasper's request but at our expense, and the new engine still failed.
We believe we received a defective "lemon" motor and Jasper wont stand behind it. We want the defective motor replaced, it's that simple.

Business' Final Response
The engine production # provided is from a warranty in June of 2008, meaning that the original engine was sold 5 years ago or more. This would be well out of the 2 year warranty by over twice the warranty period. There is nothing that Jasper would be able to offer at this time.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

09/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: JASPER agent agreed to pay for; 6 hrs. labor for tranny exchange, 0.6 hrs labor for flush, transmission fluid, diag. and tax. = $526.23.
JASPER makes this claim on their web page I take as a written guarantee. "JASPER sells its products through a Dealer network of qualified installers." JASPER sold the transmission to *** **** *********** so he must be in the JASPER Dealer network, or they would not have sold it to him.
**** installed an incorrect transmission cross-bar which raised the universal yoke within less than the thickness of my index finger. This was hidden to myself and a NYS Complaint to the DMV has been made due to the potentially deadly situation to passengers and others when the cars rear axle locked several times. I am claiming JASPER is also liable for the damage to my car and the extra cost I had to pay to AAMCO.
I called *** at JASPER and told him the problems I was having with the car since the transmission was replaced. He, in common sense, should have told me to have it towed to JASPERS "Preferred Installer", which is only 4 miles away from my home. I talked to the owner at *********** Sunoco", and he refused to even look at my car.
The original installer, ***** argued every time I tried to make an appointment to "see" the car. I can now make an educated assumption as to why he didn't want to get it back, knowing what the problem was.
If *** as a representative of a company having heard my complaints of dangerous, life-threatening problems of a rear wheel car's rear tires locking up and nearly causing accidents, he should have MADE Jaspers "Preferred Installer" inspect my car and report directly to him to prevent damage to the JASPER transmission, and to protect JASPERS customer, who entrusted JASPERS statement that they sell ONLY TO A DEALER NETWORK OF "QUALIFIED" INSTALLERS, knowing I made many complaints of a seriously dangerous condition brought on since I purchased a JASPER transmission!
I now have spent hours trying to find out what happened. When I did "piece" together the events. I had the honesty to call JASPER and tell them what happened. When I did this, JASPER now has the audacity to renege on the paltry reimbursement they agreed to pay while my car and my family where STRANDED at AAMCO!
I paid $3,054.00 to **** *********** $1,798.34 to AAMCO, and my car is now damaged with a drive-line vibration, creaking U-joints, possible damage to the front of the drive axle and engine leaking oil, most likely to the "Shock-Load" of having the drive-line components rotating from 2500 RPM and dropping within a micro-second to zero.
I believe JASPER should reimburse me at least for the entire AAMCO labor rate, which is almost twice JASPERS reimbursement rate to me, and the above mentioned; fluid, diagnostic labor, flushing labor and the tax. This equals $793.05. This doesn't even include the cost of having to pay for a taxi to take my family home. I will have to take *** **** to small claims court to collect for price of incorrect cross-bar.
To summarize:
JASPERS statement of, "JASPER sells its products through a Dealer network of qualified installers." Is a WRITTEN GUARANTEE that **** was part of JASPERS "Dealer network." Fact, they sold it to him.
If ***, a representative of JASPER, had made the "Preferred Installer", so near to me, look at the installation and tranny and report back to him, NO DAMAGE WOULD HAVE HAPPENED TO THE JASPER PRODUCT AND MY LIFE AND THE LIFE OF MY FAMILY AND THE LIFE OF PEOPLE WE WOULD HAVE INJURED IN THE EVENT THAT THE U-JOINT AND YOLK FAILED, CAUSING THE FRONT OF THE DRIVE SHAFT TO DROP ONTO THE PAVEMENT AND CATAPULT THE CAR THROUGH THE AIR UPSIDE-DOWN, WOULD NEVER HAVE HAPPENED! This was a very serious issue that JASPER DIDN'T REACT IN A RESPONSIBLE MANNOR!

Business' Initial Response
Jasper would need the Production # of the engine to review this further. However, based on the consumer's explanation, does not appear that Jasper had anything to do with this issue. The dealers that Jasper sells to are independent and are not owned or managed by Jasper. Jasper is not responsible for any installation issues caused by the shop doing the work.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept this as acceptable.
1. A lawyer I spoke with says anything that assures a potential purchaser that the product being sold to them will be sold only to a person that is capable of installation makes this a written warranty. In this case it is from JASPER. JASPER bears responsibility in this installation due to their written "warranty" that JASPER only sells to a qualified technician. They sold it to Hunt not to me.
2- A JASPER Representative made a deal with me to refund the 3rd party labor rate, fluid, diagnostic labor, tax and taxi fare home.

Business' Final Response
Again, Jasper is not responsible for the installation or error by the shop, as they are an independent entity. Second, any reimbursement offered by Jasper is pending our inspection of the product and no payment is made until the defect is determined to be caused by Jasper. At this time, Jasper has covered the cost of the replacement transmission, as well as shipping, even though the defect was not due to Jasper's parts or workmanship. Nothing further is available at this time.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/31/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Transmission Suppliers, Electric Motor Manufacturers, Electric Motor Companies, Diesel Engine Suppliers, Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/13/1992Business started: 01/01/1942
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1959, IN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Schrader (VP/Sales & Service)Mr. Doug Bawel (Chairman & CEO)Mr. Zach Bawel (President & COO)Mr. Jeff Bawel ((General Manager, Jasper Electric Motors))Mr. Jason Hulsman (Marketing Coordinator)
Business Category

Auto Transmission Suppliers, Electric Motor Manufacturers, Electric Motor Companies, Diesel Engine Suppliers, Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies

Products & Services

This company offers automotive, truck & industrial engines, transmissions, & differentials; marine engines, stern drives, lower units, and outboard powerheads; performance engines and transmissions; and alternate fuel engines.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 06:30 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 06:30 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 06:30 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 06:30 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 06:30 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Jasper Electric Motors, Jasper Engines & Transmissions, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc. participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair/Transmissions
Electronic Equipment

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc.

815 Wernsing Rd.

Jasper, IN 47546

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jasper Engine & Transmission Exchange, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (812) 482-1041
  • (812) 482-1660
  • (800) 827-7470
  • (812) 482-1041

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (812) 634-1561
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Transmission Suppliers

Auto Repair/Transmissions
Electronic Equipment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.