BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2012

North Side Auto Sales

Find a Location

(812) 319-14152312 N. Lafayette, EvansvilleIN 47711 Send email to North Side Auto Sales

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2012

BBB has determined that North Side Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on North Side Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I am writing to complain about North Side Auto off Lafayette in *********** IN. I called about a black Mazda 6. The owner seemed great, however his daughter, ******* ******** didn't. She makes wanting to get a car from there iffy/questionable. First she offered me to get any other vehicle except that one. Then, she tried acting as if the car wasn't there anymore. When I informed her the gentleman had told me it was in the shop and had planned on having it out and ready in about a week, she suddenly "remembered" and then said that it was in the shop for several weeks because they were replacing the transmission. Once she realized I was still interested in the car, she came up with a story on how there was an issue on the odometer reading with the "Special Financing" bank. She said somewhere down the line, someone guessed at the mileage and so the bank is flagging it. She again tried getting me to buy a different car.
She said that if I wanted that particular car, I'd need a co-signer or pay in cash because of the odometer reading. I got a co-signer and she said their credit score was worse than mine and wasn't even 500. That's impossible because that person just moved into an apartment in June of this year and they would not allow her to move in had her credit score been that low. So I decided to go there in person instead of calling. I spoke with the gentleman I originally dealt with on the phone. He said the car isn't in the shop because of the transmission, it was because of a sensor/switch. Again, he informed me that it'd be out in about a week. When I started mentioning what all I was told on the phone, ******* got all nervous and mad at the fact that I came in. She chimed in with all of these stories again. She also told me when he wasn't listening that the car had been in the shop for several months now. She said that he thinks it'll be out in a week but it's going to be several weeks yet. When I mentioned that about the co-signer and moving, they couldn't figure out what was wrong and agreed something was wrong. They were saying that there was some kind of medical/judgemental dispute making her credit score lower. Nothing has changed since the co-signer has moved. When I mentioned that about the odometer, the gentleman and his wife was saying how the title says the odometer reads as exempt. So how would that be an issue with that bank? If it's exempt, it wouldn't matter what the odometer says and it would say in their system that it's exempt. She changed the subject on how I need a co-signer with a credit score of 700 or better or pay in cash. The owner said that he would investigate the title issue on Tuesday, Nov. 11 & would let me know. I didn't hear anything so I called them after4pm. Again the call was handed to *******. She said it wasn't done because the banks were closed with it being Veterans Day. Well this had nothing to do with the banks as the owner said he was going to contact the previous owners to get the odometer fixed. I told her that I put another co-signer down and that he had just bought a new car for $10,000 last week. She claimed his score wasn't good enough either. When I said it didn't make sense everything that she was saying, she acted as if I was an idiot and even asked me if I knew what exempt meant. I work at the BMV, of course I know what exempt means. When I questioned what the odometer reading has anything to do with the bank, when it's marked as exempt, she tried saying it wasn't exempt until I reminded her how they pulled the title the previous night saying that the title has it marked as exempt. Then she said that they gather all the info from the BMV and so the BMV must still have it as having mileage. If the title says exempt, it's been thru the BMV, and it has nothing to do with mileage with the bank. Then she said that she's not the bank and doesn't know how they work and they just follow what the bank says, when a couple minutes before, she was willing to tell me how the banks work. Even then she was saying that's how banks are. So does she or doesn't know how banks function then? When the original person went in to get her copy of the credit report, she said that they didn't even have her current employment down even though she's been there for years. When I said that something's not right, she again, tried acting as if I was an idiot suggesting that I am blaming them for changing the credit scores and how she's unable to do that. I never once suggested that. All I said was that something's not right with all the stories she's been telling me. What got me, is that she typed something on the computer and then told her mom, the one who was trying to make things work for me to get the car, that everytime she pulled it up, it says this and pointed at what she typed. Then the mother all of a sudden backed off and wasn't as willing to help. They said that the co-signer could go in and they could give her the credit report. When she went in there, the guy said that they cannot give her the credit report because it's illegal. When she was in there for the report, the gentleman asked if they called to speak to the previous owners, ******* said no. Again, when I spoke to her she said they didn't get the title fixed because the banks are closed. I thought ******* was out of line when she said they have the right to go thru banks or sell the cars cash if they want. Let's give her the benefit of the doubt and say it is indeed the odometer. They should be helping the customer, especially one who's never been there before, instead of not helping, making up stories and trying to convince people to not buy the car that they want. I personally think that they should be able to work something out with me in order for me to get that car or they need to reprimand ******* for her actions. That is not good customer service. Other people have even said that for a loan for $5,500 you shouldn't need to have a credit score of 700 and they shouldn't be telling you to go to a bank yourself. They should be contacting the banks on behalf of the customer to try and get it worked out to help the customer. Especially if they know that the customer's car isn't working. Please do something about this as it's obvious something's not right. I'm a single mother and it seems as if she's trying to make it impossible for me to get the car that I want. I have it bad enough the way it is for them to be treating me that way. If it's for sale for the general public, it should be for sale to the general public not to certain types of people.

Business Response
I am responding to the complaint received from said consumer. Ms. ******* was interested in a 2003 Mazda 6 that was and still is out for repairs. This vehicle is not being repaired by our mechanics as we had it sent our for repair. There was some confusion over why this vehicle was sent out for repair and for that I apologize. We do not know how long this repair process will take. Even if said vehicle was ready to be sold, Ms. ******* would need a cosigner with a strong credit score or cash to purchase this vehicle out right. The only in house financing we do is "special financing" however, the 2003 Mazda 6 does not qualify for "special financing" because it has been flagged odometer rollback in which we have no control over which vehicles the banks we use for our customers with "special credit" needs choose to finance. Ms. ******* did send apps for two different cosigners in which neither one had a strong enough score to go through regular bank financing either. This is unfortunate as I would love nothing more than to get Ms. ******* in the vehicle that she wishes. If Ms. ******* would like to find a cosigner with a strong enough score to get approved through regular bank financing or if she would like to purchase this vehicle with cash we would be more than happy to sell her this vehicle after the mechanical issues are resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/05/2012Business started: 01/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Mart (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers used cars and trucks.

Industry Tips
Auto Sales/Used

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for North Side Auto Sales

2312 N. Lafayette

Evansville, IN 47711

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2312 N. Lafayette 

    Evansville, IN 47711

  • 4210 N 1st Ave 

    Evansville, IN 47710-3618(812) 319-1415
    (270) 831-0114

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and Henderson & Union Counties in Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*North Side Auto Sales is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Auto Sales/Used

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.