BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2009

Window World

Phone: (915) 533-8227Fax: (915) 533-6618

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/09/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reported noisy(wind)and drafty window. Window was inspected and found to be warped. Replacement window ordered, never received.
In August 2015 (@ last week)we called Window World to report a problem with a window they had installed. During high wind, the window would "whistle" and the shade would move due to air entering around the window. Within @ a week, 3 employees showed up for inspection.
We were told that the window was "warped", and they would order a replacement window. My wife signed a Work Order but did not receive a copy. The employee said it would take 2-3 weeks for the window to arrive.
At the end of September we were taking a 2-week vacation, and thought the window might be delivered before we left, but we received no call. On return, sometime around October 14th, we called - no answer but we left a message on the answering machine. A person called back and we asked about our window replacement. After checking, the person said it had not arrived. We said the inspector told us it would take 2-3 weeks, and she said no, it takes 6-8 weeks, and should arrive in the next 2 weeks. We did not receive a call about the window, and called again, approx. November 10-12th. We were told to wait, and after a long pause, were told that they would check further and call us back. We never received a return call.
It's been over 4 months since the window was inspected, and we were provided inaccurate dates for delivery and did not receive a call to set a date for installation. Our calls to the company have not been productive. There is a warranty, and either the window was not ordered; it never arrived; has been misplaced; or some other reason. Whichever the case, nobody has contacted us about our window. We've made a legitimate attempt to call and have our window replaced. We would like to know the specific reason for these delays and why the window has not been replaced. We would also like a copy of the Work Order signed by my wife, JoAnne ****, in case we need to process this issue further.

Desired Settlement
We were told our replacement window was ordered in September 2015. We would like the window replaced as per their warranty.

Business Response
I will look into this immediately and see whats going on.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Window World contacted us and has set up an appointment for 01/28/2016. They advised they have no record of their initial inspection or order for a replacement window. A "manager" is supposed to make the inspection. I do not want to accept the response given as it does not contain any specific detail or solution. It appears the process will start all over with the "new" inspection. I will respond after that meeting.

Final Business Response
The Installation Manager went to Mr. ****'s house on 1/29. He submitted the re order for a Frame and I have ordered and put a rush on it. I just received an email from the factory it is scheduled to load from Yuma AZ on 2/24/2016 and should arrive in El Paso on 2/26/2016, if there isn't any problems with the factory and delivery. I will call Mr. **** this morning and update him on the status. I did request a rush for this order but Im not sure I can get it any faster than the the 26th.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The new inspection was made as per the business response. We are favorable to wait for a "new" window, as we know they are custom made at the factory. As the prior window got "lost" and it took over 5-months to have someone respond, I do not feel comfortable in accepting the proposed resolution, until the work has been completed as explained by the Installation Manager. When the replacement window is installed, I will consider the proposed resolution acceptable. As information, the Installation Manager was very courteous and was apologetic for the events that occurred since August 2015.

09/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reps from Window World used deceptive business practices when they charged full price for product they installed, but was not what was agreed upon.
***** and top level Window World representatives purposefully intended to con us by installing two windows that do no have the argon gas seal, while they charged full price and led us to believe we got what we paid for. When this was brought to ******** attention, he said he would be ordering the windows, but nothing has happened. When I tried to get answers by calling ******, office manager, she would not return my calls, until recently, a week and a half ago, when she said the order was placed and that the windows would arrive in three days. Again, nothing happened. One of the company owners visited the residence a month ago and said it would get done, but nothing has happened, either. The patio door was never installed correctly. This, too, was brought to Window World reps., but they have done nothing about it.
My wife and I are saddened that these people were bold in attempting to trick us by installing windows that are inferior to those that we paid for.

Desired Settlement
A total refund. Window World executives will need to wait until another, more professional window company, is ready to install new windows.
I do not foresee any Window World representatives making good on future guarantee/warrantee issues.

Business Response
Kelly did order the new replacement glass for the 2 windows. We recieved them in and when windows in the warehouse where being shifted around the sashes got broke. We called Mr. ***** and let him know that they had been broken so we had to reorder them. We just installed them this past Saturday October 25th. Our top goal as Window World is customer satisfaction. I did speak to Mr. ***** a few times after he called and requested to speak to the Office Manager.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no explanation as to why executives at Window World would purposely permit their employees to install low quality windows and charge full price for argon-filled windows. If I had not brought it up to ******** attention, I would have been hustled. Their response is very simplistic and carefree, since there is absolutely no mention of the defective patio door and frame they installed that has to now be completely replaced because the frame and door are warped. "Our top goal as Window World is customer satisfaction" sounds to me like an insincere media sales pitch because I had to wait a very long a time, be ignored when I called them about the status of the windows, and get the BBB involved in order for executives at Window World to get it partly right. There is still the issue of the complete replacement of the patio door. I want an explanation of why executives at Window World thought it was acceptable business practice to them to install windows without argon gas, without my consent nor knowledge, and charge the full price of having actually installed windows filled with argon gas. In addition, why was there no mention of the patio door in the response? Their technicians did inspect it on Oct. 25, 2014.

Final Business Response
X-XX-XXXX Otto close before we had the response from the technician coming into town to check Mr. ***** windows tomorrow, it is been corrected at this time I have the meeting with the technician as well as Mr. ***** and Mr. ***** at his home, Mr. ***** will not be there if I am not there. So need to confirmed with Karen that she will talk to Mrs. Perez to allow us to go.EC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A September 10, 2015, meeting will be held at my residence to inspect the windows and patio door.

06/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
February 17, 2015 I signed a contract with Window World for the purchase and installation of 5 windows. The contract specifically states, "The time between when your order is placed and when the windows are ready to be installed, though not guaranteed is typically 6 to 8 weeks." The salesperson circled this time frame on the contract. When the six week time frame came around, I called the office to ask about the status of my windows. I was told, "um, I think it will be about 2 more weeks". Two weeks passed. I called the office again. Same response. I questioned this, informing them that 2 additional weeks would be 10 weeks after this contract was made. "Sorry. We've been having problems with the factory." Today, 11 weeks and 4 days after I signed the contract for these windows, the installers came to install SOME of the windows because not all of them had arrived yet, and I am informed that the window that was fabricated was the incorrect size. I do not recommend anyone to do business with this company, because as of yet, I have no windows, and I am not certain I am ever going to have the windows I purchased.
Product_Or_Service: Replacement window purchase & installation

Desired Settlement
I would like the windows tomorrow although I know that is not possible. I have other contractors on hold with remodeling work for my house because of this company. If they have to purchase windows from another company to get them installed on my house, so be it. I do not want to wait another 3 months for these windows to be installed. I do not want to hear excuses about some nameless factory in Arizona.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Office Manag
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************@gmail.com
Hello! Yes the windows have been delayed from the Factory. We have had a delay in shipment with the 4 windows Ms. ***** purchased. We did recieve one window 3 weeks ago that the factory did send the wrong size. We contacted the factory rep and told him the issues that we had had with the customers order. He did call Ms. ***** and explain to her that it was a factory error and he would personally rush the windows himself. We did recieve 3 of Ms. *****'s windows in on Friday May 22nd. We called her at 516 pm on the 22nd and left a message. We have not heard back from her yet. We have explained and apologized numerous times that we are waiting on the factory to send the windows. They are specialty windows so they do take longer to get in. We have had the factory rep contact her as well and we have taken money off the order for the delay which we never do. It is stated on the contact The time between when your order is placed and when the windows are ready to be installed, though not guaranteed is typically 6 to 8 weeks. The reps circle that part so it is pointed out to the customer that we try to get them in within that time frame but we cannot guarantee it. I am expecting to get the last window of Ms ***** this Friday as that is what my Factory Rep has advised me.

12/01/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract signed 4/26/2014 and expected delivery given 6-8 weeks. Not all Windows were installed on 7/16/14 and some are not correct product ordered.
We signed contract with **** ****** on April 26, 2014. Based on contract windows may take 6-8 weeks for installation. Company sent a crew on 7/16/14 to do the installation of order. Order came wrong, 2 windows could not be installed because they were not sent. Master bedroom old window got partially removed, and had to be installed back with tape, because window was not delivered. At this moment window from master bedroom can not even be open. For my understanding this is a fire hazard and a safety issue for my family, because only white tape is holding the window in place. Also, two windows that were installed came with the wrong glass and were installed like that. We were told that by 7/30/2014 all of our windows would be installed and we are still waiting. I call company and spike to ****** and said it take two week for windows to arrive and then she said two to three weeks and then she said that it may take up to four weeks. She offer to give us a $100 discount, but is not about the money is about the service and quality of the product that they are not giving.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking for order to be completed by no later thane next week. If not for them to reimburse our money for the windows they still need to fix and install.

Business Response /* ****** ** 2014/08/05) */
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************@gmail.com
We signed the contract on April 26th, we did the final measure on May 1st, typically it is 6-8 weeks from time of measure for the windows to get to El Paso. The factory did request additional information for order so we did have to go back out to make sure the windows came correctly that did delay the order. The windows came and there were factory errors with the windows. The service pieces do take between 2-4 weeks to get in once we reorder them. We installed the *******'s windows on July 16th we placed the remake order on July 17th. I spoke to Mrs. ******* last Wednesday July 30th and told her that I was expecting 2 out of the 3 items needed the next week and I was trying to get the other item also that week, I did tell her it takes between 2-4 in total for service issues. I called her again on Friday to inform her that I should be recieving most if not all of the pieces the following week that I would give her a call as soon as I talked to my order entry rep. I did offer her a $100.00 discount for the inconvience which states on our contract that we do not offer discounts for service issues, but I wanted to offer it to her. I told her that we are working as fast as we can to fix the order so we can install all of the windows she bought for Window World. I did let her know that unfortanitly that the factory does make errors from time to time and I was sorry that it happened to her and her window order but reassured her that we are doing everything we can to take care of it as fast as we can. I just got to the office this morning Aug 5th and do show that everything should be loading on the truck today and the truck will be here tomorrow morning. I will give Mrs. ******* a call and let her know. I do want the Installation Manager to check everything once the truck gets here to make sure everything is correct and I will schedule the service at Mrs. *******'s convience. We are doing everyting we can to make this order correct.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** 2014/08/07) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Manager has been calling me to keep me posted on issue. However, she mention that windows or pieces had arrived and they needed to check if pieces were correct. I was told on Monday 8/4/2014 that I was going to receive a call by Wednesday to confirm my order and no call by manager was done. In my experience in dealing with Window World, I really will not accept any argument , because the have shown that clients concerns are not important to them.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** 2014/08/12) */
Hello. As the customer stated at the first part of the last response I have been following up with her every step of the way. We got the truck late Wednesday night and the Installation manager did not get to verify the pieces till Thursday morning. I was not at the office on Thursday but I made sure ***** schedule the service. The weather was bad on Saturday so we could not install the windows. At this point I will have to pass ** on to the owner of the business as I do not know whatelse to do. We are fixing the services and problems to the windows as fast as we can. We are leaving tomorrow Wednesday Aug 13-17th for a corporate meeting out of town. I will have the Owner contact Mrs. ******* no later than Tuesday Aug 19th.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Windows - Vinyl, Doors - Installation, Doors, Windows - Installation/Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.