BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
El Paso, TX

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Apex Roofing

Phone: (915) 584-4774

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/19/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The rubber part of the SBS roof system is cracking which they were informed of July and August2013 but no repairs done to rubber part, just seams.
The Apex roofing company was repeatedly called about roof leaks around July 2013, then August 2013. No one returned my multiple phone calls until I requested their bonding number. They only repaired the seams by the flashing on flat roof and tile roof, but ignored the fact that the rubber of the SBS roof system was cracking. No action was taken yet concerning this to honor the 10 year material/7 year labor warranty effective 8-19-2008.

Desired Settlement
We request a refund(material + labor) sufficient enough to fully pay a more reputable company to re-install a good quality product. We believe the product installed was cheap and of sub-standard quality. Working with Apex again will expose us to a poor quality roof and the same laborious chasing with multiple phone calls that never get answered until we asked for their bonding number.

Business Response
We had received a call on 9/3/2013 for a warranty inspection. The roof was inspected on 9/5/2013 and a work order was created to perform warranty repairs. The repairs were completed on 9/26/2013.
After speaking with Mr. ***** today 12/9/2013, he had mentioned that he spoke with the repairs tech and asked him about other concerns with is roof. His main concern was the cracking appearance on the Modified Bitumen roof roofing. This concern was never was never conveyed to our office, and we do ot have a record of this as being one of his concerns. I asked him if he had a leak today that needed to be addressed. He said that he is not leaking and that there aren't any warranty issues right now other than his concerns about the cracking appearance on the flat Modified Bitumen roof.
Our response to his concern is that the nature of the Modified Bitumen roof is to have that appearance (cracking on the surface) because of its expansion properties. This problem is only cosmetic in nature. I asked Mr. ***** if he would like for me to get him in contact with the manufacture rep so he can hear it from them.
At this point there is not a warranty claim that we have not responded to. In order for us to better serve our clients we have asked that they provide a written statement of claim as is written in our warranty:
"TIME FOR REPAIRS: BLUE MAN shall have ninety (90) days after receipt of written notification of leaks to initiate repairs of Leaks in the Roofing System unless prevented by acts of God or events beyond BLUE MAN's reasonable control"

12/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roofer will not appear or respond to requests for service under the roof warranty
**** from Apex Roofing served as our sales contact. On or about 4/10/07 roofing work was completed at our Pendale office/retail complex. A warranty was provided giving a 15 yr material and 7 yr workmanship warranty. In a fall 2013 inspection, our insurance carrier indicated various areas needing repair as a requirement under our policy. Our property manager relayed that he contacted and spoke with **** on 9/12/13. **** was to call him back to discuss the matter further and did not. Subsequently, a minimum of four messages have been left for APEX without a return call or inspection to determine appropriate repairs. In the interim, we are going to fail to meet our insurance company's deadline causing further issues and complications.

Desired Settlement
We want APEX to live up to their warranty obligations.

Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is my belief that this business has a method of operation in which they search for reasons not to honor their warranty regardless of whether, as called for in the warranty, the issues presented are directly attributable to the item needing repair. The business tries to make itself look more reputable by standing behind a warranty of a predecessor entity. However, it is my belief that the firm never intends to honor that warranty and instead searches for ways to generate insurance claims and additional business. In respect to this matter, I found it best to accept a free preventative maintenance from the firm and to part ways with them. It is my belief that they are not a reputable firm and I would not do business with them again. Additionally, should this matter have been of greater significance, I would have taken further steps, including legal action, to make the firm live up to their obligations.

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.