BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2014

David's Painting & More

(915) 820-58229032 Diana Dr, El PasoTX 79904! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2014

BBB has determined that David's Painting & More meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised David's Painting & More's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on David's Painting & More

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 9/10/2014 we hire ***** ********(*****'s Painting & More owner)to perform an addition at our house, as of today he has not even completed 50%
The contract states that we will pay a total of $25,000. He asked for half of the payment and the rest when the addition has been completed. He stated that our project was going to be finished in 3 weeks and promised us that he was going to work on this project and not leave until it was done. He left out of town for a whole week to work on another project putting ours in a delay. As of today he has only worked for a total of 8 days. Since the first day we have had issues with the way he communicates information, he is rude and uses inappropriate tone. When we sign the contract he created a drawing of the project, we have had multiple conversations because he does not want to honor the contract nor follow or provide us with a copy of the drawing he created. He stopped working because we did not agree to his demand of an additional $8,000. We asked for the receipts of the material he has purchased and the payment for the plumber work in order for us to provide the additional payment requested, he failed to produce such evidence. We believe he has finished less than 50% of the work. The last conversation with him was held on 10/9/2014. Photographic evidence can be provided upon request.

Desired Settlement
We want him to finish the addition and honor our agreement as son as possible.

Business Response

On September 10, 2014 I met with MR. and MRS. *****. They wanted an addition built in the back yard and the existing garage witch was already enclosed was to be up graded for $ 25,000. I agreed and we wrote the contract. They gave me a down payment of $12,500 .I started with the plumbing .the plumber started by cutting out 80 feet on concrete by 1 foot wide and had to dig it out 4 feet deep to connect to the sewer line. They laid down the PVC pipe and prepped it to the back yard because I was going to make a rest room with shower, toilet and vanity. We then had a lot of rain for two weeks when it flooded and I couldn't work outside so I proceeded to work in the garage area. We tore all the sheetrock out and insulated the walls, and we also installed a window on the north wall of the garage. We then re sheet rocked the walls, taped, floated, textured, and painted. We also leveled the garage floor with concrete. I had a job out of town so I went to do it because it kept raining here in El Paso. When I came back I poured the concrete for the addition. .the following day I went to Lowes and bought materials for the addition plywood , 2x6s , 2 x4 s , anchors , braces etc. when Mr. ***** came I told him I need another $ 8 thousand to finish buying materials cause I was out of money. He told me he wasn't going to give anther cent until I was done with the job, I told him the down was to get started that's all. He said "No!" very rude like. I then stayed quiet and told my workers to load all my tools and he was just looking at me and my workers load the tools with a smirk on his face. Ever since the job started they always had a change in the mornings it was his mother in law and in the afternoon it was him. All I would say if it's in the contract it will be done. For the plumber $ 4,500 , for the concrete $3,900 , for the materials for the garage $ 2,200 , for the permit $ 450 for labor $ 1800 and for the materials they I bought for the addition $ 1900 .that's a total of $ 14,750 remember they only gave me $12,500 I'm out of my pocket $ 2,250 . I put this money because I thought he would honor our contract. He is rude and not a man of his word I will not step a foot at his house. he has to pay me my $2,250 dollars that I put out of my own pocket ., By the way all the materials that I bought I left it at his house !!!!! I take pride in my work and I'm a hardworking man .I have been in business 23 years and I have never done any body wrong. I wish us contractors can put complaints against the consumers because the customer is not always right!!!!! I have pictures since when we first started the work and keep in mind for all the work that I did I did not receive no money. Thank you and have a nice day and if I can be in any further assistance fell free to call me ***** ******** (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Remodeling Services, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/03/2001Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Licensing Information: Pending

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: David Melendez (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Remodeling Services, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements

Products & Services

This company offers general contracting and painting. Company accepts credit cards.

BBB Program Participation
David's Painting & More participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for David's Painting & More

9032 Diana Dr

El Paso, TX 79904

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9032 Diana Dr 

    El Paso, TX 79904(915) 820-5822

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*David's Painting & More is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Remodeling Services

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Licensing Information: Pending

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.