BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

Affordable Automotive Service Center LLC

Phone: (915) 544-9197Fax: (915) 760-64455368 Doniphan Dr., El PasoTX 79932

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

BBB has determined that Affordable Automotive Service Center LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Affordable Automotive Service Center LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Affordable Automotive Service Center LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shop and owner failed to repair vehicle and charged twice and sometimes three times the cost of parts and labor.
On July 13, 2015 I took my 1992 Chevrolet G-20 Sport Van to Affordable Automotive Service Center.
I dropped the van off at 8:00 a.m.. We arrived early and were there waiting for the shop to open.I was asked what the problem was and I informed them that I noticed a noise coming from the rear of the van. They asked me for my keys and told us they would get to it as quickly as they could and we left the premises. We received a call on July 14, 2015 informing us that the estimate to fix the problem and install new brakes was $430.00. We were called later in the day and informed that our van was ready for pick up.We paid $430.00 in cash (invoice XXXXX) for the repairs to our van and when I asked what the problem was; ***** could not obtain a proper answer from the mechanic for us.I drove off the site and notice that the van was a bit heavy when accelerating. I thought it might be due to the newness of the parts installed and proceeded to make my way back to Horizon City. I drove the van for a few days and noticed that the brakes were choppy and unsteady when braking. I called ***** back and asked if I could bring the Van back in for warranty service. She informed me that I should bring it back, but that they would not take appointments. I once again reminded her that it was over an hour drive most days and that I did not have a way back. I drove the van back to the shop on Monday, August 24, 2015 and arrived at 7:45 a.m.I walked into the shops' office and informed ***** of the problem and he said he would take care of it.At approximately 10:00 a.m., one of the mechanics came in to the front office and informed ***** that the drums would have to be re-cut and turned.I was finally able to leave the shop at approximately 12:00 p.m.. the resurfacing process took approximately two hours. I thanked ***** for the assistance and told him that I really appreciated his help. Upon leaving the shop, I again noticed that the Van appeared heavy when taking off and accelerating. I entered I-10 and as I approached the Airways exit and while traveling at a speed of about 65 mph (going with the traffic) I heard a pop and some debris hitting the van. The van swerved nearly hitting other cars and I began slowing down to the right. I noticed a considerable amount of smoke and I slowed down to exit. I thought of just making it home, but the noise coming from the back of the van, the boating motion of the van made me exit onto the Lomaland exit. I stopped for a moment and thought of taking the van to the nearest mechanic closest to my brother's home. As slowly as I could, I made my way to the Pep Boys on George Dieter and Montwood. I then called my brother to obtain a ride.At approximately 2:15 p.m. I called ***** at Affordable Automotive and informed her that I did not even make it home this time. She seemed concerned and asked me to hold while she spoke with *****. I informed her that I almost had an accident on the freeway and I thought of attempting to make it home, but when I realized I could not, I decided to bring the van to the closest shop. She wanted to provide me with a couple of numbers for a tow service. I informed her that I was going to attempt to get the van fixed here and go home since I already spend approximately 5 hours at their shop that morning. She said that ***** would be calling me back. At approximately 2:29 p.m. I received a call from ***** and he became argumentative. He said he would not pay for any work performed to fix my van and that he would not believe anything the Pep Boys mechanics would say to him. My van was repaired at Pep Boys in about three hours. One of the brake adjusters had frozen and locked the brakes. Affordable charged twice what this service costs. The parts were charged at two to three times their original cost. I called Auto Zone to find out their prices as this is the parts store used by the shop and the prices are two or three times less what I was charged. They failed to repair my van!

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the money paid for said services. Affordable Automotive failed to perform services as promised and they almost caused an accident due to negligible repairs performed on my vehicle. While the owner contested the account of the incident that could have been tragic, he was neither there to witness the account nor was he willing to be informed of the severity of the negligible repairs his shop performed twice on my vehicle. I was informed that the Brake Adjusters were frozen causing the brakes to lock. This actually occurred while I was driving the vehicle on the interstate.

Further, I found out that the parts were charged at twice their original price and that the total paid to Affordable Auto for their work was twice what that same service would normally cost elsewhere.

I would like my money returned for all services performed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** (owner)
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@aol.com
I would like say that we are sorry to mister ***** for any problems. He states that we over charged him. THAT IS FALSE. We use a management program for all labor & parts markup. The management program in the industry standard. So i spoke to mister ***** the day that the problem accrued. Explained to him that i would send a tow to him at no charge so we could look at the van to see what happened. But told me that pep boys was working on it. I explained that the warranty was with us. And that i could not cover what they would repair. But I spoke to Mr ***** on 09-02-15 and told him if brought us all the parts we installed we would refund his complete invoice of $ 430.05.He said he would. I have not heard from him . This way i could get credit from the parts supplier on the NEW parts we installed. The day Mr ***** came. We replaced the brakes (rear) Drums-Shoes-Hardwear kit. on 07-14-15 He returned on 08-24-15 with a noise in the rear. We resurfaced the rear drums at no charge.The parts are new. We do not make the parts just install them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

While I appreciate Mr. ****'s sentiment regarding the problems I have encountered, it remains clear that he is not willing to provide me with any kind of reimbursement or enumeration for his shop's inability to repair my vehicle correctly. As acknowledged by Mr. **** in his response, he did speak with me in his effort to reach resolution to my complaint. The following is an account of our conversation as summarized both in our conversation and in my original complaint:
1. While the date of service provided by Mr. **** is correct in regard to the parts and actual work being performed on July 14, 2015, it is important to note that the vehicle was actually delivered on July 13, 2015 with a noise in the rear of the vehicle. On August 24, 2015 the vehicle was brought back for warranty work because the vehicle was braking unevenly and sometimes would lock up, thus braking hard. Mr. ****'s account and assertion is incorrect.
2. Mr. **** states that they resurfaced the drums at no charge during my last visit. He does not state that they failed to diagnose the reason why the drums required resurfacing. Clearly a problem existed that caused the anomaly in the drum structure and they failed to correct it.
3. *****, his clerk, was the individual that informed me that she could provide me with a couple of numbers for a tow. To the best of my recollection never did Mr. **** mention the tow, much less offer the tow for free.
4. In regard to the software he states he utilizes to establish costs and markup, I believe the price quotes from Auto Zone speak for themselves.
5. Additionally, I informed Mr. **** during the conversation on the 24th that Pep Boys was repairing my vehicle due to its unsafe operating condition. During our conversation I mentioned to him that I left his shop after his mechanics performed the warranty work and after waiting approximately 5 hrs for the service. He proceed to inform me that he was neither interested in what Pep Boys Technicians diagnosed as the problem and that he would not cover any of the expenses incurred in the repair of my vehicle. Also, it might be of interest that no special consideration was provided to me even thought I was at his shop for warranty work. I was there when the shop opened and I was immediately informed that there were four vehicles ahead of mine.
6. Finally, Mr. **** did in fact call me to offer a resolution. He asked me to bring him back all parts used in the failed repair of my vehicle by his shop so that he could get credit from his supplier. He said he would return the entire amount paid if I would comply with his request. Of course his call surprised me and as such found his recommended resolution completely unacceptable. I was somewhat speechless and did not agree to his request, rather simply thanked him for his call.
Mr. **** contends that I should take my vehicle to another mechanic, take off all parts that are from his installation and replace all parts with new ones after having the vehicle repaired by Pep Boys and currently in good running order. This is completely unacceptable and counterproductive.


Final Business Response
I have made a fair request to give mister ***** his refund. But i don't think it would be fair to my company to just give all the parts (that WE paid for) the time that our techs spent on his van. I think if he feels our parts are defective and our work is not good So he should just have it fixed some where else and just bring our parts back to get his refund. $ 430.05. The best that we can do is He can bring or mail me the receipt from pep boys and i will reimburse him that money. BUT his warranty will VOID as now pep boys will have the warranty with him. We told him that the tow would be at no charge maybe he did not understand. It was HIS choice to have it repaired at another shop. As the warranty is here. We never fought the fact that it had warranty.ALL our work comes with a 1 year 12 000 mile warranty. It is noted on the receipt that ALL warranty work must be performed in our shop that mister ***** signed. But we needed to have the van here to find out what happened to cause the failure. So the best i can do is to reimburse him what pep boy charged him. We can not sell our parts for what we pay for them.Pep boys does not do that nor does ANY shop (dealer or otherwise).This would be the best i we can do for him.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Radiators-Automotive, Auto Repair & Service-Equipment & Supplies, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2001Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Tracy Heal (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Radiators-Automotive, Auto Repair & Service-Equipment & Supplies, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Affordable Radiator Repair Service
Industry Tips
Tips on Car Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Affordable Automotive Service Center LLC

5368 Doniphan Dr.

El Paso, TX 79932

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5368 Doniphan Dr. 

    El Paso, TX 79932(915) 544-9197

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Affordable Automotive Service Center LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Radiators-Automotive

Tips on Car Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.