BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

Jeff's Westside Plumbing

Phone: (915) 833-3545Fax: (915) 833-79704040 Doniphan, El PasoTX 79922

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

BBB has determined that Jeff's Westside Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jeff's Westside Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jeff's Westside Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Felt discriminated because of my husband's profession. Not willing to offer a settlement.
On August 8, 2014 we called Jeff's Plumbing company after a Gas inspector from El Paso Gas found some leaks in our home. Two employees of this company came and told my husband they could not found what the problem was. However, they charged $220.00 for a service that was not provided.
I (******) asked why were they charging us if they could not find what the problem was and they said they needed to go and talk to their supervisor to get some help and advise from him.
During the weekend my husband called them to check on our status. They said they needed to come back but despite the fact they were paid for doing nothing they could not give at least an estimate of how much more they were planning on charging us. My husband told them he will not agree if we did not have an written estimate due to the fact that we had already paid them for services not provided. Since they did not agree we had not option than to try to find a responsible plumber to do the job for us. After talking to 3 different plumbing companies they all agreed that we should not be charge for a service that was requested but never provided.
This morning Aug 22, 2014 at ***** a.m. I called Jeff's plumbing again and asked to have my money back. A lady that apparently is the only women that speaks spanish was very rude when she took my call. I was trying to explain to her that they charge for doing nothing, and told me that she could not believe how someone who is a Doctor (my husband profession) could not have the money to pay what those men only can do which is dig holes in the ground. I told her that comment was not very professional because they were charging us pending on "our social status". I also mentioned to her this conversation should be recorder. She started screaming at me and did hang the phone on me. I called her again just to let her know how inappropriate was her behavior and also told her I was going to report this situation and she said: "do whatever you want to do".

Desired Settlement
Refund my money.

Business Response /* ****** ** 2014/09/08) */
September 8, 2014 RE: Case# XXXXXXXX
Let me begin by saying that this is the most obscured accusation I have EVER heard of. Here is an "accurate" statement of what occurred. I personally took the service call on August 8, 2014 from a gentleman, who identified himself as ****** ********". The Gas Company had "Red Tagged" his Gas Meter and shut off the gas to the home. It was late on Friday, but I had the plumber go to the residence in effort to provide service to him and not leave him without gas for the weekend.
****** and his helper were dispatched to the residence and were told to collect for the services. ****** did a Pressure Test of the home and found that it was "not holding". He then Shut off all of the Shut-Off's to all of the Appliances and it was still "not holding". Checked all of the Appliances and found Multiple Gas Leaks on both of the Roof Units. He Capped the Gas Line Off and found that the Pressure Test was still "not holding". He then explained to Mr. ********, that we need to locate the Gas Line that goes to the Pool Heater, because the leak is not at the Gas Meter. However it does come out next to the Pool Heater with a 1 1/4" Poly Pipe, that was not installed properly. Poly Pipe should not be exposed and his was. Therefore he would need to go back to locate that line. Hector charged for his Gas Pressure Test which is $125.00 and the 1 Hour he spent Trouble Shooting to locate the Leaks @ $95.00 per hour, which Mr. ******** paid.
Mr. ******** left a message over the weekend, to stop and not return on Monday, as scheduled. On Monday, August 11, 2014 in the morning, **** called Mr. ******** to see why he did not want to us return and resume detecting the gas leaks. Mr. ******** explained to Jeff that he did not have the finances at this time to continue.
Then, on Wednesday, August 20, 2014, Mrs. ******** called our office and spoke to ****** in Spanish. Our company is an American owned company and we are not required by Law to speak Spanish, however as a courtesy, we have someone who is Bi-lingual. ****** passed *** call to my Office Manager who speaks Spanish. Mrs. ******** began screaming at ***** (I was present), and ***** made a reference about her husband Dr. ********, (the only way she knew of his profession, was that one of our employees had used his services). She tried to say we did nothing, and saying that we charging her more, because of her husband's profession. First of all, that is the most ridiculous thing anyone has ever said. Does she REALLY think, that we have "Different Prices" for different people? That is crazy and we would not have been in business for 23 years if we operated our business in that manner. Any person can call our office and get rates on most standard repairs (Example: Pressure Test, Unclog Main Sewer, Hourly Rate etc & would be quoted the price). If we are unable to provide a price we would go to the property & give a written Estimate for a charge of $95.00. ***** kept trying to explain to her and she just kept screaming (I heard it). Mrs. ********, told ***** that she was recording their conversation, ***** responded to her that she could not do that without her permission, it was against the law. Then she said she was going to an attorney. The Bottom line is that Mrs. ******** could have asked to speak to **** or myself (obviously she can speak English if she can write this complaint), and leave our employees out of such a hatred conversation. They have no authority to make any decisions about Invoices or payments. She will not tell us how to run our business, and therefore if she wants to settle, she should speak to those who can make that decision. **** is willing to provide her with a check for $110.00 on the condition that she NEVER call our office again and her complaint be removed from the BBB. Just as any consumer, we have the right to do business with those that WE choose to. If this not acceptable to her, then so be it. We provided a service at Mr. ********'s request not hers and should be compensated for our work in full. But with this particular person, we just want her to ever call us again, and if she ever says anything about Jeff's Westside Plumbing and or makes any reference of our company, we will take steps and file a law suit against her for slander.
Please advise if she is agreement with this offer, if so a check in the amount of $110.00 will be made payable to **** ********, who is the person who called for service and paid the bill.

Kindest regards,
***** *****
Jeff's Westside Plumbing


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First at all and with all your respect, when my husband called your company we already knew the house had gas leaks as per El Paso gas Company who had conducted an inspection in our house prior to calling ****'s Westside Plumbing. We did not call this company to tell us about the gas leaking we already knew we had in the house. We called this company to have the problem fix, which in fact, what's never done. Mrs. ***** also mentioned on her response that my husband did not have the money to pay for the service. I was next to my husband and I clearly heard him telling **** that he wanted an an estimate for the work which was going to be performed in our house. **** said it will be impossible because he did even know what the problem was and therefore he did not know how much money it what's going to be, despite the fact 2 of his employees had come to my house to fix the problem. That situation made us frustrated because we had already paid $220 for nothing and still they would not give us an approximate estimate for their work. We want to solve this problem peacefully, but will not accept your offer. We want total refund of our money ($220.00). Count on it, if our money is refunded in total we will never ever called your office again!!! We believe that the way we were treated was not very professional. We also have our on business and we had never treated anybody disrespectfully. My husband has been in his business for 20 years and no one in his office has never hung up on any anybody despite the situation because we respect our clients. I hope this letter clarifies some points that were not mentioned on ****'s Westside Plumbing response.

One more thing I would like to mention. When I spoke to ****'s Plumbing secretary, she did not let me talk. She even hung the phone on me. My husband was standing next to me and is my witness that this really the way things happened that day. I am not making this up. I think as a client you deserve some type of respect.


Thank you very much for your help and hopefully we will solve this problem as soon as possible!!!

Sincerely,
Mrs. GonzalezFirst at all and with all your respect, when my husband called your company we already knew the house had gas leaks as per El Paso gas Company who had conducted an inspection in our house prior to calling ****'s Westside Plumbing. We did not call this company to tell us about the gas leaking we already knew we had in the house. We called this company to have the problem fix, which in fact, what's never done. Mrs. ***** also mentioned on her response that my husband did not have the money to pay for the service. I was next to my husband and I clearly heard him telling **** that he wanted an an estimate for the work which was going to be performed in our house. **** said it will be impossible because he did even know what the problem was and therefore he did not know how much money it what's going to be, despite the fact 2 of his employees had come to my house to fix the problem. That situation made us frustrated because we had already paid $220 for nothing and still they would not give us an approximate estimate for their work. We want to solve this problem peacefully, but will not accept your offer. We want total refund of our money ($220.00). Count on it, if our money is refunded in total we will never ever called your office again!!! We believe that the way we were treated was not very professional. We also have our on business and we had never treated anybody disrespectfully. My husband has been in his business for 20 years and no one in his office has never hung up on any anybody despite the situation because we respect our clients. I hope this letter clarifies some points that were not mentioned on ****'s Westside Plumbing response.

One more thing I would like to mention. When I spoke to ****'s Plumbing secretary, she did not let me talk. She even hung the phone on me. My husband was standing next to me and is my witness that this really the way things happened that day. I am not making this up. I think as a client you deserve some type of respect.


Thank you very much for your help and hopefully we will solve this problem as soon as possible!!!

Sincerely,
Mrs. ********




Final Business Response
RE: Case# XXXXXXXX

I am so tired of dealing with this person, who is so oblivious to our business. First, I must clarify with her idea of what the Gas Company does. If you have a gas leak and the Gas Company comes out and you indeed have a "Gas Leak" they immediately shut your Gas Off and "Red Tag" your Gas Meter. They then advise you to contact a Licensed Plumber. They DO NOT go on to your property or into your home and LOCATE the leaks. If they did, then you would think they would "mark the leaks" , then upon arrival the Plumbing Company they would make the repairs. However, it does not work that way. We have to go to the property and WE locate the leaks and then the repairs would be made. For her to say that is COMPLETELY FALSE. We have repaired over 40 GAS LEAKS in the last month, and there has not been ONE Customer that has had the Gas Company "mark" the leaks. She obviously does not have a clue to the Plumbing Industry works. Everything she has stated is so false it is ridiculous, **** explained to her husband in reference to the Estimate, that he could not give an "exact" Estimate but that it would be our Hourly rate of $95.00 plus materials. Her attempt to get something for free is apparent, and if she thinks in receiving a FULL refund will make her a "winner', it is quite the opposite. All it shows is the type of person she is and it says a lot about her character. If she promises to NEVER call us again, and REMEMBER that if she ever make mention of ****'s Westside Plumbing to anyone, we will proceed with a Lawsuit against HER!!! The Check will be made out to: Mr. Juan ******** in the amount of $220.00, and then I would like notification that this complaint is removed from the BBB site. In closing, it is very sad that people like this feel they can get away with such tactics, which is why we collect on site.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/03/1995Business started: 01/05/1992Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

On June 28, 2016, BBB confirmed that Jeff's Westside Plumbing had not obtained a necessary license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Such a license is required in El Paso for businesses offering plumbing services. BBB encurages you to contact the following agency or agencies to confirm this information: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation https://www.license.state.tx.us/licensesearch/

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Jeffrey Gregory Foght (Owner)Customer Contact: Karen Foght (Manager)
Number of Employees

19

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Jeff's Westside Plumbing LLC
BBB Program Participation
Jeff's Westside Plumbing participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jeff's Westside Plumbing

4040 Doniphan

El Paso, TX 79922

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4040 Doniphan 

    El Paso, TX 79922(915) 833-3545

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jeff's Westside Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On June 28, 2016, BBB confirmed that Jeff's Westside Plumbing had not obtained a necessary license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Such a license is required in El Paso for businesses offering plumbing services. BBB encurages you to contact the following agency or agencies to confirm this information: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation https://www.license.state.tx.us/licensesearch/

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.