BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Roberto's Cabinet Shop

Phone: (915) 779-9242

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work not completed and the apperance of work is extremely un proffessional.
Hired company to do entire kitchen cabinets in sections. first side of kitchen within weeks paint changed to dull color and cabinet door knobs not installed. gave company another change to complete work.when installed the 2nd part of kitchen, the cabinet color was darker and drawer glides of lesser quality. when called owner of company kept making excuses to go out to home and look. once he was able to go explained to him color was off and glides of drawers where cheap quality. owner agreed to make 1st side of cabinets same color as 2nd side due to color dullness and customer satisfation.thereafter spent serval days, weeks and headaches to get owner to home to finish and correct his work. after going to home late at night the doors where colored from one side and other side left same, the drawer glides not replaced and the door knobs not installed. work is worse then before , you can see the drips in paint and smudges. color is still off.the shine to spray to cabinets was also sprayed on to kitchen pans, dishes, counter tops, wall and stove. owner also knew toddler at home and would not be able to tolerate smell. explained to him to go during after noon hours. called serval times to confirm . went to home after 7 pm. had spoken to owner several times to do work as he was paid in full without any problems. have not heard from owner. would not recommond this company to any one.

Desired Settlement
would like for him to correct all the mistakes done to ******** in resonable time or can have kitchen ******** removed with full refund.

Business Response /* ****** *** 2014/05/16) */
first of all the service was not made by ******** ******** company ... the contract negotiation was made with me, im the son of the owner and when the customer contact me thru craigslist I told her that I work for my own and most of my work I do it at my dads shop wich is robertos ******** she was aware im not the owner but I do side jobs. Now according to the contract I first finish first part of kitchen almost a year back I would need to look for contract to know exact day wich customer sign after I finish work she was satisfied with my work. So than she call me 3 months ago so I can do second part of kitchen, when I went to her house I noticed ******** where a little dull I also noticed the have been working in the kitchen with paint and compound I asked if they clean ******** with pain thinner to remove stains she said no that the ******** where like that I also advice customer that new ******** may differ in color since its a year the first ones where installed ... when I install second part of ******** the new ******** did look new compare to the old ones.. since she was a good customer I ask her if she wanted me to put a coat on old ******** to make em look almost like the new ones wich that paint and labor was going to be free service she said ok ... when I took doors to put new paint the lady was calling me to hurry up with the doors and was irate I was taking 4 days when I went to her house to install them I advice I should go another day due to them having a baby the man said they want them now and not to worry about the baby that everything was cover on the room of the baby I also advice to remove everything from ******** since im putting a coat of paint on ********, when I finally finish I noticed 2 doors where bad paint so I told the husband that ill take care of those doors to just wait 3 days since I was moving, before I left I asked hustband to check work , he said he was ok with work and just to fix the 2 doors that where bad paint I agree... so this complaint is just over 2 doors that I agree in first place to fix. I will contact customer to agree in a time frame to make things right since I don't want to have an unsatisfied customer... thanks
if need to contact******* XXXXXXXXXX
not Robertos ********

Consumer Response /* ****** *** 2014/05/27) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I first contracted ***** from *******'s cabinet shop due to his business is less than two miles away from my home. We meet several times at the business which he was the only one there. I met his father once when he was unavailable. I decided to contract *******'s cabinet shop due to being a small business assumed the work would be honorable. I have two receipts with *******'s cabinet shop for the work to be done and payments provided to him. There was no problem with him coming over any day out of the week, planned to make arrangements for my son. The work was done in sections. First receipt is dated 09/27/2013 and have copy of check for down payment dated 09/27/2013 and pay off amount 10/19/2013. Second receipt for the 2nd half of kitchen is dated 02/22/2014 less than 5 months not a year. Also have check for first installment 02/22/2013. When I asked for the second section of the kitchen I expressed to ***** my concern for the color in the ********, I addressed it to him, not him to me. He assured me was normal and ******** where fine. When both sides where finally done he installed ******** after 7 pm therefore the difference in color was not addressed to him right away. First section looked more like a stain and within time I assumed the wood absorbed the paint and discoloration was visible. The second portion was completely different and looked like a paint base not a stain was used. When ***** realized his mistake he offered to repaint. I agreed. I gave ***** plenty of time to fix because I wanted work to be done correctly and he was already paid in full. I re arranged my schedule so my baby would not be home and my boyfriend could be at home to assist ***** in any way possible to get this resolved. I even offered to give key to neighbor to open door if he came early in the morning when we were not home. It got to the point where he was not answering my calls or text and kept making excuses to go finish job. I was upset but never was I irate with ****** I asked him to be honest with me and keep date he was going. I confronted ***** by phone to give me my money back or fix. I still gave him more time. The problem was not just the appearance of two cabinet doors, also he did not install door knobs or replace the drawer guides, he did not install the sides of the ********, there is paint that dripped, smudges in several areas, and colors are off in some areas where he did not paint correctly. I offered to cover or move things inside ******** and ***** said was not necessary which paint gloss was spread to dishes and pans, and new tile floor has over spray paint. I gave him another opportunity by text on 05/15/2014 to get this resolved. Left it open for him to tell me the date he could come over and still nothing. I really need assistance to get this resolved. Want to keep this out of court. I have several pictures of work before and after of ********, have receipts with business name, have phone records, text, have copy of checks with date, pictures of work done to walls before and after, haver dishes and pans still with coating of spray. All I am asking him to do invest to correct his errors or full refund. If you need copy of any information would be glad to provide.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Manufacturers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.