BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2001

Caldwell Electrical Contractors, Inc.

Phone: (915) 593-4966Fax: (915) 594-19361153 Barranca Drive, El PasoTX 79935

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2001

BBB has determined that Caldwell Electrical Contractors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Caldwell Electrical Contractors, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Caldwell Electrical Contractors, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My TV hookup was not done properly by a couple of young technicians who were inexperienced in doing job.
Around three years ago, my TV was "hooked up" by a friend who said he knew how to do it. He was unable to do it. I called ******** and a technician named **** showed up and did a good job of making it work. I paid the company around $160 for the job.
A couple of year later, I had the same room remodeled and the workmen had to disconnect the TV. When they finished the job, they were unable to properly hook it up. I called ******** and talked to **** who is now a supervisor. He sent two young men to "hook up" the TV properly. They had a difficult time doing it and were forced to come back for a few hours. I did notice at the time that the turning off and on was not working like it should.
I was shocked when I was billed $272.00 for something that was far less complicated than the previous time. I called **** and told him that the young men very nice, but they needed more training. **** insisted that the amount billed was fair due to the amount of time spent trying to get the problem fixed. It seemed to me that I had helped subsidize their training.
A couple of months ago, I called the office and asked to talk to ****. Since he was not available, I left him a message to call me to see what could be donehe never got back with me. I called him a couple of weeks ago and left a message but so far there has been no response.

Desired Settlement
I would like for my TV to work properly. As of today, we still have trouble getting the remote to properly turn on and off.

Business Response /* ****** ** 2014/11/04) */
Contact Name and Title: ******* B. ********/Pres.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@caldwellelectrical.com
On Jan 17, 2013 we sent one of our AV tech's ******* to Mr. ******'s home. The tech verified and made adjustments and connections to all the customer furnished TV/Video/Audio components and programmed the remote control. Mr. ****** was billed 165.00 for two hours labor and misc. materials (cable tie's, labels) supplied by us.

On April 24, 2014 we dispatched another AV tech (****** with his assistant ******** Mr. ****** informed us that he had the room remodeled and they were unable to get the equipment going. We found that the wiring was not labeled, had been completely disconnected and our techs spent 3 hours tracing, relabeling, reconnecting all the equipment and reprogramming the remote. There was an issue with the AT&T remote and the blu-ray player and we returned on the 29th and made the adjustments required to solve the problem. Mr. ****** was charged 3.5 hours labor and 9.50 in misc. materials for his project. It took an additional hour and a half to perform the project the second time due to the conditions we found the wiring in not the skill of our technicians. We charge the same hourly rate if I send one tech or a tech and an assistant.

I spoke to ****** (our AV department manager) and he told me he did return Mr. ******'s phone call from September 22, 2014 and was informed the remote was working properly. I have gone back through our message center and was only able to find the one call from Mr. ****** on 9-22-14.

**** and I are both perplexed that our client is not happy and if we missed a call or dropped the ball on an issue it was certainly not intentional. We will reach out to Mr. ****** and find out what has transpired.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1995Business started: 07/01/1977Business started locally: 07/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Contact Information
Principal: Kenneth Caldwell (Owner) Timothy Caldwell
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Electric Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Caldwell Electrical Contractors, Inc.

1153 Barranca Drive

El Paso, TX 79935

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1153 Barranca Drive 

    El Paso, TX 79935(915) 593-4966

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Caldwell Electrical Contractors, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.