BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/1997

Alpine Electric LP

Phone: (915) 759-0776Fax: (915) 772-0565View Additional Phone Numbers5419 Beacon Ave., El PasoTX 79905

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/1997

BBB has determined that Alpine Electric LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alpine Electric LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alpine Electric LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alpine Electric came on February 20th, 2015 for electrical repair work and the electrical problem was not resolved.
Alpine Electric came to provide service on February 20th 2015 at 4429 Emory Way (my residence). They collected $141.00 for the repairs, check# 3827 and gave me a one year warranty if the problem was not resolved. A few days later the problem reocurred with power outage and we called them and they refused to come unless I paid them two hours of labor in advance.

Desired Settlement
Refund the money or fix the electrical problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@*************
We at Alpine Electric care about our work and value our customers who use us for their electrical needs. I strongly disagree with Mr. ***** complaint because we do honor our warranty and did so with the work we did at his home.

He is right on two things, and that is us going to his home on the 20th of February and on the amount we charged.
We were called to look into a switch for a furnace type heater not working, replace a ceiling fan with new one they were providing, and some outlets not working and tripping breaker.
We spent two hrs. fixing items mentioned to us, and after, charged them 141 dllrs. 140dllrs for two hrs. labor and 1 dollar for a receptacle.
He failed to mentioned we found and repaired loose connections in ceiling fan and there was no need to install the new one they had bought. He failed to mention We checked a switch for home heater and found electrical fine the problem was internal. We started troubleshooting some receptacles in a bedroom circuit and found loose conections at burnt outlet with reverse polarity and replaced, we also tightened all connections at breaker panel. Circuit was turned on and stayed on we saw no reason to continue charging the hourly rate since this wiring on this outlet was obvious it was causing problems.
We also mention to Mrs. ***** regarding a space heater and some medical equipment we saw in bedroom where outlets were tripping breaker, it may be the cause for overload and breaker tripping.

I don't agree with Mr. ***** we don't warranty our work. He also failed to mentioned that when we were called that problem returned, we sent our electrician to check our work on items we touched on that circuit and did not charge the *****'s a penny. This not only happened once on Feb. 24, but twice again on march 3rd. We stated our warranty is on things Alpine's techs touched only and if they wanted us to check and troubleshoot other parts of circuit we did not check before, we would need to charge them the hourly rate for that. then we would warranty the entire circuit.
They refused to hire us for troubleshooting the rest of this circuit.
In the last 18 years we have been in business, we have never charged our customers in advance, I don't know where they got that. we simply said if you want all the issues in that circuit addressed we would have to check it all and we estimated 2 additional hrs. to do that.

I have attached pictures of texts between myself and Dr. *****, to prove that I tried to be fair with him. in phone conversations they wont reason or listen, they just start raising their voce and wont let me talk.
We have a good reputation in this city and our intentions are to keep doing good work for everyone for many years to come. We can only do so much when someone wants to abuse our service and take advantage of our reputation.

if text attachement does not come out let me know and I can e mail them to whoever needs to see them.

Consumer Response
Response:

We had called Alpine Electric to check the light bulb in the kitchen fan and a breaker for bedroom which always trips during bad weather. We had power in the bedroom when we had called them, but we wanted them to check that breaker-tripping issue which has been a consistent problem during bad weather, and has continued for last few years, long before any medical equipment or space heater was plugged in those outlets. We informed them that we have to keep going back to the circuit-breaker and turning on that specific breaker manually every time that happens.

They came on February 20th, took 15 minutes to change the light bulb in the kitchen, and spent rest of 1 hour and 45 minutes to work on the breaker problem. While they were here, we requested them to check a switch on the heater. They refused, suggesting that it was not an electrical problem but a heating issue and we need to contact Air-conditioner/Heating company to fix that problem. We accepted their argument and did not pursue the matter further.

After two hours they told us that they have fixed the breaker problem and we will not have any more of that issue with power-tripping in the future.We paid them in full ($141) and considered the matter resolved. Two days later, on Feb. 22nd, on another windy and rainy day, the breaker turned off again. We called them and a worker named ***** came and told us that he had tightened a loose wire, overlooked by his coworkers during their previous trip, and now that he has "caught" the root of the problem, and fixed it, we should not have this problem again. He repeated the same promise made by his coworkers during the previous trip, which is also stated on the receipt given by the company and reassured us that in case we continue having this problem, we have 1 year warranty and they will come back and fix it at no cost to us.

Next day, the breaker turned off again. We called them and set up an appointment for March 5th at 8 AM. The day before the appointment on March 4th, the company called and demanded additional payment for next day's appointment. we refused and asked to speak to the owner Mr. ****** *****. Mr. ***** repeated the same demand and asked for additional payment if they show up for the next day's appointment claiming that it will be considered a "new" job.Mr. ***** compared himself to a physician and told me that just like if a patient visits a doctor and and if his problem is not fixed, the patient goes back to the doctor and pays extra fee again, we should be paying extra too even if it is the same problem. I told him that if a doctor misdiagnose the patient's problem,he does not get extra fee but a lawsuit for medical malpractice.Mr. ***** said that he does not mind paying the doctor extra fees implying that we should be paying extra for his repeat visit to our house as well. We refused to be blackmailed and reminded him that this was the same problem for which he was initially called, and which still exists even after their so called repair, and all we were asking was to honor their warranty. If he could not do that, that in all due fairness, he should refund our money, which we had paid for fixing the problem and not just for troubleshooting. He refused to do either one of them.


Final Business Response
I'm not sure why Mr. ***** is saying we did not honor our warranty. We went to check our work and honor our warranty twice by *****, once he did tightened loose connections in panel which took additional time on a place original electrician did not work on. (we did this in good faith) If we had done work on panel, the time doing this would have been added to the 2hrs we charged on our fist trip. the other time we checked the work we did originally and it was all good but refused to do any more troubleshooting for free.

I have said it before in our previous response, we did other work at home besides this, we checked a fan and repaired, it's not true that all we did was replaced a bulb, because as I said there was a new fan there in case we could not make existing one work. We also went on roof to check heater giving them problems and they are correct in us telling them electrical is fine all the way up to heater on roof but issue was the unit itself.

I clearly mentioned to them we were hired on a time and material basis, and since circuit was on at time we went, we started checking the obvious and did find a badly burnt receptacle and wires in an outlet which we repaired that should have caused similar problems described by customer. Never did we say this entire circuit had been checked, we clearly said if it continues we would come back and keep troubleshooting obviously at our hourly rate. WE never said the whole circuit had been checked and it's warrantied. We clearly explained this to them but they refuse to accept this. They behave as if we gave them a quote to eliminate their problem and we never did that. we do this every day and reasonable people understand the process, if issues continue we come back and check the rest of circuit. if issues don't continue then its fixed but if we had stayed and checked the whole circuit it would have taken longer than the time we charged for.

I don't know what else to say other than we have valued our reputation and appreciated all our customers that continue to call us back for their electrical needs. We've had continuous growth since we started our business some 18 years ago. Begun with one truck and are up to 30 this year.
We have done all we can do to do what is right with the Singhs but we refuse to warranty electrical work we did not do

On Tue, Apr 7, 2015 at 6:07 PM, ***** ***** <*********@gmail.com> wrote:

07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In January 2012, Alpine installed lights. Called yesterday to report problems--today told year warranty was up. I was never told there was a warranty
In January 2012, Alpine Electric installed closet lights and recessed lighting. Within four months, one closet light stopped working. The recessed lighting would sometimes turn on and off, sometimes it wouldn't. One closet light has worked fine. Last week the recessed lighting would no longer turn on at all. Very frustrated, I called Alpine and was told if the work was still under the 1 year warranty, repairs would be made. I was never even told by the workers that there was a one year warranty. If I had known, I would have called months ago. Now it is no longer under warranty and Alpine, though it did not inform me originally of the warranty, refuses to make the repairs free of charge.

Desired Settlement
Repairs made to their work so that recessed lighting and closet light turn on and off normally.

Business' Initial Response

We at alpine electric honor our one year warranty for all our work. We mentioned to Consumer when she called a few days ago that we would definitively go at no charge to check the two recess lights we installed if it was within our warranty, we did not know when we did the job and neither did she. We told her we would check and if less than one year, we would take care of it at no cost to her. We provided lights,bulbs,wiring and labor to install two lights, for a cost of 225 dollars due to the fact that she called six months after warranty was up, we feel Alpine Electric has done no wrong.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response for the reason that Alpine's workers never notified me of the company's one year warranty. Had they done so, I would have called them to repair their work within a few months of their visit. If a company claims such a policy, it needs to assure that clients have been informed of it. I have contracted Alpine for their services at least three times in the past 6-7 years and Owner, in the very recent phone call he mentioned, was the first representative of Alpine to mention the warranty to me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/31/1997Business started: 09/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Contact Information
Principal: George Ponce (Owner)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Electric Contractors

Products & Services

Electrical contracting for residential, Commercial and Industrial. New and remodel. Upgrades, trenching, Crane operations.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alpine Electric LP

5419 Beacon Ave.

El Paso, TX 79905

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5419 Beacon Ave. 

    El Paso, TX 79905(915) 759-0776
    (915) 781-0381

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alpine Electric LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (915) 781-0381
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.