BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2011

Apon Technology

Phone: (915) 219-8121

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Get a refund or repair it.
It has been 3 or 4 times I taken the Galaxy 4 cell phone to be repaired.

The first incident was due to a crack screen it was replaced.

Second time around it was due to the computer board which my daughter was not able to turn on. when on it was a black screen, so the repaired. That same day it was picked up we had to return it due black spots on screen it was not usable. It was repaired and it took a week and we had to take it back. This time it took over a month and it was fixed.

Third time around picked up the cell phone on Saturday, December 19, 2014 phone was fine my daughter put it on the window to charge over night in the morning there was black spots and she notice the phone was slightly open on the side. Then total black screen took it back for a refund or to have it replace but kept on saying it was dropped and had to pay again. I have paid them over $300 in repairs.

Desired Settlement
I'm asking for my refund of $140 and for them to keep the phone if desired or have 1/2 of the $140

Business Response /* ****** ** 2014/12/27) */
First of all the service request is under someone me else ******* ******. We cannot honor warranty unless it's him. But she was authorized to ask about device. We have done business with this customer and we have repaired the phone more than once. This last time we repaired the screen/digitizer. Customer picked up and received phone in good and working condition without any spots or cracks on screen. Now our warranty is for 1 year for manufacture issues only and does not cover physical damage or liquid damage. The phone was brought back to see what was going on to screen and we told the customer that the screen had a broken glass which immediately voids any manufacture warranty. Now we are very unique and offer a 1 year service warranty on installation. So any more ther place would charge her for part and installation again. We offered and told her we would help her with the installation warranty as she has that but has to pay for part. We have and will always honor our service warranty for the installation. The only thing we are and ask our customers is for them to pay for the part of it has physical damage or liquid damage as it voids the manufacture warranty. At this time I apologize but I won't be able to refund anything just help the customer through the service warranty. That is our final offer. An FYI spots on screen can happen from weather conditions especially if left near windows . But as we dual controlled and verified the screen , both of our techs saw and notated that the screen was CRACKED when brought back and voids any warranty for part with manufacture. I hope customer understands that and we are willing to help otherwise we cannot make any exceptions as we already help them enough with covering installation through service warranty.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** 2015/01/05) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their offer they made their final offer what can I do. I kept explaining that my daughter did not drop the phone. How can I convince them the phone was not dropped. I lost money and time I just will not go there again and I'll make sure family and friends are aware. Thank you

Final Business Response /* ****** 9, 2015/01/09) */
We understand the concern and we are willing to help with the service warranty. We will install it for free but the part needs to be purchased because it has physical damage. We hope you understand we are already helping and have helped by not charging an installation fee like all other places would for recurring cracks or physical damage to repairs on a phone already done. We can once again only help you by installing and repairing the phone for you not by giving you warranty on the part. If the part was not broken or physically damaged the manufacture would consider getting it replace but that is not the case with this. We would like you to please accept and understand that we are more than willing to help but when the part is broken it doesn't matter how it happened we can not honor manufacture warranty on the part. So my call stands and no refund or fees will be given for the customer as the part was brought back with physical damage.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** 2015/01/12) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This cell phone was not dropped in any way or shape. Why should I pay again.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

complete run around of when our product will be fixed and them calling us back in regards to the product
we went into the business on 2/7/14 to see if they would be able to repair my ps3. told them that it wasn't reading games or movies. the model is a ps3slim. the serial number is CGXXXXXXXXXCECH2501A. was told it would take 3-5 business days to see what the problem was and get the part in to fix it. they would give me a call back on 2/8/14 or 2/10/14 to make sure with the price that i would want them to fix it. i called them on 2/11/14 for not hearing from them and to see what the issue was. they told me that the tech said it was indeed the hard drive and that since i verbally gave them the agreement to order the part that it would be done. on 2/14/14 i still hadn't heard anything from them, so i called to see what was going on and they told me it was the lens and wasn't sure when it would be done. my husband and i went into the establishment today which is 2/15/14 to talk to them in person and see what the deal was. the lady treated us as if we were stupid and couldn't confirm what was wrong and that there tech was home sick. so when we demanded that we speak to their manager she couldn't tell us when he was returning and all of a sudden they had 2 techs. so we demanded our ps3 back and she mentioned that she couldn't get it back because it was taken apart. told her it didn't matter that we wanted it back and she still refused. told us that the tech/manager would be back in 2-3 hours. we asked for a specific time and she refused to tell us. claimed she was unable to reach him. we told her we didn't live in el paso, but in chaparral and wanted to know because we didn't want to waste gas. the gentleman behind the counter decided to take over and the conversation and told her to contact him and said he would be back at 3pm. so we told them we would be back at 4pm to see what is going on with the system. the guy mentioned that the hard drive and the lens was sold as one part. told them that they should fix both then since it wasn't reading the disc. told us it was impossible and that would keep the free hard drive that i would be paying for and fix the lens. told them i would contact the police and the better business bureau since they didn't want to work with us on this issue.

Desired Settlement
for them to either fix my ps3 like they said in the timely manner they mentioned or to give it back to me. seeing how they say it's impossible for them to do so

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@*******
Customer checked in PS3 on Feb 07 @ 4:30pm was told it can take anywhere up to 1 week from Saturday 2/8/14 for diagnostics and results on repair as this repair was brought so late on FRIDAY. Bringing the repair so late our first day of actual repair was Saturday 2/8/14 and in did need started diagnosing it that day. Customer was aware we would need to order any Proprietary parts that where needed to continue diagnostics or to fix it and customer was aware of it from the beginning. Our standard 1 Week would make that be between the date she brought in and 2/17/14. Customers are always informed that we will CONTACT them once the diagnostics is complete and repair is ready to move forward or done. Customer called during our given time to diagnose and repair ps3 as agreed and was given information that based on we found out the problem was the Lens/Drive which in no manner means it's the HARD DRIVE. A Misunderstanding lead to customer continuing to be impatient with us as we had clearly gave her the correct information about it being the Lens/Drive which customer might of gotten confused. Even with our Tech being sent home for being sick that Saturday which was 2/15/14 we still fell between the 1 week time frame we needed. Customer came in irate and disrespecting my employees and harassing them. We can not prevent or have any type of power over sickness and our technician was sent home due to sickness. Customer apparently didn't understand and didn't like that we had told her that and decided to become very unprofessional. We left a NEW LENS/DRIVE ($80) that was still being worked on by our technician when was sent home. I had no choice but to put it back together and give it to customer as she was being impatient and didn't understand that it was not done yet. We did not charge them and had it ready by the time that she demanded. I was currently out of the office in a business meeting and was the reason no one was able to contact me. We will not be servicing this customer again as she seemed very unprofessional with us and was always given the right information and told that these things are not fixed right away. She disrespected and threatened our employees and my employees kept professional while customer was yelling and making threats. We professionally gave them there device back and notated all that happened. I was ready to call police myself for the threats and irate attitude the customer had towards my employees. We did not charger them and left new part in the game console when she took it. At no point did we demand payment as we where concerned how unprofessional she was being. I made the decision not to make any chargers.

05/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/07/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers-Sys Designers & Consultants, Internet-Based Telephone Service, Computers-Network Security, Computers - Cleaning Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.