BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2000

Arves Jones Automotive Center

(915) 751-917110105 Dyer St., El PasoTX 79924

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2000

BBB has determined that Arves Jones Automotive Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arves Jones Automotive Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arves Jones Automotive Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They had my car for 7 weeks 3 days and did repairs I didn't authorize. My car was returned to me in worse condition and had to be towed back to shop.
I have brought my car here to have the crankshaft machined and other parts that I purchased they didn't use the gaskets I brought which was a full set they waited a week and a half before even touching my car everyday I called and asked an estimate for a price and time when it would be available and every time they denied me and they never gave me their labor rates.they also kept putting it off sending it to the machine shop. The machine shop they sent my engine to had it for 3 weeks and he did further work without my authorization by boring out my cylinders and replacing my pistons and connnecting rods with out letting me know that work was being done. when locked up my car 7 weeks and 1 day later my car was not running right and had died on me driving 20 minutes away from the shop I had to have it towed back they didn't put my car back together fully and when I picked it up my headlights now are not working and my a/c was not working as well and they are tryimy to say my a/c was not working when I brought it in when I know it was along with my headlightsny car then proceeded to overheat while I was driving and wouldn't go faster than 25 mph they didn't want to put the extras parts I wanted them to install which they said they would. Upon going to the shop at 15 April 2015 my car has been untouched for 3 days they told me they didn't want to work on it during those three days to wait for me to bring in a part that should have been replaced so I had to go out and find one. The only part they brought to my attention that needed to be replaced was my exhaust manifold which they told me on the second week my car was there and after I authorized them to replace that single part they never did replace it.

Desired Settlement
They have done work to my car I did not authorize they have had my car for too long and it's still not operational after they said it was. When I left with my car it drove for 20 minutes before dying and had to be towed back and they left it unfinished with panels still off in my car and they are still not doing any further work to my vehicle

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Mr. ********* is correct that we did have his vehicle for a considerable amount of time, however, he is incorrect in stating that we did unauthorized repairs to the vehicle. When Mr. ********* brought his 1986 Chrysler Conquest to our shop the vehicle did not run as he had removed all of the engine bearings. He requested that we replace the bearings, install an aftermarket turbocharger that he provided, an MSD Ignition that he also provided, replace the cylinder head which he also provided, replace the head gaskets which he did provide some but did not provide a complete set of gaskets and at the time that he brought the vehicle in he advised that we had 2 months to get his car ready. In order to replace main and rod bearings in the bottom part of the engine we proceeded to remove the engine and send the crank, block and heads to a machine shop. We were advised that the crankshaft was no longer able to be turned due to excessive wear. The bare head was fitted with valves, valve stems, and rocker arm assembly, It was necessary to obtain another crank and turn this crank to 10 over. At this time we had to obtain additional bearings since his were a standard size not 10 over. During this process we kept in touch with Mr. ********* to advise him of the situation and he continually gave us the "ok" to proceed. In addition, the connecting rods were checked and two were found to be faulty, therefor requiring replacement. The other two were sized to the crank and the pistons. The piston rings were also replaced due to excessive wear. In addition, Mr. ********* asked us to delete the balance shaft chain with parts that he provided. Unfortunately, the block and head were kept at the machine shop for over 3 weeks due to our machinist having some medical issues. We did advise Mr. ********* of this issue at the time. When they were returned to us, we immediately began work on re-assembling and installing the engine to his vehicle. After installing the engine, we discovered that the turbocharger that he provided would not work with the engine. The design of the turbocharger was completely different than what the vehicle required. We advised Mr. ********* of this issue and re-installed his old turbocharger. The vehicle did not run well with the old turbocharger so Mr. ********* proceeded to bring us one he thought would work. It also was not the right part and so our technician attempted to modify the turbo in such a way that it would be compatible, however we were not successful. The vehicle was running at this point however not to the standard that we would have liked due to this turbo issue. Mr. ********* picked up the vehicle and then brought it back several hours later stating that the headlights and air conditioner were not working as well as there being a panel inside the vehicle left off. The panel was indeed left off, we immediately put it back on and have counseled our technician about that issue. As for the air conditioner it never worked as the system was completely void of refrigerant which is R-12 and due to EPA regulations is no longer available for sale. The only way to make the air conditioner work is to retrofit the air conditioner system to be compatible with the new R-134A refrigerant. The headlights were personally checked by myself and I know they are functional. Nothing we did to the vehicle would cause the headlights to malfunction. As for the pricing issue I advised Mr. ********* that due to the inconvenience of us having kept the vehicle so long I would discount our labor rate from $85 per hour to $50 per hour which is reflected on our invoice that he signed upon picking up the vehicle. I further discounted the invoice for the machine shop work I only charged him for the parts that the machinist used and not the labor that he charged us. We also noted on the invoice that he signed that the lack of power was caused by a bad turbocharger (we will provide a copy via U.S. mail). In addition, I would like to mention that we attempted to use his turbocharger at no additional charge and without the proper parts, this vehicle will not run at an optimum performance level. If Mr. ********* were to provide the correct turbocharger for this vehicle we will gladly install it and ensure that the timing and valves are set correctly at no additional cost to him but only if he provides the appropriate part.

Thank You,
****** ******

Furthermore, all parts that Mr. ********* provided that were not used or were unable to be used were returned to him including his original crank that was no longer usable.

05/14/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1991Business started: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Contact Information
Principal: Martha Castillo (Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Tips on Car Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arves Jones Automotive Center

10105 Dyer St.

El Paso, TX 79924

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10105 Dyer St. 

    El Paso, TX 79924(915) 751-9171

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arves Jones Automotive Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Tips on Car Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.