BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2007

Chavira Auto Sales

Phone: (915) 772-7715Fax: (915) 781-71007165 Alameda Ave, El PasoTX 79915

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2007

BBB has determined that Chavira Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chavira Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chavira Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/28/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* has had my vehicle for over 3 months. He promised to replace the motor when car gave out. I'm got a call from bank saying he's billing them.
September 10th I walked in ******* Auto Sales to look at vehicles. Owner wasn't there I returned back September 16th and found a car that he was willing to help me with but had mechanical problems. its a 2005 Chevy Equinox down payment was originally 1500 but he stated I have several witnesses that not to worry about the 500. there he made conversation with my father in law who does construction work as well as many other jobs charged him $250 to do a job for the owner Mr ******* he never paid my father in law stating that we had said to put it towards motor which wasn't part of the deal. My vehicle gave up november 27 I went that day car had been overheating not even a month later that I purchased the vehicle he told me to return until car officially gave up so I would staystranded many times. The day I took the vehicle mister ******* lentt me another vehicle that 1 as well started to overheat so I had to return to get another vehicle. A month later I realize that ******* had put in the paperwork for my payment every month the day I walked in the car lot I officially didn't sign any papers until september 16 I didn't receive the vehicle until september 24. the vehicle is purchase through him but I have the loan through lobel financial. the woman that works there carolina told me not to worry about any late payment until I receive my vehicle I do have the money to become current on my account. Mr ******* doesn't want to return my vehicle. 2 weeks ago I had a repo company show up at my residence repoing the car that *******. Allegedly lent me. a month ago the woman ******** call me stating Mr ******* is sending them invoices of over $700 to pay for repairs to my vehicle. I have more than four witnesses that were there when Mr ******* told me not to worry about the 500 what she was going to be put for the motor. I paid $1,000 down paid by check to mr *******. I called Mr ******* and let him know that they were repoing his van. he got really upset and stated that he was just going to let the bank take my car. I tried contacting him on friday but never called me back. I have had so many problems i really hope he doesn't do it to other people.

Desired Settlement
I would like for him to fix my vehicle properly or return my 1000$ down and let the bank take over the truck. The bank is aware of all that is going on and they tell me to do what i have too. By me 100%. I struggle alot and dont hsve alot of money to buy another vehicle. I also want him to pay my father in law.

Business Response
The vehicle was sold as is we are helping the customer in getting the vehicle fixed because we understand the situation they are in. The vehicle hasn't been finished due to the customer having a balance owed. The bank came and told us that they where here to pick up the vehicle due to the lack of payments the vehicle is in the repossession process. We stopped working on it after we found out that we weren't going to be paid for what we are owed. In order for us to finish the job please stop by to pay the balance owed. We are helping the customer by fixing the vehicle after it was overheated which isn't covered because the damage is caused by negligence. We understand the customer is in a tough financial situation and we are doing everything we can to help. We can't continue, knowing we wont be paid the money owed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/10/2006Business started: 01/01/1988Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Gregorio Chavira (Owner) Alva Chavira (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

Company offers automobile used retail

Please note that the company claims all cars they sell are sold "As Is". In the State of Texas the Lemon Law covers brand new cars only, not USED cars. If a car is sold "as is" the company has no obligation to repair any item on the car once it is sold. Please check out the following link for information on Lemon Laws in different states:

http://www.123car.com/lemon/lemonbystate.html

Please have your own mechanic or a service check out the car before you make a purchase. There is no 3 day cooling off period for car purchases.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chavira Auto Sales

7165 Alameda Ave

El Paso, TX 79915

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7165 Alameda Ave 

    El Paso, TX 79915(915) 772-7715
    Fax: (915) 781-7100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chavira Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.