BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Massey Automotive LP

Phone: (915) 584-9393Fax: (915) 231-4154View Additional Phone Numbers950 Crockett St., El PasoTX 79922http://www.mackmassey.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Massey Automotive LP is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Massey Automotive LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Massey Automotive LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Submitted a request for refund of GAP insurance 17 weeks ago. No reply, dealer keeps giving us the run around/no answers and no refund.
After refinancing our vehicle, and purchasing a new GAP insurance from Navy FCU (May 18, 2013), my husband and I submitted a request for a GAP insurance refund which we originally purchased from Mack Massey. The dealership finance manager, stated the process would take approximately 8-10 weeks. After 12 weeks business stated he did not have an update, and "didn't know anything." 17 weeks have gone by now and we have yet to receive our refund. The business would give us the run around and would not return our calls. We made a trip to Mack Massey on Saturday September 21, 2013 to inquire about our refund. Business rep was rude, and stated he didn't know anything. When I stated I was upset he shrugged his shoulders as if he didn't care.

Desired Settlement
Respect to us as customers, answers to our questions, and a refund of our GAP insurance.

Business Response
Thanks for allowing us to respond to this BBB complaint. Mack Massey has always held our A+ rating with the BBB in high regard.
Our customer did request a GAP cancellation on 5/25/13. But he requested it to be cancelled as of 2012 (see attch). We did not catch his mistake but our GAP provider did, and this delayed it. Business rep found this out Monday morning when he followed up on the status of cancellation. He immediately contacted business rep and notified him of the delay. Unfortunately, we cannot find out the status of cancellations on Sat. or Sun. and this did upset the customer quite a bit.
We will be receiving the refund in about 4 weeks but in an effort to settle the complaint we will advance the refund and wait for our GAP provider to send us the funds.

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase a 2012 Dodge Charger and in less than a month their has been 3 repairs required.
On July 1, 2013 my wife and myself purchased a vehicle 2012 Dodge Charger SRT8 Super Bee for $39,000 with 4,000 miles from Mack Massey. The vehicle was taken in to the repair center July 8, 2013 due to the engine light coming on. The problem was detected and fixed by July 9, 2013. On August 3, 2013 the engine light was on again, for which the car was taken again to the dealership service department. This time it was said to be a leaking hoes that needed to be replaced, the car war returned to us in on Aug 8, 2013. A week later on Aug 15, 2013 the check engine light was back on and the vehicle was returned to the service department. It has only been a month and two weeks since the vehicle was purchased "new" and 3 times we have had to take it to the service department. It was not until the third time that any higher authority was involved. My wife spoke to the GM ****** *******, who was not fully aware of the problem. No problem has been detected and we have not been informed of the progress. It is obvious to us that vehicle is not to its full perfection and that they have not taken the issue seriously and the matter has not been fixed. It has become a burden and not a joy to have a new car. The disappointment levels have just gone to high.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking for the dealership to take full responsibility of the vehicle "sale" they have put their name on. We would rather have a replacement than a weekly visit to the service department.

Business' Initial Response
The management of Massey Automotive wants to thank the Better Business Bureau for allowing this issue to be resolved in the utmost professional way.

On Saturday September 17, 2013 Mr. & Mrs. *******, Fixed Operations Manager *** ******* and ******* ****** the General Manager sat down to discuss all issues of their vehicle purchase began including the any and all dealership visits to our service center.

An amicable game plan to set up to take care of all of Mr. & Mrs. ******* concerns. The following week transportation was provided to them as Massey Automotive addressed and fixed all that was discussed in the September 17 meeting. Vehicle has since been return to the ******* family with all issues resolved.
Again, we thank the BBB for getting involved in this issue.

Best regards,
Massey Automotive Management

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/10/1994Business started: 07/01/1959
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Contact Information
Principal: Randy Massey (Vice President)Customer Contact: Mike Phillips (Service Manager) Gina Sherman (Human Resources Manager) Agustin Vasquez (GM) Louie Watson (Marketing)
Number of Employees

94

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Products & Services

New Car dealership for Chrysler,Jeep,Dodge,Sprinter & Used Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Mack Massey Automotive

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Massey Automotive LP

950 Crockett St.

El Paso, TX 79922

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 950 Crockett St. 

    El Paso, TX 79922(915) 584-9393
    (915) 231-4197

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Massey Automotive LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (915) 231-4197
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.