BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1992

Hoy-Fox Toyota/Lexus/Scion

Phone: (915) 598-0399Fax: (915) 599-2122View Additional Phone Numbers11165 Gateway West, El PasoTX 79935

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1992

BBB has determined that Hoy-Fox Toyota/Lexus/Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hoy-Fox Toyota/Lexus/Scion's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Hoy-Fox Toyota/Lexus/Scion

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
05/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not respect contract agreement
On *** X XXXX, I submitted an application online through the Hoy Fox Toyota website for a **** Toyota ******* The next day they called me back to see if I was still iterested in the truck. I said yes and I was there in the afternoon. They showed me the truck and I liked it, they made me several offers until we got an agreement on the price and loan terms, I figured they had already checked my credit because the salesman, **** ******* told me I had good credit. They took me to finance department with a guy named *******, don't remember his last name, and he told me congratulations on your new purchase, before we signed the contract he offered me extra services like gap insurance and some others which I denied, he said fine then sign here your payment is going to be 309 dlls a month with an interest of 3.9 with ****** ****** ******* and I gave a 1000.00 dlls down payment. This happened on *** X XXXX. The next day, *** ** I picked up the truck because they had it in service the day before, and they told me again congratulations, that is it. Since I had the truck, that same day, I sold my old vehicle, a **** **** ***** ******** thinking I had a new truck.I took it off the insurance policy and put the ****** into it with full coverage.(I can show them the insurance if they want). Also I ordered a retractable bed cover for the truck, which it was about 780 dlls. So, on *** XX XXXX, 5 days later, I got a call around 2 pm from the finance department telling me that I had to go to the dealership to sign some papers, they did not tell me I was rejected by the bay, which I don't believe anyway, because I know now you get a quick response from the bank, usually the next day, I say that from my previous experience financing another cars. Anyway, I got there in the afternoon to sign the famous papers, and the first thing they told is congratulations on your new purchase but you were rejected by the bank, but don't worry, I got you another bank that approved you, but your payment is going to be higher just a little bit, about 35 dlls more and your interest rate is going to be 4.6%. I said no, that is not what I signed for, and we could not get to an agreement so I called my wife right away so she could bring the truck to the dealership, 35 minutes laters I gave back the truck to them. Now the problem is to get back my down payment, I am hoping by tomorrow,*** XX XXXX, they call me and tell me they have my check or however they are going to give it back, I already sent an email to **** ******* the salesman telling him in a properly manner that I don't want to be bother by phone and I don't want to talk to anybody from them, I just want my money back. I should say that I appreciate that he respected my will so far and got an answer via txt message. Now lets see what happens tomorrow with my money and I want the people to know that I did not like the way they handle the situation and all the inconvenience that I have right now because my family don't have a vehicle to move and cancellation of insurance and the purchase of the bed cover for the truck.

Desired Settlement
I just want my down payment back as soon as possible.

Business Response
MR. ********* LEFT A DOWN PAYMENT OF $1000.00 CHARGED TO HIS CREDIT CARD. WE HAVE ASKED FOR HIM TO BRING IN HIS CREDIT CARD FOR HIS DOWNPAYMENT REFUND. REFUSES TO COME IN. THANK YOU AND HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
January 17, 2014The consumer purchased two vehicles from Hoy *** Toyota Lexus on May 24, 2013. One vehicle, a 2012 Toyota Corolla, VIN # **** was traded at a New Mexico dealership on November 25, 2013. The trade in mileage was 22089 and it remained under ToyotaCare, a factory provided warranty and maintenance plan. On November 29th, 2013, I requested a refund in writing of the GAP and the prepaid maintenance agreement from Hoy Fox by FAX and again by email on December 3, 2013.A check dated December 27th 2013 was received from GS Administrators, Inc. ** *** XXXXXX, Houston TX XXXXX-XXXX, a partner of HoyFox as a refunded in the following amounts: Refunded $769.43 on a purchase price of $895.00 at 5.50% interest, on the GAP.Refunded $528.78 on a purchase price of $850.00 at 5.50% interest, on the prepaid maintenance agreement.On review of the prepaid maintenance agreement, Section 4 entitled For Vehicles that have ToyotaCare or Scion Service Boost, the Agreement reads If this Agreement is cancelled with the first 30 days of the Agreement Effective Date, We will refund the Agreement Purchase Price indicated in the Coverage Information Section above. If this Agreement is cancelled after the first 30 days and before the expiration of Your factory provided program, We will refund the Agreement Purchase Price indicated in the Coverage Information Section minus a $25.00 processing fee. If this Agreement is cancelled after the expiration of Your factory provided program, We will pay a pro rata refund based on the elapsed time the Agreement Effective Date or elapsed mileage from the Current Mileage indicated in the Vehicle Information Section above, whichever refund dollar amount is less, minus a $25.00 processing fee.The vehicle was still under factory warranty when the refund request was made. The Agreement only allows a $25.00 processing fee.On December 31, 2013 I contacted the Finance Manager and Customer Service Manager. Both refused to review the Agreement, comply with its terms or properly arrange for a refund. The CSM referred me to (XXX-XXX-XXXX) GS administrators, who did not return my calls.HoyFox Toyota refuses to correct the error and has cheated me of $271.22 plus 5.50%, the maintenance refund amount minus the $25.00 handling fee. I am a long time customer of HoyFox Toyota Lexus of El Paso, have purchased at least five vehicles from this dealership over the past 7 years. However, a closer look at friends from HoyFox suggests more of a focus on maximizing profits. I have personally ignore bad practices such as a promises of one interest rate, but increasing the amount at signing, to suggesting that adding the GAP or maintenance plan is a conditions of sale. The current event is marked with frustrating the refund process by requiring additional documentation that is not required by the Agreement of record, and then withholding proper refund.Please help me get my proper refund, interests and penalty from this dealership.

Desired Settlement
Refund, interest and penalty

Business Response
attached cancellation form and the pro-rate done by GS. We submit a cancellation with the miles and date that is provided to us by the customer.
Thank you very much
*** ******
CRM

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Consumer does not accept the business response from Hoy Fox Toyota Lexus (11165 Gateway West, El Paso TX XXXXX) as a valid reason for withholding the full and proper refund of a maintenance plan purchased from them.

Consumer is not satisfied.

Hoy Fox Toyota Lexus engages the services of GS Administrators, Inc. *** *** XXXXXX ******* TX XXXXX-XXXX) to process refunds. Hoy Fox reports to GS Administrators the miles and cancellation date reported by the Consumer.

In this instant case, Hoy Fox with GS Administrators are redefining the rules, conditions and obligations applicable to the refund, as shown in the document of record. Hoy Fox has failed to direct GS Administrators to properly refund the total amount due the Consumer.

The Consumers motives remain steady: To recover the $271.22, plus 5.5% interest due him, and to alert the public that Hoy Fox may be engaging in activities that violate consumer rights under State and Federal law.




Final Business Response
GST WILL BE SENDING A CHECK TO MR. **** ON THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 27, 2014, FOR THE AMOUNT OF $321.22. THANK YOU VERY MUCH ***

10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 4/24/2015 I took my car to Hoy Fox Toyota to repair a noise that emerges from my car when I turn on the engine. The problem is not yet fixed.
On 4/24/2015 I took my car to Hoy Fox Toyota to repair a noise that emerges from my car when I turn on the engine. The technician, **** ****** claimed to run a diagnostic test on my car and I was charged $300.13 to repair it. I was told to wait 3 days for the repairs to take hold. After the allotted time, my car was still making the noise. I went back to the dealership on 5/5/15 and told the technician about the issue. He asked me to leave the car overnight. The next day I was told that a diagnostic test was run and now my car needed a new starter for an additional cost of $542.02. I do not trust that this company made a good faith effort to fix my car the first time I took it in for repairs. The original diagnostic test should have found the issue with the starter. I was charged over $300 for nothing. My car was not repaired. I think they are trying to take advantage of me because I am a woman, Hispanic, primarily Spanish speaking. I made several calls to the manager, **** ****** and he did not answer me until today 5/14/2015. He told me that nothing could be done. I am extremely disgruntled and disappointed. I have no other recourse but to hope that the BBB can help me.

Desired Settlement
I want Hoy Fox to complete the job they promised me. My car still needs to be repaired. I do not want to deal with the technician ****** ***** any longer.

Business Response
WE HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CONTACT OUR CUSTOMER. SHE HAS TO BRING HER CAR TO THE SERVICE DEPT. WILL YOU PLEASE HAVE HER COME IN. THANK YOU ***.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What is the resolution that is being proposed by Toyota? The company's response is vague and false. Nobody has reached out to me. Please detail to me how they have been trying to contact me because I have the same address, phone number and email address and I do not have any missed messages from them. There is no resolution posted in the company's response other than I have to go back there without knowing what is going to be done about my complaint. I have been to their shop many times and I have spoken to a number of managers and employees to no avail so I would like some specificity as to what they propose before I take my car back to their shop. I also do not appreciate that they waited until the end of the time allotted for them to respond and then came back blaming me for not making myself available when clearly nobody from Toyota has reached out to me about this issue.

Final Business Response
MS. ****** OPENED A COMPLAINT THROUGH TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS, WAS CLOSED. WE CAN NOT ANSWER AS TO WHAT WE WILL PROPOSE WITHOUT FIRST DIAGNOSTING HER VEHICLE. I NEED FOR HER TO CALL ME
*** ****** XXX-XXXX EXT. **** THANK YOU

09/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
was told we would receive a $100 gift card in mail for showing up @ dealership-never did
We received a Trade-Up letter from Hoy Fox Toyota & to make an appt for Aug 1 wk end-we would receive a $100 gift card if we made the appt & appeared for appt. We DID for Aug 1 @ 9:30 A.M. We were referred to a rep., he wrote down our information, told us we would receive the card in the mail in 4 or 5 days & turned us over to a salesman. We talked about a new Prius, even looked @ it, but didn't agree on the trade in offered for our 2011 Prius, so we left.
One week past- no card -so I called **********. Girl answering didn't know who to refer me to so said she would find out & call me back---week later-no card, no call-so I called AGAIN the next week. Sales Sup returned my call, he would contact company that was to send card & we would get a call from them--We do not answer #'s we do not know & he said it would be from a 210#--we watched our caller ID but never saw a 210#--no call, no card--called for the 3rd time (8-21) & ask who the owner was, ****** *** & was passed ** his voice mail...no response from him at all, still no card!! Called for the 4th time (8-26) to ******* -Sales-& left message that if I didn't receive a call by today, I would turn it over to the BBB.
Well I never received a call from Hoy Fox or the rep. that took our Trade Up letter & never did receive the gift card so I am writing you, Thank You-***** *******

Desired Settlement
We want that $100 gift card we were promised to receive.

Business' Initial Response
MS. ******** WILL BE PICKING UP HER GIFT CARD NO LATER THAN FRIDAY. THANK YOU
****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I drove over to Hoy Fox to pick up THE GIFT CARD! If I'd known what it was going to be, I wouldn't have bothered. On the outside of the packet it has "eOutlet Stores". I ask **** what that meant, our outlet mall in Canutillo?-Her answer was she had no idea what it was. When I got home, I found out it is "exclusively from the website noted on the card" so we got four $25 Gift Card's to eOutlet Stores for Kitchen, Leather, Gadgets & Electronics. Yes I accepted this but I am not happy with it at all & wonder why Hoy Fox even messed with it, wondering if anyone there had any idea what they were awarding (!) their customers. Thank you, Mrs *********

09/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Traded in vehicle and it is taking more than 55 days to pay it of to bank. Reflects on my credit report as past due.
On 07/06/2013 my wife and i went to Hoy Fox Toyota in El Paso, TX to purchase a new vehicle. sales rep ***** helped us find a car and we also trade in our 2007 GMC YUKON. Passed over to finance signed paper work and finance rep said he would call us during the following week with bank name that will finance our new 2012 Toyota Camry. Two weeks came no call. We contact ****** to know if truck had been paid in full by Toyota and truck was still not paid. Called Toyota and the finance rep who helped us had quit leaving our case incomplete and forgotten. Unacceptable, called finance manager ****** said he will look into in and call us back (3rd week), no call back even after multiple attempts to contact him. Then got assigned **** finance rep said he would take care of it found us a bank for 2013 Camry ***** but he needed $1000 down to approve us. We agree had to sign new paper work because original lost, so by week 4 same story no pay off. No plates for new car. No paper work from new bank. We continuously call Toyotas finance department with no resolution leaving voice mails. No call backs from anyone. Decided to go directly to Hoy Fox spoke to **** in finance said not to worry check for truck had been sent out. Week later no pay off done to **********. Then my wife called him on 08/14 said we just mailed out check don't you worry, and our 07 Yukon unpaid to ***** ****** since 07/06/13 contact then this 08/20/13 past due 56 day for $1055 and a repo letter had been sent (Affecting our credit report). This is an unacceptable experience for me, as a customer their excuse is they have lost people in finance department leaving us incomplete twice.

Desired Settlement
I would need for Hoy Fox Toyota to pay off my GMC Yukon to *****. Also to provide me with a document that reflects I gave up ownership of truck back in July 6, 2013. When we left truck GMC 2007 at Toyota Hoy Fox with our new 2012 Camry so I can submit it to credit report and remove the collections / past due status for more than 55 days history.

Business' Initial Response
WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR ALL OF THE INCONVENIENCES THAT WE HAVE CAUSED. WE HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THE PAY OFF, WE SEND A CHECK TO ********* ON 8/20/13 FOR THE AMOUNT OF $19,572.52 TO COVER FOR THE 2007 YUKON W. VIN #*********. WE ARE GETTING HIS VEH. REGISTERED AND I WILL CALL HIM AS SOON AS WE RECEIVE HIS PLATES. THANK YOU VERY MUCH
SINCERLY
*** ******

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complained of 3 dents on front and rear driver side doors and door pillar upon picking up vehicle. Dealership says not responsible.
When we picked up SUV, we noticed 3 obvious dents on front and rear driver side doors and door pillar, we immediately went inside to complain to managers. They say that the walk-through form was filled out and noted. We weren't notified of damage prior to leaving vehicle with dealer. When we looked at form, there is NO WAY to tell if the dealer is being honest about who damaged vehicle. The form leaves room for them to make extra annotations of damage while customer is away. There should be a customer signature when walk-through is complete and copy given to customer prior to leaving vehicle with dealer to avoid this situation. Manager was very confrontational and disrespectful to us as customers, this is unacceptable and very unprofessional and leaves a very bad mark on the reputation on all Hoy Fox dealerships as on bad manager makes all managers appear unprofessional and rude. My son who was there with me and is in the military says even leaders serving now are not allowed to talk to each other that way.

Desired Settlement
We would like for Hoy Fox to make changes to the form that shows where there are dents and scratches and have customer sign it and give copy prior to leaving. If customer leaves without signing then that leaves the customer responsible, this will help avoid this situation in the future. Second, we want Hoy Fox to pay for the repair of the 3 obvious dents/scratches on front and rear driver side doors and door pillar.

Business' Initial Response
First of all i want to thank you for taking time on reviewing and helping us and our customer. I have submitted a service pre-write sheet that will indicate exactly where there were any dents on the car upon receiving it for service. Our service greeter will walk around with our customer and note every scratch and dent that the car has before taking it into the shop. The customer had not even noticed some of the dents until they were pointed out. I tried contacting consumer but there was no answer. Thank you so much. Sincerely

01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1991Business started: 11/02/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met. Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the City of El Paso can be viewed at the following website: http://www.elpasotexas.gov/development_services/contractor2.asp Or by calling: 915-541-4558

Contact Information
Principal: Isa Rivera (Customer Relations Manager) David Amaya (Sales Manager) Steve L. Fox
Number of Employees

69

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Industry Tips
Tips on Car Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hoy-Fox Toyota/Lexus/Scion

11165 Gateway West

El Paso, TX 79935

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11165 Gateway West 

    El Paso, TX 79935(915) 598-0007
    (915) 778-5341
    (915) 598-0399

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hoy-Fox Toyota/Lexus/Scion is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (915) 598-0007
  • (915) 778-5341
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 31, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Tips on Car Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.