BBB Accredited Business since

Durabuilt Windows and Doors

Additional Locations

Phone: (780) 455-0440 Fax: (780) 455-5775 View Additional Phone Numbers 10920 178 St, Edmonton, AB T5S 1R7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Durabuilt Windows and Doors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Durabuilt Windows and Doors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2002 Business started: 04/15/1988 Business started locally: 04/15/1988 Business incorporated 01/01/1998 in AB
Business Management
Mr. Amar Randhawa, General Manager Mr. Harry Sunner, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Cherissa Catagas, Assistant to the GM
Principal: Mr. Amar Randhawa, General Manager
Business Category

Windows Industrial Manufacturers Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Patio Door Manufacturer - High Performance

Alternate Business Names
Durabuilt Design Gallery Durabuilt Superstore

Additional Locations

  • 10920 178 St

    Edmonton, AB T5S 1R7

  • 8605 Argyll Rd

    Edmonton, AB T6E 0E8 (800) 544-3815


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that the repair would be covered under warrantee but later told that I would have to pay for it. I built a new home and used durabuilt as my window supplier. My windows were bought in June 2014 and I noticed recently that one of my windows were cracked so I called Durabuilt to have someone come look at it to get the glass replaced. I was told that the window was still under warranty and that as long as the crack was deemed to not be my fault, the repair would be covered under warranty. The tech came to my house December 11,2016 and determined the crack was not my fault and was due to a pressure crack which is not uncommon. I was surprised when I got a call on December 15, 2016 asking me to pay for the repair indicating that a pressure crack is only covered under warrantee for 12 months. I was later told the pressure crack warranty was only 6 months. I asked to speak to the manager and was offered to get the replacement glass for free but I would have to pay $200 for installation. I argued that I was told it would be fully covered and that they should honour what their employees say but the excuse was that the two employees I spoke with are new and were mistaken. I feel that this is very misleading and the company should honour what their employees say. I'm so confident that I was originally mislead on the phone that I asked them to find a recording of the conversation but they used the excuse that they normally have telephone recordings but are changing phone systems ********************. ************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I want them to honour what their employee indicated and refund my money and cover both the cost of the window and labour.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/24) */ Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to recognize and apologize for the confusion that conflicting statements have caused for the customer. It is understood the customer has experienced distress over miscommunicating details of the Durabuilt warranty; this concern will be improved upon internally. In section (2) Window Systems under Warranties, the Durabuilt Warranty's provision on pressure cracks states "Pressure cracks are covered for 90 days from the date of manufacture". This warranty is available online or can be sent to the customer directly. Durabuilt is still extending the offer to supply the products at no charge, and a labour fee of $200.00. Durabuilt greatly values the customer's business and input, but must respect the product and service warranty in place. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In my business, if I inadequately train my staff and they are incorrect in their statements, I do everything in my power to rectify the situation, even if that means I have to extend a warranty or something equivalent to that. If the warranty was extended then the window would be installed free of charge. I really don't think that is too much to ask in this situation.

12/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Does not address problems and concerns in a timely matter. Poor customer service. Dealt with Brad L***. In August 2015 we stopped at the show room. Brad showed the triple pane window in the showroom as we wanted to replace front living room window. We did not mention dual pane at all during this visit as we were only interested in triple pane. He knew we were leaving out of town so emailed us the quote and mentioned they were booking into end of October so would need to make a decision soon. He then emailed and called us several times while we were on vacation asking for a decision. Once we confirmed with him that we wanted to proceed he required a deposit so we provided our master card number over the phone since we were still on vacation. During this time we also asked Brad to provide us with a quote for replacing our patio sliding doors however we did not ever receive this quote. Upon returning to Edmonton we stopped in at their office to sign the paperwork. Unfortunately Brad was not in so the receptionist gave us the paperwork to sign. Admittedly we assumed it was all right and did not read it closely. We did not hear from Brad again until day of installation. Installer came and installed window on Nov 3, 2015. All was great until they walked us through the features of the window, We noticed the window was dual pane not triple and asked where the triple pane was. The installer indicated this is a dual pane not triple. We immediately got the paperwork and saw it indicated 3mm dual pane. *************************************** at no time did we ever discuss dual pane windows or expect to receive dual pane windows however since we signed the paperwork and misread it (saw 3mm written and missed the reference to dual pane) we know we are partly to blame. Installer was good and specifically wrote on customer acceptance form that we asked for triple pane glass, signed contract with secretary, not with Brad. He also wrote "payment of $1500.00 now. remaining payment after dispute settled. (Total amount due was $1935.39). As soon as installer left (early afternoon) we immediately called Brad on his mobile and left message. Then proceeded to email and call the office and left messages. We received no reply. Finally once we got in touch Brad, he was non responsive to concerns************************************************************************************. We spoke to the manager and asked what options are available. The manager mentioned since we paid for the dual pane they will provide us with a quote for the cost difference for triple pane. We did not receive this quote until a week later. The quote was not just the cost difference but included another installation fee of $450.00. We responded to the email quote on Nov 10, 2015 and asked why there was another installation fee charged in quote since the manger discussed it would be the cost difference of the window pane only. To date we have not received an answer to our question yet. On Nov. 13, 2015 we received an invoice in mail indicating the full amount of $1935.39 was paid/charged to master card. We called durabuilt on Nov 13th and spoke to office manager (Jag). I asked why they charged the full amount when dispute is still not settled and comments on customer acceptance form indicates payment of $1500.00 now and remaining payment after dispute is settled. He said he would call back within half hour to hour as he wanted to discuss with Brad and accounting. I asked him to call back soon otherwise I would need to call master card to find out what next steps will be regarding charging more than what is authorized in comments. No one called back within the timeframe they indicated. To date we still have not receive a call back regarding charging us for full amount and still no response to our email regarding the installation fee in the quote.

Desired Settlement: We would like this matter to be resolved timely and receive responses within the timelines they say they will provide in. First, would like durabuilt to refund the $1935.39 that was charged on master card and only charge $1500.00 until dispute is finalized as indicated/authorized in comments. Second, would like an explanation of why a second installation fee would be charged to us when we paid for installation once already. And were told they would provide quote for cost difference of triple pane only.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/24) */ Durabuilt would like to offer an apology to the customer for their frustration. It is understood some internal communication processes in place experienced some difficulties and affected the customer's experience. As the first order was accepted by the customer - via customer's signature on the order forms - all products and services were thereby agreed upon. Due to the first order being approved, Durabuilt is not liable to provide installation services for replacement products, as outlined in our warranty. However, as a gesture of good faith, Durabuilt will rescind the $450.00 installation fees for the replacement product (triple pane windows). As the first order has been completed in full (production, delivery, and installation of the windows), Durabuilt will not refund the amount of $1,935.39. The customer has indicated that it is reasonable to charge the difference in price for triple pane windows, and Durabuilt proposes the customer pays the difference to upgrade from dual to triple pane windows ($507.25 + GST) upon receipt of the triple pane windows.

10/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective windows were not adequately replaced to match existing windows. First contact with Durabuilt windows was made on May 7/15. We had 2 cracked windows, 2 dull windows plus the entrance door windows. They explained to me that the dull windows would be covered under warranty, but I would have to pay for the cracked windows. On May 13, 15 a technician came out to take measurements. After not hearing anything from Durabuilt for a month, I contacted them again on June 8th and June 11th and talked with Jiken (sales rep). He wasn't able to help me to my satisfaction, but he said he would email me with details. On June 19th when we still hadn't heard anything we drove to Durabuilt head office on 178th street to check on our order and also make payment for the two windows. They could not help me, and did not take payment from me at the time. After weeks of waiting I called on July 2nd and talked to Jiken again. He assured me that we would have our windows in 5-10 days, and I paid via credit card over the phone. After a month of silence I contacted JIken via email again. Finally in August they came to install the windows. However, the window grills were much longer then the existing windows (have pictures to show), and we refused installation. After a few weeks they came back for installation. ************************************************************ the grills were mounted on the outside rather then the inside chamber of the windows (which doesn't match our existing windows), as well as the window grill in the Kitchen window was too long again. After hearing nothing for a few days, I called again on August 31st and they promised me someone would contact me with a new installation appointment. On Sept 2nd the technicians came to install the kitchen window, but it was wrong again. At that time I showed him everything else that was wrong: a few gaskets around the replaced windows came loose, the window of the entrance door is a smaller gauge then the door width, the window of the entrance door is too small and the technician simply added black foam, the grill in the entrance door window is too short and not connected on the bottom of window, and the new windows have a different coating on them then the existing windows right next to them so they appear different). The technician did not take responsibility and refused to fix the windows. Immediately I emailed Jiken (Sales rep) and told explained him what was wrong. He emailed me back and said someone would contact me this afternoon. Melanie (customer service) called me, and refused to do anything about the other windows and said the company will only fix the kitchen window (wrong grill measurement), but the other windows are not their responsibility and she had excuses of why they are different. An appointment was made for September 23rd to re-install the kitchen window, but the morning off the appointment they called to say that the window was still wrong and it had to go back to the factory.***************************************************************************** We were re-scheduled for September 30th, at which time the kitchen window was re-installed. However, the window grills of the windows were still not installed correctly. Furthermore, none of the other issues have been addressed or fixed to an acceptable level. PO-NO: ************** Paid: July 2, 2013 Total: $1,213.56 plus warranty claim for the 2 windows

Desired Settlement: Respect and customer service by the company employees and service personnel. To replace the windows to match existing windows in the rest of the house (incl. grill, coating, width, size, etc,), to fix entrance door windows, replace gaskets to match current gaskets, to fix "guest bedroom" window which isn't closing anymore since replacement. To acknowledge that this service was not handled professionally and respectfully, and going forward settle all issues in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/05) */ Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to apologize for the inconvenience and stress the customer has experienced. As part of a root cause analysis, it was discovered that this file was closed accidentally. Durabuilt is attempting to contact the customer via phone to resolve this situation in a more timely manner. We hope to provide a much more suitable solution for the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/10/16) */ Thank you for your reply to our complaint with the BBB. We hope that a solution can be found to the poor craftsmanship of the windows and the service provided. On Monday Oct. 5th we received a call from Durabuilt that the office would send a technician to have another look at the issue on site. We advised them that we were away until October 13th and we would like to have an appointment after that time. However, the technician came out while we were away. Even though our son was home, he was not able to provide them with details and re-iterated that we would like to book an appointment after October 13th. Again, I would like to make you aware of the poor communication and service; the technicians had no paperwork and did not have an idea of why they were sent out. However, I am happy to report that on Wednesday Oct. 14 "Durabuilt Windows & Doors" sent out the technician to inspect all of our windows. He came prepared with all documentation and has promised that they will replace and repair all the windows to match existing windows of the house. It will take time for the windows to be ordered and installed******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************. Thank you, **************

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First time using window, the hinge broke. Apparently there is no warranty or exchange. Bought window August 13, 2015. Hopper window (******************), serial #************. Installed widow Sept. 7/21015. I didn't even fully finish installing the window, but had it nailed into place. I decided to try the window to make sure it worked. The very first time I opened the window, the hinge started to rip out of the window. I contacted the store, they told me if I could get the window out in good condition they would exchange it. There is no chance for me to remove the window without causing physical damage to the nailing flange. So I cannot complete this option. I called the service department and was informed that the window does not have any warranty. This window was purchased less than a month ago, and broke the very first time it was used. I cannot believe a company does not stand behind their product.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund from the company for this inferior product. I literally have a recording of an employee of the company calling this product "light framed" and implying that it is only good as an emergency window that shouldn't be opened on a regular basis. If I was told this information before purchasing I would not have purchased the product. I want a window that I can use on a regular basis, and if the company cannot provide that then I would like a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/14) */ Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to clear up any miscommunication regarding the warranty on the customer's hopper window. The broken hinge on the hopper window is under warranty and can be replaced. Durabuilt would like to apologize for any confusion and discontent experienced by the customer. Durabuilt Windows and Doors will be in direct contact with the customer and looks forward to resolving this matter.

7/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales person put order together and when order was delivered. One door swung wrong way. When allied and asked about it , was told to bring it back with an email confirmation from him. Never recieve denial and when called back and spoke to said salesman, was told he would now have to charge for the mistake. Called to talk to manager and left 3 voicemails with no return call. My wife called may 6 and spoke with the salesman again and he called me saying he would give us a discount but nothing more. Still would like to speak to a manger which the salesman said would call me

Desired Settlement: Replace the door for the correct one

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ Durabuilt Windows and Doors apologizes for the frustration the customer may have experienced. Our policy indicates that customers are responsible for approving the final quote before the products are manufactured. Once they accept the quotation, products are made as per the quote signed-off on by the customer. However, as per the customer's discussion with one of our sales managers, Durabuilt would like to offer a new frame - at no charge - for the customer's door to correct the swing, as a gesture of good will. We appreciate the customer's business and hope this will remedy this situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If they exchange the door and frame complete by Friday may 29/2015. I will then sign off saying I am satisfied with the work.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: invoice# XXXXXX, 2 exterior doors, entry and garden door *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Durabuilt received a first payment on September, 19., on the 16. October our customer received a call from Durabuilt to inform them that their doors were ready to be delivered, they booked delivery date for 21. October, first thing in the morning. We arrived to install the doors at about 9:00, no doors there yet. Our customer called in and was told that the doors are on their way. After hearing that we proceeded to remove the entry door. At about 11:00 our customer called in again and was told that the truck broke down and that they were sending a different truck. In the meantime I tried contacting our contact ****** ****** who promised to look into what was happening and promised to call us back. We decided to go for lunch and hoped for the doors to be there when we returned. At 3:00 o'clock there were still no doors and we went to get OSB boards and wood to board up the front door, so that the customer wouldn't be left with an open hole in their house. When we left there still was no door, *** told me he didn't know anything about a broken down truck, **************************************************** The doors came late that evening and we found out that one of the doors hadn't even been finished until late that afternoon. Here are the points that we are complaining about: - unprofessional service, ***********************************************************************************************************. ..., ********************************************************************** - no answers, call backs or follow-ups by the Sales Manager, ****** ****** no reply to my email I sent afterwards to complain about the situation - still missing parts for garden door, no lock plates delivered, no follow-ups, can't get them anywhere else. - measurements changes that we provided were not taken into consideration, we made it work, but we have no idea where the measurements for the doors came from. - invoice/receipt was sent, no thank you, no apology We are asking for: - waiving of delivery fee - reimbursement of material to board up front doors, fillers to fit doors - reimbursement for lost installation time - and explanation and apology to our customer

Desired Settlement: please see above

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/12) */ Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to extend an apology to our client and their customer. In reviewing the calls that took place the day prior and of the delivery it is understood that Durabuilt quoted the customer a morning delivery, approximately 9:00AM. Though there are circumstances that prevent slight delays in delivery (weather, deliveries that take slightly longer than expected, mechanical failure in delivery trucks) it is policy to adhere to a morning or afternoon delivery (depending on the time quoted by Durabuilt team members). Durabuilt will waive the $150.00 delivery fee in addition to offer an extra $200 to assist with other costs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Durabuilt is still not getting the point of our complaint. We know and accept theat things can happen to delay a delivery and we do have no issue with that. Our issue is with how they handled us and our customer calls ********************************************************* Our customer was contacted to let her know that the doors were ready for delivery ************ On the delivery day, she was told repeatedly that the doors were on their way, another string of lies. ******************************************************************************* If we were told in the morning that something happened and that the doors will not be able to be delivered that day, we would not have started a complaint at all. But the way this was handled triggered all the problems that we had, like a boarded up front door etc. We also did not receive all the parts for the patio door and our requests for the missing parts have been ignored till today. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** We appreciate the offer of the waiver of the delovery fee and accept it. The 200.00$ however do not cover the additional costs at all and we believe a 10% discount is not too much to ask for, or in your case, a fair amount to offer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 32, 2015/02/13) */ The cheque still hasn't arrived although it was promised for last week. The missing parts were delivered on Wednesday. Final Business Response /* (4000, 34, 2015/02/18) */ Durabuilt processed a cheque for the customer on February 13, 2015. Being a Friday before the long weekend the mail may be delayed. Should the customer not receive the cheque a week from Tuesday, February 17 we will inquire as to where it may be. We apologize for the delay, but would like to ensure the customer their credit has been processed.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Durabuilt Windows and Doors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart