BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 17/04/1991

Durabuilt Windows & Doors Inc

Phone: (780) 577-2002Fax: (780) 455-5775

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is the second time that the seal on my garden doors have been compromised since I purchased my doors December 2006.
I called Durabuilt on January 2, 2013 about my doors. I was informed the service technician would call to make an appointment. The technician came out on January 4th and confirmed the seal was gone on both doors. He informed me that he would submit a report and someone would call me from the Edmonton office.
I heard nothing. I called the main office in Edmonton on January 18 and spoke with **** who told me they needed measurements on the inserts. **** was to call **** to inquire on the measurements - never heard anything.
On January 31 I called **** to find out what was going on; she said she would call **** and call me back. She called back and said **** will stop by and measure the inserts from the outside over the next or two. I was told the inserts would be on the truck that following week. Never heard anything
I called February 12 to inquire, left a message; heard nothing
I called February 19 and talked with ***** with customer service and was told this will cost ~$340 and I was to pay up-front. I refused and said I would pay once the job was complete. I was told at this time it would be 2-3 weeks
I called April 3 and left a message with ****, at which point I expressed my concerns with customer service. No one has ever called me to update me on the status of my inserts. **** called me back and said there was a problem with the glass and they re-ordered. Never heard anything.
I left a message on May 21 with **** did not receive a call back.
I left a message on May 22 with ****; she called back and said the glass was damaged again and was re-ordered
I called July 16 and spoke with **** and the Calgary representative was to call me; heard nothing.
I called July 26 and asked to speak to a manager; was told the manager was out and to call back Monday.
I called July 29 and left a message with ********** (I believe this was the name); I heard nothing
I called July 30 and left a message
I called July 31 and left a message; I spoke with **** and was re-assured that he would get this sorted
I called **** August 26 and left a message
I spoke with **** on August 29, he apparently spoke with **** on August 6. **** was supposed to have called August 28; he would inquire. The product was shipped from Edmonton August 28 and I was told it would be installed before the end of the following week, as I was going on holidays September 6. Received no call before I left on my vacation.
September 16 I received a call from **** to say the glass has arrived and we scheduled to meet on September 17 at 5pm. **** arrived and the glass was the wrong size - they sent the wrong product. **** would call and find out when the glass could be replaced.
September 18, ******* from customer care called requesting that the $340 needs to be paid before the install, I informed her I spoke on that matter 9 months ago and would pay when the window was installed, once I received an invoice for the work. The glass inserts were re-ordered and would be shipped out on September 22 and **** would call September 23 to arrange a time.
**** called September 24 to arrange a time to install. I left work early on Thursday September 26 to meet who I thought was ****, but ended up being ***** (or *****). The inserts were installed September 26 and I was told by the technician that this was covered under warranty and he did not ask for payment., I did not discuss with him as I was running late for an appointment. So I thought maybe for the almost 10 months of poor service that they waived the $340 service fee... I was wrong...
I received 4 phone calls on Monday, September 30, demanding payment for this outstanding bill... wow, they do have my phone number, not sure why I never received a call when I was waiting for the product. I left a message with ******* September 30 and said I would call her in the morning (Tuesday, Oct 1)

I am embarrassed for them and cannot believe they called 4 times for their money... I really thought that for the run around I received (almost 10 months) that they would waive the service fee of $340. I am mainly posting this complaint so others looking to have windows and/or doors installed get an understanding of what customer service they can expect if they go with Durabuilt. Not one person I spoke with took responsibility to the lack of communication... very disappointed.

Desired Settlement
I would like Durabuilt to refund me for the service charge ($340).

Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to acknowledge and apologize for the miscommunication and errors that occurred during the time Ms. **** ******* required service on her product.

Durabuilt accepts responsibility for the mistakes made in ordering Ms. ********* product and recognizes her difficulty in contacting us, though our service department was in the process of making major changes and our service manager had planned site visits outside of the city.

Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to refund Ms. ******* $340.00 in labour charges to compensate for the length of time her product was delayed in getting to her.
We will be contacting her this day October 11, 2013 to confirm.

06/12/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two sealed glass windows (total value $3117.60, purachsed May 2011, Order #XXXXXXX), and 6 window cranks from the same order appeared defective (Condensation between window panes, cranks inoperable).

Contacted Durabuilt March 2014 re: replacement under warranty. Service Tech ******************** came to inspect, and confirmed it was a legitmate warranty claim.

Contacted by Durabuilt in April 2014 with a request for a CC#, so they could pre-bill for installation labour, which was only covered for 2 years after purchase under the service agreement (they would replace the windows and cranks, but I had to pay for an installation).

Declined to provide them with CC info, stating that I would install them myself when the windows arrived.

Durabuilt proceeded to close the warranty claim at this time without informing me.

May-June 2014, contacted Durabuilt service several times trying to locate the replacement panes and cranks (given the runaround repeatedly, many unanswered calls, unresponsive customer service reps) - found out they had closed the claim without my consent, and requested it be re-opened under the same criteria as previously.

A second service tech arrived ******************** in June 2014, re-confirmed the window seals were gone, and reiterated that they would require credit card information to process the warranty claim.

I made it very clear that I would install the windows myself, and did not require their assistance - I only required the replacement panes and cranks. They agreed.

August 2014 - Contacted Durabuilt again trying to locate the replacement windows and cranks. Again, took multiple phone calls with different service reps to get anywhere (service rep ***** ***** repeatedly promised to call back momentarily, only to leave me hanging for days before I would call them back to persue the issue). After a week of the runaround, had a customer service rep. (****** ** - much more helpful in actually trying to resolve the claim) tell me that the windows, and cranks, would be shipped to my door within 10 business days, after putting me on hole to clear the issue up with her service manager **** ******

Dec 2014 - After waiting 5 months and receiving nothing, contacted their customer service manager **** ***** *************** ext. ****** No response.

Desired Settlement
Either:
a) Refund for the full value of the windows in question ($3117.60), as they've clearly reneged on their service agreement.

or

b) Replacement panes and window cranks for the windows in question delivered with no further delays or runaround.

Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors understands and apologizes for the miscommunication the customer experienced while attempting to replace their product under warranty. We appreciate the effort the customer has exerted and will assist in replacing the sealed units and cranks in question.
A technician met with the customer on January 5, 2015 to confirm the work to be done - replace one shape sealed unit and supply dual arm hardware for casement windows. The technician then communicated with the Service Department Manager who affirmed Durabuilt will supply the customer's product at no charge.
Durabuilt Windows and Doors will provide the customer the remaining sealed unit in addition to the correct hardware to support the customer's current casement windows.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
I'd like to re-open my complaint. One of the two replacement windows Durabuilt shipped to fill the warranty claim was defective (grille doesn't match), and they have still ignored my request for 6 openers/tracks to replace the defective ones that were shipped with the original windows.

If they cannot operate under their warranty agreement in a timely fashion (it's been 18 months since I originally contacted them), I'd like a full refund for the windows so I can have them replaced by a vendor that does.

Final Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors extends its apologies to the customer and would like to work in tandem to resolve the issues. Durabuilt Edmonton Service will provide the customer with the missing hardware, however measurements will need to be provided by the customer. Durabuilt would prefer to set up a call or receive an email from the customer to confirm sizes of the track and arm of the hardware in addition to whether they are single or dual arm. Durabuilt will also supply one left and one right side to the half round shaped window in question with the same grille pattern; these units will be symmetrical.
Durabuilt will proceed with the glass order if the customer accepts this offer and confirms hardware measurements. Durabuilt would also greatly appreciate confirmation of a phone number to reach the customer to set up a date and time to visit the site and other required information to begin service work.

01/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is what I sent to the ******* salesman - ****** ********** - I have issues with him as well. *************

1. I had to provide you with my credit card over the phone twice. Somehow in your secure procedures, you lost my number the first time. ***************************************************** Who knows why this was required
2. The deposit amount you took from me was incorrect and you needed in fact more money from me
3. After receiving payment, you said it would take 10 days to get everything made; the delay was getting things installed.
4. You stated that the basement sliding doors were to be on RUSH order and that you would do your best to install them quickly
5. A month after you take my money, you state that final measure has not been done yet; your measurement guy *************** states he was trying to reach me many times when in fact he never once called me - you confirmed this with me over the phone
6. 2 months after I provide you with over $,2000, you state that your quote was wrong and you need to add $787 to the quote due to one of the doors being quoted wrong. You also state that nothing has even started to be manufactured yet. He knew I was getting multiple bids and his quote had to be firm.

7. You now basically are insisting that you not deliver on our signed contract - ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

*********************************************************************

END of EMAIL to ******

He said they processed a credit of my deposit on Jan 8, 2015; since I left them a $1,080 deposit payment via **** on Oct 30, 2014;

************************************************************************************************************** Over 2 months AFTER I PAID THEM Trevor told me not one of my windows nor any of my door even started the manufacturing process ****************

************

Desired Settlement
I have asked for my deposit back both by email and by calling Accounts Payable. It have way too long and still no money has been credited to my ****.

****************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors apologizes for the frustration experienced by the customer. We understand our customers needs for timely action during their projects an accept responsibility for error on our part. We have sent a cheque to refund the customer's deposit. We apologize for the delay and the irritation it has caused as Durabuilt has had no intention of wrongfully keeping the customer's deposit. We hope to follow up with the customer after a short period of time to ensure the cheque's arrival.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reconsideration, their return of the cheque does not suffice. They need to compensate me for the wrong doing.*************************************************************************

They held $2,280 of mine for 2 months. ***********************************************. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

************************************************************************************************************************

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

12/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
March 2014 problem reported
purchased may 2013
17 series door with 2 sidelights and transom
quotation ******
total order price = $14395.99...paid cash
Door price $2591.73

Door has 2 sidelights, one transom and 1 main door panel. Type of glass "rain pattern"
One sidelight and transom glass pattern were installed in wrong orientation. 2 of 4 panels pattern orientation vertical, sidelight and transom installed horizontal. (50% error)
QUOTE STATES "THE TRANSOM WILL MATCH THE SPECIALTY GLASS IN THE DOOR AND SIDELITES"
Sidelight was replaced fairly quickly.
After numerous phone calls, no resolve to replacement of transom.
Can't get consistent answers... ordered, not ordered, problem description,eta. Always talk to different person and get different response. Lots of promises, no commitment, consistency, no repair date.*************************************************************

Desired Settlement
Stop the lies, Apologize, straight answer as to why the delay, and FIRM date to initiate repair...before the winter sets in!

Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors recognizes the frustration the customer has experienced and apologizes for the delay in response. Durabuilt was waiting for the response from their supplier*********, one of the largest suppliers of specialty glass to the majority of Canadian window and door manufacturers, in regards to manufacturing the specialty glass to fit the customer's transom.
This particular transom cannot be produced in an alternate way, as per our discussion with*********. The current state of the customer's transom is the only way this glass can be produced and Durabuilt is willing to provide a written statement the supplier confirming this.
Durabuilt Windows and Doors offers its sincerest apologies to the customer for this inconvenience and miscommunication, however the current transom is manufactured according to the materials available. It is expected the customer will receive a similar response should they decide to seek assistance with their transom with another manufacturer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is a prime example lies, excuses and inconsistencies of Durabuilt. They again claim they are waiting for response from manufacture. I've heard this before. After a couple of weeks of me "waiting for manufacturer response" I had to contact Durabuilt. Then I'm told that the transom had been ordered with a 3-5 week delivery promise. Waiting the 5 weeks I contact Durabuilt again, and after having to get back to me, they claim some clerical error and ensure me transom has been ordered (again delivery or 3-5 weeks). 5 week pass again, and I call again. The representative from Durabuilt now tells me that they can't produce the transom any differently... WHICH IS ONCE AGAIN THE CLAIM. Having this conversation, I discover that the issue they were trying to correct was NOT the issue! They thought that the problem was the metal inside the glass that was the issue...it is NOT the pattern of the metal between the glass...it is the GLASS. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Durabuilt...have knowledgeable person with authority pick up the phone and call me... Maybe we can get this resolved. I don't believe the claim that it can't be manufactured... because my door CAME with one sidelight glass installed in the exact orientation that "can't be manufactured" which had to be replaced because IT was in the wrong orientation! Stop the excuses! This issue is over 5 months old!


Final Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors apologizes for the mis-communication throughout this process, however the General Manager is currently discussing all available options with the customer via phone. A copy of the order Durabuilt placed to********* for the customer's transom, and confirmation of the order from*********, has been sent to Durabuilt's BBB Marketplace Counsellor.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was having a full home renovation job done and needed to have the contractors coordinated to follow one another. First for me was the windows followed by the soffit & fascia and siding.

The problems started in 2013 when I placed the order for my windows and doors with ****** *********** The process did take a while due to finalizing all of the details and due to work schedule conflicts between ****** and myself being out of town lots without a regular schedule. When the order was finally completed and placed in August, I asked ****** when the install would happen because I knew that I was was later getting the order confirmation in than what I wanted and I was told that they would start the install in early to mid September. That worked for me because,following the window install, I was able to get a siding crew to start on the siding job.

I received a call in September from a girl in the install department and I thought that they were calling to book a time to come in for the install. They were calling to book a time alright, but for a date in October. I advised her that I was told it was suppose to be in September and I told her that they could not come in October because I had a crew lined up to do the siding on my house, in late September, once the windows were installed. She advised me that the windows and doors were not even built yet and they were not available until October due to the work load that they already had. I advised her that they would not be given access to the house in October because I was not willing to have the windows installed without being able to have the siding done in the same season. I was not willing to let them tear the siding off to install the windows and doors and then leave my homes exterior walls exposed to the winter snow and spring rain which could potentially cause damage to the walls. At that point I felt that the issue was done until late winter or early spring, and that we would re-access the situation at that time and come up with a time that would work for the install. I didn't even ask for my deposit back (big Mistake), at the time I didn't mind them keeping the deposit thinking that it would help me get priority to get back into the installation loop ASAP in late spring.

In October I received a call from the installation department telling me that they were ready to come out and install the windows and doors. I told them that they could not come out to do the install and I reminded them that they were told that exact same thing in September when they called to try and book for October.

There were conversations back and forth between myself, the install department and the Sales manager ***** ****** trying to resolve the problem and they assured me that the house would not be exposed to the weather elements during the winter or spring, so I allowed them to come in for the install. Once there the installer had my wife call me, and he asked to speak with me to verify that I didn't mind my house looking like an eyesore throughout the winter. I asked him what he meant and he told me that he had to take portions of the siding off for the install and that would leave portion of my walls exposed and look like an eyesore. I told him that he could not install the windows because of the exposure. I was once again on the phone, several times, speaking with the install department and sales manager once again. It took a few calls between them and the installer and myself for the install department and sales manager to understand that it was impossible to eliminate the exposure to the weather once they removed the siding to install the windows. I did agreed to allow them to install three of the four doors and I would re-install the siding and protect any exposed wood around the doors with house wrap on the outside walls.

They wanted me to store the remaining product because they did not have the space to store the product. I advised them that I did not have the space to store the windows and I reminded them that they were told back in September, before they started to build the windows and doors that they would not be allowed access to do the install in October and that they should not have built the product until spring. They then asked me to pay to have the product stored but I wouldn't agree, so they found an area in their warehouse to store until spring.

Then they did ask for me to pay for the product but I told them that I did not feel that I should have to pay anything because I had placed a deposit which they did not offer back to me, nor did I ask for it after our phone conversation in September. I also reminded them once again that they were aware that they could not have access to my home in October and they shouldn't have built the windows or doors. Never the less I did agree with *****, as a sign of good faith, to pay another portion of the cost.

In the spring I was called and a date was set up to complete the install job. They wanted to come in and complete the job while I was out of town so I had to make a quick 3 1/2 hour trip back to town in order to remove window covering from the old windows because Durabuilt would not remove them for me (Their policy) and then another 3 1/2 hours back to work. While I was at home for the brief time I did notice that the door that was to be installed between the house and attached garage was damaged and I asked about it, I was told that it minor and it would be hardly noticeable but I told the installer that I bought new doors and not a damaged one He said that he would let the install department know and he would take care of it. I left it at that because I had to get back to work.

Once I returned home a few days later and had a chance to take a closer look at the job, I was less than pleased. There were some window casing that were scratched. 5 of the 23 old window covering did not fit anymore which the salesman assured my wife and I that they would (this was very important for us because we did not want to have to buy new window coverings). He even went to the point of double checking the measurements while on site. In the kitchen they sold me windows with internal blinds for the garden door and the single door so that we could have privacy without having to purchase and go through the hassle of hanging large blinds or covering over the doors due to our full size door windows, but ****** failed to mention that I would have to take the window screen out of the garden door every time we need to close or open the internal blinds (at least twice a day, which has already caused damage to the new screen) and then to top it off the internal blind which they have installed in the single door does not match the internal blinds in the garden door. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Now back to the garage door, from what I can see, the correction to the damaged door was to install metal cladding over top of the door casing and brick mold, and the brick mold on the casing is narrower than the original brick mold so now there is a gap between the drywall in my garage and the new brick mold, which may not be a big deal but it is not possible now to replace the brick mold with a wider one to cover up the new gap. Even the metal cladding that they have installed was done ************** with nail heads exposed.

I did go into the store to discuss the problems and at that time I did pay another portion of the outstanding balance, but I refused to pay the full amount until all of the deficiencies were corrected. ****************************************************************************************************************

I Have been speaking with several people (Probably 4 or 5) over the last few months about the problems and even had 2 people including **** the install manager, show up to my home to look at the problems. **** told me that he feels that everything was correct with the installation and that there were no issues and told my wife that she should buff the scratches out of the casing herself, he told me that they would not guarantee that the old window covering would fit unless agreement was made with the sales department, and I told him that ****** assured me that they would fit. **** also told me that they always install metal cladding on their garage doors but ****** did not advise me of that when we visited his office or when he came out to my home for measurements and I do not recall it being done that way on previous jobs where Durabuilt supplied windows and doors on properties that I owned. After a phone conversations with **** he agreed to send someone out to correct the scratches, remove the metal cladding to inspect the door frame and install larger brick mold to correct the gap on the garage door but would not address the window coverings and told me that I would have to deal with the sales on that matter. While speaking with **** on the phone, during his visit to my home, he told me that he would have someone get in touch with me to make arrangements to come out and take care of the problems. Unfortunately it seems that each time that I speak with different people it seems that their notes never seem to be the same. There is always one concern or another that they do not have in their notes and need to go back and speak with someone else about the problems.

Now the latest person that I have been speaking with is ******* in the collections department which started on Friday October 31,2014 but it seems that she has not been provided the full story or all the notes once again. Although she claims to want to help me and not send the file to collections, she only wants to agree to have the internal blind issue looked at and the metal cladding removed from the garage door and then expects full payment as soon as this is done even if all of the deficiencies are not addressed or more importantly not resolved. From my last conversation with her, she does seem sincere with wanting to have these couple of problems resolved, but does not seem to be fully aware or concerned with the other problems. ************************************************************************************************************************* But she does want full payment once the cladding is removed and the internal blinds have been addressed or the file will probably go further with collection. I need all problems addressed even the ones that she has not been made aware of.

On Friday Oct 31, 2014 the conversation with ******* ended with the agreement that someone would contact me at 3:00 pm or shortly thereafter, to give me time so that I could speak with my wife and confirm a date and time that she knew that she would be at home and available to give the service people access to the house. At that time I would give them a date or dates that my wife would be home and able to let the service people into the house to look at the problems and fix them. Nobody called me back that day so I tried to call on Monday morning November 3 to try and set something up for the next day November 4,but I was unable to reach her. Later that day ******* did contact me and provided me with 2 dates that the service department was willing to come out, either November 6 or Nov 10 but neither my wife or I is available on either date. I asked for another date on a Tuesday (except Remembrance Day November 11) which is the easiest day for my wife to be home, but ******* was unable to get in touch with **** or anyone from the install department to verify another date. She put me through to ****'s voicemail and I left a message for him to call me back to discuss a date that would work but I never heard back from him. On November 5 ******* with the install department called me back and gave me the dates of November 6,10 or 12 all of which my wife is unavailable. I had told them in the past that Tuesdays are the best days and once again asked for another date on a Tuesday but the last that I heard was that they were too busy to come out on Tuesdays and asked for a Saturday and I told ******* that if I were home then it would not be a problem but I do not have a set work schedule so I do not know when I would be in town and if my wife was home alone it would be difficult due to other commitments with the kids and their activities and my wife could not guarantee that she would be home for a long enough period of time on Saturday to ensure that the service crew could get in and get the work done before she would have to leave again. The only day that she is available from 8:00 am until 2:30 pm is Tuesdays. There are other days where she may be available but for very short periods of time throughout the day but not likely enough time for the service people to get in and get the job done before she would have to ask them to leave so that she can make her other commitments. That would mean possibly having to make more than one service trip to resolve even one problem, which does not make much since from either end.

Desired Settlement
First and foremost I would like to have assurances from Durabuilt that this does not get submitted to any collections agency or have any reporting to any credit rating company, as I am not refusing to pay the outstanding amount but rather holding back full payment, ************************************** until the problems have been satisfactorily resolved. I would simply like to have all of the problems resolved.

Next I would like to have the scratches, that my wife was not able to remove from the window casing, repaired. I would like to have the internal blinds matching and it would be great to come up with a solution so that we don't have to remove the screen from the garden door window twice a day to open and close the blind (maybe another style of screen with access to the blind?) I would like to have the metal cladding removed from the garage door and if there is a problem with the door casing, the door assembly needs to be replaced with a new door and a correct size brick mold installed to get rid of the gap between the door and the drywall in my garage. Last thing that I need to see happen is to replace the window covers that no longer fit with the same window covers that do fit as I was told.

Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors sold product to the customer in 2013. After the order was manufactured the customer informed us that they wanted to delay the delivery for 6 months, and Durabuilt stored the product at no extra cost. When the windows were installed the customer made a partial payment in lieu of some deficiencies.
Durabuilt attempted to contact the customer who was away for work purposes. Eventually Durabuilt set up an appointment with the customer to inspect the product and discuss corrections. The Installations Manager and Installer from Durabuilt met with the customer's wife and discussed a. the scratch on the jamb (which is within the industry's tolerance) and b. capping on garage doors (which was done according to company standards). This was explained to the individual present at the time of inspection.
After another call with the customer, it was indicated the frame below the capping on garage door was broken. Durabuilt agreed to make another visit to inspect and repair if necessary. It was also mentioned, by the customer, that the salesperson promised the original blinds would fit, which is not part of company policy. The last page of the contract provides a list of considerations the customer must take into account when purchasing new windows. This includes a note explaining blinds or window coverings may not fit. Durabuilt also forwarded the customer a copy of the email in which the salesperson indicated, in advance, that the original blinds may not fit with the new window profiles.
Durabuilt provided the customer's information to the internal Accounts Receivable department and indicated there are still a few issues to solve with this customer. Since then Installations has provided 3-4 dates, none of which have worked with the customer's schedule.
The customer is currently holding $6,123.12 for the work yet to be performed. Durabuilt Windows and Doors is still more than willing to assist in repairing the two remaining issues that were previously discussed and will gladly contact the customer to find a suitable date.

09/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Back in 2008, our home had a water escape, and the whole house was gutted. The insurance paid for the whole repair and the restoration company replaced all our windows with Durabuilt windows. The installation was done through **************. In 2014, we noticed that all the lower hinges of the windows on the second floor started to rust, some have rusted screws, other has rust on the pivots and link bars, some windows even has rust on the upper hinges. Even though we have the windows since 2008, we hardly open any of the windows due to the fact that the house has central AC. However, our AC failed this year and therefore we have to open the windows and discovered this problem. We also has a window with a coating failure. All our windows are Triple panes, low e coated, argon filled PVC windows. I checked the Durabuilt website and found out that the warranty on the glass is 20 years, and the hardware such as hinges are lifetime warranty. Labor is only for 2 years, so I expected they will charge me for the replacement labor. I called Durabuilt at the end of May to inquire the warranty and they wanted me to find some paperwork for the windows as they have changed computer system after 2008 and cannot locate our file. On May 27, 2014, the owner of ************** texted me the invoice number(XXXXX), job number(XXXX), and quote number(*******/XXXXXXX). I call Durabuilt again, and they still could not locate the record, but they will come on site to look at the windows. They also told me on the phone that they no longer use the same hinges brand on their new product, so there may be problems with them warranty our hinges. But the manufacture for the hinges will still cover the warranty. Durabuilt sent 2 worker to measure the defective window, and they were not told anything about the hinges when I asked them to look at the hinges. They told me they are glass specialist only and have no knowledge in regards to hardware. So they took pictures with their phone. On June 9, 2014, Durabuilt called me in the afternoon and wanted me to pay $212.00 for the labor of the glass replacement. I questioned them about advance payment for the job and the lady on the phone told me they have to received the money up front to order the glass. I again inquire about the hinges, and she told me she does not know. A few days later, another person called and tell me the glass is ready and would like to set up an appointment to replace the glass. I asked him about the hinges and he said that is not a problem, as the workmen show up, they can measure the sizes and quote me on the labor for the hinges replacement. The workmen show up on June 26, 2014 in the afternoon. They opened up the package and discovered the glass is only a double pane window and cannot be install. A new glass has to be reorder. Also, he measured out and recorded all the defective hardware and noticed another coating failure on a window in our washroom. He marked everything down and left. I have not heard from anyone from Durabuilt since. On July 15, 2014, I made a call to Durabuilt, and the lady on the phone told me that the glass is still on order and they cannot deal with the hinges because they no longer using that brand. She told me to call ************** for warranty. The hinges should have a 10 year warranty. I found their website and call their US number only to find out they only wholesale the parts and do not deal with consumer warrany. They gave me a local distributor number and I called them up. The distributor's name is ***************. I talked to the manager and he explained that he can't warranty the hinges because the parts is part of a Durabuilt window, and since they did not sell them to me directly, they cannot warranty the parts. Only Durabuilt can warranty them. I was told to call Durabuilt to get this deal with.

Desired Settlement
To have Durabuilt replace all the defective hinges.

Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors would like to acknowledge that some of the information that was provided to the customer was incorrect due to new staff being unfamiliar with ***************

Durabuilt understands the inconvenience this has caused the customer in trying to find a solution.
Durabuilt would like to offer the customer replacement of faulty hardware (hinge parts, gears, etc.) at no charge, with a labour charge of $35.00 per piece. In addition, the sealed unit, which should have been ordered as a triple pane unit, has been correctly ordered and the Durabuilt Service Department will be contacting the customer once the unit has been made and delivered to the Service warehouse.

Consumer Response
After Durabuilt reply BBB with an answer of how they are going forward to have the problem resolve, which is to pay for the rusting hinges parts as per their warranty and I will be responsible for the labor of $35.00 per set hinges. They called and make arrangement with me in early August and we set up a date of August 12 for them to come replace the glass units and the hinges. I specifically asked them about the hinges, but their answer was evasive at best. During our conversations, the person on the phone did not answer me directly every time I mention if the repair included the hinges replacement or just replacing the failed glass units. On August 12 at around 3pm, 2 repairmen from Durabuilt show up for the repair. They told me that they are only responsible for glass repair only. Although one of the man tried to call the office in regards to my hinges repair, he told me the person responsible is not answering the phone. Out of the two glass unit, these people can only replace one as the half moon window they ordered the second time was too big for the frame and has to be reorder again. As of today, no one from Durabuilt has contact me.

Final Business Response
Durabuilt Windows and Doors has, as of the week of September 25, repaired the customer's hinges. Rusted materials have been replaced and any further rust is purely cosmetic and can be cleaned off. The customer has since supplied Durabuilt Windows and Doors with a cheque for the cost of labour to service the hinges. Service technicians have advised the customer to contact Durabuilt's Service department in the event the hinges need more work.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Windows - Manufacturing, Doors - Patio, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.