This business is not BBB accredited.

Abal Building Products (Alberta) Ltd

Phone: (800) 642-3812 Fax: (780) 450-8943 View Additional Phone Numbers 8906 60 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6E 6A6

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Abal Building Products (Alberta) Ltd include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Abal Building Products (Alberta) Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1987 Business started: 04/01/1984 Business started locally: 04/01/1984
Business Management
Lisa Coles, Owner Brian Galenza, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Lisa Coles, Owner
Business Category

Windows Home Improvements Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Roofing Materials Shingles Siding Materials

Additional Locations


    8906 60 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T6E 6A6 (800) 642-3812


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window cracked July 4, 2014 and should be on warranty as window was installed Dec 2012. Can not contact business (Abal) for assistance to replace window. All windows and doors in house were replaced at this time so I do not have an individual cost for this one particular window. Abal should have the list of windows on their file. It is a triple pane frosted window in the front entry that was installed beside the door.

Desired Settlement: Window replacement and installation

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The windows were installed in March 2001 and have A 25 year warranty We were NOT notified of the business closing nor were we referred to another company for service needs or for warranty

Desired Settlement: repair on one window AND continuity of the warranty

4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A piece of siding fell off my house in july 2013 and I have been fighting with them to repair it ever since , they have used such excuses as they have one repair guy, to they do not have a ladder long enough

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty work completed as there are other parts of the house now ( the eves) nails coming out. It has been a trying course dealing with this company , I have all the emails to prove my accusations. ************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/22) */ ****************************************************************************************************** We first received an email from ***** regarding his siding coming off on September 24th, 2013. In this email he stated that the height where it fell off was about 20' up. On October 3rd we had one of our fellows go out with the appropriate sized ladder to fix the repair. When he got there the height of this repair was around 40' high, not 20' as ***** had stated. We couldn't reach the siding because the ladder we had was not long enough. All of our longer ladders were out on jobs and we didn't have access to one right away. When we did get access to our contractors ladder the weather had turned quite cold. I had told ***** that due to the very cold weather we were having we could not do the repair. There is a risk of cracking the siding when putting a ladder against a home on a fairly cold day. We did not want to do any damage to *****'s siding. I told him we would do it when the weather warmed up. The repair is very minimal and is not affecting the home so we did not feel this to be an urgent matter. This week, when it was warmer, we arranged to go out and fix the repair. Our service guy, who by the way is not 70 years old, went out with the appropriate ladder. The ladder was 90lbs not 350 lbs as ***** stated. ****** had called ***** to ask if he would be home. He asked if he was would he mind assisting him with the ladder, otherwise he would bring a helper. ***** agreed to this. ***** got his thumb pinched in between the ladder when helping and then said he wasn't able to help. Our service guy left and was unable to complete the job on his own. We will send ****** back with a helper and will repair what needs to be done. If ***** does not want ****** back to do the repair we can send out one of our other contractors. They don't usually do service repairs so he would have to wait until they are not on an existing job. ********************************************************* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The truth is that all the excuses that they have mentioned about the siding damage , the warmer weather , offering to send a helper with ****** , the age of ******, the wieght of the ladder, the date of the intial call was in july the first email was in agust 2013 after 3-5 calls before that. ***************************************************************************** The point is that my warantty work is still not complete months after the initial call. With such lame excuses as we do not have ladder tall enough , sure it is tall but you are the contractor that warrantied my house and did the intial install. I am as a comsumer should not have to wait months for a simple siding fix and i should not have to help your employee. Simple solution, fix the problem and buy a ladder and employ more people ************ Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ The first email we received regarding the siding was on October 3rd, not July as Mr. ****** states. We have no problem fixing the issue at hand. We do, however, have to wait until warmer weather and some of the snow has melted. The area where the repair is has a considerable amount of snow making it difficult to bring a large ladder in and get it upright. We will do the repair when some of that snow has melted and the weather is warmer. Mr. ****** is right in that he should not have to help our employee. We will have the appropriate help when we go to do his repair. There are no excuses here just weather/snow conditions out of our control. There is a risk of injury or damage to Mr. ******'s home if we try to do the repair in the current weather conditions

4/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had been discussing getting new windows and doors for a while, and when we saw ABAL's ad needing 8 older homes, we decided to go with them. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************** On April 30, 2012, *** came and went over the options with us, and we selected the windows and doors that we wanted. While we had planned to replace the basement windows with the same size as they currently were, *** pressured us into replacing one of the windows downstairs with a larger window because he had had repeated complaints from other customers who had illegal basement bedrooms because of ABAL putting in windows that were too small. While we do not currently have a basement bedroom, we followed his advice anyways and allowed him to put in the larger window, which meant putting in a window well. As he was the one who suggested it, we assumed they would install it properly. We paid the $4952.20 deposit, and were told we would be contacted when the windows arrived and they could do the install. In September we finally got a call for them to come and install the windows, and my wife took the day off that they said they would be coming. One gentleman came by himself (***?) to install all 11 windows and 2 doors, and seemed shocked that I assumed that they would be doing it in the one day they told us they would be coming. Over a week later, with the help of his wife and daughter, the windows and doors were installed. After looking over their work, we were very disappointed with the quality: * They ripped drywall and damaged paint on the wall because they did not cut the molding from the wall before just ripping off the previous moulding and windows. * There were clear and obvious gaps around the doors where there was no seal to the outside at all. * The new moulding/casing that was installed around the windows was cut so terribly that it didn't line up at all around the windows. * The new large basement window is installed on a quickly installed warped 2x4. * The hole around the new larger basement window was dug, but no window well of any kind was installed, they just left it as a giant hole. * Whoever cut the hole for the new larger basement window did a terrible job. They over cut the hole on every corner rather than cutting out just the size needed, which not only looks terrible on the outside of the house, but adds to the issues we've been having with that window. They also did not take any precautions to keep the room inside our house clean while cutting a hole in our house, and allowed the saw to spray the water/sediment across the room. Payment was required on the final day of install, but we felt that the work was not done, and were afraid that if we gave full payment these issues would never be addressed. We paid $10,000 of the $14,000 owed and asked that they contact us regarding the outstanding issues. ***** came to 'fix' the issues, but all he did was put putty in the nail holes of the moulding, and install a window well and throw some rocks in the bottom. He did not address any of the issues with the poorly installed windows and doors, and when he phoned to get the rest of the payment from us was quite rude when we mentioned that he did not address most of the issues we had. A second team of installers was finally sent to address the install issues, ********************************************************************************************** What ************ was going to be a quick fix day, turned into them uninstalling and rehanging both doors, and the two large front windows. They cut new moulding for all the windows, and recaulked all of the windows as most had not been sealed properly. They did what they could,************************************************************************** We accepted this fix, knowing that it wasn't going to get any better and paid the remaining money owed. On Easter Sunday, 2013, it was finally warm enough that the snow in the backyard was melting, and we discovered water in the basement under the new larger window. After ripping off the drywall we discovered it was pouring in through the base of the window. We once again contacted ABAL, and they sent a guy that no longer worked for them, but had in the past, to fix this. He put different rocks in the bottom of the window well, discovered that the first installer had caulked over all the window drains and opened those up, and put some new sealant on the outside of the window. He brought new drywall for the wall, but we said he could leave it for us to install as we had plans to do some work in the basement anyways due to the destroyed flooring. Luckily we didn't have him install the drywall, because the window leaked again, and again, but this time ABAL said there was nothing they could do because it had nothing to do with the window, but with the window well. As they were the ones who convinced us to put in the larger window, and they dug and installed the window well, we were a little confused as to how the window well was not something they should be dealing with. Having already tried to get things fixed, and getting nowhere, we decided we would hire someone else to fix the window well drainage, and then go to ABAL with the bill. There was a lot of rain in the Summer of 2013, so even after the spring thaw, we had to keep a pump in the window well at all times to keep the basement from flooding. We hired ********************* and they came and gave us a quote on August 6, 2013, and were able to install drainage in the window well for us in January 2014. We paid $2110.50 for them to come in and fix what ABAL could not do properly in the first place. On top of the flooding issue, we also have frost building up on the insides of both doors that were installed, as well as an obvious draft coming in under both doors. We will also be needing to hire someone to come in and fix both doors, and due to the amateurish attempt at window removal, every room in the house requires removal of the window moulding, plastering of the destroyed drywall, and repainting. We contacted ABAL a week ago and left a message regarding us having brought in ******** to fix the window well drainage, and requested a call back to discuss reimbursement of this invoice, and never received a response. We called again today (Tuesday, February 18, 2013) and were told that we were not a priority because they were doing other work, and that we'd be wasting our time if we tried to call back. This is why we have now decided to file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: But since we have already paid a bit over $2000 to have the window well dug down to the weeping tile for drain installation, and will need to hire someone to remove and properly install the doors, not to mention the time/plaster/paint combination involved in interior wall repair, I think asking for a $3500 refund is more than fair. If you think that number is unreasonable, let me know and I can do a more itemized list of costs relating to the request and alter it as needed. Thank you for your time. Jon VandenDool

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/26) */ We feel we are not responsible for the work ****** ************ has done. The window well was put in by Abal because of the installation of the basement window. Window wells are installed where basement windows are below grade level. The purpose of the window well is to prevent the surrounding topsoil from filling the pit in front of the window. The window well does not stop any water from entering the pit. We have installed many window wells in the past and we have never had any issues with them. The slope of his land was an issue with how much water getting in the window well. We are only responsible for installing the window well not the drainage. Mr. ********** is responsible for his own drainage in the window well. We are not responsible for any work he had done after we completed his job. Mr. ********** went ahead and hired ****** to do work. He never informed us that this work was going to be done but wants us to pay for invoice after the fact. We have no intention on paying for what ****** has done. We feel we are not responsible for the drainage issues and will not pay for work another company does. If it is alright with Mr. ********** we will have someone go out and access the other issues he is having. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I must admit to being somewhat confused by the response from ABAL. If I dig a hole in the middle of a flat expanse of ground, wait for it to snow and then melt, the hole will be full of water. To argue otherwise is ridiculous. The window does not extend below ground level, but almost exactly level with the ground, the only reason water reached window level was because of a well they sealed to the house with nowhere for the water to go. My old windows never leaked, so if it's the grade of my yard (my house is on the high spot of my yard by the way) causing water to flow towards the house, the old windows would have dealt with the same direction of flow. This only means the new window install is flawed. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I phoned ABAL of course and relayed the message since they had installed the window well, and they responded by saying that clearly then the well was the issue and not their problem. Even though they installed the well. After two years of trying desperately to convince this company to fix the horrendous workmanship that has wreaked havoc in my house, I don't understand why ABAL is acting surprised that I finally had to outsource. They have ignored my phone calls, blamed slope (that no one who works for them has ever measured in any way), sent out inept amateurs, told me I'm not a priority, and have generally been horrible to interact with in every way. If I could have my thirty year old windows and doors back, and my house in the condition it was in before they came in and started destroying things, I would be ecstatic. A small summary of thoughts: The topsoil filling the hole ABAL dug would have been far preferable to the water that filled my basement, it wouldn't have damaged anything. The slope of the land excuse is really strange due to the fact that it's uninformed and down right wrong. This company has been ignoring my attempts to fix numerous problems for two years. I am requesting a small recompense of $3500 for many thousands of dollars worth of damage done to my house. If they indeed demand it, I will bring in professionals to value the damage they have caused and request that amount instead, but they should understand that fixing all the issues will cost more than I am requesting, and with the extensive house wide disregard for my property, most likely quite close to the total $18,000 I gave them in the first place. Really?!?! I'm responsible for digging up the well you put in and replacing it with a well that functions? As for you sending someone out to assess things, those you have sent in the past have not been able to do a proper job, and you had your chance to help solve the problem back when we were still trying to communicate directly with you rather than through the BBB.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Abal Building Products (Alberta) Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)