BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cambridge Window Manufacturing Inc

Phone: (780) 436-0111Fax: (780) 437-1888

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I put a deposit on the door on June 19th, 2014, and was told it would take 3 - 4 weeks. I followed up in August. I found it extremely difficult to get anyone to respond to my concerns *************************************************************** I was then promised that my door would be installed no later than September 3rd. I followed up several time by email to confirm the date and to get a specific time. I was told on September 3rd that it would be 3 pm. They called at 3 pm to say they would not be able to install the door that day, although my husband had left work for the afternoon.

Purchase date: June 19th, 2014
Transaction ID: XXXXXX
Merchant ID: ***
payment amount: *******
Payment method: credit card

I have saved all of the emails.

Desired Settlement
Full deposit back.

Final Consumer Response
I received emails yesterday evening and this morning confirming that they would give my full deposit back. I received a receipt this morning showing that I have received my deposit back. This hasn't been reflected on my credit card statement yet, but I fully expect that it will be. I am very pleased that this company kept their word about returning my deposit.

01/14/2016Problems with Product / Service
12/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have not kept their appointment commitments, the product is not correct, complete, poorly manufactured.
We were informed in early August that our Windows would be installed September 7-9. I was called on the 5th to say no one wanted to work the holiday on the 7th, but they would get done on the 8th & 9th. I took the 8th & 9th off of work. At 9am on the 8th I got a call saying the windows were not ready and the installers would be there early on the 9th. I told them I could not take any more time off work, at which were were promised they would have it done on the 9th The installers showed up at 11am on the 9th. They worked until 6pm and, of course, were not able to compete. The installers were not even aware they could not come back the next day.
The installers came back at 10am on the 11th. They installed the wrong sidelights for the door. They could not go back and get the right ones, they had to install the wrong ones.
Afterwards, I emailed a list of deficiencies which included: No screens installed, 3/4 picture windows incomplete, wrong sidelights, and two poorly constructed sashes, and no exterior caulking. I included photos.
On Oct 2, I finally got a hold of someone on when my deficiencies would be addressed. We booked an appointment for October 10th at 10am.
The week prior to our appointment I watched bugs crawl past the glass of a picture window in the basement.
On October 10th, our 10am appointment came and went. I called at 11am. The guy that was supposed to come called in sick that day. I became angry and could not book a new appointment.
The next morning, after it had rained, we noticed our new large picture window was leaking. I sent photos to the company.
One item that has also irked me is that they got mono-foam on our walls and new cupboards. It felt like a total lack of respect.

Desired Settlement
I want the job finished. I want the company to take the initiative to contact me for once. I want all previously listed deficiencies addressed. I also want my 2 leaking picture windows replaced. If bugs and water can get through, I don't trust them.
It would also be nice to receive some sort of discount for all the time they wasted of ours.

Business Response
Hi we have contacted the customer and have already been to the residence for an initial inspection of the service work to be done. We have identified some of the issues that need to be adreesed and will have a final service call to complete any issues that are remaining

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The final service call mentioned in the response was for Tuesday October 27 at 4:30pm. No one showed. No one called, no one emailed. Again, they have not kept their appointments, and have not respected our time. We currently do not have another appointment to rectify this issues. We have no idea when the deficiencies will be addressed.

Final Business Response
All service work has been completed except for the sidelites that we were waiting for. They have arrived and we will contact the customer and have the remaining service for completed in the next 7-10 days

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were told on October 31st when the window work was completed that they would be there the following Saturday (November 7th) They didn't contact us and they have not contacted us since to explain how this will proceed. I will believe when I see it.

10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had windows installed in November 2013. Problem showed up in spring 2014 when we opened them. Called Cambridge windows numerous times after. They finally sent 2 service men to assess problem.. Adjusted things and then when I went to close the window, would not shut/seal. My husband went there to discuss matter. Nothing came of it. We filed a complaint , in which we did receive a phone call and they sent out 2 servicemen again. I was working nights and when they were done, had me sign a paper while I was half asleep. Trying to close my window , and again it will not close fully or seal. Called again, which I was told someone would call me back in 5 minutes. No return phonecall. Husband calls, gets same response... Still no call back.

Desired Settlement
Want company to find problem, fix it so we can move on

Business Response
***************************************************************************** In any case we were working with the customer prior to her involving the bbb and we will get it fixed.

Thank you,

******* ******
Cambridge Window Manufacturing

04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Manufacturing, Door Frames, Doors, Windows

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.