BBB Accredited Business since

Capitall Exterior Solutions

Phone: (780) 757-3930 Fax: (780) 757-3935 View Additional Phone Numbers 11567 149 St, Edmonton, AB T5M 1W9 http://www.capitall.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitall Exterior Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitall Exterior Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Capitall Exterior Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Business Management
Craig Hatt, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Craig Hatt, Owner
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Windows - Installation & Service Doors Windows Energy Conservation Products & Services Glass - Plate and Window Internet Shopping Moldings Gutters & Downspouts Siding Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Cap-it-all Installations Ltd Capitall Exterior Renovations Capitall Window & Door

Additional Locations

  • 11567 149 St

    Edmonton, AB T5M 1W9 (888) 255-8865 (780) 920-7815 (780) 757-3930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capital Exterior Solutions does not replace my cracked windows within on year after installation. The contract was signed on June 12, 2014 and the windows were installed in my unit ************* on September 29, 2014. I reported the cracked window on August 19, 2015. Capital Exterior Solutions refused to replace the window because the shipping date of manufacturer (to Captiall Exterior Solutions) is early then August 19, 2014. I believe the one year warranty should be from the installation date. I even don't know when the windows were shipped. I have all the emails to support my complaint. Thanks for help.

Desired Settlement: I require to replace my window as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/09) */ Contact Name and Title: Joe Q******** Contact Phone: ************ The complaint that we do not fix pressure cracks on sealed units within one year is not correct, we have for this customer alone fixed four cracked sealed units since the unit was completed at no charge to this customer. He is misleading with regards to the facts. The warranty provided is a MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY, we do not control how they set up their own warranty. The manufacturers warranty clearly states that the one year warranty is from the date of shipping, not installation which is 100% out of our control. This customers complaint should be with the Manufacturer of the windows, as it is their warranty he is complaining about. Having said that, as an act of good faith, we would be willing cover the cost of labour to fix the glass should this customer be willing to pay for the cost of the glass. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am answer Capitall Exterior Solutions (The company) as follows: 1.The complaint that we do not fix pressure cracks on sealed units within one year is not correct, we have for this customer alone fixed four cracked sealed units since the unit was completed at no charge to this customer. He is misleading with regards to the facts. Answer: I only mentioned the crack window reported on August 19, 2015 and never mentioned anything happened before, which are irrelevant facts. 2. The warranty provided is a MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY, we do not control how they set up their own warranty. Answer: The contract was signed with the Company, which is not related to manufacturers. The Company should have its own warranty based on the contract. 3. The manufacturers warranty clearly states that the one year warranty is from the date of shipping, not installation which is 100% out of our control. Answer: The company never disclosed the manufacturer contact and shipping invoices to us. I require to replace the windows unconditionally.

3/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Date: September 18, 2013; Problem Date: October 1st, 2013; Model Numbers: "patio door"; Product Name: none given; Order Number: 1673; Invoice Number (by ****** ****): XXXXXXX; Invoice Date: September 27, 2013; Sales Rep: ******; Install Date: October 1, 2013; Payment Amount: $1,522.50 total; Payment Method: MasterCard; Installers: ***** **** (owner)and ****** When the installers came, they brought dirty salvage patio doors to install after taking out my original patio windows. The patio door does not glide nicely in the track, rather sticking forcefully when pulled to open and/or close. The track must belong to a different set of patio windows. I have pictures as evidence of the compromised seal, showing ice build-up inside the frame. Also, one of the windows is upside-down to the other one, with glue residue from a previous installation. No screen door ever provided, as promised by ******. Maintenance and Warranty guide contains no warranty at all, just mundane, common-sense talk about windows and frames. I never received the beautiful patio doors that I put my money on, just ended up with these piece-meal parts with no explanation or reason what-so-ever.

Desired Settlement: I want my $1,522.50 back. I am still going to have to spend money, time, and effort to have some else do this job properly, and I don't believe that I am asking too much.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/26) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@capitall.ca Hello. This complaint is unfortunate due to the nature of how this progressed. I think this ultimately boiled down to poor communication on our part. The customer came into the showroom and purchased a door from the Clearance Centre which are "as is" doors. The door she chose was a 5' patio door. When we delivered the door we noticed she had purchased the wrong size and in fact a 6' patio door was needed. We had one in the clearance centre. The customer is correct in saying the door installed was not the one she picked. However, that being said we can understand the headache this whole situation has caused Ms. ****. With that said we would like to offer two different solutions for her. 1. We will gladly refund her purchased price. 2. We will order a custom patio door direct from the factory and install it at no charge. I know we have asked for a small payment in the past, however, I am willing to forgo the payment at all due to the situation. I think this whole situation boils down to communication. I think Ms. **** was under the understanding that she was getting a brand new door even though it came out of the clearance centre. We did not do a good job of communicating what the clearance centre is and what the doors are and for that I am extremely sorry. Either way, we will be glad offer either solution as mentioned above. I can be reached directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX if Ms. **** has any questions. Thank you, *** ********* Owner Capitall Exterior Solutions.

12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 22 2013 placed an order to Capitall Exterior Solutions 1557245 AB Ltd. their promise # **** our Job#****** Sales Rep. *******.Expected delivery 6-8 weeks,The doors were ready for shipping October 8th 11 weeks after ordering.The doors had to be pre paid before shipping invoice #******* the amount $8046.48 paid by master card on Oct 7th 2013. Capitall was instructed to call our shipping company for pick-up when ready on the 8th of Oct.2013. Our shipping company picked them up on the 8th of Oct. 2013, ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** As per Capitall Exterior Solutions door build sheets approved by us for order, the colors were to be ********* commercial brown exterior and ********* cream interior. however the doors were painted ****** commercial brown and probably ****** cream. Upon unwrapping the doors on site it was noted that there was sealant oozing out around the glass inserts of the doors. Upon installing the doors the pre- drilled hole for the latch mechanism was drilled off center and into the face of one door leaving it un latch able. After installing there is a gap between the doors as the frame was made too big. When Capitall was emailed about these defects and sent pictures, with expectations that the owner or a rep would come and deal with the issues we were facing. **********'s reply was "Doors were bubble wrapped, this is more than other manufacturers do for shipping, your shipping company should have handled the doors better,Sealant is directly from insert supplier and can easily be cut and peeled off. Gap between doors is easily fixed when doors are shimmed at hinges this is required on all door installations, pre drilled hole can be reamed towards center and the back-set plate will cover the hole.Color of doors is correct as per your paperwork. There will be no refund and I will not be coming to Red Deer. In my opinion you should go after transport company for any and all damages." We did send a reply to him stating the following; (and attaching pictures of how a manufacturer that cares about their products, packages for shipping.) That the sealant should have been dealt with before being considered a finished product for shipping, that the gap between the doors can not be fixed when the doors are shimmed at the hinges as the frame is too big and that we have professional installers. That the pre drilled hole is into the front of the door and would not be accepted by the customer and we would not expect them to. That the color is not correct as per their build sheet that we attached to this email. As well as we believe the transport company should be responsible for the damages, but not for the poor quality and workmanship of the doors which is Capitall's responsibility*******************************************************************************************************************************************.This company has put customer satisfaction at the bottom of it's priority's, takes no pride in their products********************************************************************************************. **************************************

Desired Settlement: At this point I want a full refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/11/19) */ First off, all of our records show that his agreement was between Capitall Exterior Solutions and ********, not **********. In response to the allegations made ********************************************************* on their complaint. 1. With regards to the color of the doors, ******** was made aware that there are variations to colors, we had our painter color match to Vinylbilts color specs as close as possible, this was made very clear prior to order since on a previous order with ********, they had issues with colors. We were very adamant that the colors be correct and they agreed. We do not use ****** colors at all, so not sure where they get that from. ** was made aware of the colors and when he was he said " I don't care about it, this customer is not that picky I just need the doors." 2. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* 3. The sealant on the door glass is a very common occurrence and yes, should have been taken care of before shipping out, however, it in no way affects the quality of the doors and can be taken off by qualified installers in about 2 minutes. 4. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Contrary to what was said in the complaint, we take great pride in what we do and how we manufacture our doors. We ship them with above average packaging and do everything we can when they are in our possession. Once they leave our shop, we can not control how they are handled. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** In an effort to resolve this complaint, we are prepared to have one of the owners come to Red Deer and look at the doors to see if we can come to some resolution. At this point we are not prepared to offer a refund since all of our documents show the doors left our premises in good condition.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Capitall Exterior Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart