BBB Accredited Business since

Alberta Arborists

Phone: (780) 448-0584 5480 Meridian St, Edmonton, AB T6P 1R3 http://www.albertaarborists.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Alberta Arborists was founded on the belief and desire to see a professional tree care service that practices proper and ethical tree care. Alberta Arborists have over 22 years of experience in providing residential, commercial, and municipal tree and shrub care in Alberta.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alberta Arborists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alberta Arborists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alberta Arborists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 1998 Business started: 04/01/1998 Business started locally: 04/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Craig Jabs, Owner/op
Contact Information
Principal: Craig Jabs, Owner/op
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service Arborist Stump Removal & Grinding

Products & Services

Alberta Arborists offers the following tree care in and around the City of Edmonton: tree removal, tree pruning, stump removal/stump grinding, tree fertilization, 24 hour emergency services, disease and insect diagnosis and management.
Alberta Arborists are ISA Certified Arborists who offer free, no obligation estimates and are fully licensed and insured.


Additional Locations

  • 5480 Meridian St

    Edmonton, AB T6P 1R3 (780) 448-0584

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Alberta Arborists to remove 4 trees (approx.) 40 ft. tall from my backyard. When they arrived a week ago to do the work, there were a number of problems arising from their work. The crew damaged several flower beds & my fence by allowing 15-20 ft sections of trees to fall into my yard while cutting them down. They also damaged a solar light (well out of their way) along with an outdoor thermometer, parts of the fence, along with putting multiple 4 inch divots in my lawn. An offer was made (as someone was home at the time) to move said solar lights etc, which the crew declined saying "we have lots of room". As the crew was dragging these large tree limbs down the side of the house & out to the chipper, they left close to 100 small rocks in our front lawn which they did not bother to pick up after they were done which could have damaged the siding of our house, my neighbours house & vehicles parked in the driveways had we gone to mow the lawn & not noticed. or worse, could have injured someone by being tossed out of the blades of the lawn mower. The chipper was parked close enough to the neighbours front yard & driveway that b/c of the size of the tree limbs being put in the chipper, it threw several large chunks into the front lawn. As well, the crew had to be asked by the person in our home at the time if anything they'd cut had dropped into our neighbours yards that needed to be cleaned up. It was only after being asked that they scaled our fence to drop into the neighbours yard to look for debris. The crew also left personal belongings that a week later (despite me contacting the company about all this) are still sitting on our back deck. Product_Or_Service: Tree removal

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: ***************************** Although I've contacted the company and requested a 20% off the original invoice for the damage done & the clean-up we're now required to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@albertaarborists.com On September 18th we did receive this complaint by email from our Client. Our General Manager, ******* ******* responded that he would go to the site to inspect our crews work and possible damage. On September 20th he did inspect the site and concluded that proper clean-up was not done (regarding the rocks dragged from walkway) and confirmed some divet damage to the lawn and possible damage to the fence top rail as it is extremely weather beaten and rotting. On September 22nd Alberta Arborists, wanting to work with the Client to come to a resolution, apologized for the poor clean-up and damage to solar light, thermometer, lawn, and fence and offered $100 taken off of the tree work portion of the total job (total tree work = $850, not including stump grinding = $225) for compensation and inconvenience. September 26th: Client sent an email saying that this offer was not enough and thought that 20% off her total work ($850 tree work and $225 for stump grinding)would be acceptable compensation. We emailed and agreed and said that revised invoice was to follow. September 26th, the revised invoice was sent which was incorrect and the correct revised invoice was sent October 7th (Stump Grinding included). Revised invoices showing a $215 deduction from total work of $1075 for all damages and any inconvenience this has caused.

11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alberta Arborists were contracted to remove native trees on an subdivision acreage. When first contacted for an estimate, it was explained to them that the trees pose danger to other planted trees, landscaping, neighbour's property, and my property. The company was hired with the understanding that they would cut down the trees in question with out damaging any of the surrounding landscape or property. On July 30, 2013 three workers representing the company showed up, once again they were told about the property line, sewer systems (mine and the neighbour's)and about the trees that we have planted in the past 8 years. By the time the 3 employees left, 3 of the planted trees that were to be sheltered from damage were destroyed, 2 other trees were damaged, 3 cotoneasters were destroyed, there was a large divot in the lawn, cut up trees were not piled up by the stump as per the contract, and majority of branches were not shredded as per the contract, one large tree was laying in my neighbour's yard.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to replace the 3 destroyed trees and 3 bushe. They were hired for the sole reason of protecting our property from damage by felling the native poplars.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ ******************************************************************************************************************** After discussing with *****, the Owner and having talked to each person who was on site to confirm what was done and how it was done to respond to your list of grievances as we are very good at all types of removals with no damage in all types of open and tight locations. I need you to know that when work is being done at an acreage and trees are near wooded areas we normally price out the work for the best cost effectiveness and concerns for the clients. If we are able to remove trees and have them fall into surrounding woods with low impact it is always cheaper, but if the client wants no damage the price is always higher due to the amount of rigging required. When the scope of the work changed from the original estimate and you discussed with the crew that you wanted the back trees removed as well, you were asked where did you want them to start the work and you said in the back. **** priced out the removals at $250/ea with the intent of falling the trees in the wooded area with some low impact damage to occur. If the trees were to be removed with no damage whatsoever the pricing would have been much higher based on the size of the trees.I understand that **** did not ask what you were looking for or explain the pricing as far the type of removals we could do but assumed he could fall them into the wooded area. That being said, you were on site and seeing the work being done, you did not stop them, nor explain that you wanted no damage or do not fall these trees into the wooded area. I understand that after the 1st and 2nd tree was down and they were busy cutting up the logs for firewood you came out and asked the crew "to make sure they did not cut the ground" as you have an electric dog fence which you did not want damaged but advised them of nothing else, especially that you did not want any damage whatsoever to any landscaping. You let the crews continue working and falling the trees as you already had witnessed. The lack of communication from both parties during the actual work being done has contributed to expectations not being met and I know we have learnt from this experience. Alberta Arborists have already reduced the original invoice of $2000.00 not including GST by $500.00 to compensate for some of the impact caused by the process as explained by the client sent earlier directly by email to us. Alberta Arborists has priced out 2 blue spruce of 2.25 meters height @ $255.00 ea and 1 Mtn Pine of 2.25 meters height @ $260.00. at **********************. We are willing to give the client a $270.00 credit at ***************** to go with the $500.00 credit already applied to the original invoice so he can go pick out the trees. He would be responsible for the delivery and planting of the trees. Due to the dryness of this fall and the trees to be planted are conifers we recommend they be planted in the spring. The cotoneasters damaged during this process will rejuvenate come spring. We hope this helps in resolving this complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alberta Arborists
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)