BBB Accredited Business since

A & C Transmission

Phone: (780) 454-8598 Fax: (780) 452-1127 View Additional Phone Numbers 21353 106 Ave, Edmonton, AB T5S 1V9 http://www.highstall.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & C Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A & C Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & C Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1987 in AB Business started locally: 01/01/1987
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Rob Clark, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Rob Clark, Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
R Clark Transmissions Ltd

Additional Locations

  • 21353 106 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T5S 1V9 (780) 454-8598 (800) 661-7935

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase of a standard transmission for truck complete with warranty. Transmission seal failure with in the time limits of the warranty. No warranty Purchased 5 speed transmission from A&C on 2016-01-27. invoice # ****** Transmission installed by ************************ in ********** ab on 1/29/2016. When I contacted A&C about purchasing transmission I asked them specifically about their warranty. They told me warranty was good for 6 months or 10.000 km. There was absolutely no other info stated about their warranty. I purchased transmission by credit card and had them ship transmission to ************ in ********** ab as they where doing the installation. ( would A&C not have said at this time, you know there will be no warranty because we are not installing transmission) Please note as well that A&C stated that they ship their transmissions all over Alberta for installation by others by others The first sign of trouble with this transmission was during installation. The shiffter lever holes had two hole out of 4 stripped. ************ claimed they received transmission this way, A&C claims ************ stripped holes. We resolved this issue and moved on. The owner of A&C told me if I had any further problems to contact him as they are a very reputable family business and they stand behind their product. This purchase and installation of transmission and new clutch pack cost about $ 3289.00. On or about April 26/16 the clutch started to slip. I immediately informed A&C of the problem as well as ************ who did the installation. I was well within the warranty parameters. There was only 8100 km and 3 months on transmission. I was now in Williams Lake bc, my place of residence. I took truck to **************** in Williams Lake who has done work on my trucks in the past. **************** discovered that the seal on the "input shaft" had failed. Very rare stated **************** but the owner stated he had seen this happen twice in 10 years. I had downtown service contact A&C regarding the failure and that I was expecting warranty to help with this failure. The following day I spoke with the owner of A&C regarding the warranty. He stated that in 35 years he had never seen the seal fail. He could not explain the failure but wanted to blame ************ who installed the transmission as he was insistent on it was ************ that had stripped the shifter lever holes. I reminded him we resolved that issue and needed to move forward with the current issue. He then stated that his warranty only covered their transmissions if A&C installed the transmission and this was stated on the bill. I told him this was never stated to me when buying the transmission. Further more this is not stated on the bill, only that it must be installed by a qualified technician! ****************************** ****************************** ****************************** ****************************** ************* The owner of A&C offered to pay for the new seal which cost $ 9.81 I stated that I hardly thought that was fair and reasonable and could he not do "something' toward the cost of the removal and replacement of the transmission? He refused any help. The failure of this seal which can not be damaged by installation because it is behind a plate and well protected has now cost me an additional $1463.62 **************** ****************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I asked the owner of A&C to help with the cost of the labor only. The cost of the labor was $ 567.15 I would like to see A&C pay for this labor. Please keep in mind that because of their seal failure I am out of pocket a great deal. Just because the owner says he has never seen this seal fail doesn't mean it can't happen. ******************* *********** ********** ******************* ********** ******************* ************** ****************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/05/10) */ May 10, 2016 Complaint case # ******* Our Invoice # ***** Our warranty clearly stated on the invoice that the front, axle and rear seals are not covered by warranty unless the transmission is installed at our facility. The warranty also clearly states that installation charges are not covered unless we were paid to install the unit. The customer was well aware of the warranty as he requested a copy of the invoice be emailed to him before he paid for the unit. The invoice also states that if the warranty is not agreeable to please return the unit unused. The warranty also states that no one is to dismantle the transmission without first getting a warranty authorization # from A&C Transmission, which the customer did not do. The customer violated the warranty agreement and we still offer to supply him with a replacement seal at our expense. It is not a reasonable request for us to pay for work that we did not perform, were not paid for and is not covered by warranty as stated on the invoice. Bob C**** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2016/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. A&C States " no warranty on front axle or rear seal leak unless installed at their location". The seal that failed was the "Input shaft seal" having nothing to do with the seals they spoke to. 2. A&C claims that I requested a copy of the invoice before paying for the transmission. This never happened full stop. The invoice was sealed in a plastic bag and taped to the transmission that was shipped to Western Auto for installation. The first email received from A&C was on Feb 2/16 regarding the "core " credit. I was in the bush and at work and never saw the invoice until latter that night when I returned home from work. My wife picked up the truck. 3.A&C states that no work on transmission to be done without authorization first. On April 26/16 I purposely called A&C and spoke with the same man that sold me the unit. I told him of the problem that I was now in BC and that the transmission would need to come out to see what had failed. He told me to "keep him in the loop" As soon as the transmission came out I had **************** call A&C to inform then directly of the failure and that I was expecting to get some form of warranty on this failure. A&C did not say at that time not to proceed until further notice as it would void the warranty. Would not or should not there be some expectation to have A&C warn not to processed because of the warranty? He only said that he would have the owner of A&C contact us. The truck was 1000 km from Edmonton, unable to operate because of the failure and needed to be repaired. The same day the transmission was removed the owner of A&C called latter that day and only offered to pay for the seal which cost $9.81 . I reminded him that the failure cost me $1400.00 and he told me back in January that if I had any further issues that he'd be there for me as they were a proud family business and they stand behind their product. ********************************* ************************* ********************** *********************** *********************** ****************** ************************* I did not ask for the full amount ($1400.00) because the failure destroyed a brand new clutch pack. I simply asked for some assistance with the labour cost. A&C product failed, Plain and simple, and now they want to play with semantics to avoid taking any accountability for the product. Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2016/05/30) */ May 18th, 2016 Complaint case # ******* Our Invoice #***** As stated on the invoice; front, axle and rear seals are not covered under warranty. The input seal is the front seal. The customer is asking us to pay for the transmission removal and installation. The warranty states that installation charges are not covered unless we performed the installation. The customer states that he received the invoice from his wife on Feb2. He had to have read his invoice and warranty as warranty must be validated by customer by supplying the millage, VIN# and plate #. These were provided thus accepting the warranty. We also emailed him a copy of the invoice and warranty at his request on April 28th which he would have read before he decided to have work performed without an authorization number. Bob C**** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2016/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's all been said !


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A & C Transmission
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)