BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 27/11/2015

FBC

(780) 442-2665View Additional Phone Numbers100-10703 181 St NW, EdmontonAB T5S 1N3 Send email to FBC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

FBC's long history and large Membership base pay testimony to their ongoing commitment to service excellence. FBC will meet with you at your home or business.

Request a Quote

Request a quote from FBC.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 27/11/2015

BBB has determined that FBC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised FBC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on FBC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid $3977.40 in advance for the 2016 tax filing for Business and personal,mistakes made in the spring of 2015 caused mistrust and I want a refund.
I have been using FBC for six years and each year there has been some kind of mistakes that I was living with, but this last spring when they did my small business tax returns, I was told I had no balance owing in federal taxes and that I had a credit of $9874 which would be transferred to my installment account for the 2016 year and that I would not have to make an installment until October, It turned out I owed over $3000. Second they told me that I had a GST refund of $2500 It turned out I owed $2900, Third I asked them to work out what wages we can pay our selves in order to get some RRSP and CPP room they did some numbers and told me if we paid ourselves each about $13000 that the taxes we saved on business would off set the taxes we paid personally nothing was said to us about the CPP Contributions which were $1900 and about the business CPP contribution which were also $1900 If I were informed properly I would not have taken the wages I would of continued with taking Dividends. So due to this I asked the manager Dennis T***** in late February if the $3977.40 was paid for the next season As I thought it was but instead of me digging up all the old paper work I thought it would be faster just to ask. At fist he said no they do not charge in advance but he would look into it. Well he dodged the question for the next 3 or 4 months until last month I presented him with evidence that I did in fact pay in advance he finally agreed that I had the minute he said yes on the e-mail that I had indeed paid in advance I asked for a refund as I could not trust there accounting abilities any longer. Well he started telling me that he has been working for me all year yet in reality the blunt of our conversations were about the mistakes this spring and the fact I was trying to get him to say yes I had paid for the 2016 tax filling. So I paid him On Feb21 2014 $3939.60 to do the 2015 spring filing So I feel he was paid for the work he did this spring. He has not did any books this year and he will not be doing the tax filing which is the biggest part of The $3977.40 I paid so Although he has answered a few questions for me regarding this season its a far cry from the price I paid. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** So in the end he told me that they will live up there part and file my tax returns In reply to that I said I could not trust them to do my books or tax filing as after what's been happening they can do more damage to me by not doing thing correctly. ***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
A fair monetary refund as I stated above I can not trust them to complete my books or tax returns without bias as we have had a few heated debates over the mistake issues and they can cause me great harm some of which may not appear right away but further down the line if the CRA find something that was done wrong which could leed to CRA penalties. Things that I would not of known about not being an accountant.

Business Response
In reading Larry's complaint there are issues that he identified that We have corrected. Larry also knew (as he admitted) that he does pay in advance. That is the model FBC has used since 1952 for all of our clients. His personal taxes were completed and ready to be filed March 24,2015. He states that due to issues with his personal plus corp taxes he asked for a refund in February. The timing does not match. We have no record of him asking for a refund prior to his email of August 28. He also replied to a company satisfaction survey on May 19,2015 but does not say anything about asking for a refund. I have several emails since February of Larry asking questions about tax implications on selling his campground. I have one as late as August 8th asking about "should we roll it into the Corp and list next year or does it matter" On August 21 stating to verify that he did pay for 2016 so that when we do his quarterly bookkeeping that is all he will pay for the season. There is no indication in any of these emails that he is not moving forward as a client or asking for a refund. FBC has had several conversations and emails regarding helping Larry with tax information on selling his business with no mention of him staying with FBC. He also took a bookkeeping appointment scheduled for August 24 which he cancelled on August 21.
FBC has a signed contract by both parties which they are prepared to continue to honor.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As Dennis States that I knew I had paid in advance , I told him that I paid in advance when he told me on a phone conversation that I had not pre paid so that is the question I asked back in February if he could look into it I was not seeking a refund at that time even though they had made numerous book keeping mistakes to date. If this is FBC model since 1952 why did he take until Aug. before finally admitting on a e-mail that I had paid in advance. The Manager should of been able to say yes to that right away not after me sending him proof by e-mail. The instant I received him admitting it on e-mail I replied to the same e-mail about the refund. That was in Aug But many things Happened while I was waiting for an answer. Now in May/June I started getting notices from the CRA and late charges etc that is when I decided in my mind not to continue on with FBC ... But I still did not have his answer yet to the request back in Feb. if he could look into weather or not I had pre -paid. So he does not know what he's talking about the timing doesn't match. As far as the customer satisfaction survey I wonder if he read it that's why I was not getting a reply to my pre payment question as I answered all the questions negatively and he knew what I after. As its a lot easier to prove in court with him admitting that I had pre-paid on a e-mail. Besides I did not think this survey was the proper forum to ask for a refund. As far as the e-mail questions yes I did ask a few questions on the sale of our business as when we first incorporated Dennis with FBC suggested that we roll the business into the corp but not the land Why I do not really know but I thought he was the professional so I went with it. He said at that time we could just roll it back in when we went to sell to save capital gains tax due to the $750000 tax exemption. So one of the questions to him by e-mail was how long before a sale do I have to roll the land back in to save taxes that the CRA would recognize he never did answer that email like numerous others. Until I got his boss involved by BBC-ing all the emails then he started answering them. MY frustrations are really building at this time, but this is still before the notices from the CRA start rolling in. Now this spring when we went to list the property the realtor asked me to ask my lawyer on a time frame on how long the roll over takes well the lawyer asked me why I would want to do that, I said that's what my accountant wants to do in order to save capital gains tax... He said he is not an accountant but something doesn't sound right and that I should get a different opinion so this lead to the start of a whole sequence of e-mails again to FBC The answer I got this time was no it doesn't matter if I roll the land in or not... What changed Dennis mind. a third party accountant that I talked with said most definitely it matters, you have to roll it into the corp. now I am asking myself is Dennis starting to give me false info already or what? At this time I still have not got an answer to the question asked in February if I had pre-paid or not? They gave me the book keeping appointment I never called for it. So all though I asked a few questions on e-mail the majority of things he did for me this calendar year was to correct paper work and CRA mistakes he has not touched my books or answered any questions regarding this years books or any questions regarding the 2016 tax filing **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Business Response
I AM not understanding his comment. FBC has offered a refund as of the date he formally requested. I do not know what he is talking about re no correspondence. FBC has responded every time we have been asked to.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Well over two weeks ago FBC agreed to give me a refund through the BBB. I still have had no response on what the refund will be? I have asked for an invoice showing what I am being charged for to accompany the refund. As I know the major part of what I paid for is the business and personal tax filing which FBC will not be doing so I expect them to explain what I am being charged for. The only way I do not need a invoice if they are reimbursing $3977.40.

05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I run a small home based business and we decided to use FBC to do our tax return for 2013. A sales rep came to our place of business on January 16, 2014. He told us we would also have to pay for next years membership in order for them to do our 2013 taxes. So the total amount we had to pay was $2988.37. He took post dated cheques up until May of 2014, then took our previous 3 year tax returns. We were told they would look over them as well. Then they sent out an accountant to our business, and he brought our previous year tax returns back, but said nothing was done with them. He then proceeded to go through our 2013 receipts for our business. He did our 2013 tax return at our business, but it only took him 2 hours to do. He didn't take any copies of anything and just entered total numbers from receipts into his database on his laptop. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** He didn't look at our credit card statements, bank statements, or invoices. He didn't ask us any questions either, but somehow he ended up with us having a gst credit of $200 and my husband and I owing over $1600 each for our personal tax return. I didn't feel right about how it was all done, so I went through everything myself because I do have a bit of an accounting background. From what I found, we should've been owing gst and not receiving a refund. I knew we would have to get a second opinion so we got a hold of a friend who owns his own accounting business in B.C, to see if he could go over everything. I sent all our papers to him via ****** and after a few weeks of him going through it, we found a huge difference. We end up paying in, but not near as much as what we would have if we stuck with FBC. My husband and I have both phoned FBC to say that we wanted to cancel our membership and that we would like to be refunded, but they always give us the excuse that they will look over our taxes again. All they have to go off of is the spreadsheet that their accountant made up. They don't have any copies of receipts or anything. So they always phone back and say everything on their end looks right and if we do get audited, they will deal with it. I told them what our professional accountant came up with, but they want a copy of the tax return. I do not trust FBC enough to even give them a copy. All we want is our money back. We did cancel 3 of the post dated cheques, but FBC has a total of $1713.60 that they have already cashed. ******************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
We would like to be refunded the $1713.60.

Business Response
FBC signed a CONTRACT with the *******'s. The CONTRACT was for a service which was to do their 2013 and 2014 income tax returns based on the fact they have a small business. FBC did their 2013 tax returns for which they paid for. The client put stop payment on cheques which would have covered their 2014 taxes. They admit that the information for their 2013 taxes was based on receipts provided by them. These receipts were entered into a computer at their place of business. When all the data was collected there was no mention of any other receipts. The only thing that Canada Revenue Agency will accept as proof of an expense is receipts. When the client asked FBC to review the 2013 taxes it was done with a comparison to 2012. Based on the information provided it appeared everything was ok. On February 28 the client advised the FBC Calgary office that they wanted to cancel their membership. The client paid FBC for a tax return which FBC completed. They are now stating that there was a huge difference when the 2013 taxes were completed by someone else. Because they are not willing to show us anything or provide a copy for review, it does not provide an opportunity for FBC to give an explanation for the differences. FBC was and is still willing to have someone go to their place of business to review both returns. FBC was and is still willing to honour the CONTRACT signed by both parties. There is a lot more involved in doing taxes than collecting the information at a client's place of business. There is lot more work involved after the information is brought back to the office.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract was only signed by my husband. Our business is a partnership and I am a partner, but never signed any contract. My husband and I phoned FBC to ask why our taxes were done they way they were and that we weren't happy about it, ************************************************************************************************************ I tried telling them that my credit card statements weren't looked at. Yet they don't seem to listen to me. Also with all the receipts that we had, the accountant never looked thoroughly through them. We have fuel receipts that have cigarettes on them, which should of been taken off the total amount of the receipt, but the accountant just entered totals from every receipt without looking at them first. When we cancelled our membership, we cancelled post dated cheques for March, April & May, but for some reason these cheques are still trying to be cashed. ************************************************************************************************************* I also would like to know why I keep having people from FBC phoning me to say they need my RRSP slip so they can file my personal tax. I've told them that my taxes were done elsewhere and that I cancelled my membership with FBC. I did not give them the ok to file mine or my husband's personal tax for 2013 and nothing was signed for them to go ahead with filing it either. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* FBC never took copies of our paperwork, and we never received copies of the tax return FBC came up with. The thing is I want my taxes done ************ right, so if we do get audited I don't have to worry about being audited every year! If FBC still wants to see my 2013 tax return that was done elsewhere, I will send it to them via email, but I don't want them to use it and say they will adjust what they did wrong on their end and then say our taxes were done right so they don't have to refund me my money. Our 2013 GST return and our personal tax returns were re-done and filed by our new accountant.

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April4,2012 we signed a contract with FBC for accounting services.Was promised that there would be a review of the last 3 years of taxes,and that they would be able to save us money due to the fact they knew all the appropriate tax savings.FBC was then paid for services and we dropped our books off in end of september,2012 for review.After several months went by, there was no communication from FBC other wanting to book us for tax preperation.We tried to contact in regards to the 3 years that was dropped off already with no reponse.So no tax preperations were done of any kind on either personal or the buisness side.We then tried to get our books back from FBC with no results.I then contacted the Calgary location(head office)to see if they could help(september 2013),and was told that he would get ahold of Edmonton branch.Several more weeks went by in which I contacted Calgary branch again.Finally I spoke with the assistant manager (in Edmonton branch) who told me that our books have been lost and that sometimes this stuff happens and they made a mistake.they did scan our copies, so in turn finally sent those to us.We received this package just today (11/14/13)with a letter stating to accept their apologies of "misplacing" our originals.We feel a refund for all monies given should be refunded as terms of the contract were not met.

Desired Settlement
Full refund

Final Business Response
***** did sign a CONTRACT with FBC to do his personal taxes and corporation taxes for the 2012 tax year. His corporation has an April 30 year end. At the time ***** signed the contract FBC was to do the 2012 taxes. ***** decided to have someone else do his 2012. I told ***** that FBC would then adjust his membership and give him credit towards 2013. He agreed. On May 06, 2013 and then on May 13 a voice mail message was left on his phone that FBC was trying to book an appointment to get his corporation taxes completed. On May 21 FBC tried again to contact ***** at which time he told the person booking appointments that he was not staying with FBC.
In relation to his books. FBC had scanned all the records which copies were made and sent to him. FBC is uncertain as to what happed to the originals as they are not in the office. A search of the offsite storage will be conducted to see if they are there.
FBC has never refused to complete the contract per the signed agreement.

10/15/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tax Return Preparation, Accounting Systems, Taxes - Consultants & Representatives, Tax Reporting Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/02/2008Business started: 01/07/1952
Type of Entity

Incorporated

Business Management
Principal: Dennis Taylor (Operations Manager)Jason Clements (Marketing Specialist)
Contact Information
Steven Ibbotson (Owner) Gary Ibbotson (Owner)
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation, Accounting Systems, Taxes - Consultants & Representatives, Tax Reporting Service

Products & Services

Tax Planning
Tax Preparation
Consulting
Audit Representation
Bookkeeping
Financial and Estate Planning

Hours of Operation

24/7

Service Area

Alberta/Nationwide

Alternate Business Names
FBC (Edmonton), Farm Business Consultants Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

FBC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for FBC

100-10703 181 St NW

Edmonton, AB T5S 1N3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 100-10703 181 St NW 

    Edmonton, AB T5S 1N3

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*FBC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 265-1002
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.

X

Industry Tips for Tax Return Preparation

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.