This business is not BBB accredited.

General Signs & Service Ltd

Phone: (780) 435-3133 Fax: (780) 436-8148 12163 68 St, Edmonton, AB T5B 1P9 http://www.generalsignandservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for General Signs & Service Ltd include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for General Signs & Service Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on General Signs & Service Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 1998 Business started: 09/01/1995 Business started locally: 09/01/1995
Business Management
Brian Wong, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Brian Wong, Director
Business Category

Signs Signs - Neon Signs - Maintenance & Repair Awnings & Canopies


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12163 68 St

    Edmonton, AB T5B 1P9

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have asked ***** **** numerous times for a quote on video display or return of funds. Vendor has not returned calls or emails or letter from lawyer. Deposit of $45,000 was made Oct 2008 with an invoice dated May 2009 for $31,450.

Desired Settlement: Asking for $12,450 to be refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/21) */ General Signs was initially contracted to supply and install a pylon sign with Lexan panels. The customer paid $45,000 of which $32,550 was applied to payment of said pylon sign. The balance of the payment was credited to the customer's account as a partial deposit for the next phase of the project, i.e. the LED message display. In the meantime, one of the customer's tenants (XS Cargo) requested graphics for their pylon panels and the resulting cost was $2,310.00, which we were instructed by the tenant, to be paid by the landlord (the customer). We deducted this amount from the customer's account leaving a credit balance of $10,140. During this period there were discussions regarding the LED message display and the customer placed an order for a 4' x 8' sign. We placed the order with our supplier and waited for the customer to submit the balance of the required deposit for the new sign. The customer was considering different sizes for the LED sign, even after the 4' x 8' was already ordered and never did show up with the deposit balance even though they said they were coming to town to drop it the deposit payment. We had no contact with the customer for a number of years and were informed that they were dealing with some personal issues so we just continued to wait. During this time period, the LED message display arrived from the supplier and was placed into storage in our shop. We ordered the sign assuming the customer was going to proceed with the project, but did not hear from them and did not receive the balance of the deposit . Now we are at a point where we have a credit on the customer's account which does not cover the cost of the LED message display and the display itself is obsolete. Options for the customer to consider are to proceed with the project and payoff the balance of the project, or pay the difference of the cost of the display less the credit on their account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2014/11/04) */ I have left a voice message and emailed ***** at General Signs informing him that I wish to proceed with the sign. I hope to hear back from him at his earliest convenience. Thanks **** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 25, 2015/01/06) */ Hello, I have tried calling ***** at office and his cell phone on, - November 10 - November 13 - November 20 - November 24 On November 24 I talked with **** also. I have emailed ***** on, - November 3 - November 6 - November 7 - November 13 - November 19 - November 24 (**** also after this date) - December 3 - December 12 - January 5 2015 I have NOT had a response yet. Please help!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on General Signs & Service Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)