BBB Accredited Business since

Christenson Exteriors

Phone: (780) 451-8860 6011 103A St, Edmonton, AB T6H 2J7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Family owned and operated, Christenson Exteriors performs all levels of building and remodeling. They offer start-to-finish solutions for your project. They specialize in exterior home renovations, including Hardi-plank siding, window and door renovations, soffit and fascia

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Christenson Exteriors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Christenson Exteriors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2011 Business started: 05/27/2007 Business started locally: 05/27/2007 Business incorporated 05/24/2007 in AB
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Home Warranty Group Inc
213-625 Parsons Road SW, Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
Phone Number: 18004729784
Fax Number: (780) 426-2723

The Professional Home Builders Institute (PHBI)
301-30 Springborough Blvd SW, Calgary AB T3H 0N9
Phone Number: (403) 216-8310
Fax Number: (403) 253-7130

Business Management
Randy Christenson, Owner Diane Christenson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Randy Christenson, Owner
Business Category

Siding Contractors Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Windows - Installation & Service Windows - Installation & Service Windows - Installation & Service Cabinet Doors Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Doors - French Doors - Vinyl Doors - Industrial Doors - Commercial Doors - Cellar/Basement/Bilco Siding Materials Storm Windows & Doors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Windows - Egress Exterior Designers Fire Doors & Shutters Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions

Hours of Operation
Monday to Friday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
5 year warranty on all workmanship
Service Area
Alternate Business Names
R&D Christenson Contracting Ltd
Products & Services

Brands Carried: Plygem Windows, Mcleod Windows, Pella Windows, HERR Windows and Doors, Quality Stone, Hardi-plank Siding

Additional Locations

  • 6011 103A St

    Edmonton, AB T6H 2J7 (780) 451-8860


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 29, 2014 and June 10, 2014, I gave *********** Exteriors $6000 for half of the following work scope: remove existing windows in sunroom, reframe and replace with ******** from ****** ******* and reframe and replace existing door with a wider door. The work was to begin on July 3. CE made no attempt to communicate with me in July and when I contacted ***** ***********, he informed me that the windows had not yet been ordered. They would take six weeks to arrive. In late August, I informed ***** that I was going on holiday in early September and returning early October. I offered him the option of starting in August or starting in October. We agreed that he would start upon my return. On October 6, *********** Exteriors arrived on my property to begin the work. ***** informed me that he forgot to order my new door so I would have to make do with a temporary door until the new door was ready. Work began with window removal and framing. On October 13, I measured the openings for the new windows and found that they were too small. I emailed ***** and told him. Within a few days, he discovered that he had made a mistake with the order and ordered the wrong size windows, custom sized rather than the standard size I had requested. This was a critical mistake because one of the windows is needed for legal egress. There ensued a couple of weeks of back and forth- ***** suggesting that I take one of the windows and let him install a french door to provide legal egress. I considered this suggestion but in the end maintained my original requested window size. CE eventually installed the new door and, at my request, restored the existing gutter and wrapped the building paper around an exposed corner. Still, four weeks after being told that he had mis-ordered the windows, he had still not ordered the correct size windows (I checked with the window company). On November 18, ***** sent me an invoice listing the cost of the framing and the new door but incorrectly indicating that I had only given him a $2500 deposit therefore suggesting that I owed CE $2827.70. The following day, I verified with the ****** window dealer that he had not yet ordered the new windows. Then, on 19 November, I emailed ***** and told him that he owed me $672.30, based on the actual deposit of $6000 (both the cheque for $5000 and the one for $1000 had been cashed in June). In the same email, I indicated that because he has not yet ordered the proper sized windows, four weeks after the mistake was identified, I no longer had faith that he intended to complete this job in a timely fashion. I have not heard from ***** *********** or Christenson Exteriors since that time.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking my own money: the partial refund of the deposit that I gave Christenson Exteriors to the tune of $672.30: the difference between what I gave them in May/June and what they indicated to me in November what they actually spent.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/09) */ We ordered the windows that were on the contract. When we made the rough openings for the windows the client noticed they were not to the size that she wanted. I was trying to resolve this between the window company, the client and ourselves with each of us accepting some responsibility for the added cost for the windows. The window company was not responsive. When I tried to get payment for the work that we had completed, the client said she did not feel confident in our ability to complete the job and cancelled the rest of the work, leaving us with windows that she did not want and an outstanding invoice for work that we completed. By my calculations she owes us $2,827.70. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I clearly stated the window size that was required and do not see why I need to take responsibility for contractor ordering a 76" wide window versus a 7'6" wide window, etc. Neither the window company or I have any responsibility for a mistake like that. You invoiced me and mistakenly indicated that I had only given you a $2500 deposit. If you go back into your files, you will see that I have given you $5000+$1000= $6000 not $2500. *********************************************************************************************************************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/01/23) */ I ordered the windows that were on the contract. Yes these were the wrong windows. I accept some but not all the blame for ordering the wrong windows. I would propose splitting the cost of the new windows in 3 and each of the parties pay one third of the cost of the new windows. The cost of the new windows is $2,961.00 and a third is $987.00. So your cost would be $987.00.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Christenson Exteriors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)