BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 13/09/1984

Arclare Building Products Ltd

(780) 408-3000View Additional Phone Numbers10215 178 St, EdmontonAB T5S 1M3 Send email to Arclare Building Products Ltd

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 13/09/1984

BBB has determined that Arclare Building Products Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arclare Building Products Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arclare Building Products Ltd

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Arclare building products because of a leak in my roof which occurred in the winter of 2009. **** ***** came to my home to discuss the problem with my roof. He came with the owner ***** and his brother in law. After checking the roof he said replacement was needed and we deceided to replace the garage roof as well. In Febuary of 2014 my roof was again leaking in the same places in my home. I contacted them in late March of 2014 to let them know of the problem. **** ***** came out to my home to see what the problem was. He indicated that looking at the roof from the street view that the roof appeared dry so he was surprised that it would be leaking as he said normally if there was a problem it would have appeared within the first year. He said he would be in touch when the weather got warmer.
I had received no contact as of the end of April and deceided to contact ***** the owner of the company as he was away on holidays when I first called with this problem. He was not in so I left a message and asked that he return my call. I waited another 2 weeks and called again. He was in at that time and did speak with me. He said he had his roofer with me and not to worry they would take care of it. When I asked if he needed my address if said no we know where your house is don't worry we will be in touch.
As of this date July 25,2014 I have had no further contact from anyone representing Arclare Building Products
The total cost of 30yr ******** ************* shingles on house and garage including Ice and Water protector as well as all new vents and plumbing stacks supply and install was 9586.00 which was paid by check on May26,2010

Desired Settlement
I am looking to have the problem with the roof dealt with . The leaks are damaging my carpet in the living room and are in the same places that concerned me when I hired them to replace my roof. I can't afford to replace the house roof again.
************************************************************************************************** I understand that they are a reputable company but something has gone wrong with this job.
Thank- you in advance for any help you can provide

Business Response
***** ******* & **** ***** both attended the site to follow up.

Roof was originally done in 2009.

Customer called about a leak and we went out and could not determine cause. Confident that it is not an installation issue when we went out in March of 2014. It was noted that the shingles looked good, not curled or anything.

Offer still valid to send another of their roofer to take a look to see if they can determine the cause of leaking.

Vaulted ceilings with beams that pass out past the soffits with no vents in roof. Customer was told that installation issues would show within the first year. Installation warranty is only 1 year from completion date, shingle warranty is 30 years from manufacturer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**************************************************** My main concern was considering I did business with this company in good faith the least they could have done was send one of their roofing experts out to take a look at the roof and maybe offer some insight as to what the problem may be.
At this point I have hired another company to look at what the possible problem mat be.
I know longer want to deal with a company ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Thank you for taking the time to follow up on this complaint
******** ********

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MARCH 29,2012 ***** *****,**** ***** AND ***** ******* CAME TO OUR HOME,AFTER A VISIT WITH **** WHO CONVINCED US OUR ROOF NEEDED TO BE RE SHINGLED AND ONCE COMPLETED WE WOULD NEVER HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT LEAKS.FROM THE PRESENTATION TO MY WIFE AND MYSELF WE DECIDED TO ACCEPT THEIR OFFER OF $8300..WHICH INCLUDED EAVSTROUGHS.
WHEN THEY COMPLETED THE WORK THE LEAD ROOFER COMENTED TO ME THAT SHOULD WE EXPERIENCE A LEAK AROUND SKYLIGHTS HE WOULD PERSONALY COME BACK AT NO CHARGE TO REPAIR.DURING A RAIN AND WIND STORM AUG/12 WE HAD A LEAK **** CONVICED US THAT A SHINGLE MUST HAVE LIFTED IN THE STRONG WIND (A FREAK STORM).DURING A STORM IN JUNE 2013 THE AR EA AROUND SKYLIGHT LEAKED AGAIN.WE CONTACTED ***** ***** WHO *********** SAID HE WAS NOT AN INURANCE COMPANY THAT HE IS NOT RESONSIPLE FOR SKYLIGHT LEAKS BUT WOULD SENT OUT A FELLOW FOR A 150.00 FEE TO CHECK,AFTER DISCUSSION HE SAID HE WOULD PAY THE FEE.THE INSPECTION DETERMINED POOR WORKMASHIP WAS TO BLAME AND IT COST US $680.00 TO REPAIR AS ***** DENIED HE HAD ANYTHING TO DO WITH SKYLIGHTS.DURING A STORM AUG 11/13 2 OTHER SKYLIGHTS LEAKED .AGAIN CALLED ***** WHO *********************** TELL MY WIFE IT WAS NOT HIS PROBLEM.WE CONTACTED OUR INSURANCE WHO DENIED A CLAIM AS IT WAS AGAIN DETERMNED THAT IT WAS DUE TO POOR WORKMANSHIP,TO REPAIR THESE 2 LEAKS AROUND SKYLIGHTS WAS $1,680.00.***** CLEVERLY DENIES LEAKS AROUND SKYLIGHTS ARE NOT HIS RESPONSEABITIY AS HE DID NOT STATE IT IN HIS CONTRACT.

Desired Settlement
****************************************************************************
WE WOULD LIKE TO RECOVER THE COST FOR HAVING THE AREAS AROUND THE SKYLIGHTS FIXED.

Business Response
On March 29, 2012 Arclare Building products Ltd did an in home presentation for ********************* at ********************. After the presentation************** agreed to have Arclare reshingle their home. Within the presentation ************* brought to our attention that they have a leaking skylight. **** ***** explained that within the application process the skylight leak may or may not be rectified. We can only gaurentee that the shingled portion of the roof will not leak. The skylight is over 20 yrs old with existing leaks. Arclare completed the work order as stipulated by contract.

Although ***** had sent a repairman at his own expense even after 1 year labour warranty had expired. The home owners pursued other outside sources unbeknownst to Arclare for repair costs in the amount of $1680.00.

Arclare feels that we are not responsible for these repair costs.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did NOT bring to arclare's attention that we had leaking skylight, Rather that there had been some leaking AROUND the skylights. ********** we entrusted arclare president and his two consultants would find a solution to this problem as this company has been in existence since the 1980's. ************************************************************************************* *************************************************************************************
The skylights to this day DO NOT LEAK. A reputable contractor knowing there were skylights would ensure the workers knew how to install water and ice membrane and flashing around skylights, not just lay shingles ****************************************
****** assumptions the skylights leak because they are 20 years old is an easy assumption to try to avoid responsibility. To date the skylights have not been found defective, but leaks AROUND the skylights have been found and repaired by the independent roofer ***** sent to investigate. He surely new we needed to have the leaks fixed immediately .
Had we not acted in having the repairs done the damages to our home would have been much greater during the storms of this summer.*******************************************************************************
*********************************************************************************************************
The repair costs is $2,360.00 not $1680.00 as stated in arclare response. this does not include costs to repair damages to our home. we will be forwarding pictures separately from this report.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Windows, Window Capping, Roofing Service Consultants, Roofing Contractors, Home Improvements, Contractors - Soffit & Fascia, Eavestroughing, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 15/03/1984Business started: 06/05/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Service Alberta
3rd Fl-10155 102 St North Field Services, Licensing
Edmonton, AB T5J 4L4
(780) 427-4088
http://www.servicealberta.ca/

Contact Information
Principal: Gerry Wener (President) Simon Lallouz (Consultant) Mike McKay (Consultant)
Business Category

Siding Contractors, Windows, Window Capping, Roofing Service Consultants, Roofing Contractors, Home Improvements, Contractors - Soffit & Fascia, Eavestroughing, Gutters & Downspouts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arclare Building Products Ltd

10215 178 St

Edmonton, AB T5S 1M3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arclare Building Products Ltd is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (780) 993-1777
  • (780) 483-2708
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.