BBB Accredited Business since

Liberty Security Systems Inc

Phone: (780) 988-7233 Fax: (780) 988-7236 View Additional Phone Numbers 5640 - 104 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6H 2K2 http://www.libertysecurity.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Liberty Security Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Liberty Security Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Liberty Security Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2009 Business started: 12/26/2005 Business started locally: 12/26/2005 Business incorporated 12/29/2005 in AB
Business Management
Elaine Perri Nate Baldry, Managing Partner Russell Keddie, Managing Partner Brent Kern, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Elaine Perri
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit Carbon Monoxide Detecting Guards - Door & Window Smoke Detectors & Alarms Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Alternate Business Names
Liberty

Additional Locations

  • 5640 - 104 St NW

    Edmonton, AB T6H 2K2

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representative ******* blatantly lied to me. Was approached by one of libertys sales guy in the summer named *******. Left me a kit of info and his number to contact him if I wanted to proceed. I was hesitant and wanted some time to think about it, I have a system already with ******************* and ******* told me that they had gone out of business and that Liberty was the new company that would be taking over their monitoring. When I called to ask they told me that was not the case at all. Promised me a new system for free and told me there would be no additional contract which I found out was also a lie. They tried to sign me up for another 5 years. Glad I dodged a bullett on this one.

Desired Settlement: This guy should be let go, and i dont want anyone from Liberty at my house again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ********************** Contact Phone: ******************** Contact Email: ************************** We would like to thank *********** for bringing her concerns to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and apologize for any inconvenience. We attempted to contact *********** today, however, the phone number listed was not in service.

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were approached at home by a door to door salesman from Liberty. He could see we had a sign from ********** on the front of our property. He informed us that as ********** had sold to *** that they had broken the contract we had with them so therefore we were free to cancel and resign with Liberty. He even provided us with the wording of a letter to send to ********** cancelling their service. He assured us that **********/*** would not persue payment due to their breaking the contract. We did so as Liberty was cheaper per month. The salesman said they were an all Canadian company whereas **********/*** was American. He also advised that Liberty was monitored out of Burnaby which we later found out to be untrue they are actually monitored in Texas. We are now getting bills from **********/*** for $1000 saying that we owe that much for cancelling. ******************************************************************************** ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment We would like to stop the process of being put into a collection agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, V.P. Ops Contact Phone: ************ ext *** Contact Email: *******@libertysecurity.ca I contacted the ********'s today. They will be providing me with a copy of the invoice they have received from *** and we will reimburse them for that amount . We apologize for the negative experience they have had and we are grateful they have given us the opportunity to rectify that. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We were contacted by a representative from Liberty and she was most apologetic. We emailed her a copy of the invoice from *** and she has assured us that they will reimburse us that amount. ***************************************************************************************************************

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very aggressive salesman and I changed my security system but was already under contract to another company. I want to be refunded. In May I had a sales rep from Liberty/Monitronics approach me at my home. He was very aggressive and told me that the company I was with had been bought by**** and that it is an American Company so I agreed to switch. He had someone come that night and install the new equipment and I left for holidays the following day. It wasn't until a couple of weeks after I found out that I could not get out of my original contract without paying a huge fee. I contacted Liberty and asked them to stop billing and get the equipment. I spoke to 2 or 3 people over the course of the last few months. No one came to collect the equipment so finally they told me to mail it which I did. I was of the understanding that I would be reimbursed $160. as they had charged me for May $41.43, Jul 41.80, Aug 38.84 and Sep 28.84 for a total of $160.91. Unfortunately I did not get the name of the person that said they would reimburse once they received the equipment. I returned the equipment by mail on Oct 27 at a cost of $14.00 which they have told me they would reimburse. These payments were set up to come directly out of my bank account and I eventually had to put a stop payment on the account. My first call with them I spoke to ********* and at that time she told me she would reimburse, however things were not done in a speedy manner so I now feel I should receive the full amount.

Desired Settlement: I do realize that I should have been more aware of my contract with the original company that I had a contract with but the salesman basically told me to just send them a letter to cancel, which he provided me with. It wasn't until I got charged from both companies that I realized what was wrong. They have been giving me a total runaround and the lady I spoke to today was not willing to bend at all, not even a partial refund. I am a senior and have been told that other seniors have been targeted and of course I can't afford to be paying this much money out. I expect to receive full remuneration if that is at all possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ************, V.P. Ops Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ************************** We take these matters very seriously and after thoroughly investigation have spoken to ************ to resolve her complaint. As a goodwill gesture we will be issuing a refund for payments made after July 28th and the shipping cost she incurred for returning the equipment to our office. Our intention is to provide complete transparency for our valued customers during the sales process. It is standard practice that during the sales process that our Customer Service team conduct an over the phone "Welcome Call" with each customer while the sales representative is in the home. This call is a lengthy list of questions to verify critical information and to confirm all customers have a clear understanding of what they have agreed to, especially if their home is being protected by another company. In addition, customer's who are being protected by another company are asked to complete and sign an additional form that includes a statement that the customer is responsible for cancelling with their existing provider and that Liberty has no affiliation with their current provider. ********** also received a similar welcome call from the monitoring company, confirming all critical information including the terms of her agreement.

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attempts to cancel an alarm system and monitoring service purchased from this company results in an invoice for $1753 invoice for breach of contract. My wife is deaf and I am also hearing impaired. A salesman came to our door and convince us to purchase an alarm system and monitoring service which he stated would be customized to work with our specific handicap. During the discussion, the salesman stated that we could cancel the service at any time if we felt that it was not working for us. When the installer showed up for the install, he did not have all the equipment he needed to complete the install. He was missing the strobe lights. When he returned a month later to install the lights, we noticed they were red and not very bright once activated. The installer stated that this is the only type of strobe lights they have which made us wonder how effective these lights would actually be. Over the last 18 months, we have had two serious situations were the lights and alarm system were proven to be completely ineffective. **************************************************************************************************************************** We have sent a note to the monitoring service and asked them to cancel the service and pickup their equipment. We then received an invoice $1753 for breach of contract. We tried to explain to the company that the salesman told us that we could cancel at any time but they said that this is only for the first year of the five year contract the we signed. We contacted Liberty Security Customer Service and received an initial response from the client service manager stating that she would look into our case and get back to us. It has been over two weeks since that initial e-mail response and now we are getting no response to any of our follow-up e-mails. ****************************************************************** Note: The monitoring system installed by Liberty Security has been removed and the monitoring company has told us that they do not want it back.

Desired Settlement: We would like to return the equipment to Liberty Security Systems Inc. and have *** cancel the monitoring Service contract at no extra charge to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/20) */ We take these matters very seriously and apologize for the inconvenience this has caused to this family. I have spoken with *** today and the invoice will be cancelled and there will be no balance owing. *** advises that the issuance of the invoice was done in error. I have spoken to our client's father today to confirm this resolution. He will communicate the resolution to his daughter and son in-law. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My father-in-law was contacted by Liberty Security`s vice-president who was handling our complaint. She was very sorry for the trouble we had been put through and informed us that she had contacted ADT and discussed our complaint. *** indicated to her that the invoice we received was in error and that they would adjust our account to reflect a zero balance owing. We are waiting to receive this confirmation from *** but we are definitely satisfied with the outcome. We are very grateful for the efforts made by Liberty Security`s vice president to help us resolve this to our satisfaction. Thanks again to everyone involved.

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ************************************************************************************************************************* On August 5, 2015 Liberty Security Systems sent over a sales representative to my place of residence. The sales rep I only know by Chris, and his phone number is 780-885-6107. Chris wanted to utilize old security system hardware already in my house (I just purchased this house in July) as a part of lowering costs. At this point, I stated that I would like all hardware to be new, from Liberty, so that I would have peace of mind that the system was 100% functional. After repeating this concern, Chris finally stated he would install all new hardware. He then recanted giving me 5 months free, if I wanted all new hardware. It was extremely simple what I was asking, what the old tenants had in the house, I wished to have. But I wanted all hardware to be from Liberty, not a miss match of other companies hardware mixed in with the new Liberty hardware. When I was almost 90% sure that I was going to choose Liberty amongst of 3 other businesses that I had been conversing with throughout the week, I asked Chris to clarify costs. He stated everything as we had discussed. All new hardware, everything the same as the current set up at my premise, no fees for servicing equipment, 100% warranty, 3 year contract with them advertising on my front lawn, rates locked in, and installation of new hardware and removal of old hardware. Everything was agreed upon up to this point, in which he stated that prior to signing a contract he would have to conduct a credit check. I was very frank about getting all fees that I would have to pay up front, and throughout the contract, and summarized my payment responsibilities once again to which he agreed. At this point, I approved a credit check. The credit check came back good, and he then assigned me a customer # ******. As I was almost ready to sign the contract, he then stated there was $150 activation fee, which was NEVER discussed prior, although I had given him plenty opportunity to disclose this to me prior to the credit hit. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Later that evening, after careful consideration of what took place, I texted Chris. I advised him that I was not happy that he was dishonest in his sales attempt, and I offered a solution to how he could rectify the situation. I never heard back from either the rep., or a follow-up from the Company.

Desired Settlement: I would like Liberty to offer me all that was discussed on August 5, 2015, in addition: - waiving the $150 activation fee - providing a second panel in my bedroom upstairs (which is also a part of the current set up) - offer a lower monthly fee of $30/month - give me the 5 months free as was initially offered to me Chris should have divulged all information to me prior to making an effect on my credit report. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/25) */ Contact Name and Title: Pat K****** Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ****************************** After reviewing this complaint and speaking with our representative, it sounds as though we didn't do a thorough job explaining the different options and packages we make available to a client. Typically when a home or business has existing equipment we are able to use that equipment and offer the customer a discounted installation fee and discounted monthly monitoring rate because we don't have to invest in placing door contacts, motion sensors etc around the home. The is a practised exercise in the industry because all sensors are tested during installation and then supervised by the panel 24/7 for any potential low batteries, tampering or other problems that may happen with a device. Sounds as though our representative was recommending this type of sale with the client when they stated strongly that they would like all new equipment and did not trust the existing devices in the home. At this point our representative failed to explain the activation fee that would offset the cost of equipment, but did keep the monitoring rate deeply discounted from where it should be for a new system. This was a mistake on our part that the representative is apologetic for. I don't believe the rep was trying to deceive anyone. I apologize for any small impact running a credit score may have on the persons credit. My understanding is that if multiple credits aren't run in the same small period of time it should have virtually zero affect. The rep has worked with us for 8 months and I've never had a complaint from a client based on his behaviour. To help appease the situation, I can authorize the original sale with no activation at the agreed upon rate but can not include anything additional in terms of free months or additional equipment. I feel this is ample credit for the mistake of having run the customer credit without explaining the activation. It took 2 weeks for a complaint to be filed when the client never called or filed any type of other complaint with the office directly. It seems to me that the main goal of this complaint is to negotiate a better deal. I have called the customer 3 times and she called me back once where I missed the call. Hopefully we can connect soon to resolve. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The representative explained that all equipment was free with a contract, and the fact that I had agreed to display their commercial sign in the front of my house ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Pat and I had been playing phone tag. I actually called three times and left a message once. **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

6/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Entered into 3 year contract (Apr-2012 to Apr-2015) for residential security system with Liberty. They installed additional sensors and panel into my home. They agreed that the panel and sensors belongs to me after 3 year contract. They put installer code and dealer code in the panel at the time of installation. Now I have cancelled the contract fulfilling the term of agreement and have requested to provide the installer and dealer code. These codes are required for other monitoring companies to modify the programming in the panel. ******************************************************************************************************************************************** As a consumer, I feel it is not right and against the ethics of the business practice. I contacted and humbly requested to provide the codes. In reply, they have sent the email as below: "Wanted to send a quick email to let you know that we do not give out our installer or dealer codes for panels. If you go with another company, they will have to change out the panel for you. " ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** It is my gentle request to help me in this situation. I can forward this email to BBB organisation as an when required.

Desired Settlement: I have just asked them to provide the installer and dealer codes OR they can set all the factory default codes into the panel.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, V.P. Ops Contact Phone: ************ ext *** Contact Email: *******@libertysecurity.ca We apologize for any inconvenience, however, the code for security alarm panels are specific to each security alarm dealer/monitoring company. This highly confidential information is not shared in our industry as competitor dealers would then have the ability to reprogram security alarm panels at will. It is standard practise that a new panel would be installed if a customers moves from one monitoring company to another. Also, the new dealer/monitoring company has the ability to change this customer's panel back to factory setting. This would required a little extra work on that dealers part to reprogram. We trust this is sufficient information assist in this matters. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The other companies were not able to reset. I would again request Liberty to reset the panel to factory default by their employee, if don't want to share the code. For your kind information, I am not interested to know the code at all. Dear sir, All I wish is to reset the panel. If they can send the technician to my home and reset by themselves will be much appreciated. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/05/28) */ Mr ***** indicated that he put the panel back to factory default settings on his own, therefore we did not need to send a technician to site.

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 23 2014 at approx. 2:00 am I awoke to a cold house to find my thermostat that is connected to the alarm panel had shut off. I contacted ******** which is the company I must go through for problems with my unit. I was told a technician would call me in regards to the problem. Finally I received a call from a tech five days later on Dec 5 2014. Since the thermostat had been working again he went over something on the phone eg. that there was no schedule set that could affect the heat and that the thermostat was reading properly. He called again on I believe Dec 9 2014 just to check if all was working. On Dec 12 2014 I awoke at 6:30 am to find the thermostat turned off again. I again called ******** to report the issue and once again I was told a tech would be in contact I made a comment to him regarding the length of time it took for the tech to call last time. He assured me he would put a rush on it and I would receive a call on Monday Dec 15 2014. I received no call and had to call myself a week later on Dec 19 2014 to demand a response to the reoccurring issue. I again spoke to a tech who again wanted to trouble shoot over the phone which I refused to do again because obviously there is an issue with the thermostat that needs addressing by a repairman and there was no need to go through the same steps as last time as that did not resolve the problem, he then proceeded to tell me someone would call to set up an appointment for a service call, again I am waiting for service. I am now expected to wait for Liberty to send out a repair person, how long will I wait this time. The reason I am placing the complaint against Liberty is because we are informed to go through ******** for any problems however the first six months after install is the responsibility of Liberty to repair ( my alarm system was installed on July 28 2014) and I have gotten no call from them in regards to this issue to have the thermostat inspected by a trained repair tech. ***************************************************************************** I have not had an issue with the thermostat until I had this alarm panel installed.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to cancel the contract we have with them. This is my second complaint in less than six months in regards to customer service and we would really appreciate not dealing with this company any longer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/02/10) */ Our records indicate that ********** cancelled this customer January 30, 2015. We have spoken to the customer today and have confirmed they are cancelled and are no longer being monitored.

12/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The liberty company took over pre existing security company and said that the service will stay same at same price. We have paid $17/month to the pre-existing security company for a year frm Nov 4th 2013 to Nov 3rd 2014. Liberty company make the hotel owner ******************************** sign the contract $45/month ******************************************************************************* Now he got a new bill from liberty and find out the service price almost 3times expensive than previous one. ***********************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: Liberty company keep saying that we have to pay $2,500 for terminating the contract. We just want to get out the contract without penelty ******************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/12/03) */ Hi ******** Sorry, I apologize for the last email that was very vague. For ***** ****, I will still follow up but the last note I have on the account is: "Customer called in upset that they were only paying $17/mth & when they got the system switched over they are now paying $44.99/mth. She feels that because there was nothing wrong with that system she doesnt wanna continue with our system. I explained, she signed a 60 Month Agreement @ $44.99/mth & that is the lowest rate we offer. She feels that she is paying too much money for a system & wanted it cancelled. I advised her that, she signed that rate & we are a different company with different equipment. She hung up on me. Thx." Which was noted on Oct. 17, 2014. Thanks again,

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman came to my house the evening of august 11 in ********** alberta. He was overtly flirtatious and asked me very personal questions about how I manage my security and my house lay out. I didn't divulge anything that a person couldn't see from the outside (number of doors etc), but asked me a few times about how many times I locked up. company seemed legit, so he gave me some papers and made a set time to come back once I talked with my husband. ********************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: guarantee that any information they took of mine will not be used

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ I have reviewed the complaint and have been able to determine our Sales Representatives working in the ********** area on 08/11/2014. I have spoken with our Sales Manager in the area and he confirmed that he will shred all information obtain from ******* **** on this day. Liberty will also address our Sales Representatives approach at the door and provide the proper coaching requirements. We would like to apologize to ******* on behalf of Liberty if she felt uncomfortable in anyway with a representative our Liberty's. Thank-you

6/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came to my door offering $1000 value of equipment for free when signing contract. Said not to worry about it as there was a 10 day trial period to see if I like it, if not i can simply call and cancel. After 5 days of not using the system once, and therefore being unsatisfied with the equipment, I called to cancel the services. They said it could not be done until I spoke to a representative who came to my home. They guaranteed my the rep would arrive before 4, which is when I had to leave for several appointments. However, I ended up waiting all night with no sign of the person showing up (having to reschedule previous commitments), and all attempts to contact the company during my wait failed. ***************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel the services of Liberty Security

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/11) */ Liberty contacted the ***** (Customer) yesterday 06/10/2014 and scheduled the equipment removal for today 06/11/2014 @ 10:30am - Once the equipment has been removed Liberty will cancel the customers account for both monitoring / billing purposes with no Agreement penalty.

5/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ****** told us that we will not get charged and get my money back if we decide to remove the system within 10 business days, and he also told me that the technology guy will drill a hole onto my wall but they will cover it for me if I decide to remove the system within 10 business days. Therefore, I decide to give it a try. ****** was the one who filled out all the information, and ****** was talking with us. ************************************************************************************************ While my brother and I were talking to ******, we asked about the refund and the hole on my wall again, and his answer is yes, we can get your money back and they will cover the hole for me if I cancel the contract within 10 business days. When I sign on the contract, I asked ****** again about the refund. I pointed at the amount she had on the contract ($208.95) and asked her "Will I get this money back when I cancel the contact within 10 business days?" she said yes. *************************************************************** They sent a technology guy to install the system right away even though it was almost 9 pm already. ******************************************************** ***************************************************************************************************************************************** I decided to cancel the contract and ask them to remove the system. On May 12, 2014 Monday morning at 9:17am, I called the liberty security company and told them that I would like to remove the system and cancel my contract. I asked the lady over the phone about the refund, and she told me that they are not going to refund the fees to me. She told me that she will have ****** to contact me to talk about the refund. When ****** called me at 12:06pm on Monday, she kept asking why I want to remove the system, and she passed the phone to her manager - ******. ****** asked me again why I want to remove the system, and he said that's fine. I asked about the refund and the hole on my wall, and he said the installation fee is not refundable and they will not take care the hole. I said you told me that I can get my money back if I cancel the contract within 10 business days, and he said it stated installation fee is not refundable on our contract. I asked him, "what about the hole on my wall, you guys will cover it for me, right?" he answered "No, I didn't say that." I said "You did." And then he said "I will talk to the technology guy and see what they can do." ****** told me they will arrange somebody to remove the system for me so she will call me back to let me know the time. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** On May 12, 2014 Monday afternoon around 5:25pm, ****** finally called me. She told that she has talked to her boss and the $208.95 she has put down on the contract was actually for the activation fee not the installation fee. She was telling me that they did not charge any installation fee from me and the activation fee was actually charged for activate the system and it wasn't charged by them so they have no right to refund this money back to me. As you can see, she had $199 (before GST) beside the installation fee on the contract. I also did pointed at the after tax total ($208.95) and asked her if I can get this money back when I cancel the contract within 10 business days. Her answer was yes, but now she was arguing that this $208.95 was for activation fee which was not refundable, and it was stated on the contract.****************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* ********************************************************************************************************************** The girl said they cannot refund the activation fee to me as this is on the contract. I said this is not what your representatives told me, and I asked her few times if I will get the money back and ****** said yes. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: refund and cancel my contract with no cancellation fee and cover the hole they made on my wall

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/14) */ Liberty attended the customers premises on 05/13/2014 and removed the equipment installed & filled / repaired the hole from the panel removal. The customers account has been fully cancelled as of today 05/14/2014. I have reviewed & confirmed that the customer was never charged for any monitoring or installation fees and will not be charged. All issues on this customers account have been resolved to Liberty's understanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They only mentioned the monitoring and installation fees in their response. What about the activation fee? This is the fee they keep saying they have the right to charge me and not refund it to me. Can they confirm that the activation fee will never be charged on me? Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/05/16) */ Liberty has not and will not be processing any installation and/or activation fee related to this customers account now or in the future. I have also confirmed that the monitoring station cancelled the customers account for both monitoring / billing services effective 05/15/2014. The monitoring station verified that no payments for monitoring services were processed and therefore no refund is required. Thank You

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please refer to the attached / online document. Subject: Complaint regarding security contract between **** ******** and ********* ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** - June 8, 2013 a Saturday ******** rep comes to door offering free security system valued at $1,000.00 if I displayed their sign in front of my house for period of one year. For what I believe was almost an hour was a sales pitch on all the benefits of a security system for free. For free, for free is all I was being told. - Only when I apparently seemed ready to accept the offer was the subject of contract mentioned for monthly service charge. I was actually startled because I was so sure I understood it was free. I'm not usually that gullible but I didn't even think of turning them down and ask them to leave. Something I would normally have done. - The cost 45.00 per month plus taxes but I would be eligible for a discount if I signed a contract. The cost would be reduced to 35.00 per month - The contract had to be written up for full price pending approval by their head office for reduced rate. The discount they promised never happened. I signed contract for what I believe was for 2 years. I was told I had no choice but to charge to my ****. (Now I see contract has space for paying by cheque option) They were here for what seemed like 3 hours, and I was in a great deal of pain and exhausted so I would have done and signed anything to have them leave. - I never wanted an alarm system. My sister had one and I hated how she had to rush to enter security code. I felt I could not deal with that with my mobility restrictions. - Their solution was to keep the remote activator/deactivator on top of monitoring screen located by front door instead of using password. Seemed ok idea at the time ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ At the time I saw nothing wrong with that ************************************************************************* - The rep had me sign the contract ***************************. I was not given any time to read the contract. Even though it was a Saturday they insisted on coming back that evening to install the device. **********************************************************************************************************************************. It took about 2 hours. - I have included a copy of the contract which is illegible just as the original is. The contract shows it is for 60 month. ******************************************************************************************* - If you look at my printed name on the contract you will see that I could not even spell my own name at that time. The signature on the contract is nothing like my own signature. They say I signed 3 documents but I only have one. Also if there were other documents that I supposedly signed on the same day the signature would obviously be similar. *************************************************************************************************************************************** I have never been able to turn on the system when I leave the house. Due to disability I take too long to exit the house. - It took me months to realize they were charging my visa. ************************************************************************* - I didn't find out that I had signed a five year contract until I contacted them to try and shorten the contract as I was not using the system. I would either forget to turn it on or forget I had turned it on I kept sounding the alarm because I didn't know it was on so I stopped using it. To this day I still cringe when I open a door. - In November I contacted them to explain the situation. They insisted the contract was valid. On my insistence they agreed to review it. They wanted me to provide copies of my signature and documentation from my doctor. (in the form of the disability application I made at my work). I advised them at the time that I was unplugging the device as I did not want to pay for hydro on a system I was not using. I did not feel comfortable providing my medical documentation to them as there is no expectation of confidentiality from them. I was also feeling lied to during the sale so did not trust them at that point therefore wanted everything in writing. I sent them the email on December 9, 2013 requesting they do so. To this day I have not received a reply. - Instead on December 20 I received a registered letter telling me (without them admitting they knew it was unplugged) that they will not be held liable if I don't plug the thing back. **************************************************************** - They leave me not recourse but to file a complaint. I'm hoping a third party will help ensure that my medical information is secure and that the company is dealing with me in good faith unlike when they sold me the contract. - I truly believe they knew I was incapable of making an informed decision and took advantage of that fact. I believe that on that day I was told I was signing for 2 years when in fact they had put 5 years on the contract knowing I could not read it. Attached is: Copy of contract with signature, (page 3 contract terms is illegible even on the original copy. Item 1-3 Medical evaluation from my doctor ************************************************************************************************************************************************************ item 4-5 A document containing my correct signature and printed name. Item 6 Copy of email exchanged. Item 7 Registered letter from ******** Item 8 ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: To resolve this issue I request ******** refund all charges made to my **** card for their services. To remove any and all devices installed as soon as possible. The removal of all signs and labels they affixed to my house and placed in my front yard. **********************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/01/24) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Director Contact Phone: ************** Contact Email: *********@libertysecurity.ca Liberty Security has spoken with **** ******** on several occasions between 11/08/2013 to the last contact and/or correspondence date of 12/10/2013. During these conversations Liberty Security asked the customer to provide medical documentation supporting her statements so that Liberty could review and take the appropriate steps to resolve the customers issues and concerns. To date the documentation has never been received until today as it was included in the BBB complaint documents. 01/24/2013 @4:24pm (MST) - I have called and left a message at ****'s home number: XXX-XXX-XXXX to contact me regarding the BBB complaint. Left a message asking **** to call me back to discuss her issues and concerns so that we may come to a resolution. Final Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/01/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Director Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *********@libertysecurity.ca 01/28/2014 - Called & spoke with **** and have advised her that Liberty Security agrees to attend to remove her security system. Advised **** that she will be contacted by our Sub Contractor in the area ****** to schedule a date / time for the removal. Once the equipment has been removed Liberty Security will ****'s account cancelled with the monitoring / billing company Reliance Protectron with no balance of Agreement penalty. I have also advised **** that Liberty will instruct ******** ********** to refund any monitoring fees paid since the date of installation in June 2013. Advised **** that Liberty Security will not be responsible for any repair to holes due to the system removal.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Liberty Security Systems Inc
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart