BBB Accredited Business since

Academy of Learning

Additional Locations

Phone: (780) 424-1144 Fax: (780) 423-8962 10010 100 St, Edmonton, AB T5J 0N3 http://www.academyoflearning.ab.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academy of Learning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Academy of Learning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Academy of Learning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1996 Business started: 11/01/1995 Business started locally: 11/01/1995
Business Management
Elmer Brattberg, Owner Audrey Brattberg, owner Charles Jarvis, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Elmer Brattberg, Owner
Customer Contact: Charles Jarvis, General Manager
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Adult & Continuing Education Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computers - Training

Alternate Business Names
Division of 674050 Ab Ltd

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 17, 2014, I went into The Academy of Learning, telling the worker/counselor I wanted to do billing and coding from home to work remotely. She ************************ had to go back and forth several times to get clarifications; ********************************* I was severely misguided. **************************************************************************************************************************** after getting thru 4 modules I realized I won't be leaning ICD-9 or 10 coding anytime soon with the course, because it's not even in the text book or CD. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ I wanted a refund less of course text books an fees. I was emailed by ******* who told me to read the contract I signed that there is no refund. It's super vague and lists nothing to the effect of no refunds on online certificate courses that I can see.********************************************************************************************************************************************** I want my refund. *******************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund now, I want $840 dollars back *************************************************************************************************************************************************.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/10) */ I was contacted by the General Manager of the Academy of Learning and ******************************************************************************************. He advised me via email that he has approved my refund for the full amount of $840 and the return of the materials/texts at my convenience. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** As it stands there is a cheque to be in the mail.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Academy of Learning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)