BBB Accredited Business since

Great Canadian Roofing Corporation

Phone: (780) 449-6991 Fax: (780) 449-6951 View Additional Phone Numbers 9310 62 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6E 0C9 http://www.greatcanadian.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great Canadian Roofing Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Great Canadian Roofing Corporation include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Great Canadian Roofing Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Great Canadian Roofing Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jason Knapton, President/ Co-Owner Wes Cheyney, General Manager Matt Depeel, Insurance/Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jason Knapton, President/ Co-Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Roofing Service Consultants Siding Contractors Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Contractors - Metal Roof Waterproofing Windows - Installation & Service Window Capping Shingles Siding Materials Gutters & Downspouts Eavestroughing Contractors - Soffit & Fascia Contractors - Acrylic Plaster & Stucco

Service Area
This company states they provide service to the Edmonton and Surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
Great Canadian Exteriors Great Canadian Roofing and Siding

Additional Locations

  • 9310 62 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T6E 0C9 (877) 766-3797

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage roof shingles appeared due to bad roofing installation. Great Canadian Roofing said its not covered by warranty based from the photos I sent. Our home was built in 2010 by ******** ***** ********** **** Roofing installed by Great Canadian Roofing with 5 years workmanship warranty starting November 15, 2010. There are damages in the roofing, lots of raised shingles can be seen and California valley (valley line appears curved not straight). A roofing Contractor who inspected our home informed us its a bad installation, the nails are high that makes the shingles not sticking together (raised on the base not flat). Based from the Warranty Certificate, the roof shingles were installed in November 15, 2010 when the temperature is very low which results in defective installation.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the roofing with proper roof shingles installation accepted by the trade and following the manufacturer's installation requirements, specifications and recommendations (ex. Ambient temperature requirement during installation, fastening methodology, etc.).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/20) */ This roof was originally installed through a homebuilder contract with ******** ***** in 2010. All product and job specifications are provided and requested by the builder for each job. For all winter and cold application roofing installations, the option to "hand tab" or hand seal each shingle is provided to the builder to keep the manufacturer's wind warranty validate. The builder in this situation declined the option to "hand tab" or hand seal the shingles on this roof. If there are workmanship related deficiencies on this roof, Great Canadian will complete these items within the workmanship warranty period. As stated in our Warranty certificate, Great Canadian will not be held responsible for any "acts of God", ie, wind, hail, fire. In addition to the workmanship warranty, Great Canadian cannot offer wind warranty to the client or ******** ***** if the winter/cold weather shingle applications are not accepted and follow as set forth by the manufacturer and contractor (Great Canadian). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/09/11) */ There has been no communication from Canadian Roofing Company verbal or written to address our complaint. There is no site inspection done that we are aware of for them to say that the defects are not covered by the warranty. They have basically generalized that our complaint is not valid and not covered by warranty. Nothing was done, not even a quick inspection to evaluate our complain. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/09/17) */ If your shingles are lifting because the roof was installed in November in cooler temperatures, this unfortunately is an issue you have with the builder and not the contractor. As the contractor, we do not select when the homes are ready to have the work completed on them. As stated in my previous responses, Great Canadian will gladly complete an inspection with the client of their roof and determine if there are any workmanship deficiencies to be corrected. This can be arrange through myself *** ******* at ****@greatcanadian.ca. Shingles that are lifting due to a cold season install is not considered a warranty item. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 28, 2015/09/24) */ This has with reference to your email received on September 24, 2015. We would like to let you know that we were very satisfied with the manner the Great Canadian Roofing has addressed our complaint. We have expressed this in the BBB files and in previous email to you on September 22nd. Our roof will be repaired, a call is being awaited next week for repair schedule. We trust the Great Canadian Roofing with their outstanding reputation in the industry, prompt action and professionalism they displayed. Regards, ****** ******** Cellphone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

6/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple problems with completing the job:1) shingling crew left ruts in the boulevard. I was given a letter that these would be fixed. I hasn't happened.2) pounds of spikes and ferrules left behind by the eavestroughing crew were never cleaned up.3) My awnings were taken down, and left for me to replace or dispose of.4) the job involved 3 phases: roofing, insulation upgrade, soffits, and eavestroughing. To my dismay, the job dragged from July into November.5) I have called Great Canadian numerous times, because of these details, and nothing happens. Final inspections per our contract have not been done. ************************************************************************* Product_Or_Service: roofing, soffits, eavestroughing, insulation

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the final inspections done, and the boulevard repairs done. And I would advise others to withhold final payment until completion

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/03) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* - GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@greatcanadian.ca The roofing project for Mr. ******* was completed July 30th. An inspection by Great Canadian was done on the completed work July 30th. During this inspection, Mr. ******* was present onsite and signed our "Certificate of Completion" approving the roofing work that was done. The remaining exterior work was completed November 13th, 2014. The ruts that were left by our supplier's delivery team in the boulevard, unfortunately could not be completed during the fall and winter months and were scheduled to be fixed this spring. Our Supplier attended to site and fixed the ruts on April 17th, 2015. We are unable to locate any emails or voice mails the client had attempted contact indicating this work had not been done. There were no complaints made to the General Manager of Great Canadian or other senior management members. Great Canadian has contacted the client and set a tentative date for an inspection to be held onsite with the client to review all the work that was completed and ensure the customer is 100% satisfied with repairs that have already been completed to the boulevard grass.

2/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found the company through the BBB website. The company has a contact us page that informs about free estimates for roof repairs. I have filed the contact us form with the details what has to be repaired. I got a response from the company that there is a $175 + GST fee to obtain the "free" repair quote. The company has explained that the free estimate is only available when you need to do a full roof replacement (which probably is over $10000 or more). I am not an expert in roofing, so I cannot tell the company to replace the roof, since I do not know what needs to be done to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: Advertise in a more informative way like: If you need the roof replaced, estimate is free, otherwise, pay us for the inspection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/14) */ This client had an emergency service requirement on his home with the roof leaking. The client was looking for us to come out and inspect and repair this emergency problem. The potential client's expectations was this service would be Free because he was saying he required an "Estimate" not service and our website indicates we provide "Free Estimates for complete roof replacements. Our company will review our website context to ensure other potential clients do not make this same mistake. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Show me where it says "Free Estimates for complete roof replacements". No where on the site it says that. The company offers a range of services. The contact form says: Get a Free Estimate. On the home page, there is a box that says: Get a Free Estimate. It does not even indicate the service the free estimate is available. *******************************************************************

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Great Canadian roofing was contracted to complete repairs to my home as a result of a hail storm july 2013. the repairs would consist of replacing the roof and eavestroughing aswell as some facia. In October 2013 a 3rd Great Canadian third party contractor to supplied and deliver the shinge to the residence. In the course of delivering the shingles they over loaded seveal trusses that caused them to fail. Great Canadian has taken no ownership of managing the repairs they tell me that it is the 3rd party contractor that is responsable and really have washed there hands of it. Well i can tell you that it now has been six month since the damage occured and on a good note the 3rd party supplier and i have managed to get most tof the repairs complete ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Well it seems now that they want to get paid and are sending me invoices that state 90 days over due. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* I have left messages, they dont return calls, ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I wonder if the overdue invoice will be a mark on my impecable credit rating. *************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: My settlement is easy, First, stop sending me a invoice for work that has not been complete and ensure that credit rating is intact. Second, someone senior take some ownership and manage the remaining work to be completed including the deficiencies and provide the proper warrenties to release funds. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ I *** ******* was in phone conversation with ******* ******* on April 23rd, regarding his concerns left on my voice mail earlier in the day. I apologize for the invoice he received that noted his account was 90 days over due. I explained to Mr. ******* this invoice was sent out in error through our new accounting system we have implemented. I assured Mr. ******* this notice does not affect his credit rating score and once all the repairs were complete to his home, we will then meet together and finalize the outstanding amount. Great Canadian Roofing has been working with our shingle supplier that caused the reported damage back in September of 2013 to repair the affected areas to the client's home. Significant coordination with Great Canadian, our Shingle supplier, the repair contractors and the client have taken place to arrange suitable meeting times around the client's schedule to have the damage repaired to the home. During my phone conversation with Mr. *******, I tentatively set up a meeting during the week of April 28th, to re-attend the home and the previous work completed and address and additional questions or concerns they have. As mentioned in this correspondence from *******, the repairs are nearing completion over the next few weeks and I *** ******* will be in constant contact with Mr. ******* they are on track and completed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appriciate the response provide by Great Canadian and agree that they did contact me on the 23rd of April, this was due to a voice message that i had left them and after my complaint was filed. The concern around the invoice i will accept but will monitor my credit rating for any impacts assocaited. I would like to speak to the comments regarding the coordination of the repairs to my home. First of all no one from Great Canadian have visited my home since last fall. All the subcontractors that have executed work on behalf of Great Canadians Supplier have been contractors that i have researched, contacted and met to review the scope of work and allow them to provide an estimate to the shingle supplier and then manage them at my residence during the execution of their scope of work! The shingle supplier did provide the structural engineering firm to complete a structural evaluation of the roof system that provide a engineered resolution for the stuctural damage, which was complete and signed off. But let me be clear no one has attending my residence other than myself to attend these meetings and during any repairs. I will acknowledge that the shingle suppiler has been the only one that i have had contact with since the event and thru the repairs. So moving forward the roof repairs should be completed by the end of next week, the only thing left to do will be to get estimates for the paiting to forward it to the shingle supplier for review and approval and get that completed. Once this is completed then we will need to address the oustanding issues concerning the roofing product installation and warrenties. and finally the remaining scope of work will be required to be completed. ************************************************************************************************************************************** Great Canadian has contacted me to review the product installation concerns, this will likey take place over the course of the next week.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Great Canadian replaced our roof shingles just under one year ago. Our roof was damaged from hail and we filed for and were approved to have the roof replaced through insurance. Great Canadian was the company which our insurance company sent out for the initial assessment to determine if we had hail damage or not. Our roof needed new shingles regardless of whether it was covered by insurance or not. As such, we had a had a roofer lined up for a few weeks down the road. (A small time contractor who had done our eavestroughs earlier in the year). Being smart consumers, we also got a quote from Great Canadian. The salesman for Great Canadian told us they had a cancellation and that they could do roof in three weeks. At the time we were considering selling our house and therefore jumped at the offer to have the roof done earlier than initially anticipated. We cancelled the other roofer and paid Great Canadian a deposit. Three weeks came and went and we heard nothing from Great Canadian. I called them repeatedly and was unable to get anybody to return my calls. Finally I received a call from them and was told that they had made a mistake and they could not do the promised work until they did "numerous other roofs". They told us we would have our roof done sometime next year. A seemingly endless back and forth ensued where I pushed Great Canadian to stick to their word and do the work as promised. Months later a crew eventually did show up. They came in the dead of winter without warning and basically started to tear up the roof. Given a choice we NEVER would have consented to have the roof done in those conditions. Regardless, they had started and there was little we could do. The crew was at our house sporadically over the next few weeks. It was an ugly job that ended in us having days on end of cleaning in the summer. (I have included this preamble as I wanted to paint an accurate picture as to the level of service we received and frustration we have felt with this company). One day while the roofers were at our house my boyfriend left for work. He forgot something and went back to the house. When he returned he found that the roofing crew had let loose a large husky dog in our yard without our permission. My boyfriend voiced his displeasure at the situation but was pressed for time and ultimately had to leave for work. He called me as I would be home in a few hours and asked that I deal with the situation. I called Great Canadian from work and left a message about the situation. I never received a call back from Great Canadian. I do however know that they did call the crew eventually as the next day the crew told my boyfriend they got in trouble for the dog. When I got home that evening, the dog was still in our yard. I went into the house and observed the dog from the kitchen window. The dog was sitting on our deck and was a one point, sitting on top of our hot tub cover. I was relieved to see that although he was a large dog, he seemed to be calm. The crew came down to speak with me and the owner of the dog told me he didn't think having the dog in our yard was a big deal. I explained to him that seeing as we didn't know the dog and that it was done behind our back, we were uncomfortable with the situation. Eventually the dog was removed. The hot tub cover which the doq was sitting on was a new cover. After the roofers left, I observed small cuts in the area where the dog was sitting. These cuts were not there the night before and were only in the spot where the dog was sitting. (I still have the cover and photographs which show the cover is in like new condition except where the dog was). The cuts were small and we didn't think it was a big deal so we didn't make an issue out of them. To be honest, we were worried if we made a big deal that our roof just wouldn't get done. As time past, water seeped into those little cuts. What we didn't realize was that regardless of how small those cuts were, water was getting in and completely waterlogged the insulation on the one side of the hot tub cover. (The other side was fine and we still have both inserts to show the difference). We called the company we bought the tub from and since the cover was relatively new, they replaced the damaged insert under warranty. They would not however, replace the damaged cover. The problem was now that unless the cover was repaired, more water would get into the cover and damage the new insert. We attempted to repair the cuts with gorilla glue (recommended by the staff at home depot) but were ultimately unsatisfied that this would solve the problem. We purchased a new hot tub cover (just the shell) from ********************* for $294. I have the receipt available should it be needed. I called Great Canadian and explained the situation to them. I emailed them photographs at their request of the damage. I have called and left two more messages and I can't even get anyone to return my calls to confirm that they received the email with the photographs. We shouldn't be responsible for damage caused by an animal which didn't have our permission to be in our yard.

Desired Settlement: $294 This is the cost (including gst) of the replacement hot tub cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Great Canadian dutifully responds to the customer's concern. While we do have rules that states our crews are not to bring animals on job sites, based on the customer's comments it would seem that we did. We will review this file further if the customer can provide the receipt for the hot tub cover and the photographs that they had of the damage to the cover. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will wait to see what this business actually does. While the complaint above indicates the company will mail a cheque and then email a release for me to sign, an email they sent me indicates I will have to come in to their office and sign something and pick up the cheque. Due to the conflicting response, I would like to wait until I see war actually happens. Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2013/11/12) */ We have received the pictures the client has sent to us regarding the damage of the hot tub cover. While a considerable amount of time has pasted since we completed this job, we will agree to provide this client the compensation they have requested based on the communication the client had provided during the completion of the job and pictures supporting. we will be mailing a cheque to the client by the November 15th. We ask the client confirm receipt of the cheque by email to wesc@greatcanadian.ca and sign the release form accompanying the cheque for the damages.

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday July 18, 2013 Great Canadian Roofing Company came out to shingle my house and garage and shed. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** First ***** the foreman was not there and there clearly was no one in charge. I noticed at one point that ice and water shield was placed over the old tar paper on the south side of the house. The ice and water shield should be on the wood not on old tar paper. Later as the rain was coming down that evening I noted the crew were hastily nailing shingles onto my yellow wood instead of the black felt paper promised in the contract. I found out the next day they 'ran out' of felt paper. My fascia on the garage was damaged by a ladder that did not have proper protective gear on it and my gutter over the shed was caulked in a messy sloppy job. The promised new turbines were not installed and my old whirly bird was put on the roof. I was upset about these issues and met with the roofing general manager *** *******, **** ***************************** It was agreed that the roof would be fixed and that my concerns would be addressed. On Monday August 5, 2013 the maintenance crew arrived to do the work. I was informed that the flashing had not been properly installed and that the vents were in the wrong place. This surprised ******************* myself as we had not talked about vent placement in the meeting. When the remedial work was completed that day I had two turbines close together on my roof not properly spaced apart, and vents that were just about 3 feet above my gutters. The old vents holes were covered with metal rather than wood. ********************************************************************************************************************************************* I was informed that (1.) the square vents were now put in the wrong place, too low and this could lead to ice damming issues in the winter and (2.) that there were numerous nails exposed throughout my roof, (3.) the ridge capping was not correctly done, (4.) the turbines were too close together and one was crooked and over all it was a careless job. I also went to **** **** with one of the gentlemen who inspected the roof and took along photos of the installation. We wanted to determine if there was proper vent placement and the staff there confirmed the vents were too low; they are exhaust vents not intake vents. ******************************************************** vent holes should be covered with wood not metal because metal attracts frost and as well it is unacceptable to have nails exposed on the roof. I again brought all these concerns in an email to the general manager, *** ******* and requested that my roof be re shingled. Again *** met with me and stated that the vents were placed that low for soffit ventilation. *** encouraged me to call the ******** ******* to confirm that this was proper placement of the vents. I contacted a gentleman at the ******** ******* (***** ******** and he stated only in rare circumstances were these vents used that low (for strict fire codes in newer developments) and he stated it was only a second best option for the vents to be down that low. I also went one more time to **** **** to discuss the correct placement of vents. Again I was told those vents need to be near the top of the roof (where they were put originally) because heat rises and it needs to escape from the vents as they are exhaust vents not intake vents. I was also told there is a basic formula for number of vents per square foot of house; more vents were ordered for my house than were even ever put on my roof. I brought these findings to *** per email and again requested that my house be re roofed before payment can be made. The roofing manager *** agreed to put the vents back to their original position and cover the vents holes with wood as I requested. He also stated it was not necessary to re roof but they would replace each shingle individually with exposed nails. I stated I did not want another patch up job since this was supposed to be a new roof. The ridge capping was not addressed in the repair either. There are pictures of vents, turbines and exposed nails and torn shingles on my house and exposed nails on my garage. *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like them to re do my roof in the professional manner they promised or to release me from the contract so that I can get my roof re done by another company in a satisfactory manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ When Great Canadian met with this client after the reroofing was completed, deficient items were discussed and agreed to be fixed. We agreed to the client, that Great Canadian would honor the contract the customer signed and complete all contracted work to their home. It was expressed to the client that the roof did not need to be completely redone and could be repaired as efficiently and to the quality of being redone. The vents that were put on the client's home, 3 feet up from the eave edge were set in place to act as an "air intake" to create air flow within the attic space as we believed through our investigation of the client's attic at time of estimate was not providing enough air movement through the soffits. The vent installation in these areas was included in the client's contract and indicated on the original estimate provided to them. After a lengthy debate, Great Canadian agreed to remove these vents from this location and reinstate the wood in the holes, cover with new ice and water membrane and re-shingle these areas with new shingles even though this was included in the contract to complete. It was and still is our recommendation to have these vents in this location to create air flow and properly ventilate the attic space but will remove them at the client's request. Great Canadian has also agreed to repair the few ripped shingles, shingles with exposed nails and place wood inserts into the old vent holes that were originally covered with metal,then reapply the roofing membrane and new shingles in these areas. This can be done without having to redo the entire roof. Great Canadian is committed to providing this client the work contracted and have proven we are capable of repairing areas of the roof without the need of redoing the entire roof. Great Canadian has also offer the client a credit for the one piece of damaged fascia on the garage gable. Great Canadian would like to complete these repairs as we have stated we will, allow the client to have their own personal friend confirm the work completed and then receive payment for the job. This client has not made payment for the roofing material and labour used on their home and a Lien was place by our company protecting our interests. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ********************************************************************************************************************************************* **************************************** I have decided to forego having the roof re-shingled and allow for the company to make the repairs as they stated however the ridge capping still has not been addressed. When the first repairs were completed on my roof the top couple rows of shingles were removed to put on the felt paper that was not installed (the crew ran out of felt paper). When this repair was completed the shingles originally supplied for ridge capping were not used. When Great Canadian comes to do the second repair I would like the ridge cap to be re done with the 3 tab shingle that the roof was originally 'loaded' with for the first shingling. I would also like clarification from the company where the vents are going to end up after this second repair; are they going to be restored to their original place or removed altogether? When replacing shingles with exposed nails, please include the garage and shed along with the house. To avoid further miss communication it would be helpful to have a work order sheet outlining all the work the company will be doing on this repair. Another item not addressed were the two pro turbos being placed close together not evenly spaced apart; is this common practice and is it acceptable? I have also been charged for more vents than were ever put on my roof. Great Canadian has been on my roof two times, this will be the third time and the second repair.******************************************************************************************************************************************. When the work is done satisfactorily, payment will be made. I look forward to having a professionally completed job. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/10/31) */ I just wanted to let you know we have completed all of the repairs the client had requested to her satisfaction. We have received payment from the client as well.

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my roof shingled and they caused damage to my soffits, fascia and eavestroughs. They left nails, cigarette butts everywhere. I have tried over and over again to get them to send someone out to repair and they made it even worse. They charged my **** without me signing off on the job and I have asked them to reverse the charge and it hasn't been done after talking to them few times over 2 weeks. Date work was done about Aug. 16 2013 My amount paid $2279.80 Invoice number XXXXXXXX Paid ****

Desired Settlement: them to reverse the charges until the work is complete. Then for them to have the damage repaired in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ This roofing project we completed for this client was through their insurance company as part of an insurance claim to repair their roof. It is our company policy to collect any deductible or product upgrade costs that are above what the insurance claim covers prior to any work starting on the home. during the removal and installation of new shingles, the client's eaves through on the front garage section we slightly scratched by the falling debris. We attempted to touch up these scratches with a paint color closest in color match to the existing eaves trough color. We did not remove and repair the eaves troughs in this section as they were already severely damaged and dented by the clients RV trailer. We have already spoken to this client and since agreed to replace the eaves trough on the front on his garage were the RV damage and our scratches were. This repair has already been completed on September 19th. The repairs the client requested have been completed as well as the replacement of eaves trough on the front of the garage at no charge to the client. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response because the job still in not done. For the billing issue we were told up front that we had to pay the deductible and that once we signed the so called "Happy Form" they would bill us for the balance. I called and talked to them 3 times and was told that they would talk to their accounting department and have the charges reversed which never happened. ************************************************************************************************************** For slight damaged to the eaves through, it was multiple spots and not minor damage. ******************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************************ They adjusted my one eaves trough and caused a joint to leak and are planing on charging me to fix it, that's if they come back it has been a couple weeks. ****************************************************************************** We are also still picking up nails over a month later Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/08) */ On October 7th, we have completed the additional repairs to this client's eaves trough at no charge to the client. I have spoke to client directly on October 8th to confirm everything has been completed and there are no outstanding issues. The client has confirmed all repairs are completed.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The original contract for roof repairs was signed on March 26, 2013. The job was scheduled for April 15. On April 15 the contractor and ***** discussed the details of the repair, and the contractor suggested an additional repair that would eliminate water leaking between the roof edge and the eavestroughs. He said he would have it added to the contract, but did not have the materials necessary to complete that work on the same day. After several weeks of not receiving a revised work order, ***** contacted their office. On May 16, a revised work order was emailed to him. Sometime between May 16 and 27 the additional edge stripping was allegedly installed. On May 27 we had rainfall, and a lot of water was observed still dripping between the roof edge and the eavestrough along one side of the house. Standing below the structure looking up, we were able to observe daylight along the gap that should have been covered by the stripping, had it been installed. The roof edge of the other side of the house appeared to have been covered correctly. On May 28 ***** emailed the company, advising them that a portion of the roof appeared not to have had the edge stripping installed and requested that the work be completed. He received a response on the same day. ****** ******* of Great Canadian emailed back assuring ***** that **** (the contractor) would be out as soon as possible to address our concerns, but that they were backed up at the moment and it could take a week or two for that to happen. We waited several weeks to hear back on a completion date. In late May we received a ********** Receipt via Canada Post showing that the cost of both the original job plus the additional work had been charged in full (May 21). On June 4 ***** emailed ****** again, saying we had received our receipt and asking whether anybody had been out to finish the work yet. There was no response. On June 24 there was finally a reply to *****'s email, wherein ****** apologized for the delay and blamed it on the weather. She said **** would be out for the rest of that week and that she would have him come out "first thing next week" although he was not working on Monday, July 1. That is the last contact we have had from this business. We still observe water running between the roof edge and the gutter. **************************************************************************** **********************, in addition to the correspondence via email, ***** has phoned the office many many times, encountering voicemail every time, leaving messages, and not getting any response to his messages.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to either refund the portion of the charge for the stripping we had requested to have installed so that we can hire a different business to do it in a timely fashion, or we would like them to commit to a date by which they will complete the work. If they complete the work, we would like photographs taken to document the finished job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ At the client's request, we revisited this job site to verify the work has been completed as contracted. This was completed on Tuesday July 23, 2013 at 10:46am. Pictures of the completed work have been taken have been provided to the client by email today July 26th.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Great Canadian Roofing Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)