BBB Accredited Business since

Regional Maple Leaf Communications Inc

Phone: (780) 420-0193 Fax: (780) 421-8849 10213 111 St NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 2V6 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Regional Maple Leaf Communications Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Regional Maple Leaf Communications Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 1978 Business started: 12/01/1977 Business started locally: 12/01/1977 Business incorporated 10/31/1986 in AB
Business Management
Sharon Wilson, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Sharon Wilson, CFO
Business Category

Publishers - Magazine Publishers - Book

Hours of Operation
Sunday: Closed
Monday to Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm
Saturday: Closed

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We advertised in their children's magazine once. After that, we were unable to continue advertising, and told them so. Our business is now closed, and we have advised RMC of this, requesting that our phone number be removed from their call list. Six months later, I still receive multiple calls every month, harassing me to contribute to their magazine. Every time, I request to be removed from their call list. I get a call from a different number every time. My number is also on the national do not call list, but this doesn't seem to bother this company. We wish for the company to cease and desist with their continual harassing phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Do not phone us ever again.

Business Response: Good morning,  It is not our desire to not follow through with a clients request.  If is their wish to be removed then we do exactly that.  The National Do Not Call List does not mitigate business to business relationships.  Companies are to maintain their own lists and apply it as such which we do.  So effective today's date we have added the following phone number to our own list in order to satisfy this request.  ************ Company Name: ********* ***** ******* in ******.  If there are other numbers associated to this company then it would be wise for that information to be provided as well.  I'm sorry this has happened and hopefully all is taken care of now.  Best Regards ****** ******

Business Response:

I have searched our records and found that the record that was put on our DNC list initially had this phone number as a secondary number so it will have been removed from

our contact list at the same time.  So I believe we have fulfilled our earlier response and there should be no more contact with the following company provided they do not retain 

another number that to date has not been provided to us.  Thanks and best regards.


****** ******

Office Manager

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******** ******

7/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Regional Maple leaf invoiced me $269.85 for a advertisement for which I never agreed, I only asked for info. This company is asking for that money Regional Maple leaf phoned me (they have only be accredited by you for a months and they have 12 complains), and offered to advertised in their newspaper, I said send me the information for review and I will get back to you if I decide to put an ad in your newspaper. A few months later I received a collection note from ******* ******** ***. and now they send me a polite letter asking for partial payment. I do not think is fair to pay for something that I never agreed upon. your help is appreciated

Desired Settlement: I do not wish to pay for something I never agreed to. I wish both company to cancel the bill and never contact me again.

Business Response:

This account dates back to September 28, 2015 so it makes it more difficult to resolve.

However, the sales rep that spoke to ******* has worked here for a number of years and does not have a history of putting orders in when the client says send me something to review. We have a verification department that confirmed the order with him.  In the verification everything is clearly explained to them including the price the book when it is payable etc there is no room for misunderstanding at that point.  If there was a misunderstanding that is usually where this would come out and the sale would be voided immediately. It is not in our best interest to send out orders that have not been pre-approved.  We also explained to ******* that the verification will be recorded for quality and training purposes.  Because there has been so much time that has elapsed our system has purged out that recording.  I do have on record that ******* called our office on December 1, 2015 to get more information and the end results of this was he had not seen the book his ad was in yet and could we please send it to him.  We sent a book out on Dec 7, 2015 that is the last we heard until he registered this complaint.  

The ad was published in the book October 26, 2015.  There have been reminder statements that have sent out on a regular basis did not get any feed back that there may have been an error on our part.  Don't know about you but when I get something in the mail that does not sit well with me at my office i make every effort to get it resolved right away.We had our PR department try to contact their office on a number of occasions to remind them their account was way over due.  Messages were left on February 3 2016 February 22 2016 & March 2, 2016 we were trying to avoid sending the account to collection.  With no other recourse that is where it ended up.  I believe ******* was not acting in good faith and if he would have responded to our many calls and correspondence maybe this could have been avoided.

His company's file has been put on our DNC list due to the fact that it is in our best interest no one enjoys being accused of things they are not party to.  I have also decided to close his file with the collection agency unfortunately I'm unable to provide the recording of the verification at this time to refresh his memory of this order.  The amount of this invoice is immaterial to us but must mean more to them.

In closing, I wish ******* would have been less irresponsible and responded to the correspondence we sent out or at the very least returned any of the many messages we left on his answering machine, which he neglected to bring to light when placing this complaint with the BBB.  The end result here is what they wanted but I wonder if he even thought about the consequences of his action.

What keeps us motivated is being able to provide our great publications to as many of the communities as possible.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


********* ******* 

unfortunately my English is not very well  as you probably noticed in your recording of the conversations and I never understood  What exactly you were offering me.   The reason of my phone call  with the request for the book, was  with the  purpose to understand what the invoice was for  and to answer your phone msg.   Moreover I believe a person has the right to look at the product before its purchase.  I never received any proof of the ad or the product to be verified before posting.   How can I agree to something that I never saw ?  

 My name is Missed Spelled in your invoice and the postal code  is incorrect.     This demonstrate that It was A  misunderstanding between us.   Your public  disrespect to potential buyers demonstrate the type of business that you run.

 I request that you do not ever contact me and delete all my personal information immediately.

Business Response:

I'm not sure why there is anything to not accept.  We have closed the file and put this company on our DNC list effective immediately.  There is nothing more we can do at this point maybe client should respond with what they feel is unacceptable.


Best Regards,


****** ******

Office Manager RMC

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by a lady in March trying to sell me advertising. I explained to her that my business was not up and running and it would be some time. She continued to harass me weekly in which I stopped answering calls from that number. Finally after about 2 months of consistent weekly calls from this lady I answered the phone in Late May or early June and advised I still did not have my business up and running and didn't want to "advertise" a business that is not legitimate. This sales agent asked if I was still trying to open my business and said yes. She then advised me that she could "get the order started" and once I was up and running all I had to do was log into this website and my advertising would begin. She stated once I started to use the service I would be billed at $248...AGAIN, I advised her that my business was not up and running ...again she insisted that I was not being billed until I started using this website so I agreed she get this order started for future use. I received a call from a **** in October of 2014 and he was threatening me to pay or else they would sue me, I told him that I never used the service and would not be paying for a service I told the lady I could not utilize and I hung up on this guy **** from Regional Maple Leaf Communications. On November 26, 2014 I received a letter from ******* ********* *** a collection agency demanding $248 ********************************************************************** I then called Maple Leaf on December 17, 2014 and spoke with ********** who transferred me to ***** a Sales Manager who was unable to help me and then I got a phone call about 30 minutes later from a ***** who states he is Customer Service Supervisor. I advised ***** that this sales lady lied ..she said this would not be active until I logged into this website and not to worry if I don't ....I advised him that I told her more than 20 times in 2 phone calls that I did not have a legal business. He played a confirmation call recorded when I agreed to this sale but I advised him that the SALES lady told me that she was just getting the order ready that it would not take place until I used this website. ***** demanded I pay the money as well. I advised him that I was lied to by the sales lady when she said I was not obligated UNLESS I used this website and wanted this balance of $248 gone since I never used the service and was lied to. I asked for the original sales calls and he stated they did not record those. I advised ***** I want to hear the call with the sales lady so I can prove to them that she lied and I was being harassed into this service. Again ***** declined and said that they don't have record of the calls. I advised him that either they can clear this balance for a service I never received or I will file a complaint with the BBB, he stated he didn't care so I ended the call.

Desired Settlement: I want this balance zeroed out and I want them to never contact me for anything ever again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2016/02/23) */ Case # ******* ********* ******** ************ Upon reviewing this complaint I would like to address it first with the following. We are a business to business company. We work five days a week contacting businesses from 8:00am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday only. If this company was not in business like they indicated here it's left me with some confusion as to how we were able to contact them. Their number would have been registered as a business in order for us to place the call originally? We know our procedures and would not deviate for this potential client. What I can see from the details on this file is there were conversations between our office and *********, due to the fact that we were unable to resolve the issues between us and them the decision was made to close it December 2014. This was done based on the length of time we have been in business. History helps us know when it is feasible to continue to pursue outstanding accounts or not. Due to the amount of the invoice it was determined it would be a waste of good resources and money. I'm sure this resolution should meet their satisfaction. Taking this a step further have also removed their name and phone number from our company's contact list which satisfies our firm. In the end everyone should be okay with the outcome. Regards, Sharon W***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 18, 2016/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terms of offer are confusing and vague. Used unfair tactics to manipulate. These are the facts as best that we can recall them: On 09/18/15 my husband (*****) was called by a RMLC representative *** regarding advertising in *************************** magazine. He indicated she could send him information but that he was not interested in purchasing any advertising. ***** was under the impression that literature would be mailed for review and discussion. An email arrived on 09/22/15 indicating "the order which was purchased during a recent telephone conversation". The email goes on to indicate "If no changes are received before October 1, 2015, your ad will appear in *************************** publication and website as shown." At some point during the week of December 1st, ***** received an invoice indicating that payment for advertising was overdue (this is the first invoice we received). ***** received a phone call from a supervisor asking ***** to confirm information, during which time ***** continued to indicate that he was not interested in paying for advertising. During the same week, we contacted RMLC to indicated the invoice was in error. Our accounts payable person (****) spoke to a woman in Accounting, who indicated she would have to pass the information on. A man then contacted our A/P, and played a recording of a conversation with *****. On this recording, **** heard ***** clearly indicate to this individual that he was not interested in paying for advertising. When I called RMLC on 12/06/15 to speak with their accounting department, I was advised by ********* that the invoice was going to be sent to collections. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was connected to *******. He indicated that he had spoken to Scott and the conversation was recorded. I asked to hear it - some of the recording was muffled and disjointed; other areas, he spoke so fast it was hard to understand. No where on the recording did I hear Scott saying that he had no interest in paying for advertising, so I am concerned that the tape was edited. Nor did I clearly hear ******* tell ***** that the conversation was being recorded (******* specifically told me that he must tell people when they are being recorded). I asked for a copy of the agreement indicating that we agreed to purchase advertising and services. ******* advised me that they relied on the email sent in Sept and that to them, opening the email and clicking on the link indicated acceptance. I ended the call by telling him I needed to speak with *****. We did not intend to purchase advertising with this company and continually made that intent clear. I do not believe that the terms of their offer are clear and concise; and that they have intentionally been vague and confusing, taking advantage of busy business owners by using unfair tactics.

Desired Settlement: I believe that these practices are unscrupulous and malicious and that we were tricked. We do not wish this to effect our credit rating nor do we wish to pay for advertising that we indicated we had no intention of purchasing. We would like the full amount removed from our "account" and no record on our credit score. Thank you very much for any assistance you can provide.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2016/02/23) */ Case # 1658295 ************** Here are the details of this account to the best of my ability. Yes, on 09/18/15 ***** and *** did speak to each one another. This is how the conversation would have progressed based on our companies procedures. *** would have first established if she was speaking to the person who could make financial decisions. ***** had assumed this position with her so she would have explained to him who she was, who we were and why she calling him. A condensed version - The *************************** book, distributed free of charge in his community we contact businesses to pre-reserve the spots and he would not have to pay until it was published. He would get a copy of the invoice with his ad on it to peruse to make sure his company would be represented well in the publication. She would have explained to him put the invoice away until he gets a copy later in the year once it was published. Once he approved the ad she then would have explained to ***** there is one final step and that a manager (****** in this case) needed to verify the purchase. After introducing himself ****** told ***** that this part of the conversation may be recorded for quality control. (attached the audio file) We have no idea why ******* would actually accuse us of editing the file. If you listen closely enough you will hear a background page for *************, (me). ******* says when she heard the recording we failed to inform ***** that the verification was being recorded which is incorrect. In the recording though when ***** was asked if he uses P.O's for advertising, he stammered a bit and said he was a small firm and and overwhelmed, ****** then went on to say sure so it's ok to just invoice you and ***** says right. ***** did not say he did not want the ad at any point during the verification. If he had we would have stopped the order right then, that's what the verification is for. He said okay so on the 21st of September 2014 we invoiced ******************** and mailed an invoice to the address they had confirmed during the verification. As far as not receiving an invoice before December 1st we have no explanations for this we have no control over our postal service. I can only offer you the following based on our records. If their mail was not delivered and returned to us this information would have been recorded on their file as a matter of protocol. We mailed the initial invoice with the ad copy September 21st, same day as the link was emailed that they have made reference to. All correspondence was sent to the exact address that appears on this complaint. October 26, 2015 the booklet with their advertisement in it and another invoice were mailed out together when our service to ************ was done. One more invoice was sent out on November 26, 2015. We got light of an issue on December 1st when ***** called back saying he did not approve this advertisement. An extra benefit we provide to all our clients with email addresses a link to go directly to their advertisement right away where they can make any adjustments or send us back quires. When ****** was speaking to ******* he explained that according to our log files on September 22nd they had logged in successfully to their file. When anyone logs in everything is pretty clear (see attached example) We do understand that sometimes circumstances change and this would have been an opportunity to either contact us and explain there has been a misunderstanding or if need be to cancel completely. This book was not published until October 26, 2015 so there was no reason for us not to cancel if that was their desire. In her complaint she does say to the best that they could recall them. I can understand why *******'s accounts of the circumstances are not completely accurate as she is not the original person we spoke to when this order was approved. She also is not stating the facts accurately when she was indeed the person who spoke to ****** earlier in the year either. It is grossly unfair and unprofessional to make false accusations and believe a retraction is in order now that we have provided the events as they did happen. We take complaints seriously and did try to resolve them in good faith prior to getting the BBB involved. We are sorry it came down to this and that they did not get the resolution they were seeking. This is our position and always will be, when we have done something wrong we will admit to it and adjust accordingly, when we have not we will not as in this particular case have not done what we are being accused of. We are however going forward removing this company and their phone number from any further contact with us effective immediately as we don't believe we can change anything. I know this is not the response they were seeking but sometimes we have to make a stand and since there are a lot of inconsistencies here this is the time. Regards, ************* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2016/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is obvious that there is a drastic difference of opinion and interpretation of the facts in this matter. We remain firm in our belief that we were not intending to purchase advertising from *** and that there absolutely was not a "meeting of the minds". I maintain that the tape that was played for me was muffled, disjointed and so hard to understand that there was no clear recording of what being said. There was no previous attempt at a resolution as during my call to the company, as I was told that it was going to collections. My understanding of the resolution as it stands is that we will be removed from any further communications and that we will not be responsible for any invoicing. Perhaps in the future, *** will consider clarifying their procedures to prevent further confusion in the companies it deals with.

11/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Regional maple leaf communications claims they placed our ad in their children books, they want us to pay for it yet we have not seen our ad the Regional Maple Leaf Communications was going to place our business ad in their children books they distribute, however when they sent us the books in February 2015 our ad was no where in the books. when we first spoke to them about placing our ad they said we didn't have to pay until we approved the proof. we didn't pay any of the invoices they have been sending us over the last few months. we have yet to see our ad we finally got a hold of Marcus from Regional Maple Leaf Communications when I spoke to him he said its happened a few times where they send the books to the wrong areas I told him im not paying for an ad they never let me proof before they ran it. he said they printed them in march and July of 2015 without me knowing. I called on September 17th 2015 and asked for them to send me the ad they claimed they ran in their books I then noticed when I got the e-mail that they used a logo I had on google through the yellow pages (I have never sent them our logo)I feel I shouldn't have to pay for an ad I never approved to be in their books.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a way to have them stop mailing us bills and a resolution to me not paying for this ad they claim they have already printed months ago without me approving the ad.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/09) */ Good morning, I have spoken to the client (****) during which I was able to clarify her misunderstandings and had indeed provided her copies of the correct book with the ad their advertisement in them. She had agreed to pay for one and and we have agreed to remove their company from our contact going forward. We have not received payment as of yet but have put their firm on our Do Not Call List. I hope this satisfies them as well as closes the file with BBB. Yours truly Sharon W*****

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was first contacted a few years ago with regards to a company named "**** *********** ***** of which I was President at the time. We agreed to purchase a single ad at that time, but then said we wouldn't be interested thereafter. The company was then split up and I am no longer involved with it any longer, but I retained the old phone number. We have asked RMC to stop calling us on multiple occasions, at least 3 times. But, today we received yet another phone call. The sales rep name was ***** and she called on Oct 20, 2014 at about 2:00pm. ********************************************************************************************************************* Once I told ***** that I'd asked for our number to be deleted from their database she immediately hung up on me without even saying that she would take care of it.

Desired Settlement: I want all numbers associated with "**** *********** ***** deleted, including the number: XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/12/01) */ As per our conversation earlier today we have put **** *********** *** on our permanent do not call list. This was done by the company name only and the phone number we have associated with this file is XXX-XXX-XXXX. If this company has more phone numbers then in order to completely ensure they are deleted from our records then those numbers need to be provided as well. I consider this matter closed to the best of our abilities.

5/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We WERE a customer and since supporting the publication "The Teenage Survival Guide", Invoice ****** dated 06/10/2013, have found that Regional Maple Leaf Communications has not actioned the direction to cease contact for the purpose of soliciting funding various publications. I have repeatedly advised the telemarketers to remove our business details from your database which has not happened. Today I received yet another call from telephone number ************, lady called *****. I verified this unknown number and returned a call to ************** - the toll free number. Again I demanded the company removes ******************* from their telephone marketing campaign.

Desired Settlement: Stop phoning *******************.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/05/12) */ Just to give you the update on this file. When this client was contacted earlier this year it was their instructions to please refrain from calling them . This was the first time it had been presented to the department that was able to disable their record from the active contact list. On April 28, 2014 this file was put onto our Do Not Call list. The only phone number we have attached to ******************* is************* so if there are any other numbers attached to this company then we would need a list of those so they would be flagged in the same manner. If there is more then one company name we would require this info. If there is nothing else then we have done our due diligence and there will no longer be any calls coming from our office. So at this time based on the information above this file should be closed. Best Regards, ************* Comptroller

2/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a call from Regional Maple Leaf Communications asking me to put an ad in a book they make. They asked me a bunch of questions regarding my business and said they would make an ad up for me and email the copy to me so I could approve it. I did not get an email with the ad, I then received a call while I was at work which I was not fully paying attention as I was on the job site. I misunderstood what was said and I said Yes. I hung up not even realising that they would now be billing me for an ad I hadn't even confirmed or seen. My wife the received the invoice in the mail, she called me to see what I had signed up for and I then had no idea why they had billed me. She logged into the account with the information given on the invoice just to find that the ad itself had errors that I would not have confirmed. It says that I had been in business for over two years which is not true as well as it said I did gutters and eavestroughs which mean the same thing so I definitely would not have agreed to that. *********************************************************************************************************************************** I did not approve or see this ad before they printed it and would not have approved it since what was written was untrue.*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like the billing charges dropped as like I previously said I did not approve the ad or see it before it was printed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/02/03) */ Good afternoon, ************************************************ I have reviewed the contents of it and feel that we are going to close this file as we ask that you make changes to the ad within 10 days so that we can make sure the client is represented properly. Clearly as ***** says if he would have saw the original invoice he would have seen the problems and made the changes necessary to reflect his company. I have discussed this with the person who dealt with *****'s wife that it was not a matter of approving the ad that was the issue but the fact that it was incorrect and they had not seen the original copy to the best of their knowledge. I know we have the correct address on file but sometimes mail gets misplaced and we have no way of knowing when or who this may affect. I apologize on behalf of this firm for the errors and now you can consider this file closed. Your truly, *************

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even though we have advised the person calling we are not interested in buying ad space, they continue to call. One of our phone numbers has to date logged 53 calls. I have spoken to ******* at Regional Maple Leaf Communications*************** but the calls keep happening!!!


Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/31) */ According to our records we removed this client under the following two numbers on ************ & ************ and the company name of ******'*********. If however they are still receiving calls then there must be other numbers associated to their business. If this is the case could they please call ************* at ************ so that I may track them out of our system and disable them as well. Regards *************

2/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invoice #****** Regional Maple Leaf Communications Our daycare in a community of 300 people has been called every year to advertise in a "Teenage Survival" guide. We paid the first year even though the person who agreed to it was not authorized, but then called the company and said we do not want to advertise with them and to take us off their list and permanently cancel this ad. They have continued to call and now say that the director authorized this purchase. The director does not have the authority and there was no signed contract. I have contacted them and they are unwilling to do anything because it has gone to print. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************** We have cancelled in the past and do not feel that we should have to pay this. The ad went to print on August 11, 2013 and it stated in the email if you did not contact them prior to this, your ad will appear in the publication and website. *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking a settlement but I am not paying the invoice for $261.45.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/30) */ This complaint has been reviewed and from what our files show there have been a few conversations regarding the status of this account which I will endeavor to explain. This sale was initially made on July 31st, 2013 the invoice was mailed on August 1, 2013 also a login link was emailed the same day. Our computer generated logs show the client logged into the site reviewed the ad and approved it on the same day. We show they logged in on August 14, 2013 without leaving any comments. The ad was not published until August 26, 2013, so if there were protocol problems then that could have been brought to our attention then. We have mailed out numerous statements in an attempt to get payment when nothing was received the file was given to our public relations division. When the customer care division called them on January 9, 2014 it was relayed on to them that ***** who approved this ad and a prior ad was no longer there. (It is much more difficult to resolve when the original contact person is not there as now we are dealing with 3rd parties.) They explained ***** was the person to speak to now but was not available at the moment. On January 10th, we spoke to ***** we explained everything to her, she located the original email and was going to pass it on to the bookkeeper to process the payment right away. Later that day ******** (we have had no prior interaction with her) called saying they do not want this ad nor was it approved. It was explained to her that it was too late to cancel as it had been published already. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* She ended the conversation by saying will talk to the board to process payment but does not want to be contacted again for ads and no more will be paid...ever!" In this complaint ******** says they have advertised in our Teen book before we have no record of this. They have however placed advertisements in three of our other publications and to date we have had no issues . We do not have any record of a sale being cancelled after a purchase either. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** In the end our resolution is this - We are not going to close this file but we have removed their record from our active accounts. They will no longer be contacted from our firm effective today's date. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Regards, ************* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Regional Maple Leaf Communications Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart