BBB Accredited Business since

Butler Plumbing Heating & Gasfitting Ltd

Phone: (780) 432-3947 Fax: (780) 989-2567 4260 93 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6E 5P5 http://www.butlerplumbing.ca



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Providing both Commercial and Residential plumbing and heating service. Butler Plumbing is dedicated to customers while providing reliable, honest, high quality service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Butler Plumbing Heating & Gasfitting Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Butler Plumbing Heating & Gasfitting Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Butler Plumbing Heating & Gasfitting Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 2006 Business started: 05/01/2005 in AB Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 06/16/2005 in AB
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Kevin Korte, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Korte, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Pipe & Valve Fitters Heating & Air Conditioning Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating Thermocouples Thermostats Baths - Equipment & Supplies Garbage Disposals - Household Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies Baths Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Floors - Raised Heating Contractors Mechanical Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Visa, Mastercard
Refund and Exchange Policy
Warranty Terms; Renovations, one year. Service work, thirty days. If it is their fault, they will fix it.
Service Area
Edmonton and Surrounding Area
Products & Services

Customer Service, Boiler and Hydronic Service Repair, Plumbing Repair and Renos


Additional Locations

  • 4260 93 St NW

    Edmonton, AB T6E 5P5 (780) 432-3947

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Recieved a quote from Butler Plumbing for $2361.36. Which stated: We are pleased to submit the following quote for your consideration. Price includes the following: Run water line offset drain for basement bathroom hookup.1 Tub,1 Basin,1 ToiletPermit Included$2,361.36 Tub Wall Walls Extrainstall $ 210.00 Tub MAAX102920 White $ 450.00 Tub Walls 145006 White $ 758.29 Moen Tub & Shower Valve CP TL183 $ 66.20 Basin Drop in White $ 35.00 Moen Basin Valve CP L64621 1 H 4 CC $ 160.58 Toto Toilet White $ 212.89So I understood that the Price included everything.But all I required were 2 things from the quote. They were the Moen Tub & Shower Valve CP TL183 $ 66.20,Moen Basin Valve CP L64621 1 H 4 CC $ 160.58. ******* ************* called and asked me to email her what I needed from the quote so I did. But she did not send me an updated quote. so I assumed that with all the parts I didnt need, the price would be considerably lower. But when they went to my house on Thursday November 07th,2013. They arrived just after 8:00am and were finished before 3:00pm, and left for lunch. The invoice they gave to my cousin who was there at the time, was still the orignal price of $2361.36. I figured they might have simply made a misttake but after calling them, they told me that none of the parts listed were included. Yet at the bottom of the quote it states:"Total As Per Pricing Above", "We propose hereby to furnish material and labor completeand in accordance with the above specifications for the sumshown" and "Quoted price is based on the entire package". I have emails, copies of the quote and the invoice, I asked how could it be that much for about 6hrs work for 2 men, and he did not give me an answer and I asked if he could breakdown the work done, and tell me what I'm being charged for. He didnt even want to tell me how much I was paying for materials, or labor, isnt't it my right as a customer to know what I'm paying for? ***************************************************** Product_Or_Service: basement bathroom rough in

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for them to outline what I am being charged for as you would on a normal invoice, ie. Labor.....................700.00 Materials.................496.78 dispatch fee...............99.99 And lower the cost or come and remove what they installed, and put my bathroom in its orignal condition with no charge to myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ The quote we provided ***** on Oct 30th couldn't be more clearly outlined. We had a description line followed by a price. 8 different items, each with a cost. On Oct 31st ***** send us an email stating "Hi ******* we are good to move forward with the bathroom. I have a vanity which includes a basin, I also have a shower, and a toilet. So all I require will be the shower valve and basin valve. Feel free to email me back if you have any question." ***** never asked for an updated quote. And furthermore we did not need to give him one because he told us he only wanted 3 items instead of the 8, and the total cost would be the three items added together. Very straight forward. Our quotes include labour, materials, permits and we are not required to list it itemized********************************************************************************************************************************************. It is irrelevant how many hours the job takes, because if we spent 20 hours ***** would have been charged the same quoted price. It is also irrelevant how many other quotes you had and the prices. We have no idea the scope or service these companies provide. The work was completed at *****'s and very well the city inspector mentioned, so we are expecting full payment of this invoice. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/15) */ I don't accept their response ***********************. Yes the city inspector said it was a good job*******************************************************. ********************************** **************************************************************************************************************************************** Like they said " our quotes include labor, materials, and permit." So if it's listed on the quote, why wouldn't everything on the quote be included? That's exactly what butler states, in their response here, and on the quote.*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** It's is states on the invoice in black and white that everything should be include, it's pretty straight forward.

10/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept 7,2013 I called Butler Plumbing to help me with a broken water pipe on my hot water tank, which was flooding our basement. I had dealt with this company several time and was happy with there work. But this time I was charged $500 for 20 minutes work and $40 in parts. When the first phone call was placed, no amounts or charges were ever discussed. If I would have been told this job could cost up to $500 i would NEVER of had them come out to do the repairs. I live on a fixed income and could never afford that amount. When the young man that came to do the repairs came out, he hardly talked to me, never explained anything , never made eye contact even. He Only spoke to me when he demanded $500 in payment.Then I was informed that there was a minimum 2 hour fee a dispatch fee. A few days later i spoke to the company about the outrages fee. ************************************************************ Told me I was totally informed of all cost. I tried to negotioate a better price, but they would not budge. I was then threatened with going to collections against me. A week later the pipe they fixed split and I had to call another Plumbing company to fix the job. This company only charges me $150 for the same job. My concern is Butler Plumbing going to collections and ruining my credit for there terrible work.

Desired Settlement: That Butler Plumbing doesn't go to collections against me , when they didn't do the job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ ********************************************************************************************************************* ****** ******* called the Butler Plumbing after hours number ************ on Saturday September 7th at about 8-9pm. I was just putting my kids to bed when I took the call. She indicated she had a leak by her hot water tank on the piping. I made it clear that I did have a man on call who could come to her house that night, or set a time on Monday during regular hours. Our policy at Butler Plumbing regarding after hours calls is to inform every customer of the cost, $60 dispatch, minimum two hours at $165 per hour, plus parts. This is our polilicy because it avoids situations like ****** is presenting. I 100% made ****** aware of the overtime charges at which time she told me she had a house full of company and needed the water leak fixed. She agreed to have us come out. I called ***** who lives in Stony Plain and dispatched him to the call which was in central Edmonton. When he arrived he made the repair to the Poly B piping above her hot water tank. Poly B piping not in use anymore because of numerous problems with the pipe leaking. The easy repair was made relatively quickly. ***** then wrote the bill up for $60 dispatch, minimum two hours at $165 per hour, plus $46.44 in parts, $21.82 gst, totaling $458.26, and presented it to ****** for payment. She did comment it was expensive, ***** explained the overtime charges again, ****** signed our invoice #****** and gave ***** cheque #*** for the full amount. Sometime between then and September 25th ****** put a stop payment on her cheque. No effort was made on her part to call us and discuss, we received the notice when the bank returned the cheque to us. I tried twice to call ****** at ************ where the voicemail box was full and unable to leave a message. I texted this number ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* I take issue with ****** first, ******** cancelling her cheque after writing it and signing the invoice. Second with her indicating she was not made aware of the charges on the phone. Third, with her calling us knowing she could not afford our services. Fourth, not answering her phone, returning calls, and hiding behind text messages, and the BBB Fifth, I have seen no proof that our work failed, could very well be another poly B leak from her outdated pipe which has a track record of leaking and leaking in multiple spots. If it was my work that failed, and her account was in good standing, we would have fixed it. Butler Plumbing's desired resolution is to get paid for the work that was done, the cancelled cheque charge and interest on the overdue bill, without having to send it to collections. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******************************** i mentioned I live on a fixed income and if I was told this repair was going to be $500 I NEVER would have asked them to come out. As I mentioned in my first complaint, the work that was done fell apart and leaked and flooded my basement. Because of Butler Plumbings rudeness to me there was NO WAY I would be calling them back into my home. Another plumbing company came out and did the job for under $200.00 ***************************************************************. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Maybe I could get an explanation as to why their work failed a few days later and flooded the basement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Butler Plumbing Heating & Gasfitting Ltd
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart