BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Evanessence Photography

(780) 944-1688224 6655 178 St NW, EdmontonAB T5T 4J5http://www.imagesbyevangelos.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Evanessence Photography is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Evanessence Photography's rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Evanessence Photography's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Evanessence Photography

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have made contact with our wedding photographer too many times to count. I will provide a summary of important events.

It has been 1.5 years since our wedding. Our wedding photographer, ***, has not provided us some of our purchased product, as per our contract. The proof album, the 10x10 12 page Essentials Professional Album, 11x14 canvas print and High Resolution DVD if the edited images.

I have tried to negotiate options to get closure. I have reduced my exprections greatly in hope to make things easier for *** to finish the album. I have changed photos to simple ones to help him finish things quicker. I have been patient long enough. I have politely expressed my fustration and anger. Unfortunately, nothing has worked.

Our wedding was April 20, 2013. In the beginning, *** was motivated and great on completed our contract.
August 2013, due to my own personal issue *** granted me an extension on the outstanding products. The extension was January 2014.
In December 2013 and January 2014 I was contacting *** to finish our agreement. ***, due to his own personal problems, asked for some time extension. I agreed to that since he was helpful on my extension.

Since May 2014 I followed up with ***. On and off he contacted. He would say he would complete the album and asked me to submit photos. I have done this in May and June 2014. *** disappeared.

I contacted him again in August 2014 becuase of the agreement due date (online pictage website due date). *** and I agreed to meeting in August 2014. My husband and I went to his home. We thought we were going to complete the album products. But in fact we did not. *** asked me to submit more information to him. Example my album title and final album pictures. I did that the very next day. *** disappeared again.

In September 2014, **********************************************************. *** called back in about 1 hour and explained his personal problems again. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************

October 9, 2014 I called and emailed *** one last time expressing his last chance October 16, 2014 to have the products finished. He has not contacted back.

October 26, 2014, I called *** and there was no answer. I did not leave a message.

Desired Settlement
Either

1) *** gives us a refund of $450 (*************** album quote) on the 12 page 10x10 Essentials Album & give the High Resolution DVD of ALL 1018 images.
(So we can complete the album on our own)

Or

2) *** completes 12 page 10x10 Essentials Album himself & give the High Resolution DVD of ALL 1018 images.

To simplify things, I forgo the proof album and canvas print.

((Note: I prefer option 1 refund and DVD **********************************************************************************************

Business Response
Hello:

I have sent a personal message to the client about this and awaiting response.

Cheers!

10/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired *** to do my wedding photography for July 7 2012, I have not received any of the deliverables as set out in the contract and he removed my pictures from the online gallery that was set up for me to pick the pictures for my albums, there were also 2 pictures he was to get photoshopped as my mothers glasses had tint on them and he told her on the day that he could alter the picture after. He has been sent emails requesting the pictures and has not responded at all. I have copies of all the emails

Desired Settlement
I want all of the pictures he was hired to take including the photobooth pictures and engagement pictures. I also want the pictures that were to be fixed done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* - Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@evanessencephotography.com
Hi,we are very sorry for what you have been through and would like to take care of things as soon as possible.

The last email we received from you was February 8th, 2013 regarding your thank you cards.

Regardless, our email address is: ***@evanessencephotography.com or ****@evanessencephotography.com - either one will come in.

If you could email us your address, we will send everything out your images right away. The image gallery will also be back up by August 5th.

Also, we will update you with our new physical and mailing address. We can then work together and complete your entire order.

Again, we are very sorry. We hope to hear from you soon.

Regards.

Consumer Response
I was in contact with ***, he advised me he was sending the disks with the picture of my wedding on them. On August 19 he confirmed that he sent the disks and advised me that he would send another copy by purolator.
That was 2 weeks ago. I sent him 2 emails last week asking him to confirm that he sent the packages and I have not received a response from him. I just want the pictures from my wedding and this ordeal to be over. What else can I do?

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive the disks, 2 weeks after he originally said he sent them. I sent in the additional information after not getting any response to my emails asking where the pictures were. They did not include the photo booth pictures or the engagement pictures as requested. I would like an explanation as to why he didn't respond to my emails and I would like the missing pictures so this ordeal can be over.

Final Business Response
She should of received my package last week.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In October 2014, I opened case # XXXXXXX.

I received our wedding photos. *** and I agreed to have the wedding album done. It would take 4 to 6 weeks depending on the Christmas holidays.

I had not heard anything from *** after the 6 weeks, so I contacted him.

-January 8 2015 I emailed him asking for the album outcome.

-January 12, 2015 *** emailed me back saying the album should be done, he will call the company and follow up with me the next day.

-January 12, 2015 I emailed *** back acknowledging him and that I was looking forward to his call.

-January 16, 2015 I emailed *** back asking for the outcome, following up since I did not hear from him.

-January 24, 2015 I called ***'s cell phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and left a message following up.

-January 29, 2015 I text ***'s cell phone following up.

-February 1, 2015. I sent *** an email mentioning that it is unfortunate that I have to use the Better Business Bureau service's again.

Desired Settlement
My husband and I would like the wedding album that was agreed upon in our meeting on November 15, 2014.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Photographers - Wedding, Photographers - Pet, Photographers - Portrait, Photographers, Wedding Supplies & Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/04/2010Business started: 02/03/1995
Type of Entity

Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Van Tsiclas (Principal Photographer/Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Photographers - Wedding, Photographers - Pet, Photographers - Portrait, Photographers, Wedding Supplies & Services

Alternate Business Names
Evangelos Photography, Images by Evangelos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Evanessence Photography

224 6655 178 St NW

Edmonton, AB T5T 4J5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 224 6655 178 St NW 

    Edmonton, AB T5T 4J5(780) 944-1688

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Evanessence Photography is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.evangelosphoto.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.

X

Industry Tips for Photographers - Wedding

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.