BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Flying Dutchmen Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Flying Dutchmen Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Flying Dutchmen Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2009 Business started: 06/01/2007 Business started locally: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated 06/01/2009 in AB
Business Management
Francine Drapeau, Owner Eric Ouellet, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Francine Drapeau, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Travel & Moving Services

Alternate Business Names
Canadian Moving Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4516 81 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T6B 2M2 (780) 206-5667 (780) 232-0275

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During my first and only verbal call to this business, I spoke to ******, I had to give out alot of personal information to arrange a move for April 25,2014. I tried to list most of my house contents, my address, new address and all my contact info. At the end of the phone conversation he stated that they had to have a deposit. He chose the figure of $300.00 and stated he wanted the money sent online to his personal hotmail account He then text messaged me his email (***********@hotmail.com) and the secret question and answer he wanted to use. This was supposedly to hold the moving date so I complied and made the $300.00 payment via the only online method my bank offers. He was polite up to this point."specifically told lou online banking. Nott some info.is point. So after I told him I had completed the transfer, I informed him via text message that it was complete and to let me know when the money is/ was recieved. I recieved a simple np in a text message. The next message started to demonstrate how unprofessional ****** is/was..and I quote "Wow you sure do a very complicated e- transfer. You should do it through online banking ,not. Useless company that is going to charge a bunch of fees." I replied with that it is what I used last time...it's not my fav to which he tested, again I quote, I use online banking. Don't know what drove you in that dirextion." My response was "the guy I bought from last time set me up on that ****** site, I usually do online or PayPal." ****** responded with, quote, "Well I asked you to do online. Could you please do online because i.will have to.create an account through that ******* site you are forcing me to go through." Then ****** sent this " Why not keep.it simple." I simply said that I already sent it soo....****** then texts "And it will only the used once cause I would never use it again." I replied "I hear ya" then he keeps texting and the following are all his texts quoted" I guess I will sit for 4 days for the account to verify itself. " No reply from me. Then he types" I will text you in 4 days to let u know the deposit went through." So that's all the interactions from yesterday, April 3, 2014 then the next morning on April 4, 2014 ****** text messages me, quote, " Please make deposit through banking onlone. ************ is not accepted". My response was I already sent the money through ***********!!! $300. 00!!! If I send you another $300 online another way then I'm out $600. 00!!! ******'s response was " They want too much personal and business info. Sorry. Will not sign up." Then he goes on in another text " I specifically told you online banking. Nott some crazy program i am not going to sing up for and give personal info." Youre not going to be out 600 cause I wont accept the 300." I wont book anyone unless they pay through online banking so you are only tentatively booked. **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: $50.00 to recoup my costs for phone and text usage ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/14) */ The customer was harassing our employees by yelling at us especially over text typing in all caps yelling the whole time. We do not put up with abuse and do not do any work for such people. If you cannot successfully complete an e-transfer please let us know then we will not take a deposit by e-transfer. We reserve the right to book customers that are polite, nice, and respectful. All of which this customer complaining was not. **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This moving company was very unprofessional from the start of the first and only phone call I placed. Upon dialing a company listed number, the male who answered simply said "Hello" , where upon I had to ask if this was the business I dialed. After confirming that it indeed was, I proceeded to ask for rates and availability for an upcoming move I was planning, the male I spoke to only asked for my present exact address and was not interested in my new address, so I suspect the rate would not be accurate without this crucial piece of information. It was only near the end of phone call that a deposit was needed, and that it had to be done prior to having this moving company booked. This was unexpected as was the amount, $300.00. The man I was speaking to had wanted myself to deposit $300.00 via "e-transfer" to an email account with *******. This ******* account was in a private name and had absolutely no reference in name to the moving company. Apparently, with this "professional" moving company, you are to deposit any sum requested into a personal ******* account and then hopefully your money is somehow given to the moving company. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************** I bank with a credit union, and only recently have I ever done this type of transfer as I use ****** for payments when online, but "e-transfer" was what was asked for. I did do the only " e-transfer" offered currently by my bank, it is called ************ and I did transfer the $300.00 to the private ******* account provided as well as paid the fees charged for using ************ I sent a text stating it was completed, as I was told to text him at a different number than the original company number that I called, and I then asked to be notified when the payment was recieved, this was at 5:28 pm, to which I recieved the professional reply " Np". Then this male texted and stated " Well I asked you to do online. Could you please do online because i.will have to.create an account through that ******* site you are forcing me to go through " and I replied that I had already sent the money, Then he protested that he would never use this account again, and the final text of that same day was that he will have to wait for four days to get the money, so he stated that he will text when he gets the money. The next day, at 9:30 am, I recieved a text from him stating " Please make deposit through banking onlone. *********** is not accepted." I was aghast as I had already sent the money, all $300.00, to his personal ******* account in the form of payment he requested and I stated this in my reply to his 9:30 am text. I also stated that if I sent him another $300.00 then I would be out $600.00!! ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* So he then texts me five times stating that he simply won't accept the *********** money and that I should just simply "e-transfer" another $300.00 to his private ******* account, and until I send the additional $300.00 my move is only tentatively scheduled. I did not reply to any of the first four texts as I was calling my bank which verified that this is the only form of transfer to an email account currently offered at my bank. So, at 12:34pm, I responded to the five texts I had received since my last text to him, I stated that this is the only form of transfer offered at my bank and that I am still out $300.00!! The reply I received was that he had "gotten a transaction cancelled yesterday" but he offered no verification number or anything to substantiate his statement, all I knew, as I was monitoring both my personal accounts and my *********** account, that no money had been returned. The next text message recieved said the money will be returned and that I should just simply send him the money by ****** to his same private******** account. I eventually called *********** and cancelled the transfer of $300.00 from my end as I still had no confirmation that it was cancelled by the recieved. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** The " " are direct quotes as I still have all the text messages sent and received as well as his private ******* account address. *******************************************************************.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Flying Dutchmen Movers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)