BBB Accredited Business since

Canadian Moving Services Inc

Phone: (780) 232-0275 4516 81 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6B 2M2 http://www.canadianmovingservices.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We offer:
$250 000 Cargo insurance
$5 000 000 Commercial General Liability


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Canadian Moving Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Canadian Moving Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Canadian Moving Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2009 Business started locally: 03/01/2009 Business incorporated 09/23/2009 in AB
Business Management
Eric Ouellet
Contact Information
Principal: Eric Ouellet
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company

Service Area
Western Canada

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found this company through a BBB search. On April 18, 2014 we had hired movers as we were selling our house and moving into a condo. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* We accepted the cash offer though since we needed them to come this day. The movers came and started moving our furniture. There was a big bang when they were disassembling our bed. We thought nothing of it until we saw our bedframe in the new condo. There were huge chunks missing out of the wood. The mover began denying it was them and then used a sharpy to try and cover the marks! The back of our couch is also now all scuffed up as they were resting it on the condominium staircase and the wall in our previous house has a huge gauge out of it from them moving the second bedframe. At the end of the move we sat down and started discussing the damage done. They began writing on the already signed contract that they did not do it! It made it look like I signed off on what they had wrote in the comments box! They also increased the quoted rates of mattress bags from $5.00 for a double bed and $8.00 for a king bed to $10 each. ***************************************************************.... The movers offered us $40 off if we did not tell their boss about the damages but we said no as our furniture is very expensive and would like resolved properly. We asked for a copy of the receipt and they said we could not have one unless we paid GST too so now we had to pay an extra 40GST on a "CASH JOB". I called the office the following Tuesday and the owner said he would like to come and see the damages. He said that he would not put it through his insurance and offered us $40. On the back of the receipt it says that damages can be covered through their insurance as long as the customer pays the $250 deductible..... which we are willing to do. Like I said our furniture is very expensive. I would not recommend this company to anyone. ******************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I want my furniture to be replaced through their insurance. I am willing to pay the $250 deductible as outlined on the contract I signed....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ We contacted the customer to arrange some refinishing of the scratches. I am waiting for an answer. She requested a new set on our insurance. Our insurance will not accept to give a new bed for minor scratches. We already refund $40. They refused the wrapping procedures in the house but we still wrapped in the truck. The movers said it was already there but I am ready to fix those damages by sanding, tinting and varnishing so it will be like new. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The movers claim that we asked them not to wrap the bed frame **************************** We assumed that they were wrapping it as everything else we got them to move was wrapped. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Canadian Moving Services Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart