BBB Accredited Business since

Alberta First Choice Moving Systems Inc

Phone: (780) 440-6676 Fax: (780) 468-5373 View Additional Phone Numbers 6321 76 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6B 0A7 http://www.albertafirstmoving.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Household goods moving,office relocation,packing service,long distance moving and mini storage


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alberta First Choice Moving Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Alberta First Choice Moving Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Alberta First Choice Moving Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Business Management
Robert Magico, President
Contact Information
Principal: Robert Magico, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Brokers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Recreational Vehicles - Storage Storage Units - Household & Commercial Storage Units - Portable Office Furniture & Equipment - Installation Packaging Materials Warehousing Services Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Transportation Services Packaging Service Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Nu Way Moving & Storage
Products & Services

Alberta First Choice Moving Systems Inc offers local and long distance moving services. Included is door to door service, Placing of furniture and cartons, Blanket wrapping of all furniture, Basic insurance at no charge.


Additional Locations

  • 6321 76 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T6B 0A7 (780) 440-6676 (780) 743-3700 (780) 870-9272 (800) 676-5212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the moving company on or around the 10th of November 2014. The owner is the one that answered the phone(***). I explained I needed a truck for the 20th of November 2014. I said to *** my house was a very large 3 bedroom as I had a lot of boxes. *** said dont worry about it I have a 5 ton and it will work. I said the amount of boxes a second time as I knew It was a large amount. *** came on the 20th with two of his workers,********************************. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** They moved my things into the truck and then their storage facility because my possession date was not until the 27th of November. On the 25th of November *** called me and said he had a truck that fit all my things. I said to him"you said you didnt have a bigger truck when I was upset that my things took a double move. *** said "well this one is a little bigger and more head room". ************************************************************************************************************ On the 27th they came to move me and there were three guys. Two I had not seen the first time but **** was the one from the first move. I was watching things come in and when it came to a headboard it was snapped right off at the bottom. **** called *** and *** told **** to bring it back to the shop. Then **** told me not to worry and *** was great and he will replace it. Then I noticed shelves but no bookcase. I asked **** where it was and he didnt know. After they left I looked again and it wasnt around. I called *** and left a message with him at around midnight or a little after and I was very mad because my **** had a not yet posted amount of $2500. From my calculations it was not right and they broke my headboard and I was missing my bookcase. *** phoned me the next day and said he had fixed my headboard and he wanted to also come to my home and look for the bookcase. He came and my headboard was glued and he attached supports. I told him I didnt think it would hold up and he said "dont worry, it will be fine". He looked all around my house for the bookcase and during this entire time he said I must have it. I said no I dont, over and over. After looking through all of my closets bedrooms etc he still argued that he had great guys and they would tell him if something happened. ********************************************************************************** He then phoned his top guy that knew of the move and was there at the time of unloading into storage and back on the truck. The guy said to *** it went on the truck from the storage but he was not at my home when it was unloading time. ************************************************************************************** *** said again not to worry and he will get to the bottom of it. Later that day he called and said maybe my ex took it, and I said no because my daughter and I moved it into a room and my ex was gone by that time. ****************************************************************** He asked for my exs number and I gave it to him but told him say nothing about where I am. I never heard back then on the 2nd of December I gave him a texr that asked what was happening with my bookcase. He gave me a text back and said he is waiting for my ex to call him because his things are in storage and had to go look. ******************************************************************************************************** Again I told him that his owen worker said it got on the truck from the storage but did not know what happedned to it after that. ************************************************** My move in this city cost almost $4000 and only 7 days were for storage. He pieced my headboard together and lost my book shelf. I had insurance with a five hundred deductible *************************************************************. ************************************************************** He went through my personal things looking for this shelf even though some places it would be impossible to fit. My shelves are here. ****************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: My headboard was over $700.00 and my bookcase was around $200. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I want to be compensated for the time it took to bring my things to the storage and then bring the truck back to my home to re-load, then back to the storage. That is approximately 4 hours x $150 per hour. Total $1300.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/11) */ I explained from the start on the phone that most of the time an average 3 bedroom house fits in a 5 ton truck or sometimes we have to make a second trip depends on the amount of goods there are. Sometimes it's quicker to make two trips, because it takes less time then we don't have to waste a lot of time packing into the truck. I never once gave a promise that it would all fit in one load. ************************************************************************* His performance as a mover was excellent, he was careful and respectful.We didn't take any breaks and unloaded all goods safely into our warehouse. She only had released value protection of goods being moved and declined to pay for replacement value, however we are willing to compensate her for her bookcase if lost, but we loaded everything out of her house and returned all goods back to her house from my warehouse. When I contacted her husband he told me he wasn't sure if maybe he had the book case in storage and when he got back from working **************** he would look in his storage and let me know if it was there.She also said she was going to produce a receipt for her book case and never did.If it was the case that somehow we are liable for her book case we are willing to compensate her as per contract, but I'm even willing to pay more the what is on the contract to try and satisfy her. I'm will to pay her $100.00 to settle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all with the second move from warehouse to my home was only ONE truck. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** No he wasn't careful, my walls were damaged. As far as my bookcase *** was in my kitchen when he called one of his employees and the guy said my bookcase WAS loaded. I have unpacked all my things and there are a few things missing. ****************************** *** is ******************************* not taking the responsibility for what he has done. Again, he knew his employee admitted my shelf was loaded ********************. He damaged furniture, overcharged me ***************************. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

12/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The damage was done on December 7th at about 12:30 pm. I do have several pictures of the truck smashed into the wall and the sign letters that were destroyed.

Desired Settlement: We will need full reimbursement of the signage damage in which I will seek the damage value from the supplier.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/15) */ This is not a moving complaint. We are waiting for an estimate. I'm not sure if the loading area was properly sanded, as far as I know our truck slid sideways. They indicated to me that the tenant was paying for the damage and I said it was between my business and there's. They were not willing to discuss the matter with me any more. This is the reason I have truck insurance to take care of these events. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Alberta First Choice Moving Systems Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart