BBB Accredited Business since

Academy Mechanical Services Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (780) 438-1750 Fax: (780) 435-9534 6031 92 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6E 3A5 http://www.academymechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they are a plumbing and HVAC (heating, ventilation & air-conditioning)service company. They also state they provide retrofit/renovation and irrigation services. They serve both commercial and residential customers in Edmonton and surrounding areas.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academy Mechanical Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Academy Mechanical Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Academy Mechanical Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 11/01/1975 Business started locally: 11/01/1975
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Don Patterson, President/Owner Heather Patterson, Secretary/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Don Patterson, President/Owner
Business Category

Mechanical Contractors Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Boilers - Repair & Cleaning

Refund and Exchange Policy
30 day warranty on labour
Applicable manufacturers' warranty on parts.
Alternate Business Names
Fritz Plumbing & Heating (1994) Ltd. (Associated Company)
Products & Services

This company states that they offer Plumbing/heating/air conditioning/refrigeration service.Furnaces/boilers/Hot water tanks/rooftop heat/cool units/makeup air units/exhaust fans/tube heaters/unit heaters


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Date January 5, 2015 Invoice ****** Serviceman was *****. Paid $128.63 by ***. Serviceman assessed my furnace claiming that the secondary heat exchanger needed replacing (warranty), that the pressure switches (approx $1500.00) needed replacing and a couple of other things around $1000.00 plus labor. He had no parts, yet wanted to disassemble the furnace until parts came in (that day or the next) which would leave us without heat in -25 weather. ***************************************************************************************************************** This person did not seem to be knowledgeable about the Carrier furnace in question but was willing to provide us with numerous problems which would be in the $4000.00 mark if repaired. We requested a written estimate which still has not been received. I provided him my email for this as well. He was advised that we would also have another estimate done by someone else. I have not heard back from this company ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************. In the meantime I called ***** heating and they sent a serviceman out ********************************************************************************************************************. The total bill was 176.40 and I have heat. We questioned him about the items that the other repairman had said needed replacing and he suggested that they were fine at this time and once they go to just replace the furnace due to the cost. ************************************************************************* My concern is more the ethics of the repairman from Academy. If he is not familiar with the brand then say that**************************************************************************************************************************.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $70.00 for the service call and an apology from this company ************************* service given. They should also be more diligent about their repairmen's knowledge. If you don't know something admit it ****************************************. I was very disappointed that they have not gotten back to be given the -25 weather and having no heat. That does not exemplify good customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ ********************************************************************************************************************* I am ******* Service manager and I was speaking with him by cell phone when he was at your home. He had explained the issues with the furnace and had said the customer needed prices before he would let him fix the furnace. I contacted our supplier for pricing and availability of the parts and they were busy with calls and would fax me prices. I told ***** I had to wait and to check out the furnace to confirm that all the items needed to be replaced. Again he said the customer did not want him to check the furnace with out prices. ***** left the site and I prepared the quote and emailed it once I received the information from our supplier. I do not know why the email was not received and we did not get a notification that there was any error in delivery. I do have a copy of the email delivery recite if you request to see it. I apologise on behalf of Academy Mechanical that you did not receive the estimate and we were not able to solve your furnace problem. I should have followed up on the email. I would like to say we are a reputable company and if you would have called dissatisfied with the service, I would have come out personally to resolve the issue. We will credit you credit card in full.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Academy Mechanical Services Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)