BBB Accredited Business since

Green Drop Lawns Ltd

Phone: (780) 447-1000 Fax: (780) 447-1045 16815 128A Ave, Edmonton, AB T5V 1K9 http://www.greendrop.com/home/edmonton


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Drop Lawns Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Green Drop Lawns Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Drop Lawns Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated 02/03/1995 in AB
Business Management
Kyle Schram, General Manager John Robinson, Owner Ryan J Robinson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kyle Schram, General Manager
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Tree Service Weed Control Service Fertilizers


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My lawn was treated by Green Drop and I am not a customer. While I was home this morning, Green Drop treated my lawn. I met the young man as he was just about to leave. Herbicide was definitely used, but I am getting conflicting answers as to whether fertilizer was also applied. I do not use herbicides on my lawn and have NO WEEDS. I sadly, had just applied granular fertilizer to my lawn this AM, so at this point I don't know if my lawn got double fertilized or not. They are giving 2 different answers. 3 years ago, they also treated my lawn - I am not a customer. The correct customer has the same address as me except is on the "A" avenue. I do not agree with the practice of doing anything in a person's yard with out some sort of confirmation you have the right address. My front door was open, so the worker definitely could have at least rang the doorbell. I think this is especially important when using herbicides. I am not happy with such carelessness. I think staff need to be better trained.

Desired Settlement: Improvement in practice to avoid mistakes like this. As this is the second time it has happened to me, I am sure it happens often. My biggest issue is with the use of herbicides on my lawn and the potential double application of fertilizer - they don't seem sure as to whether or not they applied fertilizer?? and the lack of confirmation they have the right customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/05/19) */ Contact Name and Title: Rory, Assistant GM Contact Email: ********************** I would like to start with an apology to ******* for the miscommunication and unwanted application at her property. We strive for precision in regards to our services but unfortunately sometimes mistakes are made due to human error. We do, greatly emphasize the importance of triple checking addresses when our technicians arrive at a property and we will continue to do so very often. As an extra safeguard, we also train our technicians to knock on every door prior to application. In this case, the technician has been reprimanded with a written warning and we have reiterated the importance of checking address and knocking before servicing. In regards to a possible double fertilizer application, fortunately this is not the case. The technician was intending to do a reapplication of spot specific, weed control only, no fertilizer at all. In an attempt to rectify the situation, we offered to apply a remedial beneficial micro-organism spray on the turf so that such introduced organic and biological components would help restore a healthy soil environment to the yard, maximize utilization of nutrients from fertilizers previously applied on the lawn, and speed up the break down of any residual herbicide molecules remaining in the backyard. She declined this offer. I hope this helps in regards to clarifying the situation. Thank you and have a Beautiful day. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not accept the offer of spraying my lawn with a fungal and bacterial solution as I know nothing about such a treatment and would be hesitant as this was not something I was looking for anyways. On the phone the caller did not mention it would help to break down the herbicide, just that it would make my lawn healthier. Again, my annoyance is this has happened in 2013 and now again in 2016. The steps they were going to put in place then obviously haven't happened. They were to put a note on the correct client's file to check that they were on the A avenue. ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ******************** ********* I do not plan to fertilize my lawn again this year as i applied a slow release, but if this company wishes to fertilize my lawn next year at no charge, I would not object. They seem to like coming to my house anyway......... Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/05/30) */ I completely understand the hesitation to apply an unknown to you treatment without properly understanding it's purpose and composition. The intention was primarily to help return the lawn to as natural of state as possible. We had made note of the "A" part of the address so that it appears in the technicians site specific information that is to be read prior to each application. ********************** ********************** ********************** ********************** ********************** ********************** ********* We have recently redeveloped our training program and repeatedly emphasize the importance of "Triple Checking Addresses" throughout however human error is still a factor we have yet to completely remove. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2016/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Had this not been the second time this has happened the plan sounds great. I was told a similar story in 2013..... I fully expect this will happen again.

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green Drop applied a broadleaf weed control without approval. Green drop called and left a message in March, which we didn't respond to as we didn't want them to apply anything to our yard. Last year they applied fertilizer and weed control to my peonies and stunted them. They came out May 16/16 and applied the broadleaf weed control without authorization! They left an invoice for $52.36, which we should not be responsible for. I called and their response was, since we didn't respond to their call in March, they assumed that we wanted this done and they claimed this is how their system worked. ********* *********** *********** ******* ************ ******* ********* **** ***********

Desired Settlement: Cancel invoice ****** and account ******. We want no further contact with this business.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2016/05/19) */ I spoke with Green Drop today and believe we have come to an agreement to cancel the invoice as well as have our phone number removed from their database. ****** ****** ****** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ********** *********** *********** *********** *********** ******** ********* ***********

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid Approx $2000 for xmas lights. Now that we moved Green Drop won't give us the lights we own or reimbursement money. We paid the hefty price of $2000.00 plus 824.25/ year to have the lights put up and taken down for several years for a total of approx $7000.00. Now that we moved to a different location when we tried to get the lights they gave us the run around. They told us that they found a buyer for the lights and that they would contact us. We'd wait weeks hearing nothing then when we called they said the checks in the mail. It's been months of waiting and we have not received the lights or reimbursement. Aside from the terrible service they currently have the lights we have paid for in full and have not reimbursed us 1 cent.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking either the Christmas lights that we rightfully purchased from Green Drop or at the very least the lowball offer of $450.00 for the lights.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/01) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********************** Dear Client, Our records do show you the payment has been sent, please confirm you have received the check.upon agreement there was warning the check could take some time as this was out of our normal protocol. To speak towards the amount refunded for the lights. Refunding lights is not something we do nor have we ever had a request for this. We were aware of another client that wanted more lights therefor we passed on the offer from him. Which you agreed to take. Thank you for choosing Green Drop. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm satisfied in the fact that we did, very recently, receive the check however there was an inconsistency as one of your reps had told us that "it was in the mail" yet when it was finally delivered (days after posting with the BBB) it was dropped off personally by one of your reps. The fact that it got to this point is unacceptable. As far as giving the customers their purchased lights or reimbursement at the end of the service term not being normal protocol, I can't see how it should fall out of any reasonable honest business practice for a customer who's paid in full for a product/service to expect to receive said product, or at the very least (in my case) a low-ball reimbursement, at the end of the term of service. Especially when on the bill/receipt there is a steep price to "purchase" the lights that is separate from the price for the ongoing service to have the lights set up. Have all the other customers who've ended the service generously donated their purchased lights to Greendrop?

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up on April 13 for Beautiful Basics plus package - which includes early spring care, aeration, seeding, fertilizer etc. transaction id ****************** On April 21 I emailed requesting information on when they would be coming as initial email said mid-April. I received no reply. Called them and they said they would be out shortly. They were supposed to come out May 4 - it snowed so completely understandable. On May 8 I received an email saying they would come May 11. They didn't show up. Called on May 13 and spoke to *******. Asked when they were going to send someone out. She said that someone had been out already. I said that my lawn has obviously not been aerated and there is no sign or note from them. She said they must have gone to the wrong house and that the person was actually in the area and should be at my house any minute. She said she would call them and make sure they did my house and that a manager would call me back shortly to make sure my fertilizer treatment was taken care of by end of week. My boyfriend was home and saw the Green drop vehicle pull up sit for a couple minutes, drive around the block and then left without getting out and doing the service. At 430 a woman called me back from Green drop to set up my service and said it would be some time the next week. I said that ******* had said it would be done by end of week. The girl admitted she wasn't a manager. I asked to speak to one and she said that she would have someone call me in 5 minutes and hung up. No one called back. I phone the next day and asked to speak to a manager. I was put forward to **** ***** voicemail. He phoned back and said that he would come out personally on the 15th to do the aeration and the 16th to do the fertilizer. This was dependent on it not raining. It did not rain and he still didn't show up.

Desired Settlement: I have now missed one month of services that I have paid for. I either want the early lawn care taken care of by May 22, 2015, and assurance in writing from green drop that they will not short me services over the rest of the summer, along with a timeline of when I can expect my additional services. Or, I want a full refund.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/05/20) */ They have now contacted me and said they will refund my money. You can close this case.

10/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the spring time Green Drop sent out their advertising for their services. I did not send the form back as I did not want it done. On May 4th someone left a message on my answering machine to say they are coming out tomorrow. I did not respond to their call. On May 5th,someone came out and did aeration and overseeding which I did not request. I phoned Green Drop that I did not request their services. The secretary told me that because I had them last year,they just assumed that I would want it done again. She said they do it to everyone. Then she said I did not have to pay.So far I have five statements requesting payment. I have phoned them and written to them several times.

Desired Settlement: I wrote them a letter on August 17th that I did not request their services nor did they have my approval to do the work. There is nothing in writing and they should ask without assuming.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/10/08) */ Attention ****, I would like to extend my apologies in regards to any inconvenience or problems you have encountered as a customer of Green Drop. We take pride in our capacity to provide excellent customer service. We strive to meet the needs and expectations of our customers, and it is important for us to make sure that we have done everything possible to achieve this standard. I understand that you are experiencing some frustration in regards to your billing, payments and statements. I hope this e-mail will help to clear up the confusion and help ease your frustration. We do provide auto renewing services for our customers to ensure simplicity for the customer. This is an optional program. Upon ordering any services from Green Drop the renewing protocol should be explained. This being said sometimes in the haste of a busy spring things can be overlooked by our customer service staff. I can assure you do not want to do services or charge for services that were not requested. This being said I can assure you that charges will be cleared on your account. We appreciate you expressing your concerns and should you wish to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us at your leisure. Should you require any additional information or have any further questions please contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Again our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

6/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 23rd, 2014, GreenDrop Lawn Services came to our home, entered the front and back yard and sprayed them, when NO ONE was home and we had many times refused them coming to our lawn. They had the wrong house, and yet with no one home to let them in, went ahead and sprayed the yard, trespassing on our property. And then, they left the back door open for our dog to escape while we were at work. When I called them about the issue they ********************* offered no solutions to keeping our address and name out of their database, and not even an apology for leaving the back door open.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written letter of apology, so that in the future if they ever try and contact us again, they will know that we have asked repeatedly to be off of their database. I would also like our account information taken out of their database. I would also like Green Drop to make better business decisions and train their staff that entering a yard with NO ONE HOME, and NO PERMISSION, is not acceptable.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Green Drop Lawns Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)