BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2015

Green Drop Lawns Ltd

Phone: (780) 447-1000Fax: (780) 447-1045

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the spring time Green Drop sent out their advertising for their services. I did not send the form back as I did not want it done. On May 4th someone left a message on my answering machine to say they are coming out tomorrow. I did not respond to their call. On May 5th,someone came out and did aeration and overseeding which I did not request.
I phoned Green Drop that I did not request their services. The secretary told me that because I had them last year,they just assumed that I would want it done again. She said they do it to everyone. Then she said I did not have to pay.So far I have five statements requesting payment. I have phoned them and written to them several times.

Desired Settlement
I wrote them a letter on August 17th that I did not request their services nor did they have my approval to do the work. There is nothing in writing
and they should ask without assuming.

Business Response
Attention ****,
I would like to extend my apologies in regards to any inconvenience or problems you have encountered as a customer of Green Drop. We take pride in our capacity to provide excellent customer service. We strive to meet the needs and expectations of our customers, and it is important for us to make sure that we have done everything possible to achieve this standard.

I understand that you are experiencing some frustration in regards to your billing, payments and statements. I hope this e-mail will help to clear up the confusion and help ease your frustration.

We do provide auto renewing services for our customers to ensure simplicity for the customer. This is an optional program. Upon ordering any services from Green Drop the renewing protocol should be explained. This being said sometimes in the haste of a busy spring things can be overlooked by our customer service staff.

I can assure you do not want to do services or charge for services that were not requested. This being said I can assure you that charges will be cleared on your account.

We appreciate you expressing your concerns and should you wish to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us at your leisure. Should you require any additional information or have any further questions please contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Again our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.



06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On June 23rd, 2014, GreenDrop Lawn Services came to our home, entered the front and back yard and sprayed them, when NO ONE was home and we had many times refused them coming to our lawn. They had the wrong house, and yet with no one home to let them in, went ahead and sprayed the yard, trespassing on our property. And then, they left the back door open for our dog to escape while we were at work.

When I called them about the issue they ********************* offered no solutions to keeping our address and name out of their database, and not even an apology for leaving the back door open.

Desired Settlement
I would like a written letter of apology, so that in the future if they ever try and contact us again, they will know that we have asked repeatedly to be off of their database. I would also like our account information taken out of their database.

I would also like Green Drop to make better business decisions and train their staff that entering a yard with NO ONE HOME, and NO PERMISSION, is not acceptable.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last fall, **** the GM came to do our sprinkler blowout. He noticed one of our sprinkler heads was cracked and offered to take it and replace it for us in the next couple of weeks, which I thought was a really nice thing to do. I didn't hear anything from him within the timeframe he had set out so I called back to follow up. He once again told me he would be out in the next week or so. And once again he didn't show up so I called back as I didn't want this to be forgotten and end up with no sprinkler head at all. He called me back and was visibly annoyed that I had called to follow up. Seemed to forget that he had said he would take care of it in the fall. Asked me to call back in the spring, I felt reassured after our conversation and said that was fine.

Spring came and we had our first lawn treatment promptly. I thought they would have taken care of replacing the sprinkler along with the first treatment as you have to water your lawn afterwards, but I went out and checked and it was not there. Our entire sprinkler system did not work without this head, so we needed it back. So I called in to check what was going on and **** called me back to say he would be here in the next couple of days. Once again, he did not call us back or come to replace the sprinkler head as promised. My husband called and left a message for **** and he still did not come. Finally, exasperated, I called in and said I would have to go to the BBB if he did not get back to me by the end of the week, as our whole sprinkler system was not working because of this and I didn't know what else to do since he was not showing up or calling us back. I didn't even care if he just brought back the cracked one at that point because from what we could tell it had been working fine anyway.

**** showed up the next day and installed a sprinkler head. It was not the correct one and does not spray properly, but it allows the rest of the system to work and he said he would come back the following week with the actual head we needed. I understood this was a little beyond the scope that **** had initially thought and left him a voicemail saying thanks for coming and that I would reimburse him for any extra part costs that he incurred. That was 6 weeks ago and I have heard nothing from him since.

So now we have a non-working sprinkler head in our yard and I have no desire to continually be following up with Green Drop about this. **** took the sprinkler head of his own accord, we did not ask him to do this, and rather than follow through and replace it as promised he has made this a very unpleasant experience for us and left us with a sprinkler system that is not working properly. I cannot seem to get a response by calling him directly so I am using BBB as an avenue to hopefully get some action and get this fixed once and for all. Bottom line is that he should not have offered to do this if he was not intending on following through on it.

Desired Settlement
I want Green Drop to replace the sprinkler head with the correct part(s) as promised. We are happy to work with them on the cost, even with all the inconvenience they have put us through on this.

Business Response
I feel this was a very unfortunate situation for both parties as I was trying to be helpful but I think I made the situation more difficult.

Green Drop was hired to do Mrs. ******** irrigation blowout for the winter. Upon doing the blowout I noticed some issues with the system. I had a few minor repairs done that day but I was unable to fix the one sprinkler head due to lack of the correct parts. I had contacted an irrigation company to contact Mrs. ******** to do the repair as we were unable to provide this service. I did not hear from Mrs. ******** again until the following spring. I was surprised this was not taken care of as the irrigation company we contacted has done a lot of repairs and work for us in the past. I then took action and did the repair myself as it was spring and the irrigation response time from any company was going to be a few weeks. This being said I was unable to do a proper repair. I was able to make the system functional able. I informed Mrs. ******** of the repair and said I would have a company come as soon as possible. I did not hear from Mrs. for 6 weeks. Yet again I assumed all was completed and well, I assumed wrong. I have since ensured Mrs. ******** irrigation system has been repaired. I am willing to offer Mrs. a free lawn care package for 2014 for all her troubles with the irrigation company I recommended.


04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired Green Drop in August of 2012 to combat the weeds in the front and backyard because we couldn't manually do it anymore. Special instructions were repeated and repeated back that the new sod at the side of the house was not to be touched. Green drop came when we were out and sprayed our whole property including new sod. We watered as per the instructions given, but the new sod started looking burnt until all was brown and looked dead. Called Green Drop and someone came out in September I think and looked at the sod at the sides. He lifted the dead sod and said the soil was nice and moist because it was moist to touch and there were worms present so it should come back green next year. We weren't happy with that, but decided to wait until the next year. In 2013 our front and back lawn greened up real fast and we had to mow. This was back in May, but the sod at the side of our house remained dead and brown. I called Green Drop and reiterated my conversation from last year about our lawn coming back and it hadn't. On May 11 a man named, **** came out and took pictures. I was present for that. He said he would be in touch. On May 23 I received a call from, Josh and he said that they will take care of this. What was offered was overseeding whole yard, top soil to be put on the dead sod, weed killer whole yard, and aerate the whole yard. They were happy to do it for $50.00 plus tax. ************************************************* I didn't kill the sod. The only reason I agreed was that my whole lawn needed the seed, weed killer and to be aerated. I waited so long and couldn't anymore so I purchased two bags of seed and tossed in on the dead sod. It looked terrible ********************************************************************************************************************** By the end of June after many phone calls to see why we weren't the priority the said, we noticed the Green Drop sign at the end of our lawn signalling they showed up. Well my wife noticed dirt she thought an animal dug up at the side of our house so we looked at the other side and same thing. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Our lawn was never aerated and the weeds are still there so we no that it wasn't sprayed with that as well. (In two weeks last year the weeds started wilting and turning brown so we know). We have some sparse patches of grass in the front lawn so I don't think overseeding was done either. The seed I put down starting taking, but it's in patches. The grass starting coming back up after I tried to overseed so they can't take credit for that. Last conversation I had was July 8 when a guy called to say that he was the one that put a 1/4 truck load of top soil down on the dead sod, rejuvinated our lawn and seeded. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
At this point I think it is pointless going back and forth on the phone with no promise to fix or apology for what happened. We gave them the opportunity to fix what happened even giving more money to them. I want my money for the sod for which I have a bill for and I want my $52.50 back that was charged to my credit card this year.

Business Response
I was able to get the two individuals involved to write what happened on their end.

After reviewing the account and the comments made by my staff I feel we were more than fair, this being said I do offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee and I would be willing to refund Mr. ***** his money for the rejuvenation completed.


*************************************************************************************

08/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company sprayed my lawn with weed control, and fert. this spring. I had not contracted with the company for this service, however, they are sending me monthly bills for it. I have contacted them by phone, and e-mail, spoke to there manger, with no resolution.

Desired Settlement
Cancel bill

Business Response
Mr. ********,

We do apologize for this error. We have cleared any charges to your account. We do have auto renewing policy with our customers on which you should have been explained upon signing up. Sorry for inconvenience this matter may have caused you. Thank you for using Green Drop.

**** ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Tree Removal / Stump Grinding / General Yard Cleanup, Weed Control Service, Fertilizers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.