BBB Accredited Business since

DWM Lawn Maintenance

Phone: (780) 462-0041 View Additional Phone Numbers 3739 16A Avenue NW, Edmonton, AB T6L 3M1 http://www.lawnmaintenanceinedmontonab.ca/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DWM Lawn Maintenance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DWM Lawn Maintenance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on DWM Lawn Maintenance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1981 Business started locally: 03/01/1981 Business incorporated 03/14/1991 in AB
Business Management
Daryl McKenzie, Owner/Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Daryl McKenzie, Owner/Operator
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Snow Removal Service Lawn & Tree Care Landscape Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 3739 16A Avenue NW

    Edmonton, AB T6L 3M1 (780) 462-0041 (780) 707-1972

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a lawn trim for Wednesday June 1 the service provider called the morning of June 1 and cancelled I got another provider. I was still billed. I spoke with Daryl the owner of DWM lawn maintenance on Tuesday May 31 to get my lawn serviced for Wednesday June 1. The owner, Daryl, called me Wedenday morning on June 1, saying ** *** * ******** ***** *** ***** ****** *** he could not service my lawn that day ** ** ****** ******* ***** I called another lawn service provider who could service my lawn for June 1. I called Daryl the owner of DWM lawn maintenance and was only able to leave a message cancelling the service. I did this because the lawn needed to be done that Wednesday. On Thursday June 2, Daryl arrived at my residence and left an invoice for $82.95. I called Daryl and told him that I left a message cancelling his service. Daryl replied saying that he "never checks messages" and because I did not talk to him personally I am responsible for paying him the money because he still had to drive to my place and that was time taken out of his schedule. **** ** ** **** ******** **** ******* ** * **** ******* ******* ******* ******** ******* ** ** ************** ** ***** *** **** ** ********* **** ** *** ********* I disagree that I should have to pay this bill.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request that DWM lawn maintenance cancel the invoice of $82.95.

Business Response: The customer advises he called DWM Lawn Maintenance and was only able to leave a message cancelling the service requested. The DWM Lawn Maintenance Greeting on the voice mail did not advise the customer that voice mail messages are not reviewed. The owner works in the field and takes all the phone calls. Voice mail fills up quickly and takes time to monitor. It is more time sufficient for the owner to return all missed calls once. The Greeting should advise anyone calling not to leave a voice mail. This needs to be rectified by DMW. DWM Lawn Maintenance will cancel the invoice of $82.95

11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/9/2013, this company went to my rental property to trim 1 apple tree and prune 5 other trees. I was told that his charge was $69/hr and would take about 7 hours. I calculated this to be approximately $490 and I added a little bit as a buffer. I said to him, via phone conversation, "so about $500" and he replied "ya about that" to which I agreed to. Later on during the day he called me back and told me that the apple tree had bugs and that his recommendation was to remove the tree, to which I agreed and mentally added another couple $100 to the $500. Later that evening I went to the rental property to pick up the invoice and see what work had been done. The apple tree was removed and dealt with ok, the 2 mountain ash trees were pruned ok, the shrub was pruned ok, the problem came with the "spruce trees". I had asked him to prune them and make them nice but when I arrived to look at them, they looked like only a few of the branches had been cut. My tenant asked me if he was going to be coming back to finish which I asked him, and he said that I "didn't ask him to shape the trees, just prune them" and that "Spruce trees don't usually get shaped, they just get the canopy raised" neither of which I new what the meanings were. With not being in the "tree cutting/trimming" industry is that not why you hire professionals, to explain what is going on and ensure that you are getting the services required for the job as intended? I did not know that I was supposed to fully understand the "lingo" associated with that industry or I would have done it myself. The next issue we had was with the hourly rate: He told me on the phone that it was $69/hr, which was fine, after I received the invoice it states: 7.5x2 men @ $69 PER person. When I called to ask him about this he went on saying "that it was 'man hours'" I told him that he should better explain this to any new customers and that he had confirmed the $500 not the $1000 i was invoiced for. He said he would go back and "shape" the trees if i wanted, to which i asked if there would be a charge and he replied "of course" I find this to be incredibly bad service. If anyone would like to see pictures, I will have them available.

Desired Settlement: For the job to be finished to what the general population would consider to be "pruned" and to have the trees look nice in the end without any extra charge above what I have already been invoiced for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/11/13) */ First the customer's complaint is that the price charged was $69 per man per hour rather than just $69 per hour. Our labour rate is $69 PER MAN HOUR for all hourly customers. This rate was quoted to the customer. As for the spruce trees (conifer), it is not common to prune conifer trees in the same manner as any other tree. Coniferous evergreens need little or no pruning, unless non typical growth is desired. Mature spruce trees should have lower branches pruned off. Spruce trees are susceptible to a variety of insects and diseases. Removing the lower branches (for a 20 foot tree the lower eight feet of branches and a full grown tree the lower 12 feet of branches) will increase air movement. The lower branches of conifers are heavily shaded and do not contribute to the photosynthesis (food manufacturing) of the tree (consider them boarders who don't pay their way). I removed lower branches (raising the canopy). Yes, I agreed that I would come back and prune the spruce trees if that is what she wanted, and would charge accordingly. If I came back to do more pruning this would be additional work. If I had done this work when I was there, it would also have resulted in additional work. If I had done this work when I was there, it would also have resulted in additional hours on the billing. Charging for any additional pruning is not unreasonable. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would prefer to show the result with pictures that i have taken after the job (how do I send you pictures?).I have 5 large trees and a bush next to the house that literally have not been touched on top, just a few branches pruned on the bottom, definitely no 8ft or 12ft (you can see that in pictures i can send). Yes they removed 1 apple tree (chopped it from the bottom and took it away). My concern is that this cost me 15hrs of man power $1036.00 and for the record my tenants son helped them do a few things (the worker told me this himself and it was verified by the tenants son). When my tenant came home from work she called me and asked if the company was coming back to finish pruning the trees,obviously it didn't look any different. The price that I paid is not worth the job they did. Consumer beware!!!!!!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on DWM Lawn Maintenance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart