This business is not BBB accredited.

Alternative Landscapes

Phone: (403) 350-4165 Fax: (403) 309-0722 4603 61 St, Red Deer, AB T4R 2J7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Alternative Landscapes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2012 Business started: 04/05/2004 Business started locally: 04/05/2004 Business incorporated 12/04/2008 in
Business Management
Mr. Bernie Rabski, Owner Denise Rabski, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bernie Rabski, Owner
Customer Contact: Denise Rabski, Director
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Patio & Deck Builders Fertilizers Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial

Hours of Operation
Monday through Sunday: 7:00am - 7:00pm
Alternate Business Names
ALS Inc Alternative Landscape & Snow Removals Inc 2008

Additional Locations


    4603 61 St

    Red Deer, AB T4R 2J7


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found this company through BBB, I had them come and finish a patio for me. After this job was completed I spoke in detail with the owner about landscaping my yard. September 18th he said he was booking me in on the following Monday (Sept 22). This was after other delays in them finishing other projects. Originally he stated they would be available Sept 7th. I had informed him the builder had a deadline on Sept 24, the builder was looking at securing this security deposit and the city required the front lawn to be finished. The builder was going to subsidize the project in the amount of $500. Unfortunately, Alternative Landscapes did not show up on the agreed day, stating they were trying to finish other projects before starting a new one. I waited patiently for them to attend, but they never came. October 14th, I was told, "Breakdowns and staff shortages. Sorry, maybe next year" as the reason why they hadn't come to do the project as agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: I thought using a company listed through the BBB would be a safe approach. It is unacceptable to not just show up after committing to do the project. I wanted the job done in a timely fashion and lost out on a subsidy and my lawn still looks terrible, as the neighbours on the street have been able to get their lawns finished. Reimbursement of the lost subsidy would be a start and a finished lawn this year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********************* As It said in the client's opening sentences, the client contacted us thru the BBB to complete his patio, which we did within 3 days of his request. He then requested a quote to the rest of his yard, and I gave him a verbal estimate, not a formal quote, to help him budget, and clearly stated that I was booked until next june, and could not do the job. However, The client still wanted to hire us to help him, and over the next 8 weeks has changed the scope from whole yard to front only in sod, to half sod and half mulch. I cannot take his job, as we are booked until next june. I am also concerned he will change the scope again halfway into the job, and cause me to redo it for free. We only do jobs we have quoted, had our quote approved, and then we gladly complete the projects. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have prepared emails to forward, which I will send to accompany this. The actual chain of events, I requested a quote through the BBB on July 24th. I waited a considerable while for this quote but it never came. ***************************************************. A****************************************************************************************************************************** I spoke with ****** ******, he claimed to not know anything about the request but would be happy to do so. He gave a "verbal quote" not a "formal quote" at this time as well. I was not aware until now he has a different different quoting systems in place at his business. The patio was finished towards the end of August. The email chain will show the starting date of August 25th when the bill was paid. ****** never said anything about June to me, this is the first time it has been mentioned. He clearly stated they would be available after Sept 7th and we also talked about spraying the weeds. His company was suppose to do that as well. When they did not show up on the agreed day (the second time), the email clearly shows the agreed schedule. Our conversations via email clearly shows we discussed Sept 7th (****** did not dispute that) nor mentioned June at anytime. Sept 18th ****** writes he is scheduling for the following Monday. He had previously suggested I spray the yard and let him know the progression. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Alternative Landscapes
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart