BBB Accredited Business since

Independent Jewellers

Phone: (780) 484-6342 Fax: (780) 484-7116 11248 170 St, Edmonton, AB T5S 2X1 http://www.independentjewellers.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Independent Jewellers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Independent Jewellers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Independent Jewellers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982
Business Management
Mr. Gerry Gilroy, President/Owner Heather Cabral, GM Chuck Tetrault, Marketing & Corporate Sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Heather Cabral, GM
Principal: Mr. Gerry Gilroy, President/Owner
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Watches - Dealers Wedding Supplies & Services Jewelry Repair Watches - Service & Repair Internet Shopping Jewelry Buyers Jewelry Designers Jewelry Engravers Pearls Silversmiths & Goldsmiths Diamonds

Hours of Operation
STORE HOURS
MONDAY: 9:30am - 6:00pm
TUESDAY: 9:30am - 6:00pm
WEDNESDAY: 9:30am - 6:00pm
THURSDAY: 9:30am - 9:00pm
FRIDAY: 9:30am - 9:00pm
SATURDAY: 9:30am - 5:30pm
SUNDAY: 12:00pm - 5:00pm
HOLIDAYS: 12:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2015 I had all of the claws on my rings retipped, 1 diamond reset, 1 diamond replaced, and 1 garnet replaced for a grand total of $700.35. In June the 1 diamond they reset was lost. I took the ring back and they said it was my fault as the claw was broke off. It would cost me another $600 to have the diamond replaced. Now in August the 1 diamond they replaced is lost. I have always used Independent Jewelers for having my claws done. ** **** * *** * **** **** ** ***** **** * ** ******** Now in 2015 the craftmanship seems to have gone WAY down. I am very frustrated with this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this current diamond replaced and compensation for the replacement of the large diamond that I had replaced at a different jewellers in June 2016 for $600.00

Business Response:

*********,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in our store. I have reviewed your profile in our system and your history does not seem to match the information that you have provided to the BBB.

I would like to book an appointment with you in the store so that we can review the history of the ring and come to a positive solution.

Please contact me today at the store to book a date and time. The store number is ************.

Thank you,

Heather C*****

General Manager

Independent Jewellers

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I met with Heather C***** this afternoon and am satisfied that the issue I have is being dealt with appropriately.  They have both of the rings in question and will replace the one lost diamond, repair the claws on the first ring where diamond was replaced by another jeweler, and come up with some kind of compensation via gift card for the cost of replacing the big diamond. 

We will not meet again until the last week in August (29-31) when I will pick up my rings and she has come up with a resonable amount of compensation based on the size of the diamond.

Sincerely,

********* **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Independent Jewellers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)