BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2000

Tera-Byte Dot Com Inc

Phone: (780) 413-1868Fax: (780) 413-1869View Additional Phone NumbersTerminal Level 10004 104 Ave NW, EdmontonAB T5J 0K1 Send email to Tera-Byte Dot Com IncView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2000

BBB has determined that Tera-Byte Dot Com Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tera-Byte Dot Com Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid $200 for set up and then $45 a month for service. They "tested" my connection before connecting to see if I would have adequate signal for their service and said I did. Since the beginning I have had very, very slow internet speed and basically could not watch ******* or ******* type programming as it would continuously be loading/buffering. I phoned several times throughout my three year contract and kept being told it was my equipment and connection settings, even though I had a brand new smart tv. I bought a new computer. I modified all my settings to what they suggested. Still same poor speed. Finally, a month before my contract was up I phoned and asked about when I could cancel. The rep was very rude and said now. It kind of shocked me that he didn't try to convince me to stay. I phoned the competition and found out that there was an improved package available with them that my current company offered as well. I phoned them back and found out that this wouldn't work because the signal wasn't strong enough. I asked questions and found out that it never had been. This was documented on my file. The rep seemed to think I had been told this. I hadn't. ******************************************************* instead of refunding me money and letting me out of my contract years ago when they knew I was paying for a service they were not and could not provide. To me this was complete fraud. No wonder they were so willing to accommodate me and let me out of my contract, one whole month early. The reps, other than the last honest one, were very poor and the service even worse.
Product_Or_Service: wireless internet

Desired Settlement
They should refund me some of the money I paid over the years. I only got half service so I should have only been paying half fees. There were even entire days when I couldn't get any service at all. **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

01/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I moved to the United States and requested my account be cancelled upon completion of the annual contract. They maintained my credit card in their system and charged for for the renewal. I contacted them to point out the error and they will not refund the money.

Desired Settlement
A credit refund of 84.99 back to my account and closing the account as requested.

Business Response
We were contacted by the customer on December 7th demanding a refund on the account renewal in question, threatening to dispute the charge with his bank. Our refund policy was explained to him, and a refund for the charge in question was issued on the 7th after an internal investigation.

Unfortunately it usually takes credit card companies about a week to process refunds, in our experience, so it would seem that the refund had not been credit back to him by his credit card company at the time he opened this complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services, Internet Website Hosting, Web Design, Internet Shopping, Internet Access Provider

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 29/02/2000Business started: 01/10/1999
Contact Information
Principal: Steve Keyser (CEO)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Internet Services, Internet Website Hosting, Web Design, Internet Shopping, Internet Access Provider

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tera-Byte Dot Com Inc

Terminal Level 10004 104 Ave NW

Edmonton, AB T5J 0K1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Terminal Level 10004 104 Ave NW 

    Edmonton, AB T5J 0K1(780) 413-1868

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tera-Byte Dot Com Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 837-2298
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.