BBB Accredited Business since

Bedrock Homes Ltd

Additional Locations

Phone: (780) 439-5000 Fax: (780) 485-2001 4075 106 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6J 7H3

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bedrock Homes Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bedrock Homes Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1999 Business started: 01/20/1999 Business started locally: 01/20/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Home Warranty Group Inc
213-625 Parsons Road SW, Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
Phone Number: 18004729784
Fax Number: (780) 426-2723

The Professional Home Builders Institute (PHBI)
301-30 Springborough Blvd SW, Calgary AB T3H 0N9
Phone Number: (403) 216-8310
Fax Number: (403) 253-7130

Business Management
Ken Ferchoff, President Nanette Charest, Executive Assistant Cam Ferchoff
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Cam Ferchoff
Principal: Ken Ferchoff, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair issues- flooring not installed properly. We have been in our new home for over 2 years now. We have been very tolerant about an overwhelming number of deficiencies when we first moved into the home. Over the course of initial 12 months this list grew. Most of the items have been addressed however the flooring issue has not yet been resolved. We have made many attempts to raise concern with bedrock since then. *** ** *** ********* **** **** **** ****, every time we call they are under different management and we find ourselves having to explain ourselves from the beginning. nobody seems to know what they are doing or when they came out last what they did and what was promised. This Particularly is frustrating to a customer of a new home who spent over half a million dollars for a home that doesn't meet the quality standard. We have been dealing with this flooring issue for 2 years now. We have made numerous calls to bedrock and many emails have been written. They take a very long time to respond and many times do not respond at all. They sent their technician and a rep from alberta hardware to our home 2 months ago on a 12 month warranty item. At that point we would have been in the home For almost 2 years. Their elderly tech came over with a ladder , went to the basement and banged around for a few minutes while the alberta hardwood fellow had a conversation with us. He told us it is the underlay of the floor that is causing the squeaks and it's hard to tell what wasn't done properly unless the laminate is removed in the particular spaces in the home with the problem. In a separate area of the home the insulation was done improperly and caused frost to collect around the patio door during winter. Also very alarming. Bedrock has invested probably a total of 30 min on this particular deficiency. They have not put in an honest effort to fix this needless to say they it has certainly taken a long time. This ofcourse means we had to call and do all Of the follows ups ourselves. We had to place many calls, write many emails and take many days off work. It should also be known that the current manager **** *** **** ******* **** ** **** **** ** **** *** ****** ** ****** ***** *** *** ****** ******** ****** ** ** ** *** ******* ********** **** **** ** has been given an opportunity to rectify this issue and work with us which he chose not to do.

Desired Settlement: Please help this consumer get their new home issue resolved. We are not asking for things out of line. We are simply asking for things we paid hard earned money for. 1. We would like to have the floor removed and installed properly or the money that we paid for it refunded . 2. The deficiency was submitted to them on the 12 month deficiency list within the warrantable time. They have been at the home twice on this issue since submission for about 15 min each time claiming they would return which never happened.

Business Response:

Bedrock management has reviewed the warranty file with ****** ********* ********.  The information shows that the warranty work requested during the 12 month warranty period was satisfactorily completed, in regards to a squeaking floor.  There are notes on the file that the homeowner contacted *** after the warranty period to report more squeaks.  When the *** technicians arrived to review the concerns the squeaks were either not replicable or audible, or they were in a location different from what was corrected at the 12 month warranty visit.  The homeowner has been informed that these new squeaks no longer fall within **** warranty guidelines, as they were reported after the 12 month expiry.  Our decision on this matter has not changed and we are confident we have completed our obligation required by provincial warranty regulations. 


*** did consider doing a gratuitous repair for the homeowner, but as the homeowner has used a *******/wet mop to clean the laminate flooring, which voids the warranty on the product, there was concern that pulling up any laminate flooring panels would result in replacement of all removed panels, and therefore a replacement of the entire floor as there would not be any matching replacement material available.  In an effort to help the homeowner come to a resolution with his home, *** would be willing to facilitate the removal and replacement of the laminate floor in the home, passing only the costs charged by the laminate flooring contractor to the homeowner.  If there are squeaks found anywhere on the floor upon removal *** will repair them at no charge, although they are not warrantable as explained above, in a gesture of good faith.  If the homeowner wishes to proceed with this option then we ask that he contact Chad K****** or Cam F******* to start the process of obtaining a quote from the laminate flooring contractor.  The cost of the laminate flooring replacement will have to be paid in full by the homeowner prior to any work starting.


Cam F*******

Vice President

Bedrock Homes Limited


Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because a consumer should not be expected to incur any cost to fix deficiencies caused by the poor craftsman ship of the builder. We paid premium for our home and are asking that our floors are fixed right. 

 Please be advised that all of the items submitted on the 12 month warranty list have NOT been completed yet. There are 2 outstanding items on that list still. we have been very patient with bedrock and also working around their  schedule. 

*** ** *** ***** ** *** ****** ** *** ***** ***** ** *** * **** ** **** ********* *** the second is the squeaks in the flooring. NONE of the squeaks have been fixed, not even the original ones submitted in a timely manner On the 12 month warranty list. 

It is absolutely ridiculous to suggest that a ******* wet mop would cause Squeaks in the subflooring. Please take into account that some of the squeaks are in the stairs that are carpeted and would have never came into contact with a ******* wet mop. Furthermore  if large company such as bedrock installs floors that require special care, then they should have in place tutorials so they educate their consumers on how to properly take care of them. It is their responsibility to pass on this helpful information to their  valuable customers . 

we are not confident that the floor was installed properly. We paid for the floor once and now we are being asked to pay for it again. This is a ridiculous suggestion. ** **** ******** **** **** **** ********** ***** ********** ** ***** ******* **** *** ******** ****** *** ** **** ** *** We invite you Ken and you Chad to our home, we would love to show you that the problem is very Real. ** ** **** ** **** ***** **** ** *********** *** **** ***** *********** **** ****** * ******** ** **** ******* ** ** ********* **** *** **** *** **** *** ***** *** **** ** ****** **** *** ********** **** **** ************ **** *** ******** *** *** 
********** **** *********

6/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bedrock Homes has refused to fix all the issues covered under the warranty that were identified before taking possession and on scheduled srv requests Most of the windows were installed with damaged/broken exterior frames that are visible from outside the house and still not addressed after two and half years. Floor squeaks in the living room and in the walking closet that the builder had attempted to fix but left unfinished. Seems like a structural issue that the builder is not able to address. Bedrock's trades damaged the backyard fence during the rough grading and never fixed even with repeated reminders. I recently received a letter from Bedrock's warranty dept. notifying my service request file has been closed and on inquiring I was told that I had signed-off on all the fixes which is not true. I never signed off on any of issues mentioned above.

Desired Settlement: Fix outstanding issues that were notified to builder before taking possession and on scheduled service requests.

Business Response: I apologize for the late response. I have reviewed the 3 items of concern and this is Bedrock's response.

1) It is my understanding that the windows have now been repaired. It was just a matter of getting the window supplier to fit this repair into their schedule, but we apologize for the time it did take to complete.

2) The floor squeaks discovered during the warranty period have been determined to have been resolved. The warranty team was out multiple times to diagnose and repair these squeaks, and were unable to obtain signoff because one of the homeowner's was not able to attend the appointment. It has been decided that any squeaks that have developed now were not present or documented during the warranty period and/or they are within industry standards which are determined by provincial warranty regulations. This has been clearly explained to the homeowner's.

3) I have checked with our seasonal administrator, the warranty department, and the grading contractor, and nobody has anything on record in regards to any fencing damage that occurred during the grading process. I am not saying that this wasn't brought to somebody's attention, but we simply can't find any record of it. If the homeowner's can provide some sort of written correspondence about this issue with anybody on the Bedrock side, or the ****** ********* ******** side, we would be happy to look into this matter further.

Cam F*******
Vice President
Bedrock Homes

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I mentioned before Bedrock attempted to resolve floor squeaks but living room and walking closet are still outstanding. I was available the whole time their staff worked on the issues and I didn't sign off because these were never fixed.

Squeaks are not new and are the same spots that I had reported on scheduled maintenance request form. Bedrock was just not able to fix it.

Unfortunate thing to note here is that a brand new house that Bedrock built had squeaks all over the place and then Bedrock fixed it (as they claim) and then squeaks came back, precisely on the same spots that they fixed, clearly shows Bedrock's quality of work and their workmanship.

Regarding the fence damage please check with your warranty department and you will find that listed on scheduled service request form, what other kind of documentation you would require to report such issue.

Business Response: Unfortunately we have differing opinions on the squeaks, and we do feel the warranty team has been very accommodating in trying to satisfy the homeowner to the best of their ability, making multiple visits to fix whatever was of concern. We are standing firm with our assessment that the areas brought up within the warranty period were resolved. In an effort to resolve this matter once and for all we would be happy to set up a meeting with myself, the Warranty Manager, the Warranty technician who oversaw the repairs, and the homeowners, to review the information on both sides. We will request that the result of this meeting, regardless the outcome, be final and signed off on by all parties. We will await confirmation from the homeowner if they wish to proceed with this meeting or not.

In regards to the fencing, yes it was noted on the 12 month warranty form. The warranty team does not handle grading issues so it would have been passed on to the construction department. We unfortunately cannot find any correspondence between the construction administrator at the time, and the homeowner. This week we sent a construction manager out to assess the damage on the fence. He was able to find one area of concern, on the left side of the home. The post is leaning away from the home, meaning that it was either not placed properly and has settled, or something bumped it over from inside the property. We reviewed the grading certificate and history on this home and this fence was not built at the time we obtained rough grade approval for the homeowner. Therefore, this damage could not have been caused by our grading crew as the homeowner has suggested. If there is another area of concern that perhaps we missed we would be happy to go out and look at it again. I will also note that it appears the construction of the fence does not meet the architectural guideline for the neighbourhood, which is registered on title, so it is recommended the homeowners verify this and make any necessary adjustments to bring the fence to the approved design.

Cam F*******
Vice President
Bedrock Homes

6/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Landscaping was included in our home price but planted tree did not make it to the next spring. We had a tree planted as part of the home sale agreement with bedrock homes. The trees were planted more than a year after we moved in, sometime in August 2014. The tree looked ok for a few weeks but it did not survive the winter. The other trees made it though. I called their office in from May through August to report this but the employee from the warranty department at the time said she could not help and thus transferred me to another department which I never got a call back from. I was finally told that they were short staffed and that was it. I then decided to call again this spring to discuss the details of this tree issue and l was told that the lady who was there before had left and my calls on the issue were not documented and thus they could not hep me about the issue. I spoke with the lady who is in charge of the landscaping now and she said there was nothing she could do for me. As a matter of principle my tree should be replaced by bedrock homes and it is not my fault that the employee who was there before did not document my problem.

Desired Settlement: I want another tree to be planted in place of the dead one. Simple.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/06/16) */ Contact Name and Title: Cam F******* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************* This matter was reviewed thoroughly with our team and the landscaping contractor earlier this Spring, prior to responding back to the homeowner. We were provided the photo documentation from the landscaping contractor showing a healthy tree installed in the front yard in September 2014. It is likely that if there was correspondence between the homeowner and our construction administrator a year after, in 2015, that this same information would have been reviewed showing that the tree was in fact alive and healthy when it was planted, and the warranty claimed would have been denied. Unfortunately, the fact that there is no documentation we can find on the correspondence between the homeowner and Bedrock in 2015, that does not change the fact that the tree was perfectly fine at the time of install, and therefore this warranty claim is again being denied. If the homeowner would like to see the photo documentation that is being referenced we would be happy to forward it on to them. Cam F******* Vice President Bedrock Homes Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2016/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First and foremost, the tree was not planted in September but rather sometime in August and the photo in reference was taken 2 or three weeks after it was planted. The tree she'd it's leaves after the photo was taken and never made to the next spring of which l called to discuss the issue but was met with a voice-mail and no returned calls. The few times l spoke with someone it was someone from the warranty department who said they were understaffed but l could leave a message for the person in the relevant department. L have pictures from last spring of a dead tree so lm not sure what the relevancy of that picture from 2 weeks after the tree was planed would make. ************* ************* ************* ************* ************* ************* ************* ************** *************** **********

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******************************************************************************************************************************* Job Number: ************ Purchase Agreement Date Signed: August 31, 2014 Possession Date: September 25, 2015 First Issue In our "Bedrock home limited landscaping deposit" document (signed by the sales manager and Bedrock), a tree was supposed to be installed in the front yard. Since the possession date we have not received the tree. Second Issue The backsplash tile installed was not the one we picked out originally. On the pre-possession walkthrough, the error was found, and a replacement tile was picked out. We wanted to find out if there was a price difference between the new tile and the one we originally paid for. If there is a difference, we would like a refund for the amount or proof that the tile we picked was the same price as the one we paid for. Over the past six months, we have constantly tried to communicate with our sales manager at Bedrock to resolve both issues via email and phone. However, neither issues were resolved.

Desired Settlement: For the first issue, we want the tree that was stated in our documents to be installed in our front yard. Secondly, we would like a refund of the price difference or supporting document/evidence to proof that the price was the same.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/04/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************ Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ********************* Hello, 1,The home owners took possession of their home on September 25, 2015. The rough grade was passed on August 20, 2015. The tree is being provided by the land developer which will happen once the weather permits this year. The alternative is that a gift certificate for a tree will be provided to the Purchaser. Bedrock Homes will contact the land developer to help expedite this process. 2, The new backsplash tile that was selected by the Purchaser ended up being $8/square foot more than their original tile selection, so there would be no credit. The tile supplier did not charge us or the Purchaser more for this new tile even though it was more expensive, which we felt was fair. We hope that these are satisfactory responses/solutions for the home owner. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1 - We have inquired about our tree with our sales manager Susan several times since the date we took the possession of our home, and the responses were always unclear if we would receive the tree despite it was clearly being stated in our purchase agreement. As we need to finish our landscaping before September, we need to know the date that the developer is going to install the tree as soon as possible, so we can plan out of our landscaping. Please provide us with an expected date and the contact information for a person at Bedrock that we can follow up with. 2 - As we requested in our initial claim, we would like to see a physical evidence of the price difference between the new and original titles. For examples, the price quote from the supplier of these two tiles based on the square footage of our kitchen, or a copy of their products price list. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2016/05/09) */ Hello, After reviewing the information on the landscaping guidelines we don't see any reason why the tree would not be approved. We are confident that the homeowner will not run into any issues with receiving landscaping approval based on this tree, but in the event any dispute does arise we will be here to assist. Thank you. ************ Vice President Bedrock Homes Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2016/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Hello, Thank you for the response and the acknowledgement that you are confident the tree installed will pass the landscaping requirements. Please have either the landscaping company or someone from Bedrock contact us to discuss the tree. As per your previous response about having a tree installed by the end of May, we will like to have the tree installed as soon as possible as we are looking at landscaping the front and backyard shortly. Thank You

10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The scheduled service calls and service work have been severely delayed. I took possession of my home within a week of the scheduled possession date. Once I took possession of my home the service level by Bedrock Homes took a complete turn to be the worst experience I have ever had. The two service calls to assess deficiencies were delayed several weeks and even months. I initiated all contact and to this day, 1 year and 5 months later, I still have deficiencies that have not been taken care of. I have placed numerous calls and sent many emails, and IF I get a response there is always an excuse as to why the work cannot be completed. The contractors who have shown up, have been unannounced, invasive and extremely messy. I have had to do clean up several times. Many of my inside deficiencies had to be done twice, as the first time did not cover the concerns. I still have outstanding siding issues that have been ongoing from possession of my home. I continue to receive excuses ask why this have not been taken care of. I have spoken to many of the employees of Bedrock Homes and are often passed from one yo the other and nobody solves the problem. I had asked for my landscaping deficiencies to be taken care of last Sept (2014) and to date my concerns have never been addressed And never followed up on.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate Bedrock homes would address my landscape concerns and have the outstanding deficiencies corrected immediately .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: Cam F******* - GM Contact Phone: 780-******** Contact Email: ********* We regret that your experience post possession has not been up to your expectations. According to our files almost all of the deficiencies have been cleaned up to date. The remaining items are the landscaping concerns and an issue with a pot light in the soffit. If there are additional items I have not mentioned please be so kind so send them to us again, keeping in mind that warranty has expired so they would have had to have been sent to ************************* prior to the 1 year anniversary. The landscaping contractor will be out within the next couple weeks weather dependent to inspect and repair the landscaping alongside the house where there is significant gapping. Although the pot light was submitted to *** after warranty expired they have agreed to send out an electrician to take a look at it, which should be done shortly. Thank you for your continued patience with the warranty process.

9/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: if purchaser uses Bedrock's approved lawyer and lender **************************, legal fees are included in the purchase of every new Bedrock Home. Bedrock Home Ltd failed to explain clearly that the legal fees do not include the disbursement fees, land title registration costs, and other additional charges. I was required to sign a legal fee schedule when I was signing the original documents in order to submit the initial offer to their main office. This document was to be completed with several other documents. I didn't have time to read the fine print. I was given approximately 50 documents to initial, sign and date. Furthermore Bedrock Home Ltd didn't provide me with a copy of documents that I signed. When I contacted the area manager and the mortgage team, they said "they will not be covering any of the additional costs associated with your closing as the Legal Fee Schedule was signed." This is unacceptable. The communication is misleading and unclear.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Bedrock Home Ltd reimburse me for all of the additional costs associated with the closing on this property as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/22) */ Contact Name and Title: Dee T*** - Sales Manager Contact Phone: 780******* Contact Email: ***** Good afternoon, Our Purchaser was provided a legal fee schedule that outlines what is covered in the base legal fees and what expenses are not covered, which are the responsibility of the Purchaser. Our Sales person gave the Purchaser the option of taking all documents related to the purchase of their home, including the legal fee schedule, home so that they can read through it prior to signing them. The Purchaser declined and wanted to proceed with signing of all documents that evening *******************************************************************************************************************************. In our opinion, we were very transparent about what is and is not covered in the base legal fees and the Purchaser was provided the opportunity to review each document prior to signing and she declined and proceeded under her own free will based on her personal agenda and timelines. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As the purchaser, I do not feel the sales manager was transparent. Can you please explain why I did not receive a copy of the documents after signing them (the day I placed the offer)? These documents should have been provided during the time the offer was under conditions but once the conditions were removed I got a copy of the legal schedule. In my opinion, that does not define transparency. Sales manager intentionally withheld information when explaining the details of the legal costs. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Thank you.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new home from Bedrock Homes last spring 2014. XXXX-XXth ****** ** ********* ****** ********* Included was landscaping. In the fall of 2014 our tree was finally planted in the front yard. A few days later the tree blew over and needed to be replanted. This spring the tree never grew buds as all the others did which were planted at the same time last year. Tree is dead. The tree was looked at and I was told no warranty as the mulch is incorrect around the tree. The mulch was only put around the tree this May 2nd 2015, after all the other trees beside me were budding. I watered the tree well in the fall to ensure it would be good to go in the spring. This tree never tried to come back this year. I have been in contact with ******** ******** at Bedrock and she says no warranty.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking for is a new tree. ******* ******** e***********************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/07/16) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* I have reviewed the concern and have no issue with how ******* responded, as she was following the guidelines of the landscaping warranty, which states that placing mulch around the base of the tree voids the warranty. Therefore, as the General Manager, I cannot reverse her decision. The beginning of May is typically pretty early for trees to be budding, and although I can't verify or debate that the rest of the trees on the block were budding, ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* The landscaping contractor believes that if the mulch was not added around the tree and if it was receiving sufficient water this Spring that the tree would have come back, and I can't verify or debate that either since it is a logical response. They claim the tree was undamaged when it blew over and was re-planted so that would not contribute to the health of it, if it was being maintained. The landscaping company is willing to replace the tree at their cost, which is $250. I feel this is a fair proposal based on the information I have shared above. I will await word from the homeowner to see if this resolution is sufficient. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I do know this tree never came back, and was not a result from the mulch, I would be willing to compromise at a 50/50 split and pay $ 125.00 Thank-you ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/08/04) */ In an effort to bring this matter to a close Bedrock will agree to cost share the replacement of the tree, that the landscaping contractor is providing at their cost. Once Bedrock receives the $125 payment from the homeowner the work will be scheduled to be done.

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Possession date: Nov 1, 2012 Job #: ERN-X-XXXXXX Bedrock homes has attempted to resolve this issue many times over the 2-1/2 years since we took possession of our home. This problem occurs when snow accumulates on the roof and water leaks through the fan onto our stovetop. We keep a pan on our stove during the winter months to stop the water from dripping onto the counter and floor to avoid any damage. Bedrock admits there is an OTR design problem with our home and other similar homes. (See attached copy of e-mail sent Feb 13, 2015.) "I have an update for you regarding the ongoing OTR leak that so far we have been unsuccessful at repairing. We are having this same issue in a few houses with the same OTR design, and have determined that it is a design issue as opposed to a defect or failure. We are working with the trades involved as well as our construction department to find a resolution that will successfully solve this problem and stop the leak. As no solution has been determined at this point, we no longer require the appointment on Tuesday. You have my utmost apologies for the delay in having this issue taken care of, but without a repair methodology we are unable to proceed until further directed by construction and the trades, who are the experts. I understand the frustration and inconvenience this issue is causing you, and we are working towards a resolution as quickly as possible. Thanks and have a great weekend, **** ****** ******* ************** ********* XXXX - XXX Street Edmonton, AB *** *** Warranty Department: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Head Office: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x115 Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Email: *******@*************"

Desired Settlement: Bedrock Homes to complete a proper design and repair to alleviate the problem by July 31, 2015.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* On behalf of Bedrock we sincerely apologize for how frustrating this process has been for the homeowner. There is no sufficient excuse for it so I'm not going to waste time making any, since it's not going to help the situation. We completed a repair in the same model of home with the same issue in February/March so we are going to follow up with those homeowners to see how successful it was. Providing it was a successful solution we'd be looking to do the same for this homeowner, but even if it is not we will come up with another solution that we will be confident in. The homeowner will be contacted within the following week to set up an appointment.

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the time of our purchase, we were offered a promotion to purchase the home that included landscaping and fencing if we were one of the first 20 buyers to move into the development. We asked the sales person multiple times throughout the sales process if the fencing part of the promotion included the whole fence. not just a portion, and each time were told that the promotion would include the whole fence. When Bedrock started building our fence, we noticed they hadn't drilled the holes for the back portion of the fence. we immediately asked Bedrock why, and they did not know but still said we were going to get the back fence. We kept asking because the contractor was still not building the back portion. We were then told that the promotion we received did not include the back fence. ***************************************************************************************** We explained to Bedrock that the sales person had told us that the promotion did include the back fence, and that we confirmed this with that sales person multiple times during the sale. We were then told by Bedrock that the sales person no longer works there so they cant confirm what they told us verbally. The sales agreement only states 'landscaping and fence' so it's not specific. We have a large pie shaped lot, so the cost to finish the back portion of our fence is $3500 which is a lot of money for us. I think its only fair that Bedrock at least cover the cost of the us building the fence since it was their sales person that offered us something as an incentive to buy the home, and now Bedrock is not delivering what was promised. We received a written promotion document two years after we purchased that explains what was supposed to be included in the promotion, but that was not given to us at the time of sale, and the sales person obviously did not know what they were offering.

Desired Settlement: Cover the cost that i paid to complete the fence myself, which will be significantly cheaper than what it would have cost to get a contractor to complete the fence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/06/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** - GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* The promotion in question was strictly for the side yard fencing and full yard landscaping. There is confusion about other properties having the rear property line fenced because it was on the perimeter of the community and therefore the rear of all the Lots on that side had a rear fence constructed near the initial development of the community. As this homeowner's property is built on an interior Lot it did not include the rear property line fencing with the community fencing plan designed by the developer. Unfortunately it is true that the sales representative that sold this home is no longer with the company so we are unable to verify the claim that this was promised to the homeowner upon purchase. There is no written documentation stating that it was included, and our policies state all changes or extras must be clearly written, which is why we declined the claim when it was first brought to us. It appears that the homeowner made efforts to reduce the cost that was required to finish the fence at the rear property line. Therefore, Bedrock wishes to be fair, within reason. It is still our view that the rear property line fence was not included with any sales that received the incentive, since any existing fencing was included already as part of the community design. Bedrock is willing to make an offer in an effort to settle with the homeowner, in lieu of any possible misrepresentation, in the form of cost sharing the fence 50/50. Therefore Bedrock would be willing to reimburse the homeowner $991.94 if this is an accepted. We will follow up with the homeowner within the next few business days to finalize the details. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 13, 2013 my family has took possession of brand new purchased house from Bedrock Homes. Before purchase there was one item as a sales condition and it was not complete at the possession date nor it has been complete to this date April 03, 2014. There was a list of items during the pre-possession inspection on December 11, 2013 that were to be complete before the possesion date. There is still five (5) items not complete to this date from that inspection. Three months service request that was sent on March 7, 2014, have seen no action from the builder either. In the past three months there were three different employees from Bedrock homes that came out to look at the issue. During the phone calls,e-mails, or in person conversations with above said employees i was promised that issues will be taken care of within next few days. When said few days have passed i have contacted Bedrock there were just excuses and more promises that it will be done within next few days. During last visit on March 20, 2014 i was also promised that someone from the head office will contact me to schedule an appointment to take care of all of the above issues. To this date April 3, 2014 nothing from stated above has been complete.

Desired Settlement: Complete sales condition item, complete pre-possession inspection items, and complete three months inspection items.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* I applogize for my tardiness in responding to this BBB complaint. I received an e-mail from ****** on April 3rd to which i responded to the same appologizing for the time it has taken to resolve the remaining items from his pre-occupancy walkthrough. I have directed our new site supervisor, ****** to line up the remaining repairs so they can all get completed in a timely manner. I spoke to ***** today and he informed me that he has been in contact with the tradespeople required to complete the work but has not yet spoken to ****** to let him know this was in progress. I appologize again for the poor communication from our side. ***** will be in touch with ****** shortly to schedule the work to be completed. Thank you for your patience. *** ******** General Manager Bedrock Homes Ltd Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please provide a firm date when all of the required items are going to be complete. Site supervisor was in contact with me more than once, as well as he visit the property twice in the last couple of months, but it did not got any further than promises. Last voice mail that i have received from ***** was April 16 2014, stating that he would come out on the same date to replace a pot-light. As of morning of April 25,2014 it has not been complete. Once again please provide firm date when and time when items will be complete. Thank you, Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/12) */ As per our direct correspondence between myself and ****** we have seen some progress in the repairs over the last week or so and expect the last of the deficiencies to be completed in the very near future. We are by no means ignoring or walking away from the issues, they have just regretfully taken a longer time period than we both would have liked to see. I will continue to respond via direct e-mail to any concerns ****** has. *** ********

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My new home built by Bedrock was possessed in April 2012. but until now we didn't get the certificate for the deck. numerous emails, and visits to the sales rep. Bedrock, but no explanation why it takes so long to get the documents. please see some of the email communication between me and the sales rep. ***** from Bedrock: On Sunday, November 24, 2013, **************************************** wrote: > HI ****, > > I understand your frustration. I spoke with legal this week and we cannot figure out why the city is taking so long. We have gone to the head of the legal team to chase this down for us with the city. I will let you know as soon as I have any further information. I know it may seem like we are giving you the run around but we are running in circles too chasing the city for the final compliance certificate. > > > > ************* > > ******************************************* > > Bedrock Homes > > ***************************************** > > > > From: *********************************** > Sent: Sunday, November 24, 2013 1:01 AM > To: ************* > Subject: RE: FW: RPR compliance > > > > *****, what's exactly going on? have been chasing this for more than one year and it doesn't make any sense, should you guys at least tell us the truth after all these my emails? it's really frustrating. > > On 2013-11-13 8:57 PM, "******************************* wrote: > > Hi *****, any update yet ? thanks > > On 2013-10-30 6:53 PM, "***************************************** wrote: > > I'll Ask. Thanks for the reminder. Every time I think it is done. > > ***** > > > > From: *********************************** > Sent: Wednesday, October 30, 2013 5:25 PM > To: ************* > Subject: Re: FW: RPR compliance > > > > Hi *****, > > resend for response. > > thanks > > **** > > > > On Mon, Oct 21, 2013 at 11:32 AM, ****************************** wrote: > > Hi *****, > > do you get anything back yet? it's been another 6 weeks wonder if things went well. > > and congratulations on your new move! > > **** > > > > On Thu, Sep 12, 2013 at 7:07 PM, **************************************** wrote: > > Hi ****, > > I just got word from legal that the city requested one more piece of information on Tuesday (Sept 10.) That should be the last thing and we should have compliance shortly. I will keep after them until we have it for you. > > > > *********************************************** > > Bedrock Homes Limited > >********************* > > ************************************************************************************************************************* **************************************** 7/22/13 to me Hi ****, I sent a request to legal to find out what the hold-up is. I will let you know as soon as I hear back. ******************************************** Bedrock Homes Limited ***************************************************************************************************************************************** From: *********************************** Sent: Monday, July 22, 2013 4:50 PM To: ************* Subject: Re: RPR Hello *****, Just wonder if you have any progress from your legal on this? hope everything is ok. thanks **** On Tue, Jun 4, 2013 at 3:17 PM, **************************************** wrote: Hi ****, I just heard back from legal. We are still waiting on the compliance certificate from the city . We should have that within two to three weeks. Apparently the city is backed up as we requested the compliance almost two months ago. ******************************************** Bedrock Homes Limited ****************************************************************************************************************************************** From: *********************************** Sent: Monday, June 03, 2013 3:25 PM To: ************* Subject: Re: RPR Hi *****, It's been 6 weeks now and did you get anything back regarding to the RPR? Thanks **** On Saturday, April 20, 2013, ************* <******************************************************** wrote: > Hi ****, > The RPR is done but we are still waiting on the compliance certificate for the deck. Would you like the RPR now and we will send the deck compliance shortly when we receive it or do you want to wait and we will send them both together. > > ********************************************* > Bedrock Homes Ltd. > ***************************************************************************************************************** > ________________________________________ > From: ******************************************************* > Sent: Friday, April 19, 2013 1:36 PM > To: ************* > Subject: RPR > > hi *****, > Did you get any update for the RPR? > and the construction next door made a mess on my rough grade,not sure to whom i can lodge a complain,but we have target date of August to complete the final grade so need someone from Bedrock to fix it as soon as possible. > thanks and have a good weekend > **** > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------- > From: ******** > Date: Monday, December 3, 2012 > Subject: Referral fee > To: ******************************************************************************************************************************************* > > > Hi *****, > Do you have any news regarding to the RPR? > Thanks, > **** > > On Thu, Nov 8, 2012 at 12:04 PM, ************************************************************************************************************** wrote: > > Hi *****, is there any update on this? > Thanks > **** > > On Tue, Oct 23, 2012 at 12:12 PM, ************************************************************************************************************** wrote: > > Hi *****, > Just wonder if you get any update for this? > Thanks > **** > > On Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 12:27 PM, ******************************************************************************************************************************************* wrote: > > Hi ****, > > I did check in with legal the end of the week and she is looking into the referral and the RPR (real property report) I will check in with her again tomorrow(Tuesday) as the office is closed today. Thanks for reminding me. > > > > ********************************************* > Bedrock Homes Limited > ********************

Desired Settlement: I'm tired of sending emails to request a progress after this almost two years *******, i'd like to get a weekly update from befrock of what's going on and when i can get the documents.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ Hi, We have instructed our lawyer to complete the "as built" application and subsequent compliance application for the deck on our home owner's home. We did not anticipate that this process would take this long to complete and there were a few communication items between our office and our lawyer's office that held up this process. We will send the email response from our lawyer confirming this once I receive it later today or tomorrow. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After almost 2 years of chasing, my request now is reallly simple: give me a update of progress weekly until it is resloved, so at least I know someone is still working on it. In your response from Bedrock dated on January 23, they promised they will send the email response in that day or the day after, but until today the January 27th, neither my lawyer or me get any response from Bedrock yet. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* email from Bedrock's sales rep.: Hi Rock, I spoke with legal this evening and I am embarrassed to tell you that the lawyer did not follow through with the city yet. He will be looking into it immediately. I know it has been way to long. My internal legal is out of the office until the 20th of January. I will be following up with her again on the day she returns to make sure that things have been completed. I will get back to you again that evening. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2014/03/20) */ we actually just got the permit yesterday but it is conditional on an inspection so we will be contacting the homeowner to provide access to the city inspector. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/02/20) */ It has been more than two weeks, and sure enough I get no more update from Bedrock. ******************************************************************************************************************************************** ***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took possession of the house on Dec 10, 2013. . Sales person, wasn\'t helpful, having to chase someone on continuous basis. All pre occupancy issues were not fixed as promised, here is how we received the house and what is still outstanding and what has been resolved * We received our house completely dirty * Had a major leak from top floor to basement (leak resolved) * Kitchen/Dining uneven ceiling, had issues with cabinets (cabinet issue almost resolved) * Main floor had issues with hardwood and tiles (still not resolved) * Kitchen sink wasn\'t working for a week (resolved) * Carpet still had nails on the stairs that I had to nail and fix myself. Window frames have had frost on them all winter. * Siding issues to be fixed * Living Room holes in the wall, need to be fixed as conduit pipe was installed that was forgotten initially * Celiing and walls to be repainted again My major issues with Bedrock homes: * ************************************ * Lack of communication * Lack of responsibility * Lack of ownership of work * Broken promises I am seeking for work to be done ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I spoke with ***, General Manager couple weeks and to no avail, I have yet to hear back . *********************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************* Specifically house is incomplete, tiles, hardwood need to be replaced. Walls repainted. Bedrock has a complete list and location of problems.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for all the repairs to be completed asap. Also in addition as I mentioned to GM of Bedrock we are looking for Bedrock to do our landscaping and fence in order to compensate for money we paid for water, electricity and cleaning supplies. Also to compensate our medical expenses we incurred for children and myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* I contacted ******** on March 17th to discuss a method of resolution on the ceramic tile concerns. We will be requesting the services of a mediator to help us come to a decision on what needs to be done. We also discussed the matter of compensation for the service work done in the home. I will continue to follow up with ******** on compensation and general concerns and Master Craftsman Warranty will be following up on booking the appointment with the flooring mediator. It is our desire to turn this negative experience into a satisfactory one and we will be working hard to achieve that. *** ******** General Manager Bedrock Homes

2/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: when they came back to do drywall work they did not cover up the furnce air intake and as a result ended up with drywall dust through out the whole house and after some fighting they sent in clean up peaple and had the furnaced cleaned but now have not finished the paint and drywall repairs and wont finish cleaning up all the mess .

Desired Settlement: I was expecting them to have the job finished in a few days but trhey keep telling me they have no staff and i have to keep taking time off work to meet with there peaple and i expect to be paid for my time that i have had to miss work and i want the job completed in a timley matter as i have had to postpone my holidays .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/21) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* As the General Manager at Bedrock I was contacted by ***** *****, the homeowner, to help mediate some concerns he had with the level of customer service at Master Craftsman Warranty. Through correspondence with ***** and the service department I believe we were able to help speed along the process involved with repairing a leak, completing drywall repairs, and re-painting. I know we did not meet *****'s expectations which we regret but I confidently assured ***** that MCW did everything in their power to expedite the repairs. As there were previous appointments set up with the service technicians at other customers homes, and with the unexpected problem we had with the cold air intake dispersing drywall dust throughout the home which required cleaners and trades on short notice, it was difficult to turn around the service repairs in the timeline expected by the homeowner. Speaking again to the issue with the drywall dust, the owner of the drywall company has been notified of the blatant disregard shown by their employee and it is our hope that they have leant from their mistake and will not allow something of that nature to happen again. ***** was very helpful in providing our site superintendent with a house key to provide access to the service tech's and trades working in the home which helped to limit the amount of time he had to take off from work and enabled him to schedule his vacation without worry of the repairs being neglected. Water leaks are regrettably something that can be hard to avoid entirely with new home construction, and when they occur it can be a burden to the homeowner to provide access for the repairs, but it always MCW's and Bedrock's goal to complete the repairs in as timely a manner as possible, and I don't believe the case to be any different with Mr. *****'s home. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have still not completed all the repairs to date and i had to send three emails asking for a list of repairs they are doing in my hame and did not recive that list till today . the next appoitment they are willing to provide is not till febuary 10 now and i am booked to leave on the 11 and they have not yet advised me what repairs they are doing on that day and they dont feel the need to comnicate with customers with their warranty program . I had emailed there warranty manager asking him to call me and he has still not as of yet . The house has a couple of issues that they dont want to repair or deal with in the list of repairs i provided to them . teh island in the kitchen shakes when you walk clase to it and i was told if the joices were in the right place they were not doing anything about it and the front out side door handle gets covered in ice on the inside of the house and drips water when its not so cold and i was toild it was a proper knob and they wont replace it with a proper one . ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/02/10) */ Good Afternoon, This response was again prior to the productive relationship we have with this customer now. I have personally met with the owner of this home and had cordial conversation. There are no further concerns the owner is bringing forth at this time. This was confirmed February 10th. The owner also indicated the response did not match what he told BBB as he stated repairs are being completely satisfactorily. The owner has direct contact with me should any further issues arise. Kind Regards, Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/02/05) */ They have still not completed any more repairs and are telling me Feb 10 and dont care much about the customers needs or time line .

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bedrock Homes Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)