This business is not BBB accredited.

Artisan Communities

Phone: (780) 476-3100 Fax: (780) 469-3543 6823 104 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6H 2L5 http://www.artisancommunities.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Effective July 19, 2016, Company Name's BBB Accreditation Status was suspended due to failure to resolve one or more consumer complaints. This company will be presented to our BBB Board of Directors on September 14, 2016 for formal review. BBB will provide more information at that time.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artisan Communities
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 29, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2002 Business started locally: 06/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Home Warranty Group Inc
213-625 Parsons Road SW, Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
http://www.nationalhomewarranty.com/
Phone Number: 18004729784
Fax Number: (780) 426-2723

The Professional Home Builders Institute (PHBI)
301-30 Springborough Blvd SW, Calgary AB T3H 0N9
https://www.phbi.ca
Phone Number: (403) 216-8310
Fax Number: (403) 253-7130
askphbi@phbi.ca

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Aaron Vaage, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Aaron Vaage, Director
Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Artisan Homes Artisan Renovations

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6823 104 St NW

    Edmonton, AB T6H 2L5

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Landscaping deposit not paid by the builder We took the possession of the house in June 2013 with a list of uncompleted items and a deposit of the landscaping to be finished in 6 months. We finished our work before that but we didn't get the money back. We did a research with the association and the problem was found with Artisan not with us. We asked for our refund but no response from them. The emails with the association that they have an issue with the roof that the builder didn't make it according with their design. ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* *** **** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ********* ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******* ** ********** ****** ******* ****** ***** ******** ****** ********* ********* ******** ****** ********* ********* ******** ********* ********** **************** ***** ******* ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* ********* *********** ********** ************* *************** ******* ************** ******** *********** ***** ************

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the deposit of 3000$ made by us in order to purchase the house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2016/05/12) */ The design of the home was approved by the developer prior to the customers purchasing. When the customers purchased several changes were made to the home that apparently were not approved. We are going to be meeting with the developer to discuss the matter and see if they will grant approval post construction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2016/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The design inside the house that we changed doesn't affect the design outside the house made by builder. We didn't touch any outside and it is not our fault of not following the preapproved design. ****** ********************* ************************** ********** ******* **************** ************* ********** ************ ***** ***** ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ******* ***** ***** ***** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ******* ******* ******* **************** ********** *********** ********* ******* ********** ******************* ************* **************** ************** ************** ******************* ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ****** ******** ***************** *********** ********** ******** *********** *********** *********** *********** *********** *********** *********** *********** *********** ******** ********** ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ********* ********** ******* *********** ******** ***** In the end, as a conclusion, I don't see anything related between the landscaping deposit and the unfollowed outside design which is only their fault, not ours. We didn't touch the exterior.

3/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that the additional repairs that were performed, subsequent to the first estimate were the result of poor workmanship (water leaks in the ceiling occurred after the shower stall and bath tub were reglazed). The invoice that I received, when the work was completed, was $945 more than the estimate. It did not provide a breakdown of the costs - just a dollar figure + GST. When I asked for a detailed invoice, some of the costs of the repairs were listed but others were bundled under "plumbing". ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ****** ******** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I require a breakdown of the charges that are associated with the additional repairs and do not feel that I should be responsible for them

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/18) */ We have been waiting for an appointment to get into Mrs ********'s residence to review the issues with pricing and plumbing. As soon as we visit the residence and review the situation with the homeowner we will be able to move forward with a resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The firm will be able to get into my residence on February 22nd, 25th and 26th. I wish this complaint to remain open, due to the following reasons: - water is heard dripping from the upstairs toilet, when used, and subsequent stain on kitchen ceiling - toilet knobs (at the base) are now removed, subsequent to the wall, beside the toilet, being patched and repainted ****** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** ***** ******** ******* * ***** *** ********* ******* ******** ***** ******* ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** - do not feel that I am responsible for the $250 charged for leak repairs***** ************ ************ ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ******** ********* ************ - toilet in half bath, main floor, wobbles - I will test the Jacuzzi, in the presence of the firm's representative, prior to making payment Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/02/23) */ These issues will be addressed at our appointment on the 22nd.

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The approved quotation was sign by myself and returned to the Artisan Renovation Company late August with the start date to be the first week in October. We had purchased salon stations from the U.S. to be delivered to A.R. as we have no warehousing facilities. The job started a week late but it was communicated to *** ****** ( Forman for the Reno) that December is an extremely busy month for us so the work had to be completed prior to Dec. 1/2014. Mr. ****** assured us that there would not be a concern given that time frame. Delay after delay, excuse after excuse and here we are entering our 5th month of renovation with less than 50% of the work completed. The business has suffered drastically and the job is know where close to being finished. I have emails to back up everything I have stated above.

Desired Settlement: Option #1 Finish the job to my satisfaction in a professional timely manner. Reimburse lost revenue compared to last years figures from Dec.1, 2014 to the date of completion. Option #2 I fire the company today, I get new trades to finish the job at hand and submit invoices to A.R. for payment with a 20% Management fee. Lost revenue portion subtracted from work completed to date.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/03/06) */ We have contacted the client and have presented a proposal. We await his response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contractor has suggested we pay the full amount of the quoted price after the walk-through has been done. For any deficiencies a 10% holdback would be put in place. However, only 75% of the work is completed. I have put a proposal forth(Friday March 6th) to do a walk-through for the work that has been completed and any deficiencies to be completed prior to payment being received. I have yet to receive a affirmative reply. Final Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2015/04/30) */ We have tried to contact ****** ****** and settle this issue but have not heard back from him. We emailed him on March 13 with a proposal to get paid up to date for the work that has been performed and he can finish the rest. We have made numerous phone calls to him and have not got a return call. We have not received payment from him for the work that has been completed. We have placed a lien on his property for non payment according to his contract. The last time we heard from him was on March 25 he sent an email for us not to finish whatever work that was left. So we sent him a bill with credits for what work was still to be completed and have not heard back from him. This matter has now been placed with our lawyer to deal with, to collect on the amount ****** ****** owes us. We were more than willing to work with him to resolve this matter. I hope this clarifies things. **** ****** Artisan Homes Ph:(XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax:(XXX) XXX-XXXX Cell:(XXX) XXX-XXXX *******@artisancustomhomes.ca Custom Homes and Personal Service www.artisancommunities.ca

5/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed contract with Artisan Home in March2012 to build an about 2250 SQ.Ft. house in upper Windermere ***** ******* *** Edmonton), after over 2(25 month) years the builder chose April30 2014 as possession date. We paid all the price to the lawyer and took over the house with list of deficiency and unfinished job Now after 5 month still many of those listed deficiencies and unfinished jobs are due. Several times I called or sent e mail in this regards, these company did not even answer the calls. My last emails are here as example. Hi ***** / **** Have you received my previous email? do you have any plan or schedule or answer for doing my request? ****** ***** XXX XXX XXXX To: Artisan Home ; **** ****** Subject: List of unfinished job or deficiencies HI ***** It is over 4 month since our possession date, still there are numbers of unfinished job or deficiencies (as listed attached) , left behind, some of those are quite urgent by nature and should be done in these last few days of summer, I talked with you and also **** several times in this regard, can you please check the list and arrange with your contractors for finishing them? or if you and **** are so busy give me the contact numbers I act myself. For example by delay on landscaping and changing the season I can't do my own part of landscaping and other outside work , I think you agree it is not fare after almost 3 years and all these numbers of e mails and phone conversation still no body in your company tells me when are these jobs going to be done. I hop hear from you soon. ****** ***** XXX XXX XXXX My questions are: - When do you thing can get these jobs done (as example you have to do the front yard land escaping, summer is over, are you going to do it this year? Same as other issues?.) - What is your schedule to finish these jobs? - ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* List of un finished job or deficiencies Spt2014 -Fireplace fan missing -Heat vent in the pantry, Missing and some others need to adjust of fixed. -Replacing the all cracked and un even tiles (************************************************************************************** tiles in all the floors are un even and started to crack in several locations). -Garage concrete floor does like the controlled crack line caused by the zip lines under the concrete -The crack underneath the garage man door is filed with expanding foam, needed to cover with other proper material -Garage Overhead door is noisy at the time of opening/closing -Problem with three windows -The rough grading certificate -Front yard landscaping -Fume and bad smell (from insulation materials as we discussed) -Framing and sub floor deficiencies -The Dumpers for fans (on the roof) are loudly noisy once is windy, be checked for replacement or correction. (All of them in the main floor, upstairs' bathroom and Ensuite) -There are some holes and chipped on front door steps, need to be filled with proper material - the ensueit shower glass wall are leaking to the out side

Desired Settlement: I want them to complete and correct all the problems and I want these be done till end of this Oct(2014)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/22) */ fireplace fan will be installed, the customer will be contacted by the supplier directly for install. A heat vent in the pantry is not required, you always need to keep the pantry cool, but the heating contractor said that if they find in winter it is too cold they can add one. The tiles were picked by the customer and they are not low quality and the installer has installed tile in 1000s of homes. He has been doing this for 15 years. We have never had a problem with the installer. The flooring company representative came out and said they will fix the cracked tile when they can fit it into their schedule. the client is aware of this. Garage concrete floor has already been addressed with the customer. The city just approved the rough grade recently and the client would have received the letter in the mail from the city, All the legitimate concerns will be resolved and are in the process of being resolved. the customer can contact us directly to book appointments. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In this response there is no positive answer, there is no time frame for anything. Other than those issues which by the nature has to be done before winter, like the front yard landscaping or fume and bad smell from insulation materials which is a health matter for us, We would like to know when and how they are going to solve the problems; I have the list of issues here one more time (which I discussed with them from few months ago): List of unfinished job or deficiencies OctXX XXXX -Fireplace fan missing -Heat vent in the pantry, -Replacing the all cracked and un even tiles -Garage concrete floor does like the controlled crack line caused by the zip lines under the concrete -The crack underneath the garage man door is filed with expanding foam, needed to cover with other proper material -Garage Overhead door is noisy at the time of opening/closing -Problem with three windows (one the handle is broken and all 3 are very difficult to close) -The rough grading certificate (received) -Front yard landscaping -Fume and bad smell (from insulation materials as we discussed) -Framing and subfloor deficiencies -The Dumpers for fans (on the roof) are loudly noisy once is windy, be checked for replacement or correction. (All of them in the main floor, upstairs' bathroom and Ensuite) -There are some holes and chipped on front door steps, need to be filled with proper material -The railing for front door step (Is installed) I don't know for what I have to call their office to make appointment? I contacted them several times by phone, by email, or in present, ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Final Business Response /* (1000, 26, 2015/03/09) */ Hi, Enclosed is a response for ****** ****** concerns, Fireplace fan missing- Customer will be contacted directly by the fireplace company to install the fan. Heat Vent in pantry, noisy dumpers - It is not standard practice to put a heat vent in the pantry, but clear skies heating will be contacting them directly to discuss the heat vent and install one if it is decided upon that it is needed. At the same time they can go over their other heating concerns. Cracked Tile- Darryl Cook from World floor coverings has been at the house and has indicated he will replace the cracked tile when he has a service tile installer available. He will contact the customer directly to set up a time when he is back in the office on Jan 20. Garage concrete floor- The concrete contractor was at the site before and has spoken to the customer directly . He has informed them that these are controlled cracks caused by the zip lines under the concrete Garage man door- The man door does have concrete under it. Expanding foam is used to fill in the space between the concrete wall and the door. This is standard practice. Garage Overhead door- City custom doors has been to the house and addressed the problem. Problem with three windows. As far as I know All weather windows contacted the customer directly and corrected the broken lock handles. Rough grade- Is passed and completed, front yard landscaping will be completed when weather permits. Insulation smell- The insulation company, Bwright Drywall inspected the insulation. They informed us that this is the same insulation that is used in every house and there is no unusual smell. Framing and subfloor- There are no deficiencies, all work performed is up to standards. Front steps- Holes are to be filled where the anchor bolts are. The precast company was contacted in summer, they might have fixed this already and if not they will fix when weather permits. Shower Door- The company has contacted ****** directly and has booked a date for repair. I hope this answers all your questions. **** ****** Artisan Homes Ph:(XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax:(XXX) XXX-XXXX Cell:(XXX) XXX-XXXX *******@artisancustomhomes.ca Custom Homes and Personal Service www.artisancommunities.ca Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 31, 2015/03/24) */ Here I attached some pictures of the deficiencies and I hope these make the case easier to follow: 1-GARAGE MAN DOOR: 4 pictures , 2 from the time of contraction shows the concert had cracks from the beginning and 2 pictures show the finished job by foam( at least has to be cover by cement or similar material) 2- FRAME AND SUBFLOOR: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Need to be inspected by a professional trade man and repair case by case. *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Thank you ****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Artisan Communities
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)