BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Artisan Communities

Phone: (780) 476-3100Fax: (780) 469-35436823 104 St NW, EdmontonAB T6H 2L5http://www.artisancommunities.ca

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 05/01/2015 the accreditation was suspended due to unresolved complaint(s). The matter will be reviewed by BBB's Board of Directors at its next meeting on 18/03/2015.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Artisan Communities

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We signed contract with Artisan Home in March2012 to build an about 2250 SQ.Ft. house in upper Windermere ***** ******* *** Edmonton), after over 2(25 month) years the builder chose April30 2014 as possession date.
We paid all the price to the lawyer and took over the house with list of deficiency and unfinished job
Now after 5 month still many of those listed deficiencies and unfinished jobs are due.
Several times I called or sent e mail in this regards, these company did not even answer the calls.
My last emails are here as example.


Hi ***** / ****
Have you received my previous email? do you have any plan or schedule or answer for doing my request?
****** *****
XXX XXX XXXX


To: Artisan Home ; **** ******
Subject: List of unfinished job or deficiencies



HI *****
It is over 4 month since our possession date, still there are numbers of unfinished job or deficiencies (as listed attached) , left behind, some of those are quite urgent by nature and should be done in these last few days of summer, I talked with you and also **** several times in this regard, can you please check the list and arrange with your contractors for finishing them? or if you and **** are so busy give me the contact numbers I act myself. For example by delay on landscaping and changing the season I can't do my own part of landscaping and other outside work , I think you agree it is not fare after almost 3 years and all these numbers of e mails and phone conversation still no body in your company tells me when are these jobs going to be done.
I hop hear from you soon.
****** *****

XXX XXX XXXX
My questions are:
- When do you thing can get these jobs done (as example you have to do the front yard land escaping, summer is over, are you going to do it this year? Same as other issues?.)
- What is your schedule to finish these jobs?
- *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

List of un finished job or deficiencies Spt2014
-Fireplace fan missing

-Heat vent in the pantry, Missing and some others need to adjust of fixed.
-Replacing the all cracked and un even tiles
(************************************************************************************** tiles in all the floors are un even and started to crack in several locations).

-Garage concrete floor does like the controlled crack line caused by the zip lines under the concrete
-The crack underneath the garage man door is filed with expanding foam, needed to cover with other proper material

-Garage Overhead door is noisy at the time of opening/closing

-Problem with three windows

-The rough grading certificate
-Front yard landscaping

-Fume and bad smell (from insulation materials as we discussed)

-Framing and sub floor deficiencies
-The Dumpers for fans (on the roof) are loudly noisy once is windy, be checked for replacement or correction. (All of them in the main floor, upstairs' bathroom and Ensuite)

-There are some holes and chipped on front door steps, need to be filled with proper material
- the ensueit shower glass wall are leaking to the out side

Desired Settlement
I want them to complete and correct all the problems
and I want these be done till end of this Oct(2014)

Business Response
fireplace fan will be installed, the customer will be contacted by the supplier directly for install.
A heat vent in the pantry is not required, you always need to keep the pantry cool, but the heating contractor said that if they find in winter it is too cold they can add one.
The tiles were picked by the customer ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* The flooring company representative came out and said they will fix the cracked tile when they can fit it into their schedule. the client is aware of this. Garage concrete floor has already been addressed with the customer. The city just approved the rough grade recently and the client would have received the letter in the mail from the city, All the legitimate concerns will be resolved and are in the process of being resolved. the customer can contact us directly to book appointments.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In this response there is no positive answer, there is no time frame for anything.
Other than those issues which by the nature has to be done before winter, like the front yard landscaping or fume and bad smell from insulation materials which is a health matter for us,
We would like to know when and how they are going to solve the problems; I have the list of issues here one more time (which I discussed with them from few months ago):
List of unfinished job or deficiencies Oct24 2014
-Fireplace fan missing

-Heat vent in the pantry,
-Replacing the all cracked and un even tiles

-Garage concrete floor does like the controlled crack line caused by the zip lines under the concrete
-The crack underneath the garage man door is filed with expanding foam, needed to cover with other proper material

-Garage Overhead door is noisy at the time of opening/closing

-Problem with three windows (one the handle is broken and all 3 are very difficult to close)

-The rough grading certificate (received)
-Front yard landscaping

-Fume and bad smell (from insulation materials as we discussed)

-Framing and subfloor deficiencies
-The Dumpers for fans (on the roof) are loudly noisy once is windy, be checked for replacement or correction. (All of them in the main floor, upstairs' bathroom and Ensuite)

-There are some holes and chipped on front door steps, need to be filled with proper material
-The railing for front door step (Is installed)


I don't know for what I have to call their office to make appointment? I contacted them several times by phone, by email, or in present, as example In August the Tile store's representative said this will be done in early September now is almost end of October. ********************************************************************************************************* they took pictures of the cracked tiles (builder's standard selection), and bad installation.
Finally my main questions are: while I paid the contract in full why you don't finish your job to be worth the money you received?*********************************************************************************************************************************************


09/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Contractors-Kitchen Renovations, Contractors - Bathroom Renovations

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 29/01/2007Business started: 01/06/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Aaron Vaage (Director)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Home Builders, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Contractors-Kitchen Renovations, Contractors - Bathroom Renovations

Alternate Business Names
Artisan Homes, Artisan Renovations

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Artisan Communities

6823 104 St NW

Edmonton, AB T6H 2L5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Artisan Communities is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.