BBB Accredited Business since

Active Homes Ltd

Phone: (587) 524-1131 6924 76 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6B 0A9 http://activehomes.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Custom Home Builder in Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan & surroundings since 2003.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Active Homes Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Active Homes Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Active Homes Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 01/09/2004 in
Business Management
Harpreet Toor, President
Contact Information
Principal: Harpreet Toor, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Hours of Operation
Monday to Thursday: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday and Sunday: 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company states that they are members of Progressive Home Warranty
Service Area
Edmonton and surrounding area
Products & Services

Single family attached garage, detached garage homes. Duplexes coming soon.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In may 2014, active home started to build a new home at *****************. a bob cat hit my fence and broke 2 posts and pushed the fence sections off the remaining posts. Currently a large pile of earth is piled against the fence. I contacted active homes and they stated they would fix the fence. I contacted them again in June and they stated that they would fix the fence in 2 weeks. I contacted them again in September and they said they would call me back but never did. I called them today (October 2) and they again said they would call me back.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to repair my fence to its original condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/04) */ In regarding to this complaint, we have tried to contact this client couple times, so we could fix his fence in the condition it was, but we were unable as no body was home. Our construction supervisor left his card in his mail box along with the message that we would like to repair their fence. We were unable to repair earlier as the work was still going on the other side & our construction supervisor had explained him that as soon as bobcat work is done for our house we would repair his fence in the same original condition. We will try to contact the client again as soon as we can do we can repair his fence. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate their response finally however, active homes did not return my calls or try to contact me until the receipt of this complaint (6 months later) I did receive a card in my door and contacted site supervisor *** ****. He said he would come by in 2 hours, however never showed up and never called back. I will attempt to reschedule with him. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 29, 2015/06/22) */ I was advised to contact you if the company did not follow through on fixing my fence as they said they would once the snow was melted. Unfortunately this is the case. The representative of active homes that I have a contact number for (*** ****) scheduled 3 appointments with me which he did not show up for or contact me. On the 4th appointment someone came and screw a few boards back into place however failed to replace the clearly broken post. The representative apparently did not notice this and said he would be back to fix it. He has since scheduled 2 appointments and failed to show up or contact me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 33, 2015/07/09) */ Good Evening Sir/Madam, This response is in regards to above mentioned complaint. Our company has fixed all the damages on the consumer's property. Only paint touch up is left which will be scheduled and completed as soon as possible. Our administration department has called the consumer and consumer has confirmed that everything is fixed except the paint and it is all good. Thank you

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is due to the overall satisfaction regarding my dealings with active homes. Our original sales person named **** promised many things concerning our purchase of our home. Halfway through our home build she either left the company or as determined through the builder was relieved of her duties. There have been multiple issues with this builder but I will try to sum it up as much as possible. I was told by the builder representative a few times during our process to contact the "trades workers" directly to express any concerns about my house, or changes needed. I was given their direct phone number and name, and was told it was my responsibility. Multiple things were not done correctly with our house and the choices made inside. **************************************************************************************************************************** Upon moving into our house we had no kitchen island or sink, the house was in the midst of being cleaned but was never cleaned properly prior to possesion. There were nails and other debris left in both the basement and the garage, **************************** Since possesion there was 2 days i was told to take off work and was promised the trades would come back to fix some issues in our house. On the first day only 1 trade showed up. On the second day the electrician, and cabinet company did not show up. I was promised that they would. The only excuse the builders rep "******** ****** tells me is that they have one year to correct the issues. This is fine, but why promise that certain things will be done? I have to continue to take time off work, or use my holiday time for them to not deliver their promises. The last warranty day was of 2 months notice, so I expected the trades to show up. Most recently the breaking point has been my witnessing of their trades using our utilities on the outside of my garage to complete other projects in the neighbourhood. On April 2 I spoke to ******** ****, who came out to the site and talked to the trades, then followed up with the owner *** ****. I was told that they would not be helping me pay for the utility bills even though there have been multiple instances of trades using our power. I was told there was not enough proof, even though I have multiple pictures that have been taken. I could go into further details regarding the build process, lack of professionalism, or proper follow up if necessary.

Desired Settlement: There is no settlement that can get rid of the stress we faced throughout this entire process, but I feel monetary supplement for our past 2 months utility bills would be sufficient.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/04/24) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******* (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXX-XX-XXX) All issues that were involved in the transition of our previous Sales Manager were resolved. Because nothing was written down it is normally our policy to follow the contract as it is written. However, upon consultation with our current Sales Manager, we gave the Client the benefit of the doubt and settled in his favor regarding the kitchen island changes and monetary reimbursement of lawyer's fees. We consider this matter closed. The Client had previously contacted our sales staff regarding trades using his power (text messages and phone call, Feb 21). His complaint was with ***** *********** Our staff told him at that point that the company was not employed as our tradespersons, and that we were doing no excavating or backfilling in the area at that time. He contacted our staff at least three times that same day in regards to ***** *********** each time he was told that we were not excavating in the area and to contact ***** ********** directly. To the best of our knowledge the only tradespersons employed by our company that used his utilities was the eavestroughing company on March 3rd for about 15 minutes to run the eavestrough machine. Our Sales Manager did go out to immediately to speak with the tradesmen when she received the Client's phone call that evening. The workers were very apologetic and said that they were given some incorrect information about the home they were working in not having power. They had already disconnected their cords when our Sales Manager arrived. The Client was also told that if he noticed that trades were using his power/water, to turn off the exterior breaker/tap to prevent future usage and should be contacting the company at fault. Unfortunately, we have no way to determine who used the utilities or for how long at this property. We are also not able to patrol the area 24/7 to prohibit unauthorized use of utilities, parking etc. Therefore, it is the individual homeowner's responsibility to take steps necessary to ensure that their utilities are not being used, driveways blocked etc. Regarding the outstanding items at the home of replacing lighting items, paint touch ups and a cabinet drawer front to be replaced, our Sales Manager has explained to the Client that we are doing all of the repairs on the scheduled monthly Trades Day, and that we do technically have one year to complete all the outstanding items, however our goal is to get things wrapped up as soon as possible. We acknowledge that it has happened in the past that due to circumstances beyond our control, the trades were not able to keep the scheduled appointment. We have apologized to the Client, and have made the effort to rebook the trades in order to complete the work. That being said, the Client is refusing to take time off work (or make arrangements to have a friend/family member present) to allow our trades access to the house between their working hours of 9am-5pm and will only allow them access when he is finished his work day between 4pm-5pm. Going above and beyond to get these items resolved, our Sales Manager has recently made an attempt to accommodate this request and scheduled the required trades to come after 4pm on April 25th (text messages, April 2), only to be told that the trades will have to come on the Client's schedule when he is available and that work is his priority so he will not be home at the originally agreed upon time of 4pm (text message, April 22). It is very difficult for our trades to complete the outstanding items in the home when the Client is denying access. Our trades work Monday-Friday between the hours of 9am-5pm, and as such are only available during these hours to complete repairs on behalf of Active Homes. Our previous attempt to have the Client book the trades by himself to accommodate his work schedule have also failed. It is our policy to have all warranty/outstanding items completed in a timely manner, and the monthly scheduled Trades Day does allow for Clients an appropriate amount of time to make arrangements to allow access to the home. As per the Client's request, our staff has cancelled all scheduled appointments for April 25th. The next scheduled Trades Day is May 16th between the hours of 9am-5pm. Should the Client wish to have these outstanding items addressed at that time, he can contact our offices and we would be happy to rebook the trades for May 16th. Otherwise, we will not attempt another visit to correct the interior items until the 11 month warranty visit in November. Every home will have small deficiencies, and this particular home is no exception (some paint touch ups, dimmer switch not working, two damaged lights to be replaced and a cabinet drawer front that had a manufacturer flaw). Because the Client took possession in December, there are also some additional seasonal items to be completed such as the seasonal site cleanup, and rear trims on the house. Our staff has been out to the site several times as the snow was melting to remove debris as the site conditions permitted access. The property is located in a highly active construction area and not all debris that is blowing into the yard has come from the construction of the Client's home, however we have removed it without comment. Active Homes will complete a full site clean up and will inform the Client by letter that is has been completed. At that time, no further site cleanup will be completed by us. Clean up will be done as weather permits, and at the discretion of the Builder. Resolution: Active Homes will not be providing any monetary compensation to the Client regarding the utilities. All repairs will be completed as per our Builder Warranty program, which does allow 1 full year from possession to complete any outstanding items. It is the responsibility of the Client to make arrangements to allow the trades access to the home on the monthly scheduled Trades Day between the hours of 9am-5pm so that repairs can be made in a timely manner. Seasonal items will be completed as weather permits and are subject to equipment availability and is done at the sole discretion of the Builder. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First and foremost i would like to state that the response indicates resolutions to issues that I did not even mention in my claim. I did not mention any issues that have already been resolved. I am under the impression that the builder has 1 year to complete and fix issues in the house. That being said, when promised certain things would be done on certain dates, this is the expectation we had. The first trade day I took off and no trades showed up. I wasted a days salary to sit in my house myself. The second one was "better" but still a lot of things were not completed. This is why i requested the remainder of the work to be completed during the evening or weekends. My occupation does not allow me to freely take time off. There are also many more issues then what has been described by the builder. They havent even ****************** come by and put in a door peg for my front closet, and this issue was brought to their attention weeks ago. This is only one of many documented situations that I have. For example, I have an email stating that our light fixture replacements for our vanities were ordered and would be received the week of Nov 18-22, 2013. This would of been a month and a half prior to possession. (we took posession beginning of january, not december as the builder stated in their response???). The email was dated november 13. Why are we now at the end of april without this being fixed??? I stayed home for 2 full 8 hour trades days and they could not fix lights that were to be delivered almost 2 months BEFORE possesion date! As far as the electrical, the communication I had with **************** was that they plugged into our house because "all the other" builders were doing the same. *************************** I am not home during the day, so I have no idea how often this occured, ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* The response also did not indicate why I was told to contact the trades myself? I have multiple emails with the electrician and I even CC'd the owner of active homes in these emails. These date back to august of 2013. Likewise there was no response in regards to why the tile tradesman told me i should be fixing things myself and to mix my own grout. once again, to sum up the situation, the builder is sidetracking the issues at hand, has fallen through on multiple promises, and has admitted to using my utilities (albeit neither of us know definitely how often). *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/05/29) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******* (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXX-XX-XXX) The original complaint by the client indicated that there were issues related to the previous sales person, our response outlined the issues that had been dealt with regarding our former employee and the resolution of those items. We consider those items resolved. With regards to the Client's complaint that they were asked to contact the trades persons directly during the construction of the home, this was done to ensure that correct placement of Client's requested items was done in accordance with their specifications (plug location etc.). In order to ensure that there was no miscommunication between the previous Sales Manager, the Client and the Tradesperson, the Client was asked to speak directly to the Tradesperson on site during the walk through to ensure that the items were installed as the Client requested/required. At that time both our Sales Manager and President were present. To best of our knowledge no further direct communications were requested. Upon the transfer of the file to our current Area Sales Manager, no further direct communications between the Client and the trades were requested. We consider this matter resolved. When our Sales Manager completed follow up phone calls after the trades day visits, she received a complaint from the Client regarding the tile contractor speaking in a disrespectful manner. Upon review of the situation that was brought to our attention, we have since terminated our working relationship with that specific contractor. Our staff apologized to the Client at the time of the follow up call for the contractor's behaviour, and we have internally dealt with the issue. We consider this matter resolved. In our previous response, we did acknowledge the issue regarding the trades not arriving during a scheduled visit and have attempted to rebook the trades to rectify the outstanding items however the Client is denying access to the home. In light of this incident, we have also terminated our contract with the previous electrical contractor for failing to keep client appointments. In order to re-affirm our commitment to Client satisfaction, we have also sent out a memo to all currently employed trades regarding Client appointments and relations and have adopted a zero tolerance policy regarding not being present during scheduled appointments. We consider this matter resolved. It is the Client's responsibility to allow access to the home for required repairs during the working hours of the tradespersons. As a company, we do not feel it is reasonable to expect the trades to work outside of their regularly scheduled business hours. These kinds of "after hours" calls are considered as an after hours/emergency service call and are subject to additional fees including travel and overtime labor costs, as is the case with all after hours services provided by trades ie. Furnace repairs, plumbing etc. This type of a visit is outside of our normally contracted services provided by the tradespersons. We have not come by to install the door peg in the front closet, because our trades people have been denied access to the home during their normal working hours (Monday-Friday between the hours of 9am-5pm). Should access be granted, we are happy to install the closet door pin. The vanity lights were ordered and scheduled to arrive (as per our email dated November 13, 2013), however due to a back order they were delayed from the supplier. The lights were tardy in their delivery, however, they have been sitting in our offices waiting for installation for quite some time. It should also be noted that the lights in the vanity were functioning and the damage was superficial and did not impact their ability to function. Should the client allow our electricians access to the home during their hours of operation, we are happy to install them. Regarding the unauthorized power usage at the client's home, ***** ********** does not represent the Builder nor were they under our employ as a contractor. As such, they are not authorized or approved to speak on our behalf. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************. In addition, as a result of this situation and to help prevent possible future incidents, we have reminded all of the sub-contractors under our employ to ensure that no external sourcing is used for utilities while working on the construction site. In addition, we have recently hired a site supervisor to assist in ensuring that our trades are adhering to our building protocols. *************************************************************************************************************************** While we acknowledge that an error occurred due to a miscommunication between two of the trades on March 3rd, we feel that the brief 15 minute time period of documented power usage does not warrant the Builder paying several months worth of the Client's utility bills. This is an unreasonable demand. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** it is ********* the individual homeowner's responsibility to take the small and reasonable steps necessary to ensure that their utilities are not being used by turning off the exterior utilities from inside the home. Due to the Client being out of the country for a family vacation on May 16th, we are prepared to have our trades come to the home on Friday, June 20th between the hours of 9am-5pm to complete the remaining items inside the home. Alternatively, should there be a day that works better for the Client (and can be mutually agreed upon by the Builder) an alternate regularly scheduled business day may be scheduled with a minimum of two weeks notice. The Client may contact our Fort Saskatchewan office to confirm an appointment with the Area Sales Manager. Resolution: Active Homes will not be providing any monetary compensation to the Client regarding the utilities. All repairs will be completed as per our Builder Warranty program, which does allow 1 full year from possession to complete any outstanding items. It is the responsibility of the Client to make arrangements to allow the trades access to the home on the monthly scheduled Trades Day between the hours of 9am-5pm so that repairs can be made in a timely manner. Seasonal items will be completed as weather permits and are subject to equipment availability and is done at the sole discretion of the Builder. Regards, Active Homes

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2013, Active Homes began excavating a lot beside my property ********. At that time, I had installed posts for my fence. Due to a strong rain, the soil (rough grade) on my property erroded in the excavated site together with the posts that were installed. I called *** from Active Homes. He said Active Homes was going to fix the damage. ********************************************************************************************************************************************* I send an email to Active Homes in August requesting the damage to be fixed. I haven't received any responses yet so I called *** 2 -3 weeks ago to resolve this. *** said that the damage on my property will be fixed the following week. The issue was not resolved on the week promised. *********************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like to have Active Homes put the property (Rough grade and posts)back to it's original condition before the soil errored. I would like the soil on my property to be the same how it was before the damage was done. I would also like Active Homes to install new posts as a replacement for the posts I had installed. I would also like Active Homes to remove my posts that fell in my front yard.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/10/24) */ As we have notified **********************, we are in process of fixing the dirt on our property & off course Mr **********'s property, our rough grade should be finalized in a day or two. We will put his fence poles back in place too, as they fell off, cause dirt on our side of property is soft due to excavation & rain. We had told Mr **********, **************************** we will get everything taken care & fixed .... But he will have to wait, as the dirt was soft & if we were to put the poles back in place, they would fall again.... Now that dirt is settling, we will have everything fixed .... We will see if the it is good to go ahead with the poles, we will otherwise it will be done later in spring of 2014. Thanks ***********************************************************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Active Homes Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)